DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final on an RCE.
The addition or removal of prior art is not intended to suggest or imply the amendments have overcome the prior art in every instance, but has been removed because of duplicative or overlapping teachings.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09-09-2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 16, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 9 has been canceled.
There are no new claims.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 15-17, and 20-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 15-17, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishnan (US 20220136475 A1) in view of Holme (US 20200164763 A1) in further view of Huang (US 20150123611 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Gopalakrishnan discloses, a plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0034] the ESS 108 includes first and second batteries 110, 112 electrically coupled to an associated one of first and second voltage buses 114, 116); a processor (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) communicatively coupled to a crosspoint switch (Gopalakrishnan: [0004] The ESS further includes a starter electrically coupled to the first voltage bus and mechanically coupled to an engine for cranking the engine during a cranking event. The ESS further includes a controller electrically coupled to the converter and the batteries ... The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus) that controls electron flow of at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] An exemplary energy storage system (“ESS”) includes a controller that operates a bidirectional DC/DC power converter (“converter”) to manage the flow of energy to and from multi-chemistry battery modules of different voltages to maximize the capture and use of regenerative energy); a charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold; [0014-0015] the controller determines a battery regeneration event, in response to the controller determining that a torque of the MGU is below zero. The controller compares a power demand on the first voltage bus to a power generated by the MGU. The controller further compares the state of charge of the first battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery. The controller further compares the temperature of the first battery to a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery. The converter is operated in the stand-by mode to transfer all power from MGU to the first battery, in response to the controller determining that the power demand on the first voltage bus is above the power generated by the MGU and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery; and the temperature of the first battery is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery ... the controller compares a state of charge of the second battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery. The converter is operated in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU from the first voltage bus to the second voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus is below the power generated by the MGU; and the state of charge of the second battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery), wherein the database stores information related to the at least two different types of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: see [0006-0012] for determining first and second batts are above or below threshold and capacities; see [0020-0021] for respective charging information regarding a 12v and 48v batts; [0037] the ESS 108 further includes a motor-generator unit 130 (“MGU”) for generating power during a battery regeneration event, and the computer code 128 is configured to set the converter to a standby mode to transfer power from the MGU 130 to the first battery 110, in response to the controller 124 determining that: a torque of the MGU 130 is below zero; the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is above the power of the MGU 130; and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery 110 is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and the temperature of the first battery 110 is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU 130 from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is below the power of the MGU 130; and a state of charge of the second battery 112 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery 112); wherein the one or more modules include instructions executable by the processor (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) to control electron flow of a respective type of power pack according to information maintained by the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [0006-0010] the ESS further includes a motor-generator unit (“MGU”) for generating power during a battery regeneration event. The computer code is configured to set the converter to a standby mode to transfer power from the MGU to the first battery, in response to the controller determining that: a torque of the MGU is below zero; the power demand on the first voltage bus is above the power generated by the MGU; and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery; and the temperature of the first battery is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery ... the computer code is configured to set a DC/DC output voltage of the converter to a maximum level, in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is above an energy storage limit associated with the first battery ... the computer code is configured to set the DC/DC output voltage of the converter based on a regulated voltage control command (“RVC command”), in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is below the energy storage limit ... the computer code is configured to operate the converter in the boost mode to provide torque assist by transferring power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the state of charge of the second battery is above the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery; and the power demand on the MGU is above the power capability of the first battery).
A crosspoint switch is interpreted as a mid-point or relaying section: BCU 14 [0055-0069] is a switching circuit that manages communications and charging, which appears to be parallel in service and result (means of selectively connecting specific lines among many possibilities).
Gopalakrishnan does not explicitly recite the terminology "a charging database". However, Gopalakrishnan discloses a controller having access to at least charging data regarding minimum thresholds, capacity limits, and operating temperatures. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, reasonably implies or suggests accessing a charging database. In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.
