DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 11/21/2025, claims 1-9 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
In response to the drawing objections made in the previous non-final office action dated on 08/22/2025, Applicant has amended claims 1 and 2 to resolve the objections. Thus, the previous drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4-6, the phrase “the substrate rinse nozzle is configured to spray the rinse liquid to a downstream side of a spraying position of the cleaning liquid by the substrate cleaning nozzle with respect to a rotational direction of the top ring”. A rotational direction is a 360-degree turn, and it is not clear how to define a direction with respect to a rotational direction of the top ring. Specification of the instant application does not provide explanation of the claim limitations. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the substrate rinse nozzle is configured to spray the rinse liquid next to a spraying position of the cleaning liquid by the substrate cleaning nozzle regardless of the rotational of the top ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 20030056674A), in view of Ahn et al. (KR 20010002643A, hereinafter Ahn) and Miyazaki et al. (US 2014/0120725, hereinafter Miyazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a substrate cleaning device (figs. 4 and 5 show a substrate cleaning device) provided in a substrate polishing device (figs. 1 and 2 show a substrate polishing device), which comprises a polishing table having a polishing surface for performing a substrate polishing on a substrate (fig. 1 and Kang English translation, p. 1:11, a polishing unit 5 [corresponds to the recited polishing table] has a polishing surface for polishing a wafer) and a top ring for holding the substrate with a membrane and pressing it against the polishing surface while surrounding an outer peripheral part of the substrate with a retainer ring (fig. 5, a polishing head 20 [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer with a membrane; fig. 2, a polishing head 5c having a retaining ring 5e presses the wafer against a polishing pad 5b while the retaining ring surrounds an outer peripheral part of the substrate), and cleaning a surface of the substrate after the substrate polishing (fig. 4 and Kang English translation, p. 3:3-6, after the polishing operation is completed, the polishing head is transferred to a pedestal 10 and cleaning is conducted by spraying pure water),
wherein the top ring moves freely between a polishing position above the polishing table where the substrate polishing is performed and a handover position at a side of the polishing table where a handover of the substrate is performed (Kang English translation, p. 3:1-4, the polishing head [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer and moves between a polishing table and a loading/unloading place, which is referred as HCLU), and
the substrate cleaning device comprises: a first spray unit, including: a substrate cleaning nozzle configured for spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate at the cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 including nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] injects water toward the wafer during cleaning at the cleaning position. Examiner notes spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate is an intended use); and
a second spray unit, including: a substrate rinse nozzle configured for spraying a rinse liquid toward the substrate at the cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, the pedestal 10 including rinses jets 13 [correspond to the recited substrate rinse nozzle] injects water toward the wafer at the cleaning position. Examiner notes spraying a rinse liquid toward the substrate is an intended use). Examiner further notes specification of the instant application does not explain the difference between the cleaning liquid and the rinse liquid. The rinse liquid may be pure water (¶ 0043), but no particular description is provided regarding the cleaning liquid, therefore, as Kang discloses, the pure water may be used for cleaning. In addition, the difference between the cleaning and the rinsing is that the rinsing may be stopped after the cleaning (¶ 0044). However, claim 1 does not claim the timing of the rinsing. Thus, Kang teaches the cleaning and the rinsing.
But Kang does not disclose the first spray unit also includes a retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane, and a retainer ring side cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the retainer ring at the cleaning position.
Ahn teaches, in an analogous substrate cleaning device field of endeavor, the first spray unit includes a retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane, and a retainer ring side cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the retainer ring at the cleaning position (Ahn English translation, p. 8:29-9:3 and figs. 8-9, a rod cup 230 [corresponds to the recited first spray unit] comprises nozzles for spraying pure water to clean a polishing head 241. A second nozzle 236 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle] sprays the water toward a membrane 2411 and a retainer ring 2412 and a third nozzle 237 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring side cleaning nozzle] sprays the water to a side of the retainer ring 2412. Additionally, injection holes 2311 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] would spray the water to a substrate held to the polishing head 241. The pedestal 10 of Kang already includes the substrate cleaning nozzle 12 and it can be modified to add the retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle and the retainer ring side cleaning nozzle of Ahn).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first spray unit of Kang to provide the retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle and the retainer ring side cleaning nozzle as taught by Ahn in order to remove contaminants such as particles, slurry residue, and polished silicon particles remaining in the polishing head (Ahn English translation, p. 8:26-29).
