DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202010506251.2, filed on 05 June 2020.
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0153 states "roadside unit 200 disposed on two sides of the road" when describing Figure 1. Figure 1 only shows Reference 200 on one side of the road. Paragraph 0180 states "Number of OCts." It is unclear what is meant. Starting from Paragraph 0207, "the sub-task/first message" and "a sub-task/first message" are used interchangeably, in conflict with the language in Figure 10. It is recommended the rest of the specification and drawings be checked to ensure appropriate use of "a/an" vs "the.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: "computing task" in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: "a prompt message that is for establishing a radio resource control link and that is sent by the first entity" in claims 3 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (hereinafter "Park '787"), US 20210105787 A1, Provisional Application No. 62/910,361 filed 03 October 2019.
Regarding Claim 1, Park ‘787 discloses a wireless communication method, wherein the method is applied to a terminal device, and the method comprises (see Paragraph 0002, communication method applied to a terminal/wireless device):
receiving configuration information that is of a sub-task (see Paragraph 0097, configuration information for differing communication tasks is received)
and that is sent by a first entity, wherein the first entity is an entity in a radio access network (see Paragraph 0097, information is sent by base station/first entity in RAN);
executing the sub-task based on the configuration information of the sub-task to generate a task execution result (see Paragraph 0097, received signal levels are measured and a resulting report is generated);
and sending the task execution result to the first entity (see Paragraph 0154, reported measurement results are sent to base station/first entity).
Regarding Claim 2, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the configuration information of the sub-task is sent by the first entity (see Paragraph 0161, first entity sends configuration information message)
based on a signaling link transmission policy and/or a data channel transmission policy that are/is carried in a first message (see Paragraphs 0161, 0166, and 0242, the first message/preamble contains parameters the transmission policy is based on).
Regarding Claim 3, Park ‘787 discloses wherein if based on the first message carrying the signaling link transmission policy, the method further comprises (see Paragraph 0165, the first message may contain further information):
receiving a prompt message that is for establishing a radio resource control link (see Figure 6 Reference 602 and Paragraph 0096, RRC connection/prompt message)
and that is sent by the first entity (see Paragraph 0097, the RRC connection message may be sent by the first entity);
generating a radio resource control establishment request message based on the prompt message (see Paragraph 0097, RRC context/request message is based on RRC connection/prompt message);
and establishing a signaling link with the first entity based on the radio resource control establishment request message (see Paragraph 0097, RRC connection occurs between first entity and terminal based on RRC context/prompt).
Regarding Claim 4, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the prompt message comprises a paging message that carries a type of the sub-task (see Paragraphs 0067, 0097-98, 0100, and RAN 154 in Figure 1B, RRC prompted/connected wireless device paging message carries sub-task details).
Regarding Claim 7, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the signaling link comprises a data radio bearer link and/or a signaling radio bearer link (see Paragraph 0097, RRC context/signaling link may comprise radio link or parameters with which the base station configures the UE/wireless device with that includes or more data radio bearer, logical channel, signaling radio bearer).
Regarding Claim 8, Park ‘787 discloses wherein if based on the first message carrying the data channel transmission policy (see Paragraph 0242, communication between first entity and terminal device includes decision policy),
the data channel transmission policy indicates that a data channel that is between the terminal device and a second entity (see Paragraph 0242, 0218, 0215, and Figure 18A, decision policy and data channel occur between base station and wireless devices)
and that is established by the first entity is used to transmit the configuration information of the sub-task (see Paragraph 0215, wireless device transmits configuration information regarding sub-task/wireless communications)
and the task execution result (see Paragraph 0218 and Figure 18 Reference 1830, wireless communications signal includes information),
and the second entity is an entity in the radio access network (see Paragraph 0054 and Figure 18A, wireless communication network may be an RAN and consist of multiple wireless devices/entities).
