Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 12/06/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR1020210173212 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a steering assistance device configured to assist a steering device” in claim 1
“a noise reduction device configured to reduce noise of the steering system” in claim 1.
“filter unit configured to filter noise included in electric energy” in claim 5.
“filter structure … to filter noise flowing out from the steering assistance device” in claim 8.
“first filter structure configured to pass DC noise among noise flowing out from the steering assistance device and block AC noise” in claim 9.
“a second filter structure configured to block AC noise having a specific frequency among noises flowing out from the steering assistance device” in claim 9.
“third filter structure configured to pass AC noise having a specific frequency among noises flowing out from the steering assistance device” in claim 9.
Steering assistance device – Fig. 5 of the drawings
Noise reduction device – Fig. 7 of the drawings
Filter unit - "Here, the filter unit10 may include at least one of a CM noise filter and a DM noise filter. The CM noise filter may include at least one of a CM inductor (or coil) and a Y capacitor. The DM noise filter may include an X capacitor." - para. 150, lines 1-4 and "The filter unit10 may use the above-described configuration, but is not limited thereto, and may include any component capable of filtering noise included in electrical energy provided from the input power supply unit or blocking or bypassing incoming noise." - para. 151, lines 1-5 of the subject specification
Filter structure - "The filter structure320 may include at least one of a first filter structure321, a second filter structure322, and a third filter structure323." - para. 124, lines 1-2 of the subject specification
First filter structure - "The first filter structure321 may include a resistance structure that causes resistance. The resistance structure may include a resistor, but is not limited thereto, and may include any structure capable of causing (or having) resistance (or a structure that passes DC noise and blocks AC noise)." - para. 128, lines 1-6 and "The first filter structure321, that is, a resistance structure (e.g., a resistor) may include a resistance bushing. Resistance bushings may include a rubber (or synthetic rubber or polyurethane) bushings, but are not limited thereto, and may include any bushing capable of producing (or having) resistance (or bushings that pass DC noise and block AC noise). " - para. 129, lines 1-6of the subject specification
Second filter structure - "The second filter structure322 may include an inductance structure which generates inductance. The inductance structure may include, but is not limited to, an inductor, and may include any structure as long as it is a structure that causes (or has) inductance (or a structure that blocks AC noise having a specific frequency)." - para. 133, lines 1-6 and "The second filter structure322, that is, the inductance structure (e.g., inductor) may include a heli coil, but is not limited thereto, and may include any coil capable of causing (or, having) inductance (or a coil that blocks AC noise with a specific frequency)." - para. 134, lines 1-5 of the subject specification
Third filter structure - "The third filter structure323 may include a capacitance structure capable of causing or generating capacitance. The capacitance structure may include, but is not limited to, any structure capable of causing (or generating) capacitance (a structure that passes AC noise having a specific frequency)." - para. 138, lines 1-6 "The third filter structure323, that is, a capacitance structure (e.g., a capacitor) may include a feed- thru capacitor. The Feed-thru Capacitor may include a bushing style feed-thru capacitor, but is not limited thereto, and may include any capacitor capable of causing (or having) capacitance (a capacitor that passes AC noise having a specific frequency)." - para. 139, lines 1-7 of the subject specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020059691 A1 ("Izumiya").
Claim 1: Izumiya teaches a steering system comprising: a steering assistance device (540) configured to assist a steering device (520) positioned between a steering wheel (521) and a wheel (529A, 529B) (Fig. 21); and a noise reduction device (neutralizer 40) configured to reduce noise of the steering system including the steering assistance device (para. 154, lines 1-5 and para. 155, line 1), wherein the noise reduction device comprises a virtual ground (para. 33, lines 1-6), wherein the virtual ground enables a second noise path having a lower impedance than a first noise path through which noise flowing into the steering assistance device flows to be formed on the steering system (para. 86, lines 1-6).
Claim 2: Izumiya teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the first noise path is formed based on a parasitic path between the steering device (520) and the steering assistance device (540) (para. 3, lines 1-7).
Claim 3: Izumiya teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the virtual ground is located on the steering assistance device (540) to isolate noise (para. 154, lines 1-5 and para. 155, line 1) introduced through the second noise path (para. 86, lines 1-6) and dissipate the isolated noise as heat (reducing vibrations).
Claim 4: Izumiya teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the virtual ground comprises a conductive plate (para. 143, lines 3-8).
Claim 5: Izumiya teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the steering assistance device (540) comprises: a steering actuator (544, 545) including a steering motor (10, 543) and assisting the steering device based on the steering motor (Fig. 21; para. 154, lines 1-5 and para. 155, line 1); a steering motor power supply unit (60) configured to generate an assist steering force by converting electric energy based on a steering motor control signal and control the steering motor based on the assist steering force (para. 138, lines 3-5 and para. 139, lines 1-3); and a filter unit (11) configured to filter noise included in electric energy provided from input power and provide filtered electric energy to the steering motor power supply unit (Fig. 13; para. 66, lines 1-7 and para. 67, lines 1-7).
