DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Amendment filed 04/07/2026.
Claims 1, 13-14 and 16 have been amended, and no claim has been canceled or added. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims are effective to overcome the double patenting rejection with respect to U.S. Patent No. 11,526,556 presented in the previous Office action. Therefore, the previous double patenting rejection with respect to U.S. Patent No. 11,526,556 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, pages 15-16) that Dotan-Cohen does not disclose storing separate activity profiles corresponding to different content interfaces of different versions of an email application, wherein each activity profile is associated with a specific interface layout optimized for a particular device and reflect activity performed using that interface, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Dotan-Cohen teaches that information regarding identification of a user device can be used to recognize and distinguish the user interactivity on one user device from user interactivity on another user device (see [0039]). Dotan-Cohen further discloses user interactivity or user activity information including information associated with a particular application (e.g., email application) (see [0057]), wherein each set of user activity associated with an email application on a user device of a plurality of user devices associated with a same user or a same email account can be interpreted as an activity profile associated with the user device or a version of email application as recited.
In addition, Dotan-Cohen teaches that a set of email messages in a user’s inbox can be ranked and/or summarized differently on different user devices when presenting to a user based on capabilities of the user devices as well as user activity information (see [0050]-[0052]), wherein each version of a set of email messages being ranked and/or summarized in a particular way represents a particular/specific interface layout as recited.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, page 16) that Dotan-Cohen broadly describes monitoring user activity and communication data, but the reference does not disclose activity profiles that are specifically based on interactions including at least two interactions selected from selecting email items, replying to email items, forwarding email items, selecting links within email items, composing email items, or displaying email items longer than a threshold amount of time, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Dotan-Cohen explicitly teaches a user activity or an activity event detected/monitored by user activity detector 282 can include composing an email (see [0058]). In addition, the disclosure of “the email messages read by the user on the first user device may be considered when the email messages are ranked for presentation on the second user device” (see [0097]) suggests that the system tracks or monitors email messages selected and/or read by a user on a particular user device.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, page 16) that Dotan-Cohen fails to disclose the claimed combination of (i) storing multiple activity profiles corresponding to different email application interfaces optimized for different device, (ii) defining those profiles based on specified interactions with email items displayed in the corresponding interfaces, and (iii) selecting the activity profile associated with the requesting interface while not selecting the activity profile associated with another interface, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Dotan-Cohen teaches tracking and storing user profile data including information regarding one or more user devices associated with a particular user as well as user device related activity (see [0035]). Dotan-Cohen further teaches user data can includes user interactivity information associated with different user devices associated with a user, wherein user interactivity information on one user device can be recognized and distinguished from user interactivity information on another user device, and wherein each set of user interactivity information on each user device can be interpreted as an activity profile as recited, and the system can identify devices that sign into an account (e.g., email account) associated with a user (see [0039]). In addition, Dotan-Cohan teaches that a set of email messages in a user’s inbox may be ranked and/or summarized differently for potential presentation to a user based on which device is currently available or used by the user and user activity information associated with a particular device (see [0048] and [0050]-[0051]).
Thus, Dotan-Cohen obviously teaches storing user context and/or activity data associated with each particular user device (i.e., activity profile for a user device), identifying a user device used by a user to access the email account, and selecting/using the activity data associated with the user device to rank and/or summarized a set of email messages in a particular format/layout as discussed.
Also, Dotan-Cohen teaches activity data (i.e., activity profiles) including interactions with email items, such as composing an email (see [0058]), and selecting and reading email messages (see [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites limitation “a first interface layout” in line 14 and limitation “a second interface layout” in line 15, which are directed to new matter issue. The specification of this application does not even mention the term “layout”, let alone “a first interface layout” or “a second interface layout” as recited. It is noted that the specification discloses “format” and “format of the first/second content interface”. Even though the term “layout” can be considered as a synonym of the term “format” and vice versa in some context, “layout” are different from “format”. Applicant is advised to use terms that are disclosed and defined in the specification.