Regarding Claim 9, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the data channel comprises a second data channel between the terminal device and a third entity (see Paragraphs 0218 and 0222, data is communicated between wireless devices/terminal device and a third entity)
and a first data channel between the third entity and the second entity (see Figure 18A, Paragraphs 0215 and 0218, data communication between wireless entities),
and the third entity is an entity in the radio access network (see Paragraphs 0054 and 0215, wireless communication network may be an RAN to which the wireless devices/terminals are connected to, fig. 1B shows the wireless devices 106, 156, 156B in the RAN 104).
Regarding Claim 10, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the task execution result and an execution result of another sub-task are transmitted by using the same first data channel between the third entity and the second entity (see Paragraphs 0218 and Figure 18A, data information is sent across same data channels, section 0097, 01471-0142-the wireless device performs and reports measurements to the base station based on received configuration).
Regarding Claim 11, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the second data channel is a data radio bearer link (see Paragraph 0297 and Figure 31 Reference 3124, data is sent across radio bearers).
Regarding Claim 12, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the terminal device is selected by the second entity based on attribute information of each terminal device (see Paragraph 0140, wireless device/second entity determines channel and channel state information),
and the attribute information comprises running state information and/or location information (see Paragraph 0141, the CSI resource configuration may contain location information).
Regarding Claim 13, Park ‘787 discloses wherein the first message is generated by the second entity (see Figure 25 Reference 2530, node/second entity generates first message containing configuration information)
based on a second message sent by the terminal device (see Figure 25 Reference 2510, wireless device/terminal device sends configuration request based on configuration information, section 0246-0247),
and the second message carries a target task (see Paragraph 0254, Reference 2510 carries target task request).
Regarding Claim 14, Park ‘787 discloses wherein that the first message carries the signaling link transmission policy and/or the data channel transmission policy (see Figure 25 Reference 2530, first message carries “policy/condition” or decision policy to the wireless device, the wireless uses send one or more transport blocks based on the decision policy, section 0242, 0246)
is determined based on attribute information of the target task (see Paragraph 0246, decision policy determined based on configuration parameters/attribute information of task).
Regarding Claim 15, it has similar limitations to those of Claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above (see Paragraph 0200, processing system with memory capable of executing instructions).
Regarding Claim 16, it has similar limitations to those of Claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding Claim 17, it has similar limitations to those of Claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding Claim 18, it has similar limitations to those of Claim 4 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding Claim 20, it has similar limitations to those of Claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above (see Paragraphs 0200 and 0340, processing system capable of executing instructions on “non-transitory tangible computer readable media”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park '787 in view of Zuniga et al. (hereinafter "Zuniga '361"), CN 103238361 A, translation provided.
Regarding Claim 5, Park ‘787 fails to explicitly teach the paging message comprises a first cause value, and the first cause value indicates the type of the sub-task.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zuniga ‘361 teaches wherein the paging message comprises a first cause value (see Paragraph 0225, cause value with ENB FAILURE message/paging message),
and the first cause value indicates the type of the sub-task (see Paragraph 0225, cause value is related to configuration data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Park ‘787 by including the paging message comprises a first cause value, and the first cause value indicates the type of the sub-task. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve “dynamic frequency spectrum management in the network management channel selecting method,” as suggested by Zuniga ‘361 in the abstract.
Regarding Claim 6, Park ‘787 fails to explicitly teach wherein the radio resource control establishment request message carries a second cause value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zuniga ‘361 teaches wherein the radio resource control establishment request message (see Paragraph 0079, MME/request message is associated with radio technologies/RRC)
carries a second cause value (see Paragraph 0234, cause value with MME FAILURE message/request message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Park ‘787 by including wherein the radio resource control establishment request message carries a second cause value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve “dynamic frequency spectrum management in the network management channel selecting method,” as suggested by Zuniga ‘361 in the abstract.
Regarding Claim 19, it has similar limitations to those of Claim 5 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20220217553 A1, Foreign Priority: April 02, 2019) discloses “a communication method, for handling a network error, performed by a terminal” related to public land mobile networks (PLMN).
Santhanam et al. (US 10951347 B2, Provisional Application No. 62/531,691 filed July 12, 2017) discloses “techniques for user equipment (UE) capability discovery in distributed wireless networks.”
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473