DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 11/24/2025. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application and are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
All rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 and 35 U.S.C. 103 from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are maintained in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of objection are necessitated by the amendments.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 are necessitated by the amendments.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, please change “a same” to “the same” in line 19.
Claim 1, please change “a same” to “the same” in line 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, it is unclear if the limitation of “selectively diffuse the scent of the another scent diffusion main cartridge body unit with a scent diffusion intensity that is a same as a scent diffusion intensity of the dismounted scent diffusion main cartridge main body” is referring to the previously emitted intensity of the main cartridge body unit while it was in a mounted state, or if the intensity is equal to the dismounted state (zero intensity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a controller configured to: determine whether the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in the mounting region based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected;” recites a determination step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. Other than reciting “a controller,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. In this context, determining if the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in the mounting region encompasses a user manually checking if the IC chip of the cartridge body is mechanically coupled to the mounting region.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because once it is determined whether or not the cartridge is mounted, the scent is selectively diffused. This limitation is recited generically as there is nothing particular about the scent or how it is diffused. Therefore, the abstract idea is generally linked to the field of endeavor and does not amount to a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitation of “control[ing] a scent of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit mounted in another mounting region to be selectively diffused as the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is dismounted from the mounting region” is well understood, routine and conventional within the prior art as seen in Edwards (WO 2016179167 A1) [page 5, para 1-2, page 24, para 5]. As such, the claim is not patent eligible. For compact prosecution purposes, prior art will be applied to the claim as if it was eligible for patenting.
Dependent claims 2-5 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 1, as they do not resolve the issues of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites a method comprising the step of “determining, for a plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in a plurality of mounting regions provided in a mounting recognition unit, whether each of the plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units is mounted [and dismounted] based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected,” which is a step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. Nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. In this context, determining if the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in the mounting region encompasses a user manually checking if the IC chip of the cartridge body is mechanically coupled to the mounting region.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because once it is determined whether or not the cartridge is mounted, the scent is selectively diffused. This limitation is recited generically as there is nothing particular about the type of scent, the amount of scent, or how it is diffused. Therefore, the abstract idea is generally linked to the field of endeavor and does not amount to a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitation of “controlling a scent of each other scent diffusion cartridge main body unit” is well understood, routine and conventional within the prior art as seen in Duvert (WO 2021024682 A1) [page 7, para 5-9]. As such, the claim is not patent eligible. For compact prosecution purposes, prior art will be applied to the claim as if it was eligible for patenting.
Dependent claims 7-10 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 6, as they do not resolve the issues of claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites a method comprising the step of “determining a number of mounted scent diffusion cartridge main body units” which is a step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. Nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. In this context, determining if the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in the mounting region encompasses a user manually counting how many scent cartridge bodies are mechanically coupled to the mounting region.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because once it is determined how many scent diffusion cartridges there are, the number is displayed. This displaying step is considered to be an insignificant post solution activity. Therefore, the abstract idea is generally linked to the field of endeavor and does not amount to a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitation of “controlling a number of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in the mounting region to be displayed” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, which cannot provide an inventive concept. As such, the claim is not patent eligible. For compact prosecution purposes, prior art will be applied to the claim as if it was eligible for patenting.
Dependent claims 9 and 10 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 8, as they do not resolve the issues of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021024682 (hereinafter “Duvert”) in view of WO 2016179167 A1 (hereinafter “Edwards”) and US 20160030620 A1 (hereinafter “Peterson”).
Regarding claim 1, Duvert teaches a scent diffusion cartridge conversion system (page 2, para 1) for a vehicle, comprising:
a plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units configured to generate different scents (cartridges = main body units, page 3, para 14-16);
a mounting recognition unit comprising a plurality of mounting regions in which a scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted (scent output unit 150 = mounting recognition unit that contains scent diffusion cartridge, blower controller, flow path unit, and a scent selection output unit, page 4, para 5-8);
a controller (page 6, para 13-14, controller = scent output controller 120 + scent output mode and determination unit 121);
and control a scent of another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit mounted in another mounting region to be selectively diffused (page 6, para 10, page 9, para 1).
