DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 06/26/2026, claim 14 has been amended, claims 1-13 are cancelled, and new claims 15-17 are added. Claims 14-17 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/02/2026 and 07/08/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 3, the term may be amended as “[[a]]the cleaning liquid”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 20030056674A), in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 2014/0120725, hereinafter Miyazaki) and Sone et al. (US 2019/0299360, hereinafter Sone).
Regarding claim 14, Kang discloses, in fig. 1, a substrate polishing device, comprising:
a polishing table having a polishing surface for performing a substrate polishing on a substrate (fig. 1 and Kang English translation, p. 1:11, a polishing unit 5 [corresponds to the recited polishing table] has a polishing surface for polishing a wafer);
a top ring moving freely between a polishing position above the polishing table where the substrate polishing is performed and a handover position at a side of the polishing table where a handover of the substrate is performed (Kang English translation, p. 3:1-4, the polishing head [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer and moves between a polishing table and a loading/unloading place, which is referred as HCLU), and holding the substrate and pressing it against the polishing surface with a membrane while surrounding an outer peripheral part of the substrate with a retainer ring (fig. 5, the polishing head 20 [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer with a membrane; fig. 2, a polishing head 5c having a retaining ring 5e presses the wafer against a polishing pad 5b while the retaining ring surrounds an outer peripheral part of the substrate);
a substrate cleaning part provided corresponding to a cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 [corresponds to the recited substrate cleaning part] having nozzles 12 and jets 13 injects water toward the wafer during cleaning at the cleaning position) and spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate, after the substrate polishing (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 including nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited first spray unit] injects water toward the wafer during cleaning at the cleaning position; Kang English translation, p. 3:3-6, after the polishing operation is completed, the polishing head is transferred to a pedestal 10 and cleaning is conducted by spraying pure water),
wherein the substrate cleaning part includes: a substrate cleaning nozzle configured for spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate at the cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 including nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] injects water toward the wafer during cleaning at the cleaning position. Examiner notes spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate is an intended use), but does not disclose a cleaning position is between the polishing position and the handover position; and the substrate polishing device comprises a control part for controlling operations of the top ring and the substrate cleaning part.
Miyazaki teaches, in the analogous substrate cleaning device field of endeavor, a cleaning position is between the polishing position and the handover position (fig. 4 and ¶ 0058, a top ring 31A of a polishing unit 3A is movable between a polishing position and a transport position TP2. The top ring stops at a cleaning position C between the polishing position and the transport position TP2. An auxiliary cleaning unit 100 is disposed at the cleaning position C); and the substrate polishing device comprises a control part for controlling operations of the top ring and the substrate cleaning part (¶ 0038, the polishing apparatus includes a controller 5 for controlling substrate processing operations wherein the apparatus includes a polishing section and a cleaning section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate cleaning part of Kang to locate the cleaning position between the polishing position and the handover position, to provide the control part as taught by Miyazaki for effective cleaning of the substrate and the top ring (Miyazaki ¶ 0013).
Kang as modified by Miyazaki does not disclose a polishing surface cleaning part disposed above the polishing table and cleaning the polishing surface after the substrate polishing, wherein the polishing surface cleaning part is an atomizer configured to atomize a mixed fluid of liquid and gas or a liquid and spraying the mixed liquid or the liquid onto the polishing surface, and a control part for controlling the polishing surface cleaning part, wherein the control part is configured to clean the substrate by the substrate cleaning part during a cleaning treatment of the polishing surface by the polishing surface cleaning part, and end the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface after the cleaning treatment of the substrate by the substrate cleaning part ends.
Sone teaches, in an analogous substrate polishing device field of endeavor, a polishing surface cleaning part disposed above the polishing table and cleaning the polishing surface after the substrate polishing, wherein the polishing surface cleaning part is an atomizer configured to atomize a mixed fluid of liquid and gas or a liquid and spraying the mixed liquid or the liquid onto the polishing surface (¶ 0079, after a substrate is polished, the substrate is transferred to a cleaning apparatus for substrate cleaning process, and a gas mixture liquid is supplied from an atomizer nozzle onto a polishing pad for cleaning of a polishing pad surface), and
a control part for controlling the polishing surface cleaning part, wherein the control part is configured to clean the substrate by the substrate cleaning part during a cleaning treatment of the polishing surface by the polishing surface cleaning part, and end the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface after the cleaning treatment of the substrate by the substrate cleaning part ends (¶ 0079, after polishing of the substrate, the substrate cleaning process and the polishing pad surface cleaning process are performed; ¶ 0087, a substrate processing apparatus includes a controller that controls operations of the polishing unit, the cleaning unit, and the substrate transfer unit. It can be configured to clean the substrate during cleaning the polishing surface. It can also be configured to end the cleaning of the polishing surface after the substrate cleaning because Sone teaches the polishing pad is cleaned with the gas mixture liquid after the substrate has been transferred, ¶ 0079. Specification of the instant application does not explain why the substrate is cleaned during the polishing surface is cleaned, nor why the polishing surface cleaning ends after the substrate cleaning wherein the two cleaning processes are performed at different locations. Therefore, it appears there is no particularity regarding when to clean the substrate and the polishing surface and when to end the cleaning treatments of the substrate and the polishing surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate polishing device of Kang as modified by Miyazaki to provide the control part for controlling the polishing surface cleaning as taught by Sone. The cleaning operation helps maintain the substrate polishing device for a long period.