Kang as modified by Ahn does not disclose the substrate cleaning device is provided corresponding to a cleaning position between the polishing position and the handover position. It appears Kang teaches the cleaning of the wafer is done at the loading/unloading plate (HCLU).
Miyazaki teaches, in an analogous substrate cleaning device field of endeavor, the substrate cleaning device is provided corresponding to a cleaning position between the polishing position and the handover position (fig. 4 and ¶ 0058, a top ring 31A of a polishing unit 3A is movable between a polishing position and a transport position TP2. The top ring stops at a cleaning position C between the polishing position and the transport position TP2. An auxiliary cleaning unit 100 is disposed at the cleaning position C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate cleaning device of Kang as modified by Ahn to locate the cleaning device between the polishing position and the handover position as taught by Miyazaki so that the top ring also can be cleaned when the polished substrate is cleaned (Miyazaki ¶ 0013).
Regarding claim 2, Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki teaches the substrate cleaning device as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first spray unit comprises: a first cleaning nozzle, which is the substrate cleaning nozzle, provided in plurality along a radial direction of the substrate at the cleaning position and comprising a plurality of first spray ports for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the surface of the substrate (Miyazaki, fig. 5 and ¶ 0062, an auxiliary cleaning unit 100 [corresponds to the recited first spray unit] comprises a second cleaning nozzle 104 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning nozzle] wherein the cleaning nozzle 104 comprises a plurality of ejection ports 118 which can be disposed along a radial direction of the substrate as shown in fig. 7. Because of the locations of the ejection ports 118, they would spray cleaning liquid toward the surface of the substrate);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first spray unit of Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki to provide the first spray ports as taught by Miyazaki. The pedestal 10 of Kang can be substituted with the cleaning nozzles of Miyazaki to provide the first cleaning nozzle for effective cleaning of the substrate and the substrate.
Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki further teaches a second cleaning nozzle, which is the retainer/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle, comprising a second spray port for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane (Ahn English translation, p. 8:29-9:3 and fig. 9, the second nozzle 236 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle] sprays the water toward a membrane 2411. Thus, it has the recited second spray port); and
a third cleaning nozzle, which is the retainer ring side cleaning nozzle, comprising a third spray port for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the retainer ring (Ahn English translation, p. 8:29-9:3 and fig. 9, the third nozzle 237 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring side cleaning nozzle] sprays the water to a side of the retainer ring 2412. Thus, it has the recited third spray port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first spray unit of Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki to provide the second and third spray ports as taught by Ahn in order to remove contaminants such as particles, slurry residue, and polished silicon particles remaining on the membrane and the retainer ring in the polishing head (Ahn English translation, p. 8:26-29).
Regarding claim 3, Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki teaches the substrate cleaning device as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the second cleaning nozzle, which is the retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle, comprises the second spray port for spraying the cleaning liquid toward a gap between the membrane and the retainer ring (Ahn English translation, p. 8:29-9:3 and fig. 9, the second nozzle 236 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle] sprays the water toward a gap between the membrane 2411 and the retainer ring 2412.).
Regarding claims 4-6, Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki teaches the substrate cleaning device as in the rejections of claims 1-3 respectively, wherein the substrate rinse nozzle is configured to spray the rinse liquid to a downstream side of a spraying position of the cleaning liquid by the substrate cleaning nozzle with respect to a rotational direction of the top ring (Kang, fig. 5, the jets 13 [correspond to the recited substrate rinse nozzle] are disposed away from the nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle], therefore, the jets 13 are configured to spray liquid next to (or downstream side of) the liquid sprayed by the nozzles 12. As discussed in 112(b) rejection above, the rotational direction of the top ring is not considered).
Regarding claims 7-9, Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki teaches the substrate cleaning device as in the rejections of claims 1-3 respectively, but does not disclose the substrate cleaning nozzle of the first spray unit is inclined toward the handover position.
