DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, 12-14, and 18-19 have been canceled.
Claims 25-26 are new claims.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 15-17, and 20-26 are currently pending.
The addition or removal of prior art is not intended to suggest or imply the amendments have overcome the prior art in every instance, but has been removed because of duplicative or overlapping teachings with new or additional prior art references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 15-17, 20, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishnan (US 20220136475 A1) in view of Hodges (US 9285851 B2).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Gopalakrishnan discloses, a plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0034] the ESS 108 includes first and second batteries 110, 112 electrically coupled to an associated one of first and second voltage buses 114, 116); a processor (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) communicatively coupled to a crosspoint switch (Gopalakrishnan: [0004] The ESS further includes a starter electrically coupled to the first voltage bus and mechanically coupled to an engine for cranking the engine during a cranking event. The ESS further includes a controller electrically coupled to the converter and the batteries ... The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus) that controls electron flow of at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] An exemplary energy storage system (“ESS”) includes a controller that operates a bidirectional DC/DC power converter (“converter”) to manage the flow of energy to and from multi-chemistry battery modules of different voltages to maximize the capture and use of regenerative energy); a charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold; [0014-0015] the controller determines a battery regeneration event, in response to the controller determining that a torque of the MGU is below zero. The controller compares a power demand on the first voltage bus to a power generated by the MGU. The controller further compares the state of charge of the first battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery. The controller further compares the temperature of the first battery to a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery. The converter is operated in the stand-by mode to transfer all power from MGU to the first battery, in response to the controller determining that the power demand on the first voltage bus is above the power generated by the MGU and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery; and the temperature of the first battery is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery ... the controller compares a state of charge of the second battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery. The converter is operated in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU from the first voltage bus to the second voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus is below the power generated by the MGU; and the state of charge of the second battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery), wherein the database stores information related to the at least two different types of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: see [0006-0012] for determining first and second batts are above or below threshold and capacities; see [0020-0021] for respective charging information regarding a 12v and 48v batts; [0037] the ESS 108 further includes a motor-generator unit 130 (“MGU”) for generating power during a battery regeneration event, and the computer code 128 is configured to set the converter to a standby mode to transfer power from the MGU 130 to the first battery 110, in response to the controller 124 determining that: a torque of the MGU 130 is below zero; the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is above the power of the MGU 130; and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery 110 is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and the temperature of the first battery 110 is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU 130 from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is below the power of the MGU 130; and a state of charge of the second battery 112 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery 112); wherein the one or more modules include instructions executable by the processor (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) to control electron flow of a respective type of power pack according to information maintained by the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [0006-0010] the ESS further includes a motor-generator unit (“MGU”) for generating power during a battery regeneration event. The computer code is configured to set the converter to a standby mode to transfer power from the MGU to the first battery, in response to the controller determining that: a torque of the MGU is below zero; the power demand on the first voltage bus is above the power generated by the MGU; and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery; and the temperature of the first battery is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery ... the computer code is configured to set a DC/DC output voltage of the converter to a maximum level, in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is above an energy storage limit associated with the first battery ... the computer code is configured to set the DC/DC output voltage of the converter based on a regulated voltage control command (“RVC command”), in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is below the energy storage limit ... the computer code is configured to operate the converter in the boost mode to provide torque assist by transferring power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the state of charge of the second battery is above the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery; and the power demand on the MGU is above the power capability of the first battery).
A crosspoint switch is interpreted as a mid-point or relaying section: BCU 14 [0055-0069] is a switching circuit that manages communications and charging, which appears to be parallel in service and result (means of selectively connecting specific lines among many possibilities).
Gopalakrishnan does not explicitly recite the terminology "a charging database". However, Gopalakrishnan discloses a controller having access to at least charging data regarding minimum thresholds, capacity limits, and operating temperatures. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, reasonably implies or suggests accessing a charging database. In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.
