DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application 18/074,921 filed on 04/17/2026.
Status of claims:
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are amended in this Office Action.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this Office Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
CLAIM OBJECTIONS
After reviewing the Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed in the remarks filed 03/27/2026 (pg. 8) regarding to claim objections, the Examiner respectfully submits that the claim objections made in the previous office action are now withdrawn.
CLAIM REJECTIONS UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/27/2026 (pages 8-12) regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered. However, after further examination and consideration, the Examiner respectfully submits that the arguments are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “settings comprising a geolocation selected based on the geolocation of the user to enforce rules for data storage and access” of claims 1, 11, and 20.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant; the Examiner respectfully submits that Ryan discloses “[0064] In one scenario, the functionality and information associated with the workspace 104 are provided by the workspace-providing system 106 at some network-accessible location (or locations). This means, for instance, that all of the items associated with the workspace 104 may be stored at some network-accessible location (or locations). Alternatively, or in addition, parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). The workspace information provided by the workspace-providing system 106 may provide reference pointers which point to these items, rather than a copy of these items. In another alternative case, part (or all) of the workspace-providing system 106 can be implemented using peer-to-peer (P2P) infrastructure, thus eliminating or reducing the role of a centrally provided workspace-providing system 106. Still other implementations are possible.”. The system of Ryan is directed to setting up a collaborative workspace where information or data provided to the workspace can be depended on location. Workspace functionality and workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices and the workspace may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices. Thus, the system determines the devices operated by the users and determine the location such as local storage of the devices to store corresponding data and information relating to the workspace. Therefore, Ryan at least teaches “settings comprising a geolocation selected based on the geolocation of the user to enforce rules for data storage and access”.
The applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “a database constructor executing a data query against one or more databases of the computing environment to identify data items for the workspace” of claims 1, 11, and 20.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant; the Examiner respectfully submits that Ryan discloses “[0055]: A first general class of rules can examine the object 102 itself to extract information therefrom which may have a bearing on the provisioning of a feature of the workspace 104. In one case, such a rule may direct a component set-up module to look for specific keywords in the object 102 (such as names, Email aliases, etc.). Alternatively, or in addition, a rule may direct a component set-up module to look for information expressed within certain fields of the object 102 (such as information presented in the "To" and "From" fields of an Email message or memo document item, etc.). Or such a rule may direct a component set-up module to look at information expressed in the metadata associated with an object (if such metadata exists)… [0056] A second general class of rules can retrieve and apply preference information stored by any user who has the authority to configure the set-up process... The preference information may identify default instructions that determine the people ("members") who shall be granted access to the workspace 104, the permission levels to be assigned to the members, the items to be attached to the workspace 104, the tasks to be assigned to the members, the notifications to be sent on specified conditions, and so on”. The system of Ryan is directed to setting up a collaborative workspace where information or data is retrieved for the workspace based on item lookup by the system. Objects and preference information are looked up to find desired items and other information for the workspace. Although Ryan does not explicitly state that a data query is executed against one or more databases, Ryan describes that information or data can be retrieved from certain places such as object 102 and preference information stored by any user thus can correspond to executing queries against a storage to collect data for the workspace. Therefore, Ryan at least teaches “a database constructor executing a data query against one or more databases of the computing environment to identify data items for the workspace”.
The applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “filtering by the database constructor using access control permission of the user, wherein filtering comprises excluding any data item for which the access control permission denies access” of claims 1, 11, and 20.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant; the Examiner respectfully submits that Ryan discloses “[0025]: The workspace 104 defines functionality which allows individuals to work on one or more shared tasks. The workspace 104 includes permissions 108 which define the individuals who are permitted to work on the workspace 104 (referred to as "members" herein) and the manner in which these individuals are permitted to work on the workspace 104. The workspace 104 also includes items 110 (document items, data items, discussion items, etc.) that the members are permitted to work on in a collaborative fashion. In operation, authorized members 112 may engage the workspace 104 to work on the shared items 110 in a coordinated fashion as defined by the permissions 108…[0036] The workspace management module 202 also interacts with a permissions management module 208. In a manual mode of operation, the permissions management module 208 allows a user to grant individuals the right to access the workspace 104, thus assigning these individuals the status of members. The permissions management module 208 also allows the user to define the permission-level of members… A member who is assigned an owner permission level enjoys certain administrative rights with respect to the workspace 104, such as the ability to set up, manage, and terminate the workspace 104. A member who is assigned an editor permission level has the right to make changes to the workspace items. A member who is assigned a viewer permission level has the right to view the workspace items, but does not have the right to makes changes to the workspace items.” The system of Ryan is directed to setting up a collaborative workspace where users in the workspace can be assigned with certain access to data items based on permissions provided by permissions management module. For example, member who is assigned an editor permission level has the right to make changes to the workspace items and member who is assigned a viewer permission level has the right to view the workspace items, but does not have the right to makes changes to the workspace items. Thus, data can be excluded from making changes to certain users with viewer permission level but the data can be included for users with editor permission level to make changes. Therefore, Ryan at least teaches “filtering by the database constructor using access control permission of the user, wherein filtering comprises excluding any data item for which the access control permission denies access”.
The applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “generating a database that is temporary, specific only to the user and to be used only by the user in the workspace for the session, using copies of the set of data items and without providing access to the user to the corresponding original set of data items, the database stored temporarily in the geolocation specific to the user identified by the settings and in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation” of claims 1, 11, and 20.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant; the Examiner respectfully submits that Ryan discloses “[0029] : The user may convert a single document item or a collection of documents items (e.g., a folder of document items) to a collaborative workspace. In the case of a single document item, the workspace 104 may include at least a single workspace item associated with original document item. In the case of a collection of document items, the workspace may include at least all of the document items in the original collection of document items… [0047]: The items set-up module may include certain items in the workspace based on the identity of the user who is initiating the set-up process. The user may specify in advance, for example, that all workspaces that she creates shall include certain items”. The system of Ryan is directed to setting up a collaborative workspace where document items are collected and stored in the workspace based on the identity of the user who is initiating the set-up process. The user can also specify that all workspaces that she creates shall include certain items. Ryan also discloses “[0064]: All of the items associated with the workspace 104 may be stored at some network-accessible location (or locations). Alternatively, or in addition, parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406)”. Therefore, Ryan at least teaches “generate, by the database constructor, a database, specific only to the user and to be used only by the user in the by the workspace for the session, the database stored in the geolocation specific to the user identified by the settings and in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation”.
The reference Massand is combined with Ryan to teach the deficiency of Ryan that “The database is temporary, and using copies of the set of data items and without providing access to the user to corresponding original set of data items”. Massand discloses “Fig. 7 & ([0035]: Collaboration platform includes memory that stores documents, folders of documents, information, content, data, etc. for transmission and viewing by clients through browser or similar type of software. In accordance with disclosed embodiments, collaboration platform temporarily provides access to such information in a virtual memory during communication sessions with a client, and deletes the information from its virtual memory at the end of a communication session with the client… [0036] Virtual memory may be a physical memory that is configured to temporarily store content (e.g., documents, folders, information, etc.) that is used by collaboration platform to provide the content to reviewers via browser software executed at the reviewer client computer)… [0068]: The owner may then select content (e.g., a document, folder of documents, etc.) from an original storage location in client storage to attach to the workspace. In one embodiment, client storage may perform processes that create a copy of the original selected document to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage. Client storage may create a collaboration document for this purpose.” The system of Massand is directed to a collaboration platform that temporarily provides access to information in a virtual memory and deletes the information from its virtual memory at the end of a communication session with the client. Also, the system creates a copy of the original selected document to include in the collaboration workspace to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage. Therefore, Ryan in view of Massand at least teaches “generate, by the database constructor, a database that is temporary, specific only to the user and to be used only by the user in the workspace for the session, using copies of the set of data items and without providing access to the user to corresponding original set of data items, the database stored temporarily in the geolocation specific to the user identified by the settings and in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation”.
The applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, to only the copies of set of data items in the database maintained in the geolocation and for the time interval of the one or more criteria specific to the user identified by the settings and in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation for each data item, wherein access to the corresponding original set of data items is blocked during the session”.” of claims 1, 11, and 20.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant; the Examiner respectfully submits that Ryan discloses “[0025]: The workspace 104 includes permissions 108 which define the individuals who are permitted to work on the workspace 104 (referred to as "members" herein) and the manner in which these individuals are permitted to work on the workspace 104. The workspace 104 also includes items 110 (document items, data items, discussion items, etc.) that the members are permitted to work on in a collaborative fashion. In operation, authorized members 112 may engage the workspace 104 to work on the shared items 110 in a coordinated fashion as defined by the permissions 108… [0036]: The workspace management module also interacts with a permissions management module. In a manual mode of operation, the permissions management module allows a user to grant individuals the right to access the workspace, thus assigning these individuals the status of members… [0064]: Parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406)”. The system of Ryan is directed to setting up a collaborative workspace where data items of a workspace can be accessed by users based on their levels. The location such as local storage of devices also have associations with data items stored for the workspace. Thus, Ryan at least teaches “provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, to only the copies of set of data items in the database maintained in the geolocation in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation for each data item”.