While Duvert teaches the selective control of each main cartridge body unit’s scent intensity (page 4, para 1) Duvert does not explicitly teach wherein the mounting recognition unit is configured to detect whether the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in a mounting region “based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected,” “control a scent of another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit as the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is dismounted from the mounting region,” “control an opening of a vent hole of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit so as to selectively diffuse the scent of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit,” and “selectively diffuse the scent of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit with a scent diffusion intensity that is the same as a scent diffusion intensity of the dismounted scent diffusion cartridge main body unit.”
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with how to selectively control the scent output units when decoupled from a scent cartridge, motivating one to turn towards Edwards.
Edwards teaches a scent dispenser for use in vehicles (abstract) comprising a control system linked to a plurality of scent dispensing devices (page 5, para 1-2) wherein the control system can detect an unlinking of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices (page 24, para 5) such as selective activation of each device (page 5, para 2). This selective activation includes employing a scent dispensing subsystem to control an opening of a vent (336) and force scented air out of one of the scent dispensing devices (understood to be configured to selectively a vent hole of a scent cartridge page 16, lines 5-10, and 18-31) and synchronizing the actuation of scent dispensing in relation to the status of other scent devices the vehicle (page 21, lines 11-25)
Edwards and Duvert are considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to scent dispensing systems for use in vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting and controllers as taught by Duvert to include the control system as taught by Edwards since Edwards teaches the control system to detect when scent dispensing devices are unlinked from the control system and selectively activate linked devices (page 5, para 2, page 24, para 5) in synchronicity with the status of another scent device in the vehicle (page 21, lines 11-25) and control parameters such as scent intensity (Duvert, page 4, para 1) and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 (I)(A).
Modified Duvert does not teach wherein the mounting recognition unit is configured to detect whether the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in a mounting region based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with effectively determining if a scent cartridge is mounted to appropriately, motivating one to turn towards Peterson.
Peterson teaches air freshener dispensing systems and methods [title, abstract] including a controller configured to control the distribution of an air freshening substance from a fragrance cartridge main body (Fig. 1, 120) housed in a cavity (Fig. 1, 116, understood to be a mounting region) contained within a dispenser housing [0085-0087]. Peterson teaches the cartridge to contain an RFID tag (understood to be an integrated circuit chip) configured to be read by the controller’s RFID reader, wherein the controller uses the reader to determine if the cartridge is introduced into the housing and begin a timer to track depletion of the fragrance housed within said cartridge [0101]. The controller can also determine if the cartridge is dismounted [0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of scent diffusion main cartridge main body units and mounting recognition unit as taught by Modified Duvert to include the RFID tag and RFID reader, respectively, as taught by Peterson to determine the mounting and depletion status of each cartridge and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Duvert teaches the scent diffusion cartridge conversion system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: control scent information of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit mounted in the mounting region to be each displayed according to a type of scent (controller also includes UI unit 130 scent output controller 125 and output to display and control scent information, page 6, para 6-8); and control the scent information to be selectively convertible by a user's operation (user can select scent type, page 7, para 5-9).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Duvert teaches the scent diffusion cartridge conversion system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control a selection of a corresponding scent diffusion cartridge main body unit dismounted to be inactivated as the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is converted from a mounted state into a dismounted state in the mounting region (Duvert, controller also includes mode selection unit 131 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation [page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3]; Edwards, control system can detect an unlinking of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices [page 24, para 5] such as selective activation [page 5, para 2] = understood to control deactivation of scent dispensing device when it is unlinked/dismounted).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Duvert teaches the scent diffusion cartridge conversion system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control a selection of all of the scent diffusion cartridge main body units to be inactivated as all of the scent diffusion cartridge main body units are converted from a mounted state into a dismounted state in the mounting region (Duvert, controller also includes mode selection unit 131 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation [page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3]; Edwards, control system can detect an unlinking of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices [page 24, para 5] such as selective activation [page 5, para 2] = understood to control deactivation of scent dispensing device when it is unlinked/dismounted).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Duvert teaches the scent diffusion cartridge conversion system of claim 1, wherein, for scent diffusion cartridge main body units corresponding to a mounted state to be activated, the controller is configured to control a number of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in the mounting region to be selectively displayed (Duvert, controller also includes mode selection unit 131 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation [page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3]).