Specification of the instant application does not disclose the substrate cleaning nozzle of the first spray unit is inclined toward the handover position, but it may disclose that the substrate cleaning nozzles 51-55 are arranged to be inclined in the outer peripheral direction of the top ring 32 at the cleaning position TP3. As a result, as the top ring 32 rotates, the cleaning liquid sprayed from the substrate cleaning nozzles 51-55 are easily diffused toward the outer peripheral part of the top ring 32 (¶ 0037). It is not clear whether the outer peripheral direction of the top ring is the same as the handover position.
The nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] of Kang, which are located near circumferential edge of the pedestal 10, spray the cleaning liquid toward the outer peripheral direction of the top ring and the ejection ports 108 of Miyazaki spray the cleaning liquid toward the outer peripheral direction of the top ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the nozzles of the first spray unit to be disposed without being inclined toward the handover position, since the applicant did not disclose that by doing so produces any unexpected results or is critical to the design and it appears the nozzles of Kang as modified by Miyazaki would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily disposed the nozzles as shown by Kang or Miyazaki as long as they can spray the cleaning liquid toward the outer peripheral part of the top ring.
Regarding claims 10-12, Kang as modified by Ahn and Miyazaki teaches the substrate polishing device, comprising the substrate cleaning device and the top ring as in the rejections of claims 1-3, further comprises a polishing pad (Kang, fig. 1, a polishing pad 5b).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 20030056674A), in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 2014/0120725, hereinafter Miyazaki) and Osterheld et al. (CN 111936267A, hereinafter Osterheld).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses, in fig. 1, a substrate polishing device, comprising:
a polishing table having a polishing surface for performing a substrate polishing on a substrate (fig. 1 and Kang English translation, p. 1:11, a polishing unit 5 [corresponds to the recited polishing table] has a polishing surface for polishing a wafer);
a top ring moving freely between a polishing position above the polishing table where the substrate polishing is performed and a handover position at a side of the polishing table where a handover of the substrate is performed (Kang English translation, p. 3:1-4, the polishing head [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer and moves between a polishing table and a loading/unloading place, which is referred as HCLU), and holding the substrate with a membrane and pressing it against the polishing surface while surrounding an outer peripheral part of the substrate with a retainer ring (fig. 5, a polishing head 20 [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer with a membrane; fig. 2, a polishing head 5c having a retaining ring 5e presses the wafer against a polishing pad 5b while the retaining ring surrounds an outer peripheral part of the substrate);
a substrate cleaning part provided corresponding to a cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 [corresponds to the recited substrate cleaning part] including nozzles 12 injects water toward the wafer, membrane, and the retainer ring during cleaning at the cleaning position) and cleaning a surface of the substrate after the substrate polishing (fig. 4 and Kang English translation, p. 3:3-6, after the polishing operation is completed, the polishing head is transferred to a pedestal 10 and cleaning is conducted by spraying pure water), but does not disclose a cleaning position is between the polishing position and the handover position; the substrate polishing device comprises a control part for controlling operations of the top ring and the substrate cleaning part; and the substrate cleaning part comprises: a first cleaning nozzle provided in plurality along a radial direction of the substrate held by the top ring at the cleaning position and having a plurality of spray ports for spraying a cleaning liquid toward the surface of the substrate; and a second cleaning nozzle having a plurality of spray ports for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane and/or the retainer ring.