Other dependent claims 2-13 are rejected as incorporating and failing to resolve the deficiency of the rejected independent claim 1 upon which they depend.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites limitation “a first interface layout” in line 24 and limitation “a second interface layout” in line 25, which are directed to new matter issue. The specification of this application does not even mention the term “layout”, let alone “a first interface layout” or “a second interface layout” as recited. It is noted that the specification discloses “format” and “format of the first/second content interface”. Even though the term “layout” can be considered as a synonym of the term “format” and vice versa in some context, “layout” are different from “format”. Applicant is advised to use terms that are disclosed and defined in the specification.
Dependent claim 15 is rejected as incorporating and failing to resolve the deficiency of the rejected independent claim 14 upon which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14-16 (effective filing date 08/06/2018) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dotan-Cohen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0048595, Publication date 02/15/2018).
As to claim 1, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches:
“A method” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 4 and [0017]) comprising:
“storing a plurality of activity profiles, associated with two or more devices associated with a same user email account, comprising (i) a first activity profile associated with a first content interface, corresponding to a first version of an application, displayed via a first device and (ii) a second activity profile associated with a second content interface, corresponding to a second version of the application, displayed via a second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0087]-[0088] and [0085] for storing a plurality of user device profiles for different devices used by the user to access the same user email account through an email application; also see [0092]),
“wherein the first activity profile is indicative of first information at least one of associated with or generated based upon first activity performed using the first content interface displayed via the first device, wherein the second activity profile is indicative of second information at least one of associated with or generated based upon second activity performed using the second content interface displayed via the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088], [0034] and [0045]-[0047] for user device profiles associated with user devices including user activity, user behavior or pattern features, such as patterns of detected user interactions with user device(s)),
“wherein the plurality of activity profiles is associated with an inbox of the same user account” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0091]-[0092] for user device profiles for user devices used by a user to access email messages associated the user (i.e., email account or inbox) through an application (i.e., email application)),
“wherein the first version of the email application comprises a first interface layout optimized for the first device and the second version of the email application comprises a second interface layout, different from the first interface layout, optimized for the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0047]-[0048] and [0050]-[0051] for ranking differently and/or modifying email content for presentation to a user (e.g., summarizing the content and/or ranking differently for each user device, wherein each user device must use a version/copy/instance of the email application to access emails from the user’s inbox associated with a user email account, and wherein each set of emails summarized and/or ranked in a particular manner can be interpreted as a first/second interface layout as recited; also see [0072]),
“wherein the first activity used to generate the first activity profile comprises one or more interactions with one or more email items in the first content interface displayed via the first device, wherein the second activity used to generate the second activity profile comprises one or more interactions with one or more email items in the second content interface displayed via the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0031] for user data including user-interaction data and user activity data associated with user device(s)); see [0058] for user device interaction information including composing an email; also see [0097] for user interaction information including email message selected/read by a user on the first user device),
“wherein the first activity used to generate the first activity profile comprises at least two of one or more first email items being selected, one or more first email items being replied to, one or more first email items being forwarded, one or more first links within one or more first email items being selected, one or more first emails being composed, or one or more first email items being displayed for longer than a threshold amount of time; wherein the second activity used to generate the second activity profile comprises at least two of one or more second email items being selected, one or more second email items being replied to, one or more second email items being forwarded, one or more second links within one or more second email items being selected, one or more second emails being composed, or one or more second email items being displayed for longer than the threshold amount of time” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0031] for user data including user-interaction data and user activity data associated with user device(s)); see [0058] for user device interaction information including composing an email; also see [0097] for user interaction information including email message selected/read by a user on the first user device; also see [0056] for user activity including applications (e.g., email application) launched or accessed, files (e.g., email items) accessed, modified, copied, etc.; also see [0062] user activity information including the device on which the user carried out the activity and duration of the user activity);
“receiving a first request to access the email application, from the first device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0092] for a determination that the user is actively checking email messages, using an application on a device (i.e., the user must access/open an email application on the device in order to checking email messages as disclosed));
“determining that the first request is associated with the first content interface, corresponding to the first version of the application, displayed via the first device rather than the second content interface, corresponding to the second version of the application, displayed via the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0092] for a determination that the user is actively checking email messages, using an application on a device or for determining if the user is currently using a particular device of many user devices associated with the user or the user account (e.g., email account));