Regarding claim 6, Duvert teaches a method for scent diffusion cartridge conversion for a vehicle, the method (page 2, para 1; also teaches a controller = scent output controller 120 and scent output mode determination unit 121 [page 6, para 13-14] configured to execute a program = understood to be steps in a method, [page 25, para 1-5]) comprising:
controlling a type of scent of any one scent diffusion cartridge main body unit, of the plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units (controller also includes scent selection unit 132 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation, page 6, para 10, page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3).
Duvert further teaches a plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units configured to generate different scents (page 3, para 14-16), a mounting recognition unit comprising a plurality of mounting regions in which a scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted (scent output unit 150 = mounting recognition unit that contains scent diffusion cartridge, blower controller, flow path unit, and a scent selection output unit, page 4, para 5-8), and the selective control of each main cartridge body unit’s scent intensity (page 4, para 1) but does not teach determining, whether at least one of the plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units is dismounted based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected; controlling a scent of each other scent diffusion cartridge main body unit mounted in another mounting region to be diffused as it is determined that a mounted scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is dismounted from the mounting region, controlling an opening of a vent hole of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit so as to selectively diffuse the scent of the other scent diffusion cartridge main body units, and selectively diffusing the scent of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit with a scent diffusion intensity that is the same as a scent diffusion intensity of the dismounted scent diffusion cartridge main body unit.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with how to selectively control the scent output units when decoupled from a scent cartridge, motivating one to turn towards Edwards.
Edwards teaches a scent dispenser for use in vehicles (abstract) comprising a control system linked to a plurality of scent dispensing devices (page 5, para 1-2) wherein the control system can detect an unlinking of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices (page 24, para 5) such as selective activation of each device (page 5, para 2). This selective activation includes employing a scent dispensing subsystem to control an opening of a vent (336) and force scented air out of one of the scent dispensing devices (understood to be configured to selectively a vent hole of a scent cartridge page 16, lines 5-10, and 18-31) and synchronizing the actuation of scent dispensing in relation to the status of other scent devices the vehicle (page 21, lines 11-25)
Edwards and Duvert are considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to scent dispensing systems for use in vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting and controllers as taught by Duvert to include the control system as taught by Edwards since Edwards teaches the control system to perform a method step of detecting when scent dispensing devices are unlinked from the control system and selectively activating linked (page 5, para 2, page 24, para 5) in synchronicity with the status of another scent device in the vehicle (page 21, lines 11-25) and control parameters such as scent intensity (Duvert, page 4, para 1) and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 (I)(A).
Modified Duvert does not teach wherein the mounting recognition unit is configured to detect whether the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is mounted in a mounting region based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with effectively determining if a scent cartridge is mounted to appropriately, motivating one to turn towards Peterson.
Peterson teaches air freshener dispensing systems and methods [title, abstract] including a controller configured to control the distribution of an air freshening substance from a fragrance cartridge main body (Fig. 1, 120) housed in a cavity (Fig. 1, 116, understood to be a mounting region) contained within a dispenser housing [0085-0087]. Peterson teaches the cartridge to contain an RFID tag (understood to be an integrated circuit chip) configured to be read by the controller’s RFID reader, wherein the controller uses the reader to determine if the cartridge is introduced into the housing and begin a timer to track depletion of the fragrance housed within said cartridge [0101]. The controller can also determine if the cartridge is dismounted [0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of scent diffusion main cartridge main body units and mounting recognition unit as taught by Modified Duvert to include the RFID tag and RFID reader, respectively, as taught by Peterson to determine the mounting and depletion status of each cartridge and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Duvert teaches the method of claim 6, wherein controlling the scent further comprises controlling a selection of a scent diffusion cartridge main body unit to be inactivated as it is determined that all of the plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units are dismounted from the mounting region (Duvert, controller also includes scent selection unit 132 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation [page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3]; Edwards, control system can detect an unlinking of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices [page 24, para 5] such as selective activation (page 5, para 2) = understood to control deactivation of scent dispensing device when it is unlinked from control system).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Duvert teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the determining whether each of the plurality of scent diffusion cartridge main body units is mounted further comprises: controlling a number of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in the mounting region to be displayed (Duvert, controller also includes scent selection unit 132 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3).