Gopalakrishnan does not explicitly disclose, one type of the two different types of power packs includes supercapacitors; a charging database maintained in cloud storage, one or more modules maintained in cloud storage, and a display interface that continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hodges discloses, one type of the two different types of power packs includes supercapacitors (Hodges: (Col. 2, Ln. 46-49) Examples of battery technologies include, but are not limited to: lithium-ion, lithium-polymer and lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO.sub.4) chemistries, supercapacitors (also known as ultracapacitors) and fuel cells); a charging database maintained in cloud storage (Hodges: [FIG. 4(402)(122)]), one or more modules maintained in cloud storage (Hodges: [FIG. 4(402)(122)]), and a display interface that continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs (Hodges: [Claim 10] the graphical user interface being further arranged to display a warning message when at least one of the plurality of battery cells is within a specified range of the end of its operating life, the graphical user interface being further arranged to display an advice message to recommend to a user a type of battery cell to use when replacing at least one of the plurality of battery cells, the recommendation based at least in part on the battery optimization goal), for the benefit of maximizing efficiency and operational life of energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Gopalakrishnan to include maintaining clouds of battery data and display battery data taught by Hodges. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to maximize efficiency and operational life of energy storage devices.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, another type of the at least two different types of power packs include one or more of lithium and lead-acid (Gopalakrishnan: [0071] a 12 Volt lead acid battery 534 electrically coupled to a first voltage bus 514 and a second battery 512 in the form of a 48 Volt lithium battery 532).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses the one or more modules include further instructions executable by the processor (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) to guide an energy source corresponding to a type of a first power pack from the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0025] a bidirectional DC/DC power converter in a boost mode, a buck mode, or a standby mode; [0032] the ESS selectively operates the converter in a boost mode, a standby mode, or a buck mode, in response to power demand on the ESS, power capability of the batteries, the state of charge of the batteries, and the temperature of the batteries) to charge the first power pack to a first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a buck mode for efficiently charging the batteries; [0036] The computer code 128 is configured to operate the converter 122 in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus 116 to the first voltage bus 114, in response to the controller 124 determining that at least one of: a power capability of the first battery 110 is below a power demand on the first voltage bus 114; a state of charge of the first battery 110 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and a temperature of the first battery 110 is below a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in a buck mode to transfer power from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that the engine 104 has started (see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits)) based on information retrieved from the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] A controller executes computer code stored in memory) when a charging state of the first power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] An energy storage system (ESS) for a vehicle propulsion system includes a first battery electrically coupled to a first voltage bus, a second battery electrically coupled to a second voltage bus, and a bidirectional DC/DC power converter electrically coupled to the voltage buses. A starter for cranking an engine is electrically coupled to the first voltage bus. A controller executes computer code stored in memory. The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 5. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the one or more modules include further instructions executable by the processor to (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) guide an energy source corresponding to a type of a second power pack from the plurality of power packs to charge the second power pack to a second threshold limit based on information retrieved from the charging database when a charging state of the second power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the second threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits for duplicate disclosures for a first and second battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the one or more modules include further instructions executable by the processor to (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) restrict electron flow to a first power pack when the electron flow is flowing in a reverse direction from the first power pack to the crosspoint switch, and the first power pack is capable of bi-directional electron flow (Gopalakrishnan: [0008] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set a DC/DC output voltage of the converter to a maximum level, in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is above an energy storage limit associated with the first battery. [0009] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set the DC/DC output voltage of the converter based on a regulated voltage control command (“RVC command”), in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is below the energy storage limit).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the crosspoint switch allows a first power pack from the plurality of power packs to charge to a level to meet power supply requirements of a device powered by the plurality of power packs when the first power pack does not currently have enough charge to meet the power supply requirements of the device (Gopalakrishnan: [0010-0012] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to operate the converter in the boost mode to provide torque assist by transferring power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the state of charge of the second battery is above the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery; and the power demand on the MGU is above the power capability of the first battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Gopalakrishnan discloses, charging database storing information related to controlling charging of a plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold; [0014-0015] the controller determines a battery regeneration event, in response to the controller determining that a torque of the MGU is below zero. The controller compares a power demand on the first voltage bus to a power generated by the MGU. The controller further compares the state of charge of the first battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery. The controller further compares the temperature of the first battery to a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery. The converter is operated in the stand-by mode to transfer all power from MGU to the first battery, in response to the controller determining that the power demand on the first voltage bus is above the power generated by the MGU and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery; and the temperature of the first battery is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery ... the controller compares a state of charge of the second battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery. The converter is operated in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU from the first voltage bus to the second voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus is below the power generated by the MGU; and the state of charge of the second battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery); controlling electron flow to at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs using a crosspoint switch and according to the information maintained in the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] An exemplary energy storage system (“ESS”) includes a controller that operates a bidirectional DC/DC power converter (“converter”) to manage the flow of energy to and from multi-chemistry battery modules of different voltages to maximize the capture and use of regenerative energy; see [0006-0012] for determining first and second batts are above or below minimum threshold and max capacities; see [0020-0021] for respective charging information regarding a 12v and 48v batts; [0037] the ESS 108 further includes a motor-generator unit 130 (“MGU”) for generating power during a battery regeneration event, and the computer code 128 is configured to set the converter to a standby mode to transfer power from the MGU 130 to the first battery 110, in response to the controller 124 determining that: a torque of the MGU 130 is below zero; the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is above the power of the MGU 130; and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery 110 is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and the temperature of the first battery 110 is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU 130 from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is below the power of the MGU 130; and a state of charge of the second battery 112 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery 112).
Gopalakrishnan does not explicitly disclose, one type of the two different types of power packs includes supercapacitors; a charging database maintained in cloud storage, one or more modules maintained in cloud storage, and a display interface that continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hodges discloses, one type of the two different types of power packs includes supercapacitors (Hodges: (Col. 2, Ln. 46-49) Examples of battery technologies include, but are not limited to: lithium-ion, lithium-polymer and lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO.sub.4) chemistries, supercapacitors (also known as ultracapacitors) and fuel cells); a charging database maintained in cloud storage (Hodges: [FIG. 4(402)(122)]), one or more modules maintained in cloud storage (Hodges: [FIG. 4(402)(122)]), and a display interface that continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs (Hodges: [Claim 10] the graphical user interface being further arranged to display a warning message when at least one of the plurality of battery cells is within a specified range of the end of its operating life, the graphical user interface being further arranged to display an advice message to recommend to a user a type of battery cell to use when replacing at least one of the plurality of battery cells, the recommendation based at least in part on the battery optimization goal), for the benefit of maximizing efficiency and operational life of energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Gopalakrishnan to include maintaining clouds of battery data and display battery data taught by Hodges. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to maximize efficiency and operational life of energy storage devices.
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, instructing an energy source corresponding to a type of a first power pack from the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0025] a bidirectional DC/DC power converter in a boost mode, a buck mode, or a standby mode; [0032] the ESS selectively operates the converter in a boost mode, a standby mode, or a buck mode, in response to power demand on the ESS, power capability of the batteries, the state of charge of the batteries, and the temperature of the batteries) to charge the first power pack to a first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a buck mode for efficiently charging the batteries; [0036] The computer code 128 is configured to operate the converter 122 in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus 116 to the first voltage bus 114, in response to the controller 124 determining that at least one of: a power capability of the first battery 110 is below a power demand on the first voltage bus 114; a state of charge of the first battery 110 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and a temperature of the first battery 110 is below a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in a buck mode to transfer power from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that the engine 104 has started (see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits)) based on information retrieved from the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] A controller executes computer code stored in memory) when a charging state of the first power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the first threshold limit the first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] An energy storage system (ESS) for a vehicle propulsion system includes a first battery electrically coupled to a first voltage bus, a second battery electrically coupled to a second voltage bus, and a bidirectional DC/DC power converter electrically coupled to the voltage buses. A starter for cranking an engine is electrically coupled to the first voltage bus. A controller executes computer code stored in memory. The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, instructing an energy source corresponding to (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) a type of a second power pack from the plurality of power packs to charge the second power pack to a second threshold limit based on information retrieved from the charging database when a charging state of the second power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the second threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits for duplicate disclosures for a first and second battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, restricting electrical flow to a first power pack when the electron flow is flowing in a reverse direction from the first power pack to the crosspoint switch, and the first power pack is capable of bi-directional electron flow (Gopalakrishnan: [0008] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set a DC/DC output voltage of the converter to a maximum level, in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is above an energy storage limit associated with the first battery. [0009] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set the DC/DC output voltage of the converter based on a regulated voltage control command (“RVC command”), in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is below the energy storage limit).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, charging a first power pack from the plurality of power packs to a level to meet power supply requirements of a device being charged when the power pack does not have enough charge to meet the power supply requirements of the device (Gopalakrishnan: [0010-0012] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to operate the converter in the boost mode to provide torque assist by transferring power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the state of charge of the second battery is above the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery; and the power demand on the MGU is above the power capability of the first battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the electron flow charges at least one of the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a buck mode for efficiently charging the batteries).
