DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 03/16/26 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claim 1 has been amended and claims 2-8 and 10-12 have been maintained as previously presented in the application. 9
has been cancelled. Applicant’s amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of 35 USC § 102 rejections as being anticipated by Ishihara et al. (details below) and claims 1- 8 and 10-12 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 (‘Remark’, pages 5-10), regarding rejections of all the claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and - in light of amendment and in view of argument - are persuasive. The examiner notes that the argument incorrectly cited 35 USC § 102 on page 5, line 6, whereas the proper statutory basis is 35 USC § 103 , as set forth in the Final Rejection mailed on 11/17/2025. In view of amendment, all the claim objections and rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn; however, in view of further consideration and as known in the art– a new ground of rejection is made under 35 USC § 102 as being anticipated by Ishihara et al. and 35 USC § 103 over Ishihara in view of Heo and further in view of Tatewaki (details below). Therefore, it does not rely on the references previously applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Accordingly, all pending claims are rejected, as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Ishihara et al. (US Pub. 20210387667; hereinafter, “Ishihara”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishihara discloses: an apparatus (1, [fig. 1-8 and “fourth embodiment” of fig. 6]) for use in turning steerable vehicle wheels [‘abstract’], the apparatus comprising:
a steering member (100, figs.5-6, [0017]) which is axially movable relative to the vehicle to effect turning movement of the steerable vehicle wheels [para. 0058 discloses: “the first electric motor 7 and the second electric motor 13 are disposed such that a rotation axis Ql of the first motor output shaft 71 of the first electric motor 7 and a rotation axis Q2 of the second motor output shaft 131 of the second electric motor 13 are offset (in the direction shown by an arrow S in fig. 6) so as to be separated from each other and para. 0017 teaches that the rotation force (steering torque) generated by the steering operation of the steering wheel 200 by a driver is input to the steering mechanism 100 via the steering input shaft 101; thus, a steering member which is axially movable relative to the vehicle to effect turning movement of the steerable vehicle wheels];
a ball nut assembly (4 and 10; “ball-nut-type steering mechanism”, fig. 6 and [0017]) connected with an externally threaded portion (fig. 5 shows the externally threaded portion) of the steering member (100), the steering member (100) moving axially (see fig. 4) in response to rotation of the ball nut assembly (“ball-nut-type steering mechanism”, fig. 6 and [0017]) relative to the steering member (100);
a first motor (7, fig. 7, [0058]) connected with the ball nut assembly (fig. 6), the first motor (7) being operable to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly (4) relative to the steering member (100; [para. 0017 teaches that a steering shaft 2 of the assist mechanism A is connected to the middle part of the pitman arm 106 via a ball joint 23 and para. 0026 teaches that the first reduction gear accommodating part 302 has a cylindrical shape, and is equipped with a first reduction gear accommodating space 302a which accommodates thereinside a first nut 4, a first nut pulley 6, a first motor pulley 8; thus, the first motor being operable to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member]); and
a second motor (13, fig. 6, [0058]) connected with the ball nut assembly (fig. 6), the second motor (13) being operable to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly (10) relative to the steering member [para. 0027 teaches that the second reduction gear accommodating space 312a which accommodates thereinside a second nut 10, a second nut pulley 12, a second motor pulley 14; thus, a second motor connected with the ball nut assembly, the second motor being operable to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member];
the first motor (7) being connected with the ball nut assembly (a first nut 4, [0031]) during operation of the second motor (13) to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly (4; [0031]) and a second nut (10; [0033]) relative to the steering member (100) and the second motor (13) being connected with the ball nut assembly (10) during operation of the first motor (7) to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly (4 and 10) relative to the steering member (100, fig. 6),
the first motor (7) having a first output shaft (71, [0058]) with a first axis (Q1, fig. 6) extending parallel (fig. 6) to an axis of the steering member (shaft 2 of steering member 100) and the second motor (13) having an output shaft (131) with a second axis (Q2) extending parallel to the first axis (Q1) and the axis of the steering member (2 of steering member100) [ see fig. 6 where Q1 parallel to Q2 and also parallel to axis of the steering member].
Regarding claim 2, Ishihara further discloses that the apparatus further including a gear (302, [para. 0026]) connected with the ball nut assembly (4) and rotatable with the ball nut assembly (4) relative to the steering member (100) being operable to effect rotation of the gear (302) and the ball nut assembly (4) relative to the steering member (100, see paragraph [0026]), the first and second motors (7 and 13; fig. 6) being operable to effect rotation of the gear (302) and the ball nut assembly (4) relative to the steering member (100).