Miyazaki teaches, in the analogous substrate cleaning device field of endeavor, a cleaning position is between the polishing position and the handover position (fig. 4 and ¶ 0058, a top ring 31A of a polishing unit 3A is movable between a polishing position and a transport position TP2. The top ring stops at a cleaning position C between the polishing position and the transport position TP2. An auxiliary cleaning unit 100 is disposed at the cleaning position C);
the substrate polishing device comprises a control part for controlling operations of the top ring and the substrate cleaning part (¶ 0038, the polishing apparatus includes a controller 5 for controlling substrate processing operations wherein the apparatus includes a polishing section and a cleaning section); and
the substrate cleaning part comprises: a first cleaning nozzle provided in plurality along a radial direction of the substrate held by the top ring at the cleaning position and having a plurality of spray ports for spraying a cleaning liquid toward the surface of the substrate (fig. 5 and ¶ 0062, an auxiliary cleaning unit 100 [corresponds to the recited substrate cleaning part] comprises a second cleaning nozzle 104 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning nozzle] wherein the cleaning nozzle 104 comprises a plurality of ejection ports 118 which can be disposed along a radial direction of the substrate as shown in fig. 7. Because of the locations of the ejection ports 118, they would spray cleaning liquid toward the surface of the substrate); and
a second cleaning nozzle having a plurality of spray ports for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane and/or the retainer ring (figs. 5-6 and ¶ 0062, the auxiliary cleaning unit 100 [corresponds to the recited substrate cleaning part] further comprises a first cleaning nozzle 102 [corresponds to the recited second cleaning nozzle]. The cleaning nozzle 102 comprises an ejection port 108, which would be located at a periphery of a substrate, thus is would spray cleaning liquid toward a retainer ring 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate cleaning part of Kang to locate the cleaning position between the polishing position and the handover position, to provide the control part, and to provide the first and second cleaning nozzles as taught by Miyazaki. The pedestal 10 of Kang can be substituted with the cleaning nozzles of Miyazaki to provide the first and second cleaning nozzles and the controller helps the effective cleaning of the substrate and the top ring (Miyazaki ¶ 0013).
Kang as modified by Miyazaki does not disclose the control part controls to end spray from the first cleaning nozzle at the same time as or after the spray from the second cleaning nozzle ends.
Osterheld teaches, in an analogous substrate polishing device field of endeavor, the control part controls to end spray from the first cleaning nozzle at the same time as or after the spray from the second cleaning nozzle ends (Osterheld English translation, p. 7:30-41, a controller 190 is configured to control various components of a polishing system 100. It includes controlling the operation of the nozzles to spray cleaning liquid on a regulator head. Thus, Osterheld teaches a controller may end spraying of cleaning liquid from different nozzles. Claim recites the spraying of the first cleaning nozzle and the second cleaning nozzle may end at the same time. The Osterheld’s control of nozzles to spray liquid would include starting and ending spraying at least at the same time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate polishing device of Kang as modified by Miyazaki to provide the control part to end spray as taught by Osterheld in order to perform cleaning operation completely. The controller may extend cleaning if the substrate or the top ring is not cleaned yet.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 20030056674A), in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 2014/0120725, hereinafter Miyazaki), Ahn et al. (KR 20010002643A, hereinafter Ahn), and Sone et al. (US 2019/0299360, hereinafter Sone).
Regarding claim 14, Kang discloses, in fig. 1, a substrate polishing device, comprising:
a polishing table having a polishing surface for performing a substrate polishing on a substrate (fig. 1 and Kang English translation, p. 1:11, a polishing unit 5 [corresponds to the recited polishing table] has a polishing surface for polishing a wafer);
a top ring moving freely between a polishing position above the polishing table where the substrate polishing is performed and a handover position at a side of the polishing table where a handover of the substrate is performed (Kang English translation, p. 3:1-4, the polishing head [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer and moves between a polishing table and a loading/unloading place, which is referred as HCLU), and holding the substrate and pressing it against the polishing surface with a membrane while surrounding an outer peripheral part of the substrate with a retainer ring (fig. 5, the polishing head 20 [corresponds to the recited top ring] holds the wafer with a membrane; fig. 2, a polishing head 5c having a retaining ring 5e presses the wafer against a polishing pad 5b while the retaining ring surrounds an outer peripheral part of the substrate);
a substrate cleaning part provided corresponding to a cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 [corresponds to the recited substrate cleaning part] having nozzles 12 and jets 13 injects water toward the wafer, membrane, and the retainer ring during cleaning at the cleaning position) and spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate, the membrane, and the retainer ring after the substrate polishing (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 including nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited first spray unit] injects water toward the wafer, membrane, and the retainer ring during cleaning at the cleaning position; Kang English translation, p. 3:3-6, after the polishing operation is completed, the polishing head is transferred to a pedestal 10 and cleaning is conducted by spraying pure water),
wherein the substrate cleaning part includes: a substrate cleaning nozzle configured for spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate at the cleaning position (figs. 4 and 5, a pedestal 10 including nozzles 12 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] injects water toward the wafer during cleaning at the cleaning position. Examiner notes spraying a cleaning liquid toward the substrate is an intended use), but does not disclose a cleaning position is between the polishing position and the handover position; and the substrate polishing device comprises a control part for controlling operations of the top ring and the substrate cleaning part.