“responsive to the first request to access the email application, selecting the first activity profile indicative of the first information at least one of associated with or generated based upon the first activity performed using the first content interface displayed via the first device but not the second activity profile indicative of the second information at least one of associated with or generated based upon the second activity performed using the second content interface displayed via the second device, from the plurality of activity profiles associated with the two or more devices associated with the same user email account, based upon the determination that the first request is associated with the first content interface, corresponding to the first version of the email application, displayed via the first device rather than the second content interface, corresponding to the second version of the email application, displayed via the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0096]-[0097] for using the user device profiles associated with user devices by the email personalization engine for ranking email messages for each particular user device used to access the email messages corresponding to the user (i.e., email messages associated with a user email account or an inbox));
“prioritizing email items of the inbox, based upon the first activity profile associated with the first content interface displayed via the first device, to generate a first list of email items associated with the first content interface” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0096]-[0097] for using the user device profiles associated with user devices by the email personalization engine for ranking email messages for each particular user device used to access the email messages corresponding to the user (i.e., email messages associated with a user email account or an inbox)); and
“controlling a first graphical user interface associated with the application to display the first content interface comprising the first list of content items” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for providing a portion of the email messages for presentation on the first user device in accordance with the ranking based on characteristic of the first user device as specified in the user device profile associated with the first user device (see [0088])).
As to claim 14, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches:
“A computing device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 4 and [0017]-[0018]) comprising:
“a processor” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 6 for processor(s) 614); and
“memory comprising processor-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause performance of operations, the operations comprising” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 6 and [0018]] for memory 612 or computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions):
“identifying one or more email items associated with one or more selectable inputs of one or more selections received from a first device associated with a user email account” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for identifying if the user was reading email messages from students on the first user device before switching to the second user device); also see [0088], [0034] and [0045] for storing user activity or interaction information with user device(s) in user device profiles associated with user device(s) used by a user (i.e., associated with a user email account)).
“storing a first list of email items associated with a second device associated with the same user email account, wherein the first list of email items begins with one or more content items associated with one or more selectable inputs of one or more selections received from a first device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for identifying a portion of the email messages for being communicated for presentation on the second user device in accordance with the ranking based, at least, on characteristics of the second device, wherein the subject matter of the email messages read by the user on the first user device may be considered when the email messages are ranked for presentation on the second user message);
“receiving a first request to access an email application, from the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] at a subsequent time, when the user is currently interacting with the second user device (e.g., accessing/open an email application));
“determining that the first request is associated with the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for determining that the user is currently interacting with the second user device to access the email message through an email application; also see [0098]);
“responsive to the first request to access the email application, selecting the first list of email items associated with the second device, from a plurality of lists associated with the same user email account, based upon the determination that the first request is associated with the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] at a subsequent time, when the user is currently interacting with the second user device, a portion of the email messages may be communicated for presentation on the second user device in accordance with the ranking based, at least, on characteristics of the second device (i.e., according to the user device profile associated with the second user device (see [0088]), wherein the subject matter of the email messages read by the user on the first user device may be considered when the email messages are ranked for presentation on the second user message (e.g., keeping the email messages from students that were read by the user on the first user device together) in the ranked email messages presented to the second user device); and
“controlling a second graphical user interface of the second device, to display a second content interface comprising the first list of content items that begins with the one or more content items associated with the one or more selectable inputs of the one or more selections received from the first device, wherein the second content interface is a second version of the application” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for presentation of email messages ranked according to characteristics of the second user device, wherein the list of ranked email messages including a set of email messages read/selected by the user on the first user device (i.e., a set of email messages from students)),
“wherein the first version of the email application comprises a first interface layout optimized for the first device and the second version of the email application comprises a second interface layout, different from the first interface layout, optimized for the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0047]-[0048] and [0050]-[0051] for ranking differently and/or modifying email content for presentation to a user (e.g., summarizing the content and/or ranking differently for each user device, wherein each user device must use a version/copy/instance of the email application to access emails from the user’s inbox associated with a user email account, and wherein each set of emails summarized and/or ranked in a particular manner can be interpreted as a first/second interface layout as recited; also see [0072]).