Modified Duvert does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises determining a number of mounted scent diffusion cartridge main body units based on whether the IC chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body is connected; and controlling a number of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in the mounting region to be displayed as it is determined that all of the scent diffusion cartridge main body units are not mounted in the mounting region. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with knowing how many scent diffusion cartridges are offline/dismounted and would seek to see that information displayed.
Edwards teaches a control system for a scent dispensing system for a vehicle comprising a control system that can detect an unlinking of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices (page 24, para 5) such as selective activation (page 5, para 2), which is understood to determine the number of mounted scent diffusion cartridge main body units.
Duvert teaches a controller that is capable of selectively displaying scent information associated with various scent diffusion cartridges within a vehicle and controlling them individually (page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3).
Peterson teaches air freshener dispensing systems and methods [title, abstract] including a controller configured to control the distribution of an air freshening substance from a fragrance cartridge main body (Fig. 1, 120) housed in a cavity (Fig. 1, 116, understood to be a mounting region) contained within a dispenser housing [0085-0087]. Peterson teaches the cartridge to contain an RFID tag (understood to be an integrated circuit chip) configured to be read by the controller’s RFID reader, wherein the controller uses the reader to determine if the cartridge is introduced into the housing and begin a timer to track depletion of the fragrance housed within said cartridge [0101]. The controller can also determine if the cartridge is dismounted [0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller as taught by Duvert to display the linked scent dispensing devices based on as taught by the control system of Edwards, and the controller of Peterson to communicate the available scent diffusion devices capable of being selectively actuated by a user since the number of available devices is understood to be scent information corresponding with scent diffusions cartridges, Duvert teaches the selective display of said information (page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3) via the control unit, Peterson teaches determining if a scent cartridge is mounted [0101] via the controller, and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Duvert teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the operation of determining the number of mounted scent diffusion cartridge main body units controls the selection of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit to be selectively activated (Duvert, controller also includes scent selection unit 132 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3) as it is determined that the number of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in the mounting region is not 0 (Edwards, control system can detect an number of unlinked of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices [page 24, para 5] such as selective activation [page 5, para 2]).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Duvert teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the operation of determining the number of mounted scent diffusion cartridge main body units controls the selection of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit to be inactivated (Duvert, controller also includes scent selection unit 132 which selectively displays scent diffusion cartridges and associated scent information and allows individual operation page 8, para 13-14, page 9, para 1-3 = understood to include deactivation) as it is determined that the number of scent diffusion cartridge main body units mounted in the mounting region is 0 (Edwards, control system can detect an number of unlinked of the scent dispensing device and generate a new set of control signals based on the linked scent dispensing devices [page 24, para 5] such as selective activation [page 5, para 2] = also understood to include selective deactivation).
Response to Arguments
In the arguments presented on pages 8-9 of the amendment, filed 11/24/2025, the Applicant argues that independent claims 1 and 6 amount to significantly more than an abstract idea itself as they recite improvements to the functions of a computer and is “linked to a particular technological environment” with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101.
This argument has been fully considered and is unpersuasive. The Examiner respectfully asserts that the new
In the arguments presented on pages 10-12 of the amendment, filed 11/24/2025, the Applicant argues that Duvert in view of Edwards does not teach determining whether a scent diffusion main cartridge body unit is mounted “based on whether an integrated circuit (IC) chip of the scent diffusion cartridge main body unit is recognized as being connected,” “control a scent of another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit…,” “control an opening of a vent hole of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit so as to selectively diffuse the scent of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit,” and “selectively diffuse the scent of the another scent diffusion cartridge main body unit with a scent diffusion intensity that is the same as a scent diffusion intensity of the dismounted scent diffusion cartridge main body unit,” with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Peterson (US 20160030620 A1). See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758