Claim 6: Izumiya teaches the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the virtual ground is located in at least one of the steering motor (10, 543) and the steering motor power supply unit (60) (para. 33, lines 1-6).
Claim 7: Izumiya teaches the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches The steering system wherein the filter unit (11) comprises at least one of a common-mode (CM) noise filter (14 coil) (Fig. 13; para. 66, lines 1-7 and para. 67, lines 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020059691 A1 ("Izumiya") in view of US 20150357988 A1 ("Yokozutsumi").
Claim 14: Izumiya teaches Izumiya teaches a steering system comprising: a steering assistance device (540) configured to assist a steering device (520) positioned between a steering wheel (521) and a wheel (529A, 529B) (Fig. 21); and a noise reduction device (neutralizer 40) configured to reduce noise of the steering system including the steering assistance device (para. 154, lines 1-5 and para. 155, line 1), wherein the noise reduction device comprises a virtual ground (para. 33, lines 1-6), wherein the virtual ground enables a second noise path having a lower impedance than a first noise path through which noise flowing into the steering assistance device flows to be formed on the steering system (para. 86, lines 1-6). wherein a filter (11) is located between the steering device and the steering assistance device to filter noise flowing out from the steering assistance device (Fig. 13; para. 66, lines 1-7 and para. 67, lines 1-7). Izumiya does not teach wherein the noise reduction device comprises a filter structure.
However, Yokozutsumi teaches wherein the filter is a filter structure and wherein the noise reduction device comprises a filter structure (50 - Resistor-Inductor-Capacitor (RLC) Filter) (Fig. 2; para. 76, lines 5-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the cited prior art with the features of Yokozutsumi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Yokozutsumi teaches an RLC filter used as a noise filter which would be able to work as the filter structure in the steering system.
Claim 15: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the first noise path is formed based on a parasitic path between the steering device (520) and the steering assistance device (540) (para. 3, lines 1-7).
Claim 16: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the virtual ground is disposed on the steering assistance device (540) to isolate noise (para. 154, lines 1-5 and para. 155, line 1) introduced through the second noise path (para. 86, lines 1-6) and dissipate the isolated noise as heat (reducing vibrations).
Claim 17: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Izumiya further teaches the steering system wherein the virtual ground comprises a conductive plate (para. 143, lines 3-8).
Claim 18: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Yokozutsumi further teaches the steering system wherein the filter structure comprises at least one of, a first filter structure (Resistor Rs, 58) configured to pass DC noise among noise flowing out from the steering assistance device and block AC noise (Fig. 2; para. 76, lines 5-7), a second filter structure (Reactor L2, 51) configured to block AC noise having a specific frequency among noises flowing out from the steering assistance device (Fig. 2; para. 76, lines 5-7), and a third filter structure (Capacitors C, 52) configured to pass AC noise having a specific frequency among noises flowing out from the steering assistance device (Fig. 2; para. 76, lines 5-7).
Claim 19: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 18 as noted above. Yokozutsumi further teaches the steering system wherein the first filter structure (Resistor Rs, 58) comprises a resistance structure generating resistance, the second filter structure (Reactor L2, 51) comprises an inductance structure generating inductance, and the third filter structure (Capacitors C, 52) comprises a capacitance structure generating capacitance (Fig. 2; para. 76, lines 5-7).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020059691 A1 ("Izumiya") in view of US 20150357988 A1 ("Yokozutsumi") and further in view of The Advantages of Using Rubber Bushes ("GMT").
Claim 20: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 18 as noted above. The cited prior art does not teach the steering system wherein the first filter structure comprises a rubber bushing.
However, GMT teaches the steering system wherein the first filter structure comprises a rubber bushing (para. 1, lines 1-4 and para. 2, lines 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the cited prior art with the features of GMT. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as GMT teaches that a rubber bush “is a type of vibration isolator that provides a flexible interface between two rigid parts” (para. 4, lines 1-2) that can be used to minimize noise and for steering components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5 and 6, filed 2/2/2026, with respect to 112(a) and 112(b) rejections regarding the noise reduction device and the steering assistance device have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of 10/31/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 with respect 102 and 103 prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. with regards to the argument against the prior art rejection for claim 1 and 14, the applicant’s argument relies on a distinction in terminology, not in function. A 'virtual ground' that creates a low-impedance noise path at a specific vibration . Thus, the applicant failed to provide persuasive arguments demonstrating why the original rejection of the claims had with the prior arts in mind was erroneous and how the prior arts failed to set a prima facie case of unpatentability. Accordingly, the rejection of the claims for 2-7 and 15-20 are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614