Regarding claim 5, Ishihara further discloses that the apparatus further including an electronic control unit (ECU 16 or 17; [0019]) that controls the first and second motors (7 and 13) and at least one motor sensor (120; [0023 and 0036]) connected with the ECU (16 or 17) that detects whether at least one of the first and second motors (7 and 13) is operating correctly [see para. 0036].
Regarding claim 6, Ishihara further discloses that the apparatus wherein the first and second motors provide redundancy for each other [ para. 0050 teaches that the control for the first electric motor 7 and the second electric motor 13 can be carried out according to a steering angle signal, and thereby it is possible to cope with vehicle control such as an automatic operation based on a target steering angle; thus, first (7) and second (13) motors provide redundancy for each other].
Regarding claim 7, Ishihara further discloses that the apparatus wherein the apparatus is a steer-by-wire apparatus [ para. 0019 teaches that in addition, wirings for outputting electrical signals, such as a torque signal, a steering angle signal and a vehicle speed signal, may be connected to each of the first connector 18 and the second connector 19; also, para. 0036 teaches that ECU 16 outputs a first command signal for driving and controlling the first electric motor 7 based on a steering torque signal from the torque sensor 120; thus, the apparatus is a steer-by-wire apparatus.]
Regarding claim 8, Ishihara further discloses that the first and second motors (7 and13) rotate the ball nut assembly (4 and 10) at the same time to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly (4 and 10) relative to the steering member (2 of steering member 100) and axially (fig. 6) move the steering member (100) [para. 0058 discloses: “the first electric motor 7 and the second electric motor 13 are disposed such that a rotation axis Ql of the first motor output shaft 71 of the first electric motor 7 and a rotation axis Q2 of the second motor output shaft 131 of the second electric motor 13 are offset (in the direction shown by an arrow S in fig. 6) so as to be separated from each other and para. 0017 teaches that the rotation force (steering torque) generated by the steering operation of the steering wheel 200 by a driver is input to the steering mechanism 100 via the steering input shaft 101; thus, the ball nut assembly at the same time to effect rotation of the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member and axially move the steering member].
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 4, Ishihara further discloses that wherein the first and second gears (302 and 311) rotate together with the ball nut assembly (4 and 10) in response to operation of at least one of the first motor (7) and the second motor (13; [ para. 0005 teaches: “In the steering apparatus according to an embodiment of the present invention, a pair of electric motors rotates a steering shaft via respective speed reduction mechanisms, and a pair of the electric motors is provided so as to face each other and para. 0017 teaches that the steering apparatus 1 includes a steering mechanism 100 connected to a steering wheel 200, an assist mechanism A and a transmission mechanism B. The steering mechanism 100 is a ball-nut type; thus, the first and second gears rotate together with the ball nut assembly in response to operation of at least one of the first motor and the second motor]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara in view of Heo (US Pub. 20210394819 A1) and further in view of Tatewaki et al. (US Pub. 20020148672 A1; hereinafter, “Tatewaki”).
Regarding claim 3, Ishihara further discloses the apparatus. Ishihara differs from the claimed invention in that the configuration uses belt for the power transfer but silent on a first idler gear and their meshing engagement with the gear connected with the ball nut assembly; however,
Heo in another rack-driven steering device similar to Ishihara teaches that a first idler gear (middle gear 150; [0023]) in meshing engagement (fig. 3) with the gear (ball nut gear 130, [0023]) connected with the ball nut assembly (125; [0026]) and the first motor (113) being operable to effect rotation of the first idler gear (150) to effect rotation of the gear (130) relative to the steering member (120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the features of a first idler gear in meshing engagement with the gear connected with the ball nut assembly where the first motor being operable to effect rotation of the first idler gear to effect rotation of the gear and the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member as taught by Heo into the known steering apparatus of Ishihara in order to advantageously provide driving force to the ball nut, disposed in parallel with the ball screw, and a middle gear coupled between the ball nut gear and the motor gear and transferring the driving force from the motor [‘Abstract of Heo]. The motivation to do so arises from the predictable benefits of enhanced control, redundancy, or responsiveness in steer-by-wire systems.