Miyazaki teaches, in the analogous substrate cleaning device field of endeavor, a cleaning position is between the polishing position and the handover position (fig. 4 and ¶ 0058, a top ring 31A of a polishing unit 3A is movable between a polishing position and a transport position TP2. The top ring stops at a cleaning position C between the polishing position and the transport position TP2. An auxiliary cleaning unit 100 is disposed at the cleaning position C); and the substrate polishing device comprises a control part for controlling operations of the top ring and the substrate cleaning part (¶ 0038, the polishing apparatus includes a controller 5 for controlling substrate processing operations wherein the apparatus includes a polishing section and a cleaning section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate cleaning part of Kang to locate the cleaning position between the polishing position and the handover position, to provide the control part as taught by Miyazaki for effective cleaning of the substrate and the top ring (Miyazaki ¶ 0013).
Kang as modified by Miyazaki does not disclose the substrate cleaning part also includes a retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane at the cleaning position, and a retainer ring side cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the retainer ring at the cleaning position.
Ahn teaches, in an analogous substrate cleaning device field of endeavor, the substrate cleaning part includes a retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the membrane at the cleaning position, and a retainer ring side cleaning nozzle configured for spraying the cleaning liquid toward the retainer ring at the cleaning position (Ahn English translation, p. 8:29-9:3 and figs. 8-9, a rod cup 230 [corresponds to the recited substrate cleaning part] comprises nozzles for spraying pure water to clean a polishing head 241. A second nozzle 236 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle] sprays the water toward a membrane 2411 and a third nozzle 237 [corresponds to the recited retainer ring side cleaning nozzle] sprays the water to a side of the retainer ring 2412. Additionally, injection holes 2311 [correspond to the recited substrate cleaning nozzle] would spray the water to a substrate held to the polishing head 241. The pedestal 10 of Kang already includes the substrate cleaning nozzle 12 and it can be modified to add the retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle and the retainer ring side cleaning nozzle of Ahn).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first spray unit of Kang as modified by Miyazaki to provide the retainer ring/membrane inter-cleaning nozzle and the retainer ring side cleaning nozzle as taught by Ahn in order to remove contaminants such as particles, slurry residue, and polished silicon particles remaining in the polishing head (Ahn English translation, p. 8:26-29).
Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Ahn does not disclose a polishing surface cleaning part disposed above the polishing table and cleaning the polishing surface after the substrate polishing, wherein the polishing surface cleaning part is an atomizer configured to atomize a mixed fluid of liquid and gas or a liquid and spraying the mixed liquid or the liquid onto the polishing surface, and a control part for controlling the polishing surface cleaning part, wherein the control part controls to clean the substrate by the substrate cleaning part during a cleaning treatment of the polishing surface by the polishing surface cleaning part, and end the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface at the same time as or after the cleaning treatment of the substrate by the substrate cleaning part ends.