The reference Massand is combined with Ryan to teach the deficiency of Ryan that “wherein access to the corresponding original set of data items is blocked during the session”. Massand discloses “Fig. 7 & [0068] At step 420, the owner may then select content (e.g., a document, folder of documents, etc.) from an original storage location in client storage 204 to attach to the workspace (Step 420). In one embodiment, client storage 204 may perform processes that create a copy of the original selected document to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage 204… [0089]: FIG. 7 also shows workspace 1 including the folder "workspace 1" which provides a link to all documents included in that folder, which in this example, includes a content link to document 222.doc. When selected, the content link to 222.doc links to the copy of document 222.doc maintained by agent server 206. FIG. 7 also shows data storage 204 at the owner that maintains the original document 222.doc, which is separate from any connections to collaboration platform 110.” The system of Massand is directed to a collaboration platform that creates a copy of the original selected document to include in the collaboration workspace to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage. As presented in fig. 7 of Massand, the original document is separate from any connections to collaboration platform and the copy document is used in collaboration platform. Therefore, Massand at least teaches “wherein access to the corresponding original set of data items is blocked during the session”.
The reference Sardesai is combined with Ryan and Massand to teach the deficiency that “provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, for the time interval of the one or more criteria specific to the user identified by the settings”. Sardesai discloses “[0068]: The policy engine can be configured to construct a set of session attributes 128.sub.4 associated with the content access session 373 invoked by the user 123.sub.4. In some embodiments, the session attributes 128.sub.4 can comprise all or any of the user attributes 127.sub.4 and other data items, such as duration (e.g., duration of session before timeout)…[0106]: For security purposes, the enterprise setup window 604 might further enable the admin 124.sub.4 to establish an enterprise-wide session duration of “1 hour”, after which the tokens associated with the session are refreshed”. The system of Sardesai is directed to online session with attributes such as a session can be assigned to a duration where it can correspond to time interval during the session for purposes such as relating to security. Therefore, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai at least teaches “provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, to only the copies of set of data items in the database maintained in the geolocation and for the time interval of the one or more criteria specific to the user identified by the settings and in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation for each data item, wherein access to the corresponding original set of data items is blocked during the session”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al. (US PGPUB 20090307605) “Ryan” in view of Massand (US PGPUB 20130246901) “Massand” and Sardesai et al. (US PGPUB 20170147795) “Sardesai”.
Regarding claim 1, Ryan teaches a system comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing computer executable instructions, the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive, by an access manager configured on the one or more processors, a request from a user to establish a session with a workspace in a computing environment ([0025] FIG. 1 shows an overview of a set-up environment 100 in which an object 102 is converted to a collaborative workspace 104 (henceforth simply "workspace") using a workspace-providing system 106. The workspace 104 defines functionality which allows individuals to work on one or more shared tasks. The workspace 104 includes permissions 108 which define the individuals who are permitted to work on the workspace 104 (referred to as "members" herein) and the manner in which these individuals are permitted to work on the workspace 104. In operation, authorized members 112 may engage the workspace 104 to work on the shared items 110 in a coordinated fashion as defined by the permissions 108… Thus, a session with a workspace can be established for appropriate users to access the workspace); determine, by the access manager responsive to the request, settings defining the workspace of the user without including data items of the workspace (Fig. 1 & [0026]: The term object is used broadly herein to refer to any kind of source item to that can be converted into a shared workspace. There is no constraint on what the object 102 may consist of, except that the object 102 is not itself already a workspace. As a general guideline, a user may wish to convert the object 102 to the workspace 104 if that object 102 is (or will be) a topic of shared interest among a group of individuals 114... The object 102 need not have a plurality of such items 116 associated therewith; for instance, in one case, the object 102 may have a single item associated therewith, namely itself…Thus, an object can be one of the settings that define a workspace and in an instance, the object is not required to contain items (data items) to be able to convert into a workspace) the settings comprising a geolocation selected based on the geolocation of the user, the geolocation specifying a physical or jurisdictional location to enforce rules for data storage and access ([0064]: The functionality and information associated with the workspace 104 are provided by the workspace-providing system 106 at some network-accessible location (or locations). This means, for instance, that all of the items associated with the workspace 104 may be stored at some network-accessible location (or locations). Alternatively, or in addition, parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406)... Examiner’s note: Thus, information relating to a workspace such as items can be stored locally (geolocation) on one or more member electronic devices so a geolocation is determined and the location is specified a physical or jurisdictional location for data storage and access ) and a data query comprising one or more search terms defining a scope of data for the workspace of the user (Fig. 6 & [0075] A title part 604 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies a proposed title of the workspace 104. In this case, the proposed title is "Bake sale at the school on Saturday."