The modification above is silent on a second idler gear in meshing engagement with the gear connected with the ball nut assembly and the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member, the second motor being operable to effect rotation of the second idler gear to effect rotation of the gear and the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member; however,
Tatewaki in another electric power steering apparatus similar to the modified Ishihara above teaches that a second idler gear ( idler gear 38, fig. 10; [0020]) in meshing engagement with the gear (112) connected with the ball nut assembly (41) and the ball nut assembly (41) relative to the steering member (“steering apparatus”; [0021]), the second motor (35) being operable to effect rotation of the second idler gear (38) to effect rotation of the gear (39) and the ball nut assembly (41) relative to the steering member (“steering apparatus”; [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the features of a second idler gear in meshing engagement with the gear connected with the ball nut assembly where the second motor being operable to effect rotation of the first idler gear to effect rotation of the gear and the ball nut assembly relative to the steering member as taught by Tatewaki into the known steering apparatus of the modified Ishihara above in order to advantageously provide driving force to the ball nut, in such that to decelerate rotation of an output shaft of the another second electric motor unit and to transfer the decelerated rotations to the nut member of the ball screw mechanism, [‘Abstract’ of Tatewaki]. The motivation to do so arises from the predictable benefits of enhanced control, redundancy, or responsiveness in steer-by-wire systems. Accordingly, the combination of Ishihara in view of Heo and further in view of Tatewaki renders claim 3 unpatentable under 35 USC § 103 for the requirement of a first idler gear and a second idler gear limitations and their meshing engagement as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Ishihara further teaches that a first gear (302, fig. 3) connected with the ball nut assembly (4) and rotatable with the ball nut assembly (4) relative to the steering member (2 of steering member 100) and a second gear (311, fig. 5; [0027]) connected with the ball nut assembly (10) and rotatable with the ball nut assembly (10) relative to the steering member (100, [0027]), the second motor (13; [0058]) being operable to effect rotation of a second idler gear in meshing engagement with the second gear (311) connected to the ball nut assembly (10). Ishihara differs from the claimed invention in that the configuration uses belt for the power transfer and silent on the first motor being operable to effect rotation of a first idler gear in meshing engagement with the first gear connected to the ball nut assembly; however,
Heo teaches that the first motor (113) being operable to effect rotation of a first idler gear (middle gear 150; [0023]) in meshing engagement (fig. 3) with the first gear (ball nut gear 130, [0023]) connected to the ball nut assembly (125, [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the features of a first idler gear in meshing engagement with the gear connected with the ball nut assembly where the first motor being operable to effect rotation of the first idler gear to effect rotation of the gear and the ball nut assembly as taught by Heo into the known steering apparatus of Ishihara in order to advantageously provide driving force to the ball nut, disposed in parallel with the ball screw, and a middle gear coupled between the ball nut gear and the motor gear and transferring the driving force from the motor [‘Abstract of Heo]. The motivation to do so arises from the predictable benefits of enhanced control, redundancy, or responsiveness in steer-by-wire systems.
Ishihara as modified above is silent on the feature of second motor being operable to effect rotation of a second idler gear in meshing engagement with the second gear connected to the ball nut assembly; however,
Tatewaki teaches the second motor being operable to effect rotation of a second idler gear (idler gear 38, fig. 10; [0020]) in meshing engagement with the second gear (112) connected to the ball nut assembly (41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the features of the second motor being operable to effect rotation of a second idler gear in meshing engagement with the gear connected with the ball nut assembly as taught by Tatewaki into the known steering apparatus of the modified Ishihara above in order to advantageously provide driving force to the ball nut, in such that to decelerate rotation of an output shaft of the another second electric motor unit and to transfer the decelerated rotations to the nut member of the ball screw mechanism, [‘Abstract’ of Tatewaki]. The motivation to do so arises from the predictable benefits of enhanced control, redundancy, or responsiveness in steer-by-wire systems. Accordingly, the combination of Ishihara in view of Heo and further in view of Tatewaki renders claim 4 unpatentable under 35 USC § 103 for the requirement of a first idler gear and a second idler gear limitations and their meshing engagement as recited in the claim.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, (similar limitations, but different dependency), Ishihara as modified above further teaches that the first idler gear (middle gear 150; [0023] of Heo) rotates in response to operation of the first motor (113 of Heo) and the second motor (35 of Tatewaki), the second idler gear (idler gear 38, fig. 10; [0020] of Tatewaki) rotating in response to operation of the first motor (113 of Heo) and the second motor (35 of Tatewaki).
Note that: This operation also applies to the limitations of claim 11, which is depended from parent claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210053615 A1to Kondo discloses: a steering device includes two motors each configured to generate a drive force that steers a steerable wheel of a vehicle and two controllers respectively corresponding to the two motors, each of the two controllers being configured to individually control a corresponding one of the motors.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
May 27, 2026