Sone teaches, in an analogous substrate polishing device field of endeavor, a polishing surface cleaning part disposed above the polishing table and cleaning the polishing surface after the substrate polishing, wherein the polishing surface cleaning part is an atomizer configured to atomize a mixed fluid of liquid and gas or a liquid and spraying the mixed liquid or the liquid onto the polishing surface (¶ 0079, after a substrate is polished, the substrate is transferred to a cleaning apparatus for substrate cleaning process, and a gas mixture liquid is supplied from an atomizer nozzle onto a polishing pad for cleaning of a polishing pad surface), and
a control part for controlling the polishing surface cleaning part, wherein the control part controls to clean the substrate by the substrate cleaning part during a cleaning treatment of the polishing surface by the polishing surface cleaning part, and end the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface at the same time as or after the cleaning treatment of the substrate by the substrate cleaning part ends (¶ 0079, after polishing of the substrate, the substrate cleaning process and the polishing pad surface cleaning process are performed; ¶ 0087, a substrate processing apparatus includes a controller that controls operations of the polishing unit, the cleaning unit, and the substrate transfer unit. Thus, the controller may end the polishing surface cleaning and the substrate cleaning at the same time. It can end the cleaning of the polishing surface after the substrate cleaning because Sone teaches the polishing pad is cleaned with the gas mixture liquid after the substrate has been transferred, ¶ 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate polishing device of Kang as modified by Miyazaki and Ahn to provide the control part for controlling the polishing surface cleaning as taught by Sone. The cleaning operation helps maintain the substrate polishing device for a long period.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ahn.
Applicant argues Kang and Miyazaki do not teach or suggest the first spray unit includes three types of nozzles (51-55, 57, and 56). Examiner acknowledges Kang and Miyazaki disclose a plurality of nozzles which are configured to spray the cleaning liquid toward the substrate, the membrane, and the retainer ring, but specification or figure does not show specifically targeting nozzles.
While nozzles 12 of Kang clearly spray liquid to the substrate (fig. 3), Ahn shows the spray unit for cleaning a polishing head. Figure 9 of Ahn shows the nozzle 236 sprays the liquid toward the membrane 2411 and the retainer ring 2412 including the gap between the membrane and the retainer ring. The nozzle 237, on the other hand, sprays the liquid toward an outer surface of the retainer ring. Therefore, the pedestal 10 of Kang can be modified to add the nozzles 236, 237 of Ahn to teach the three types of nozzles.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the nozzles 13 of Kang are not the substrate rinse nozzle. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Although Applicant asserts the nozzles 12 and 13 are basically the first spray unit which clean two different areas simultaneously. However, claims of the instant application do not distinguish why the first spray unit cleans the substrate while the second spray unit rinses the substrate. The claims do not distinguish how the cleaning liquid and the rinse liquid are different, nor whether the cleaning and the rinsing are performed at the same time or different time. Because Ahn refers the nozzles 13 are the rinse jet, the nozzles 13 are used for rinsing. The nozzles 13 can spray liquid simultaneously with the nozzles 12 because claim of the instant application does not specify timing of the second spray unit operation.
Applicant argues Osterheld does not teach or suggest the claim limitations of claim 13 that the control part controls end spray form the first cleaning nozzle at the same time of after the spray from the second cleaning nozzle ends. Applicant asserts Osterheld does not teach the specific sequence of spraying. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Osterheld teaches a controller of a CMP apparatus controls operation of the nozzle to spray cleaning liquid. Claim 13 recites the control part ends spraying from the first cleaning nozzle and the second cleaning nozzle at the same time. While Osterheld teaches the controller controls the operation of the nozzle, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art would render the controller ends spraying the all nozzles at the same time.
Applicant argues Sone does not teach or suggest the claim limitations of claim 14 that the control part ends the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface at the same time as or after the cleaning treatment of the substrate by the substrate cleaning part ends. Applicant asserts Sone does not teach the relative start and end timing of cleaning. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sone teaches a CMP system cleans the substrate and the polishing pad (¶ 0079). As discussed similarly above, claim 14 recites the control part controls to end the cleaning treatment of the polishing surface and the cleaning treatment of the substrate at the same time. Thus, in applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, Sone would control cleaning of the substrate and polishing pad to end at least at the same time.
Finally, regarding the 112(b) rejections of claims 4-6, the amendment cleared the claim limitations about the downstream arrangement of the second spray unit/substrate rinse nozzle. However, spraying the rinse liquid to a downstream side of the cleaning liquid spraying position with respect to a rotational direction of the top ring is still not clear because the direction with respect to a rotational direction of the top ring is not defined. Thus, the 112(b) rejections remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyahara (US 2021/0187691) discloses a nozzle for cleaning a wafer wherein the nozzle in which cleaning liquid is pulverized with a gas atomized and sprayed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723