… [0076] A people part 606 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies a proposed list of members of the workspace 104…[0079] The set-up management module can propose other items that were not expressly identified in the Email message. For example, the set-up management module can examine the user's preference information, and based thereon, propose to attach one or more items specified as default items by the user to be included in any workspace that she creates… Thus, terms such as title, people, and user’s preference information can be related to a workspace that define the scope of a workspace); identify, by a database constructor configured on the one or more processors using the data query, a plurality of data items available for the workspace based on the one or more search terms ([0079] An item part (data items) identifies a proposed list of items that can be attached to the workspace. In this case, the set-up management module has proposed that the two document items that were attached to the Email message can be attached to the workspace. The set-up management module can propose other items that were not expressly identified in the Email message. For example, the set-up management module can examine the user's preference information, and based thereon, propose to attach one or more items specified as default items by the user to be included in any workspace that she creates… The terms such as user's preference information define the scope of the workspace and the terms can be used as terms to find items that are associated with the corresponding workspace), by executing the data query against one or more databases of the computing environment (“[0055]: A first general class of rules can examine the object 102 itself to extract information therefrom which may have a bearing on the provisioning of a feature of the workspace 104. In one case, such a rule may direct a component set-up module to look for specific keywords in the object 102. Alternatively, or in addition, a rule may direct a component set-up module to look for information expressed within certain fields of the object 102. Or such a rule may direct a component set-up module to look at information expressed in the metadata associated with an object… [0056] A second general class of rules can retrieve and apply preference information stored by any user who has the authority to configure the set-up process... Examiner’s note: Objects and preference information are looked up to find desired items and other information for the workspace which corresponds to executing queries against a storage to collect data for the workspace); filter, by the database constructor using access control permission of the user, from the plurality of data items for the workspace identified using the data query, a set of data items of the workspace the user can access, wherein filtering comprises excluding any data item for which the access control permission denies access ([0036] The workspace management module also interacts with a permissions management module. In a manual mode of operation, the permissions management module allows a user to grant individuals the right to access the workspace, thus assigning these individuals the status of members. The permissions management module also allows the user to define the permission-level of members. Illustrative permission levels include an owner permission level, and editor permission level, and a viewer permission level. A member who is assigned an owner permission level enjoys certain administrative rights with respect to the workspace 104, such as the ability to set up, manage, and terminate the workspace 104. (In general, the specific set of rights assigned to an owner-member may be environment-specific; for instance, different companies may decide to grant owner-members different respective sets of privileges.) A member who is assigned an editor permission level has the right to make changes to the workspace items. A member who is assigned a viewer permission level has the right to view the workspace items, but does not have the right to makes changes to the workspace items... Examiner’s note: Thus, data items identified can be filtered to each user depending on his or her access rights); generate, by the database constructor, a database, specific only to the user and to be used only by the user in the by the workspace for the session (([0029] : The user may convert a single document item or a collection of documents items (e.g., a folder of document items) to a collaborative workspace. In the case of a single document item, the workspace 104 may include at least a single workspace item associated with original document item. In the case of a collection of document items, the workspace may include at least all of the document items in the original collection of document items… [0047]: The items set-up module may include certain items in the workspace based on the identity of the user who is initiating the set-up process. The user may specify in advance, for example, that all workspaces that she creates shall include certain items…Thus, the workspace can contain portions/all of the set of data items and is specific to the users/workspace), the database stored in the geolocation specific to the user identified by the settings and in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation ([0064]: All of the items associated with the workspace 104 may be stored at some network-accessible location (or locations). Alternatively, or in addition, parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406)); provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, to only the copies of set of data items in the database maintained in the geolocation in accordance with the applicable rules of the geolocation for each data item ([0025]The workspace 104 includes permissions 108 which define the individuals who are permitted to work on the workspace 104 (referred to as "members" herein) and the manner in which these individuals are permitted to work on the workspace 104. The workspace 104 also includes items 110 (document items, data items, discussion items, etc.) that the members are permitted to work on in a collaborative fashion. In operation, authorized members 112 may engage the workspace 104 to work on the shared items 110 in a coordinated fashion as defined by the permissions 108. … [0036]: The workspace management module also interacts with a permissions management module. In a manual mode of operation, the permissions management module allows a user to grant individuals the right to access the workspace, thus assigning these individuals the status of members… [0064]: Parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406)).
