DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on August 18, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 14, 15, and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The newly added limitations “a base that includes a front wall that is entirely rounded and uninterrupted … wherein the uninterrupted, entirely round front wall of the base is rounded about longitudinal axis of the wick when the refill has been coupled with the housing” which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification is devoid to provide any written description corresponding to the new limitations. In addition, the new limitations cannot be found in the drawings together with. For example, as shown in Fig. 8, the uninterrupted, entirely round front wall asserted by the applicant is interrupted by the air inlets 116 and the sidewalls of the base 106. As a result, claims 1, 14, and 18 fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 2-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph because of dependency on claims 1, 14, and 18.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The newly added limitation “is attachable to and detachable from the base” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification is devoid to provide any written description corresponding to the new limitation. In addition, the new limitation cannot be found in the drawings together with.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The newly added limitation “ a means in the piezoelectric assembly that is configured to counteract a force that the wick exerts on the coil compression spring when the refill and the overhanging cover of the housing are coupled with one another” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification is devoid to provide any written description corresponding to the new limitation. In addition, the new limitation cannot be found in the drawings together with.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means” in claim 10.
The limitation “means” has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “wire” in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. (US 7,854,394 B2) in view of Helf et al. (US 6,896,193 B2) and Michaels et al. (US 7,824,627 B2).
With regard to claims 1, 14, and 18, Powell discloses a piezoelectric dispenser (100), comprising: a refill (102), comprising: a container having a neck and defining a fluid reservoir and an outermost surface (Fig. 11), a wick holder (Fig. 16) affixed to the neck, and a wick (1900) retained by the wick holder that has a lower end disposed within the fluid reservoir (102) and an upper end that is in communication with a piezoelectric assembly (1002), the wick defining a longitudinal axis, a housing (101), comprising: a base (Fig. 2) an overhanging cover (Fig. 2) that defines a fluid outlet (103) and extends inward from the base at a shoulder (Fig. 2), toward the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2), the overhanging cover being disposed around and above the upper end of the wick and housing the piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 2); wherein the base is provided on a rear side of the refill with left, right, and front sides of the refill being exposed to a surrounding environment after the refill has been coupled with the overhanging cover of the housing (Fig. 2).
However, Powell does not disclose that the piezoelectric dispenser includes a coil compression spring that is disposed above a piezoelectric actuator; wherein the piezoelectric assembly further includes a wire that is configured to counteract a force that the wick exerts on the coil spring when the refill and the piezoelectric assembly are coupled with one another.
Helf teaches a piezoelectric dispenser comprising a piezoelectric assembly includes a coil compression spring (42) that is disposed above a piezoelectric actuator (30); wherein the piezoelectric assembly further includes a wire (26 that is configured to counteract a force that the wick exerts on the coil spring when the refill and the piezoelectric assembly are coupled with one another (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezoelectric dispenser of Powell, by incorporating the piezoelectric assembly with the coil compression spring and the wire as taught by Helf, for the benefit of providing an improved atomizing assembly support which is easier to manufacture and assemble in the atomizing device and which eliminates the need to weld a wire to form a support loop (Col. 1 lines 30-33).
However, Powell does not disclose that the base that includes a front wall that is entirely rounded and uninterrupted, wherein the uninterrupted, entirely round front wall of the base is rounded about longitudinal axis of the wick when the refill has been coupled with the housing.
Michaels teaches a piezoelectric dispenser comprising a base that includes a front wall that is entirely rounded and uninterrupted (302a), wherein the uninterrupted, entirely round front wall of the base is rounded about longitudinal axis of the wick when the refill (326) has been coupled with the housing (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Powell, by changing the shape of the front wall of the base of Powell to entirely rounded, uninterrupted shape as taught by Michaels, since the modification would provide an ergonomic grip shape for the user to handle the device.
With regard to claim 2, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Powell further discloses that the overhanging cover is attachable to and detachable from the base (by screws 201, Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Powell further discloses that a sensor (105) is disposed within the base and is configured to interact with the refill (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Helf further discloses that a plurality of posts (22) are disposed directly below the overhanging cover (Fig. 1 and 2) and around the fluid outlet (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Helf further discloses that a receiving aperture (24) is disposed below the fluid outlet and is configured to receive the wick of the refill when the refill is coupled with the piezoelectric dispenser (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Powell further discloses that the base includes an electrical input (1010) that is disposed below the piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 10).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Helf further discloses that the piezoelectric assembly comprises a retainer and a coil compression spring (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Helf further discloses that the coil compression spring (42) is configured to facilitate contact between the wick of the refill and the piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 9, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8 above. Helf further discloses that means (26) in the piezoelectric assembly that is configured to counteract a force that the wick exerts on the coil compression spring when the refill and the overhanging cover of the housing are coupled with one another (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 10, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above. Helf further discloses that the means comprises a wire (26).
With regard to claim 11, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Powell further discloses that the refill is removably coupled with the housing (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 12, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Helf further discloses that the piezoelectric assembly further includes an orifice plate (32).
With regard to claim 13, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Helf further discloses that the piezoelectric actuator (30) and the orifice plate (32) are a unitary component (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 15, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 14 above. Helf further discloses that a plurality of posts (22) are disposed beneath the overhanging cover (Fig. 2) and below the fluid outlet (38 Fig. 1), and wherein a receiving aperture of the housing (24) is configured to receive the wick of the refill when the refill is coupled with the housing (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 16, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 14 above. Helf further discloses that the piezoelectric assembly further includes a wire (26) that is configured to counteract a force that the wick exerts on the coil spring (42) when the refill and the piezoelectric device are coupled with one another (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 17, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 14 above. Powell further discloses that the overhanging cover and the base are integral with one another (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 19, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 18 above. Helf further discloses that the piezoelectric assembly further includes an orifice plate (32), and the piezoelectric actuator and the orifice plate are a unitary component (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 20, the device of Powell as modified by Helf and Michaels discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 18 above. Powell further discloses that the overhanging cover and the base are integral with one another (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752