As to claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claim 14 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches:
“transmitting one or more notifications associated with the one or more content items to the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0079] for transmitting a notification regarding some email messages including sensitive content).
As to claim 16, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches:
“A non-transitory machine readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions that when executed cause performance of operations, the operations comprising” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 4 and [0017]-[0018]):
“storing a plurality of activity profiles, associated with two or more devices associated with a same user email account, comprising (i) a first activity profile associated with a first content interface displayed via a first device and (ii) a second activity profile associated with content displayed via a second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0087]-[0088] and [0085] for storing a plurality of user device profiles for different devices used by the user to access the same user email account through an email application; also see [0092]),
“wherein the first activity profile is indicative of first information at least one of associated with or generated based upon first activity performed using the first content interface displayed via the first device, wherein the second activity profile is indicative of second information at least one of associated with or generated based upon second activity performed using the second content interface displayed via the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088], [0034] and [0045]-[0047] for user device profiles associated with user devices including user activity, user behavior or pattern features, such as patterns of detected user interactions with user device(s)),
“wherein the plurality of activity profiles is associated with an inbox of the same user email account” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0091]-[0092] for user device profiles for user devices used by a user to access email messages associated the user (i.e., email account or inbox) through an application (i.e., email application)),
“wherein the first activity used to generate the first activity profile comprises one or more interactions with one or more email items in the first content interface displayed via the first device, wherein the second activity used to generate the second activity profile comprises one or more interactions with one or more email items in the second content interface displayed via the second device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0031] for user data including user-interaction data and user activity data associated with user device(s)); see [0058] for user device interaction information including composing an email; also see [0097] for user interaction information including email message selected/read by a user on the first user device),
“wherein the first activity used to generate the first activity profile comprises at least two of one or more first email items being selected, one or more first email items being replied to, one or more first email items being forwarded, one or more first links within one or more first email items being selected, one or more first emails being composed, or one or more first email items being displayed for longer than a threshold amount of time; wherein the second activity used to generate the second activity profile comprises at least two of one or more second email items being selected, one or more second email items being replied to, one or more second email items being forwarded, one or more second links within one or more second email items being selected, one or more second emails being composed, or one or more second email items being displayed for longer than the threshold amount of time” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0031] for user data including user-interaction data and user activity data associated with user device(s)); see [0058] for user device interaction information including composing an email; also see [0097] for user interaction information including email message selected/read by a user on the first user device; also see [0056] for user activity including applications (e.g., email application) launched or accessed, files (e.g., email items) accessed, modified, copied, etc.; also see [0062] user activity information including the device on which the user carried out the activity and duration of the user activity);
“receiving a first request to access an email application, from the first device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0092] for a determination that the user is actively checking email messages, using an application on a device (i.e., the user must access/open an email application on the device in order to checking email messages as disclosed));
“determining that the first request is associated with the first content interface displayed via the first device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0092] for a determination that the user is actively checking email messages, using an application on a device or for determining if the user is currently using a particular device of many user devices associated with the user or the user account (e.g., email account));
“responsive to the first request to access the email application, selecting the first activity profile associated with the first content interface displayed via the first device, from the plurality of activity profiles associated with the two or more devices associated with the same user email account, based upon the determination that the first request is associated with the first content interface displayed via the first device” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0096]-[0097] for using the user device profiles associated with user devices by the email personalization engine for ranking email messages for each particular user device used to access the email messages corresponding to the user (i.e., email messages associated with a user email account or an inbox));
“prioritizing email items of the inbox, based upon the first activity profile associated with the first content interface displayed via the first device, to generate a first list of email items associated with the first content interface” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0096]-[0097] for using the user device profiles associated with user devices by the email personalization engine for ranking email messages for each particular user device used to access the email messages corresponding to the user (i.e., email messages associated with a user email account or an inbox)); and
“controlling a first graphical user interface to display the first content interface comprising the first list of email items” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for providing a portion of the email messages for presentation on the first user device in accordance with the ranking based on characteristic of the first user device as specified in the user device profile associated with the first user device (see [0088])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 8-9 and 17-20 (effective filing date 08/06/2018) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dotan-Cohen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0048595, Publication date 02/15/2018), and further in view of Kamp (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0201366, Publication date 07/17/2014).