Ryan does not explicitly teach one or more criteria defining a time interval; wherein the database is temporary; using copies of the set of data items and without providing access to the user to corresponding original set of data items; and provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, for the time interval of the one or more criteria specific to the user identified by the settings.
Massand teaches wherein the database is temporary ([0035]: Collaboration platform includes memory that stores documents, folders of documents, information, content, data, etc. for transmission and viewing by clients through browser or similar type of software. In accordance with disclosed embodiments, collaboration platform temporarily provides access to such information in a virtual memory during communication sessions with a client, and deletes the information from its virtual memory at the end of a communication session with the client… [0036] Virtual memory may be a physical memory that is configured to temporarily store content (e.g., documents, folders, information, etc.) that is used by collaboration platform to provide the content to reviewers via browser software executed at the reviewer client computer.); using copies of the set of data items and without providing access to the user to corresponding original set of data items ([0068]: The owner may then select content (e.g., a document, folder of documents, etc.) from an original storage location in client storage to attach to the workspace. In one embodiment, client storage may perform processes that create a copy of the original selected document to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage. Client storage may create a collaboration document for this purpose.); wherein access to the corresponding original set of data items is blocked during the session (Fig. 7 & [0068] At step 420, the owner may then select content (e.g., a document, folder of documents, etc.) from an original storage location in client storage 204 to attach to the workspace (Step 420). In one embodiment, client storage 204 may perform processes that create a copy of the original selected document to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage 204… [0089]: FIG. 7 also shows workspace 1 including the folder "workspace 1" which provides a link to all documents included in that folder, which in this example, includes a content link to document 222.doc. When selected, the content link to 222.doc links to the copy of document 222.doc maintained by agent server 206. FIG. 7 also shows data storage 204 at the owner that maintains the original document 222.doc, which is separate from any connections to collaboration platform 110). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Massand teachings in the Ryan system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate temporary data in a workspace taught by Massand in the Ryan system to improve the security of data and eliminate data loss or corruption. Also, it would have been motivated to incorporate generating copies of original data for use in a workspace taught by Massand in the Ryan system to ensure the original document is maintained in the original source location in client storage, as recognized by Massand ([0068]). This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Ryan in view of Massand does not explicitly teach one or more criteria defining a time interval; and provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, for the time interval of the one or more criteria specific to the user identified by the settings.
Sardesai teaches one or more criteria defining a time interval ([0068] Specifically, as shown, the policy engine can be configured to construct a set of session attributes 128.sub.4 associated with the content access session 373 invoked by the user 123.sub.4. In some embodiments, the session attributes 128.sub.4 can comprise all or any of the user attributes 127.sub.4 and other data items, such as time (e.g., time session is invoked), duration (e.g., duration of session before timeout), location (e.g., IP address, geographical location, etc.), device (e.g., device type, device ID, etc.), and/or other data items… Examiner’s note: Attributes that can be determined for a collaboration workspace including time (e.g., time session is invoked) and duration (e.g., duration of session before timeout). These attributes can correspond to one or more criteria defining a time interval); and provide, by the access manager, the user access, during the session, for the time interval of the one or more criteria specific to the user identified by the settings ([0068]: The policy engine can be configured to construct a set of session attributes 128.sub.4 associated with the content access session 373 invoked by the user 123.sub.4. In some embodiments, the session attributes 128.sub.4 can comprise all or any of the user attributes 127.sub.4 and other data items, such as duration (e.g., duration of session before timeout)…[0106]: For security purposes, the enterprise setup window 604 might further enable the admin 124.sub.4 to establish an enterprise-wide session duration of “1 hour”, after which the tokens associated with the session are refreshed… Examiner’s note: A session can be assigned to a duration where it can correspond to time interval during the session). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Sardesai teachings in the Ryan and Massand system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate time interval criteria in a workspace taught by Sardesai in the Ryan and Massand system to strengthen security of data and reduce the cost of the system. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ryan does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to delete the database upon detecting closing of the workspace.