Gopalakrishnan does not explicitly disclose, cloud storage or a display.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Holme discloses, one or more modules maintained in cloud storage (Holme: [0099] Other data 50 may also include data available over a wireless network (e.g., internet/cloud), such as environmental conditions (temperature, relative humidity), traffic, battery or motor control updates and software updates … Network interface 18 may also include a wireless connection capability to a network 61 for accessing other devices 62, such as a mobile device, or a server hosting a vehicle and/or battery manufacturer resources site. The vehicle and/or battery manufacturer resources made available from the server may provide updates to the battery or the vehicle relating to state of battery predictions), and a display interface (Holme: [0250] wherein the UI displays one or more of the following information in the output, [0251] (a) repair battery when the predicted battery state predicts the SOH is below 50%, [0252] (b) warning message when the predicted battery state predicts an unsafe battery condition, [0253] (c) warning message when the predicted battery state predicts energy available is insufficient for predicted event, such as trip entered into navigation system, and [0254] (d) warning message when the predicted battery state predicts power available insufficient for a predicted event, such as hill climb or acceleration needed to enter high-speed highway), for the benefit of offloading new (raw, unprocessed) data and downloading cleansed/processed learning data [0107-0108].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Gopalakrishnan to include a user interface and cloud storage taught by Holme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to offload new (raw, unprocessed) data and download cleansed/processed learning data.
Gopalakrishnan, as modified, discloses displaying battery status [0250-0254]. does not explicitly disclose, continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses, continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs (Huang: [0009] The residual capacity display unit includes a first residual capacity display device and a second residual capacity display device separately electrically connected with the stationary battery is and the removable battery to respectively present the residual electricity storages of the stationary battery and the removable battery), for the benefit of monitoring and selecting a power source; for the benefit of providing indicators of a battery's residual capacity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Gopalakrishnan to include duplicating displaying battery info, taught by Holme [0250-0254], taught by Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitoring and selecting a power source; for the benefit of providing indicators of a battery's residual capacity.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the at least two different types of power packs are one or more of lithium, supercapacitor, and lead-acid (Gopalakrishnan: [0071] a 12 Volt lead acid battery 534 electrically coupled to a first voltage bus 514 and a second battery 512 in the form of a 48 Volt lithium battery 532).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses the one or more modules include further instructions executable by the processor (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) to guide an energy source corresponding to a type of a first power pack from the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0025] a bidirectional DC/DC power converter in a boost mode, a buck mode, or a standby mode; [0032] the ESS selectively operates the converter in a boost mode, a standby mode, or a buck mode, in response to power demand on the ESS, power capability of the batteries, the state of charge of the batteries, and the temperature of the batteries) to charge the first power pack to a first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a buck mode for efficiently charging the batteries; [0036] The computer code 128 is configured to operate the converter 122 in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus 116 to the first voltage bus 114, in response to the controller 124 determining that at least one of: a power capability of the first battery 110 is below a power demand on the first voltage bus 114; a state of charge of the first battery 110 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and a temperature of the first battery 110 is below a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in a buck mode to transfer power from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that the engine 104 has started (see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits)) based on information retrieved from the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] A controller executes computer code stored in memory) when a charging state of the first power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] An energy storage system (ESS) for a vehicle propulsion system includes a first battery electrically coupled to a first voltage bus, a second battery electrically coupled to a second voltage bus, and a bidirectional DC/DC power converter electrically coupled to the voltage buses. A starter for cranking an engine is electrically coupled to the first voltage bus. A controller executes computer code stored in memory. The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 5. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the one or more modules include further instructions executable by the processor to (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) guide an energy source corresponding to a type of a second power pack from the plurality of power packs to charge the second power pack to a second threshold limit based on information retrieved from the charging database when a charging state of the second power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the second threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits for duplicate disclosures for a first and second battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the one or more modules include further instructions executable by the processor to (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) restrict electron flow to a first power pack when the electron flow is flowing in a reverse direction from the first power pack to the crosspoint switch, and the first power pack is capable of bi-directional electron flow (Gopalakrishnan: [0008] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set a DC/DC output voltage of the converter to a maximum level, in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is above an energy storage limit associated with the first battery. [0009] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set the DC/DC output voltage of the converter based on a regulated voltage control command (“RVC command”), in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is below the energy storage limit).