Regarding claim 15, Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Sone teaches the substrate polishing device as in the rejection of claim 14, wherein the substrate cleaning nozzle comprises a plurality of nozzles configured to cover a radius from a vicinity of a center of the top ring to an outer peripheral part of the top ring (Kang figs. 4-5, a pedestal 10 including nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] injects water toward the wafer during cleaning at the cleaning position. The nozzles are disposed to spray the water toward an entire top ring from one periphery to another periphery through a center of the top ring. Therefore, a spray coverage includes a radius from a vicinity of the center of the top ring to the outer peripheral part of the top ring).
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Miyazaki and Sone, as applied to claim 15 above, and in further view of Yoshitani (KR 20040016782A).
Regarding claim 16, Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Sone teaches the substrate polishing device as in the rejection of claim 15, but does not disclose the substrate cleaning nozzle is configured so that, a shape of a cleaning liquid sprayed from each of the plurality of nozzles is formed into elongated and substantially elliptical shapes, respectively, and a long axis of each of elongated and substantially elliptical shapes is in a direction slightly inclined from a radial direction of the top ring, and the elongated and substantially elliptical shapes do not overlap with one another.
Yoshitani teaches, in an analogous substrate processing apparatus field of endeavor, the substrate cleaning nozzle is configured so that, a shape of a cleaning liquid sprayed from each of the plurality of nozzles is formed into elongated and substantially elliptical shapes, respectively, and a long axis of each of elongated and substantially elliptical shapes is in a direction slightly inclined from a radial direction of the top ring, and the elongated and substantially elliptical shapes do not overlap with one another (Yoshitani English translation, abstract, a substrate processing apparatus comprises a substrate cleaning unit wherein the cleaning unit comprises a plurality of nozzles; fig. 3 and p. 9:28-10:11, the plurality of nozzle parts 75 discharge high pressure pure water to a substrate for cleaning. A shape of discharge flow 77 from the nozzle part 75 is elliptical. Each elliptical discharge flow 77 from each nozzle 75 does not overlap with each other. The elliptical discharge flows are obliquely inclined at a predetermined angle α with respect to a substrate W. Although the wafer in the Yoshitani’s apparatus is not circular so that the inclined angle is not measured with respect to a radial direction of a top ring, Yoshitani teaches the nozzles can be arranged obliquely with the predetermined angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate polishing device of Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Sone to provide the substrate cleaning nozzle as recited as taught by Yoshitani in order to remove contaminants adhering to the substrate end to fit and can improve the cleaning effect (Yoshitani English translation, p. 2:34-36).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Miyazaki and Sone, as applied to claim 15 above, and in further view of Skrovan (US 5,645,682).
Regarding claim 17, Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Sone teaches the substrate polishing device as in the rejection of claim 15, but does not disclose the substrate cleaning nozzle is configured so that, the plurality of nozzles is arranged to be inclined in an outer peripheral direction of the top ring at the cleaning position.
Skrovan teaches, in an analogous substrate polishing device field of endeavor, the substrate cleaning nozzle is configured so that, the plurality of nozzles is arranged to be inclined in an outer peripheral direction of the top ring at the cleaning position (fig. 7 and col. 7:32-45, in conditioning of a substrate surface, high-velocity fluid stream 94 from a plurality of nozzles 92 is directed at the surface of the substrate 140. Each of the plurality of nozzles 92 is inclined in an outer peripheral direction of the substrate with a predetermined angle φ. Skrovan does not teach the substrate is held by a top ring, but by combining with the substrate cleaning nozzles and the top ring of Kang, the plurality of nozzle can be arranged to be inclined in the outer peripheral direction of the top ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate polishing device of Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Sone to provide the inclined substrate cleaning nozzle as taught by Skrovan in order to create a transverse fluid flow across the substrate so that it removes particles and residual fluids from the substrate (Skrovan col. 7:39-43).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sone does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the control part is configured to clean the substrate by the substrate cleaning part during a cleaning treatment of the polishing surface by the polishing surface cleaning part, and end the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface after the cleaning treatment of the substrate by the substance cleaning part ends. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Sone teaches, in ¶ 0087, that a controller of a substrate processing apparatus controls operations of loader/unloader, a polishing unit, a cleaning unit, and a substrate transfer unit. Therefore, the controller of Sone can be configured to clean the substrate and the polishing surface, and can be configured to end the cleaning treatment.
Sone further teaches, in ¶ 0079, that the substrate is transferred to the cleaning apparatus and cleaned after polishing. The polishing pad/surface is also cleaned after the substrate is transferred to the cleaning apparatus. Therefore, the controller can be configured to clean the substrate during cleaning the polishing pad. Once the cleaning process begins, the cleaning process has to end for processing a next substrate. Therefore, the cleaning of the polishing pad can be configured to end after the cleaning of the substrate.
The cleaning of the substrate and the cleaning of the polishing surface are performed at different locations, and specification of the instant application states the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface can be ended at the same time or after the cleaning treatment of the substrate without explaining purpose of doing so (¶ 0008-09). The control part can end the polishing surface cleaning anytime regardless of the cleaning process of the substrate after the substrate has been transferred to the cleaning unit from the polishing unit.
The controller of Sone controls the polishing unit, the cleaning unit, and the substrate transfer unit, therefore, it can be configured to clean the substrate and the polishing surface, and it can be configured to end the cleaning treatments as recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huynh et al. (US 2001/0023166) discloses a rinse unit of an CMP apparatus comprising a plurality of nozzles for ejecting cleaning fluid against a surface of a wafer. Each nozzle has a slit shape so that it would spray the fluid in an elliptical shape.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723