Massand teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to delete the database upon detecting closing of the workspace ([0035]: In accordance with disclosed embodiments, collaboration platform temporarily provides access to such information in a virtual memory during communication sessions with a client (e.g., client 102,104), and deletes the information from its virtual memory at the end of a communication session with the client.). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Massand teachings in the Ryan and Sardesai system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate deletion of data when terminating a workspace taught by Massand in the Ryan and Sardesai system to prevent catastrophic events such as data breach. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ryan further teaches wherein the settings include a workspace name, a workspace identifier and a workspace description. ( [0044]: The set-up initiation module 302 allows the user to create the workspace 104 in the context of the user's current consumption of the object 102…[0074]: The proposed workspace 104 will include various features…[0075] A title part 604 (workspace name/workspace identifier) of the set-up UI presentation identifies a proposed title of the workspace… [0076] A people part 606 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies a proposed list of members of the workspace 104… [0079] An item part 608 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies a proposed list of items that can be attached to the workspace 104… [0080] A list part 610 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies proposed tasks to be assigned to members… Thus, at least an item part, a people part and a list part can be a workspace description).
Regarding claim 5, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Ryan further teaches wherein in generating the settings, the one or more processors are configured to: provide a user interface for receiving input data (Fig. 6 & [0074] The set-up management module 206 next presents a set-up UI presentation 602 to the user, as shown in FIG. 6. Namely, the proposed workspace 104 will include various features. The set-up UI presentation 602 identifies how it proposes to configure those features. Further, the set-up UI presentation 602 gives the user the opportunity to modify the proposed features in any way, including removing certain selections, adding certain new selections, and changing certain selections); receive, via the user interface, one or more criteria defining the scope of the workspace; and generate the settings using the one or more criteria ([0026]: A user may wish to convert the object to the workspace if that object is a topic of shared interest among a group of individuals. A user may also be encouraged to convert the object to the workspace if the object has a plurality of items associated therewith that may be effectively managed by the workspace…[0033]: The workspace-providing system also allows the user to set up the workspace in a manual manner, e.g., by manually selecting the workspace's members, permission levels, items, etc…Fig. 5 & [0067] Advancing to FIG. 5, this figure shows an Email user interface (UI) presentation that presents an Email message. In this example, the Email message constitutes the object (introduced in FIG. 1) that can be converted into the workspace).
Regarding claim 6, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ryan further teaches wherein the data query comprises one or more search terms defining the scope of data (Fig. 6 & [0075] A title part 604 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies a proposed title of the workspace 104. In this case, the proposed title is "Bake sale at the school on Saturday."… [0076] A people part 606 of the set-up UI presentation 602 identifies a proposed list of members of the workspace 104…[0079] The set-up management module can propose other items that were not expressly identified in the Email message. For example, the set-up management module can examine the user's preference information, and based thereon, propose to attach one or more items specified as default items by the user to be included in any workspace that she creates… Thus, terms such as title, people, and user’s preference information can be related to a workspace that define the scope of a workspace).
Regarding claim 7, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Ryan further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: filter the plurality of data items based at least on some of the plurality of data items to be maintained in a geolocation or jurisdiction ([0064] In one scenario, the functionality and information associated with the workspace 104 are provided by the workspace-providing system 106 at some network-accessible location (or locations). This means, for instance, that all of the items associated with the workspace 104 may be stored at some network-accessible location (or locations). Alternatively, or in addition, parts of the workspace functionality and/or workspace information can be implemented locally by the member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406). For instance, the workspace 104 may include one or more items that are stored locally on one or more member electronic devices (402, 404, . . . 406)).