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the crosspoint switch allows a first power pack from the plurality of power packs to charge to a level to meet power supply requirements of a device powered by the plurality of power packs when the first power pack does not currently have enough charge to meet the power supply requirements of the device (Gopalakrishnan: [0010-0012] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to operate the converter in the boost mode to provide torque assist by transferring power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the state of charge of the second battery is above the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery; and the power demand on the MGU is above the power capability of the first battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Gopalakrishnan discloses, charging database storing information related to controlling charging of a plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold; [0014-0015] the controller determines a battery regeneration event, in response to the controller determining that a torque of the MGU is below zero. The controller compares a power demand on the first voltage bus to a power generated by the MGU. The controller further compares the state of charge of the first battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery. The controller further compares the temperature of the first battery to a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery. The converter is operated in the stand-by mode to transfer all power from MGU to the first battery, in response to the controller determining that the power demand on the first voltage bus is above the power generated by the MGU and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery; and the temperature of the first battery is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery ... the controller compares a state of charge of the second battery to a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery. The converter is operated in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU from the first voltage bus to the second voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus is below the power generated by the MGU; and the state of charge of the second battery is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery); controlling electron flow to at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs using a crosspoint switch and according to the information maintained in the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] An exemplary energy storage system (“ESS”) includes a controller that operates a bidirectional DC/DC power converter (“converter”) to manage the flow of energy to and from multi-chemistry battery modules of different voltages to maximize the capture and use of regenerative energy; see [0006-0012] for determining first and second batts are above or below minimum threshold and max capacities; see [0020-0021] for respective charging information regarding a 12v and 48v batts; [0037] the ESS 108 further includes a motor-generator unit 130 (“MGU”) for generating power during a battery regeneration event, and the computer code 128 is configured to set the converter to a standby mode to transfer power from the MGU 130 to the first battery 110, in response to the controller 124 determining that: a torque of the MGU 130 is below zero; the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is above the power of the MGU 130; and at least one of: the state of charge of the first battery 110 is below the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and the temperature of the first battery 110 is below the minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in the buck mode to transfer a portion of the power of the MGU 130 from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that: the power demand on the first voltage bus 114 is below the power of the MGU 130; and a state of charge of the second battery 112 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery 112).
Gopalakrishnan does not explicitly disclose a cloud database.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Holme discloses, [0099] Other data 50 may also include data available over a wireless network (e.g., internet/cloud), such as environmental conditions (temperature, relative humidity), traffic, battery or motor control updates and software updates … Network interface 18 may also include a wireless connection capability to a network 61 for accessing other devices 62, such as a mobile device, or a server hosting a vehicle and/or battery manufacturer resources site. The vehicle and/or battery manufacturer resources made available from the server may provide updates to the battery or the vehicle relating to state of battery predictions, for the benefit of offloading new (raw, unprocessed) data and downloading cleansed/processed learning data [0107-0108].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Gopalakrishnan to include a user interface and cloud storage taught by Holme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to offload new (raw, unprocessed) data and download cleansed/processed learning data.
Gopalakrishnan, as modified, discloses displaying battery status [0250-0254]. does not explicitly disclose, continuously displays a status of the electron flow of the at least two different types of power packs from the plurality of power packs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses, [0009] The residual capacity display unit includes a first residual capacity display device and a second residual capacity display device separately electrically connected with the stationary battery is and the removable battery to respectively present the residual electricity storages of the stationary battery and the removable battery, for the benefit of monitoring and selecting a power source; for the benefit of providing indicators of a battery's residual capacity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Gopalakrishnan to include duplicating displaying battery info, taught by Holme [0250-0254], taught by Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitoring and selecting a power source; for the benefit of providing indicators of a battery's residual capacity.