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the electron flow discharges at least one of the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a standby mode for transferring power from a portion of the batteries to an electric machine, such as a starter).
REGARDING CLAIM 25, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, controlling the electron flow further includes controlling the electron flow of another type of the at least two different types of power packs, the other type including one or more of lithium and lead-acid (Gopalakrishnan: [0055]).
REGARDING CLAIM 26, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Hodges also discloses, the database includes a measured behavior profile that tracks performance (Hodges: [ABS] The battery cells are selected based on discharge profile data for each battery cell and both the current power requirement and a known future power requirement of the computing-based device; (Col. 3, Ln. 42 - Col. 4, Ln. 7) The memory 116 may also provide a data store and may, for example, be used to store battery cell profile data 122. This battery cell profile data 122 comprises charging and/or discharging profiles for each battery cell 102 and these profiles may be derived, learned or uploaded to the device, as described in more detail below. Alternatively, this battery cell profile data 122 may comprise a model which can be used to generate charging and/or discharging profiles. Although the battery cell profile data 122 is shown in FIG. 1 has being stored in memory 116 within computing-based device 100, in other examples, the data may be stored in a separate data store (separate from memory 116). Other elements shown in FIG. 1 are described below. FIG. 2 shows a flow diagram of an example method of operation of a computing-based device, such as computing-based device 100 as shown in FIG. 1. The method comprises accessing profile data for each battery cell (block 202, e.g. battery cell profile data 122), where, as described above, this profile data comprises charging and/or discharging profiles for each battery cell 102 or a model from which charging and/or discharging profiles may be generated. The method further comprises determining both a current power requirement (or load) and a known future power requirement (or load) based on information available to the operating system (block 204), and then using both the profile data and the calculated loads (i.e. the current load and the known future load) to adaptively control which of the plurality of battery cells 102 are used to provide power to the computing-based device 100 (block 206). As described in more detail below, there may be other parameters or factors which are considered when adaptively controlling which of the plurality of battery cells 102 are discharged (e.g. user preferences or an objective function or goal); (Col. 7, Ln. 35-38) The method shown in FIG. 2 includes the step of accessing profile data for each battery cell (block 202, e.g. battery cell profile data 122), where this profile data comprises charging and/or discharging profiles for each battery cell 102; (Col. 7, Ln. 50-60) The method may further comprising storing the profile data for each battery cell (block 211) and in which case, the profile data may be accessed from the local storage location. Alternatively, the profile data may be accessed from another location (e.g. a remote device). The profile data which is stored for each battery cell (in block 211) may be provided by the manufacturer of the battery cell (e.g. based on factory characterization of the battery cell) or by a third party (e.g. using standard characteristics provided for a particular type of battery cell). In other examples, however, the profile data may be learned by the computing-based device (block 212)) of each of the two different types of power packs (Hodges: [ABS] The battery cells are selected based on discharge profile data for each battery cell and both the current power requirement and a known future power requirement of the computing-based device; (Col. 3, Ln. 42 - Col. 4, Ln. 7) The memory 116 may also provide a data store and may, for example, be used to store battery cell profile data 122. This battery cell profile data 122 comprises charging and/or discharging profiles for each battery cell 102 and these profiles may be derived, learned or uploaded to the device, as described in more detail below. Alternatively, this battery cell profile data 122 may comprise a model which can be used to generate charging and/or discharging profiles. Although the battery cell profile data 122 is shown in FIG. 1 has being stored in memory 116 within computing-based device 100, in other examples, the data may be stored in a separate data store (separate from memory 116). Other elements shown in FIG. 1 are described below. FIG. 2 shows a flow diagram of an example method of operation of a computing-based device, such as computing-based device 100 as shown in FIG. 1. The method comprises accessing profile data for each battery cell (block 202, e.g. battery cell profile data 122), where, as described above, this profile data comprises charging and/or