Regarding claim 8, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ryan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: detect a user action in relation to the database; and update the settings to add an indication of the user action ([0078] The people part includes an editing mechanism (e.g., a drop-down selection mechanism) that allows the user to change the permission level of any proposed member, or, alternatively, to entirely remove a proposed member. Although not shown, the people part can also include a mechanism for adding one or more individuals who are not currently identified in the people part… [0079]: An item part of the set-up UI presentation identifies a proposed list of items that can be attached to the workspace. In this case, the set-up management module has proposed that the two document items that were attached to the Email message can be attached to the workspace. In another case, the set-up management module can propose other items that were not expressly identified in the Email message. For example, the set-up management module can examine the user's preference information, and based thereon, propose to attach one or more items specified as default items by the user to be included in any workspace that she creates. As in the case of the people part, the item part can allow the user to edit the proposed item selections, e.g., by removing proposed items, adding new items, and so on. Thus, changes can be made by the user that changes the settings of the workspace and the changes are updated to the workspace accordingly.).
Regarding claim 9, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Ryan further teaches wherein in updating the settings, the one or more processors are configured to perform at least one of: add an indication of a user interface (UI) displaying data associated with the database; add an indication of a modification to data in the database; or add an indication of user settings for rendering data associated with the database (Fig. 6 & [0079]: An item part of the set-up UI presentation identifies a proposed list of items that can be attached to the workspace. The item part 608 can allow the user to edit the proposed item selections, e.g., by removing proposed items, adding new items, and so on. Thus, an indication of UI displaying data associated with the database is presented such as element 608 of fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ryan further teaches wherein in providing access to the database, the one or more processors are configured to only provide access to data in the database for the session of the workspace and not the full set of data the user has permission to access otherwise ([0050] Regarding the topic of discussion items, consider the specific scenario in which the user wishes to convert a single document item (such as a word processing document, etc.) into the workspace 104. In this case, the document item may have been originally delivered to the user in an Email message, and that Email message, in turn, may have been part of a larger discussion thread. In this case, the items set-up module 306 can investigate the origin of the document item and extract any discussion items that may be related to this item for possible inclusion in the workspace 104. This example also may implicate the permissions set-up module 304. Namely, the permissions set-up module 304 can examine the discussion thread to determine who might be appropriate candidates to suggest as members of the workspace 104… Thus, the system can identify the required data to include in a workspace and grant permissions to the appropriate members to access the extracted data).
Regarding claim 11, note the rejections of claim 1. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 12, note the rejections of claim 2. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 14, note the rejections of claim 4. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 15, note the rejections of claim 5. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 16, note the rejections of claim 6. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 17, note the rejections of claim 7. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 18, note the rejections of claim 8. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 19, note the rejections of claim 9. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Regarding claim 20, note the rejections of claim 1. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al. (US PGPUB 20090307605) “Ryan” in view of Massand (US PGPUB 20130246901) “Massand” and Sardesai et al. (US PGPUB 20170147795) “Sardesai” and Baughman (US PGPUB 20150317128) “Baughman”.
Regarding claim 3, Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ryan in view of Lombardi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to limit a maximum number of workspaces that can be accessed simultaneously to a predefined number of workspaces.
Baughman teaches to limit a maximum number of workspaces that can be accessed simultaneously to a predefined number of workspaces ([0040]: Application 106 and application 108 selectively provide at least one of data 118, data 120, and data 122 under a subscription arrangement with enterprise application 104. As subscribing applications, application 106 and application 108 make data 118, data 120, and data 122 available to enterprise application 104 for operation in segregated or protected areas or workspaces. Operating in segregated or protected areas or workspaces may increase processor efficiency, and create faster computer response times, by allowing the computer to access a limited number of workspaces instead of processes that would have required additional workspaces). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Baughman teachings in the Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate limiting number of workspace to be accessed taught by Baughman in the Ryan in view of Massand and Sardesai system to increase processor efficiency, as recognized by Baughman ([0040]). This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, note the rejections of claim 3. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under the same prior-art teachings.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Quinn et al. (US PGPUB 20170237747) is directed to enterprise systems a flexible platform to securely collaborate and transmit data assets within and across organizations. The system determines whether to allow or continue to allow access to a protected data asset are disclosed herein. For example, one method involves receiving a request to access a protected data asset, wherein the request is received from a first user device; determining whether to grant access to the protected data asset, wherein the determining comprises evaluating one or more criteria associated with the first user device, and the criteria comprises first information associated with a first policy constraint; and in response to a determination that access to the protected data asset is to be granted, granting access to the protected data asset.
Conclusion
/C.D.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 2153
06/11/2026
/KAVITA STANLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153