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, instructing an energy source corresponding to a type of a first power pack from the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0025] a bidirectional DC/DC power converter in a boost mode, a buck mode, or a standby mode; [0032] the ESS selectively operates the converter in a boost mode, a standby mode, or a buck mode, in response to power demand on the ESS, power capability of the batteries, the state of charge of the batteries, and the temperature of the batteries) to charge the first power pack to a first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a buck mode for efficiently charging the batteries; [0036] The computer code 128 is configured to operate the converter 122 in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus 116 to the first voltage bus 114, in response to the controller 124 determining that at least one of: a power capability of the first battery 110 is below a power demand on the first voltage bus 114; a state of charge of the first battery 110 is below a minimum state of charge threshold associated with the first battery 110; and a temperature of the first battery 110 is below a minimum temperature threshold associated with the first battery 110. The computer code 128 is further configured to operate the converter 122 in a buck mode to transfer power from the first voltage bus 114 to the second voltage bus 116, in response to the controller 124 determining that the engine 104 has started (see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits)) based on information retrieved from the charging database (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] A controller executes computer code stored in memory) when a charging state of the first power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the first threshold limit the first threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: [ABS] An energy storage system (ESS) for a vehicle propulsion system includes a first battery electrically coupled to a first voltage bus, a second battery electrically coupled to a second voltage bus, and a bidirectional DC/DC power converter electrically coupled to the voltage buses. A starter for cranking an engine is electrically coupled to the first voltage bus. A controller executes computer code stored in memory. The computer code is configured to operate the converter in a boost mode to transfer power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: a power capability of the first battery is below a power demand on the first voltage bus; a state of charge of the first battery is below a state of charge threshold; or a temperature of the first battery is below a temperature threshold).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, instructing an energy source corresponding to (Gopalakrishnan: [0033] one or more processor devices can carry out the described operations, tasks, and functions by manipulating electrical signals representing data bits at memory locations in the system memory, as well as other processing of signals; [0035] The ESS 108 further includes a memory 126, which is electrically coupled to the controller 124 and stores computer code 128 for execution by the controller 124) a type of a second power pack from the plurality of power packs to charge the second power pack to a second threshold limit based on information retrieved from the charging database when a charging state of the second power pack of the plurality of power packs is below the second threshold limit (Gopalakrishnan: see all of [0036-0046] and [0051-0056] for operating modes, minimum batt threshold and capacity limits for duplicate disclosures for a first and second battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, restricting electrical flow to a first power pack when the electron flow is flowing in a reverse direction from the first power pack to the crosspoint switch, and the first power pack is capable of bi-directional electron flow (Gopalakrishnan: [0008] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set a DC/DC output voltage of the converter to a maximum level, in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is above an energy storage limit associated with the first battery. [0009] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to set the DC/DC output voltage of the converter based on a regulated voltage control command (“RVC command”), in response to the controller determining that the energy of the first battery is below the energy storage limit).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 11. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, charging a first power pack from the plurality of power packs to a level to meet power supply requirements of a device being charged when the power pack does not have enough charge to meet the power supply requirements of the device (Gopalakrishnan: [0010-0012] In another aspect, the computer code is configured to operate the converter in the boost mode to provide torque assist by transferring power from the second voltage bus to the first voltage bus, in response to the controller determining that: the state of charge of the second battery is above the minimum state of charge threshold associated with the second battery; and the power demand on the MGU is above the power capability of the first battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Holme also discloses, the plurality of power packs are electrically coupled in series (Holme: [0148] multiple batteries in a series connection, multiple batteries in a parallel connection, multiple serially connected battery strings connected in parallel, and multiple parallel connected battery strings connected in series).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Holme also discloses, the plurality of power packs are electrically coupled in parallel (Holme: [0148] multiple batteries in a series connection, multiple batteries in a parallel connection, multiple serially connected battery strings connected in parallel, and multiple parallel connected battery strings connected in series).
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the electron flow charges at least one of the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a buck mode for efficiently charging the batteries).
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Gopalakrishnan, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Gopalakrishnan also discloses, the electron flow discharges at least one of the plurality of power packs (Gopalakrishnan: [0032] The controller operates the converter in a standby mode for transferring power from a portion of the batteries to an electric machine, such as a starter).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09-09-2025, and beginning on page 6, with respect to §112(b) rejection of record have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of independent claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combined references applied in the prior rejection of record matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663