discharging profiles for each battery cell 102 or a model from which charging and/or discharging profiles may be generated. The method further comprises determining both a current power requirement (or load) and a known future power requirement (or load) based on information available to the operating system (block 204), and then using both the profile data and the calculated loads (i.e. the current load and the known future load) to adaptively control which of the plurality of battery cells 102 are used to provide power to the computing-based device 100 (block 206). As described in more detail below, there may be other parameters or factors which are considered when adaptively controlling which of the plurality of battery cells 102 are discharged (e.g. user preferences or an objective function or goal); (Col. 7, Ln. 35-38) The method shown in FIG. 2 includes the step of accessing profile data for each battery cell (block 202, e.g. battery cell profile data 122), where this profile data comprises charging and/or discharging profiles for each battery cell 102; (Col. 7, Ln. 50-60) The method may further comprising storing the profile data for each battery cell (block 211) and in which case, the profile data may be accessed from the local storage location. Alternatively, the profile data may be accessed from another location (e.g. a remote device). The profile data which is stored for each battery cell (in block 211) may be provided by the manufacturer of the battery cell (e.g. based on factory characterization of the battery cell) or by a third party (e.g. using standard characteristics provided for a particular type of battery cell). In other examples, however, the profile data may be learned by the computing-based device (block 212)) under different conditions (Hodges: (Col. 4, Ln. 33-55) the set of battery cells 102 may be adaptively controlled to improve the collective efficiency of the set of battery cells 102. This may, for example, comprise increasing (e.g. to maximizing) the electrical energy that can be delivered by the set of cells by reducing (e.g. by minimizing) the energy which is lost in the form of heat or chemical change within the cells. This may involve adaptively controlling which cells are charged/discharged in order to keep the charging/discharging rates as close to the cell's optimum operating conditions. For example, a computing-based device which comprises a lithium-ion cell and a supercapacitor may draw power from the supercapacitor during periods of increased load (e.g. during spikes in the load profile) in order to smooth the power drawn from the lithium-ion cell and such that the power drawn from the lithium-ion cell is closer to the optimum discharge curve (or rate). In another example, the set of battery cells 102 may be adaptively controlled to provide power at a required voltage level in the most efficient way and taking into consideration that different battery cells may operate at different voltages internally. By selecting the appropriate combination of battery cells 102, inefficient voltage conversion stages may be reduced or eliminated).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishnan (US 20220136475 A1) in view of Hodges (US 9285851 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holme (US 20200164763 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the plurality of power packs are electrically coupled in series.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Holme discloses, the plurality of power packs are electrically coupled in series (Holme: [0148] multiple batteries in a series connection, multiple batteries in a parallel connection, multiple serially connected battery strings connected in parallel, and multiple parallel connected battery strings connected in series), for the benefit of optimizing efficiency for charging and range (life of charge).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by a modified Gopalakrishnan to include a variety of connections taught by Hodges. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimizing efficiency for charging and range (life of charge).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the plurality of power packs are electrically coupled in parallel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Holme discloses, the plurality of power packs are electrically coupled in parallel (Holme: [0148] multiple batteries in a series connection, multiple batteries in a parallel connection, multiple serially connected battery strings connected in parallel, and multiple parallel connected battery strings connected in series), for the benefit of optimizing efficiency for charging and range (life of charge).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by a modified Gopalakrishnan to include a variety of connections taught by Hodges. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimizing efficiency for charging and range (life of charge).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of independent claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combined references applied in the prior rejection of record matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663