As to claims 2 and 17, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches all limitations as recited in claims 1 and 16 including storing a plurality of device profiles associated with a user email account/profile (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 2 and [0087]).
In addition, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches the device profile may be associated with a time of day (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0043] and [0071] for information about a user or a user device including time-related features, such as time(s) of day(s), day of week or month the device is used by the user or activity is performed by the user, etc.; also see [0066]).
However, Dotan-Cohen et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for creating a profile associated with a particular time of day and selecting the profile based on the particular time of data as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first time of day;
the receiving the first request is performed during a first period of time, wherein the first time of day includes the first period of time; and
the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received during the first time of day.”
On the other hand, Kamp explicitly teaches a feature for creating a profile associated with a particular time of data and selecting the profile based on the particular time of date as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first time of day” (see Kamp, [0061] for creating profiles for different points in a day time; also see [0024]);
“the receiving the first request is performed during a first period of time, wherein the first time of day includes the first period of time” (see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for using different profiles to provide different sets of apps (i.e., content items) at different points in a date time; also see [0024])); and
“the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received during the first time of day” (see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for using different profiles to provide different sets of apps (i.e., content items) at different points in a date time; also see [0024])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kamp's teaching to Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system by implementing a feature of creating and selecting/using a user profile based on particular time of day. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system with an effective way to create and use different profiles based on different characteristics including time of date. In addition, both of the references (Dotan-Cohen et al. and Kamp) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system for using user profiles to customize content items provided to a user according to user needs or preferences. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claims 3 and 18, these claims are rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claims 2 and 17 respectively, and are similarly rejected including the follows:
Dotan-Cohen et al. as modified by Kamp teaches:
“detecting activity performed using the first content interface during a second period of time” (Dotan-Cohen et al., [0066] and [0071] for tracking user activity including a pattern of behavior on a particular day of the week and/or time of day; also see Kamp, [0024] for creating different user profiles based on different time (e.g., timeframes or time periods (see [0076]); also see [0025] and [0034] wherein the user profiles can be created by the authentication server based on user input or use behavior/activity; also see [0062] for detecting user behavior during data time on different terminals);
“analyzing the activity to generate a third activity profile associated with the first content interface and a second time of day, wherein the second time of day includes the second period of time, wherein the second time of day is different than the first time of day” (Dotan-Cohen et al., [0066] and [0071] for tracking user activity including a pattern of behavior on a particular day of the week and/or time of day; also see Kamp, [0024] for creating different user profiles based on different time (e.g., timeframes or time periods (see [0076]); also see [0025] and [0034] wherein the user profiles can be created by the authentication server based on user input or use behavior/activity);
“receiving a second request to access the email application, from the first device, during a third period of time, wherein the second time of day includes the third period of time” (see Dotan-Cohan et al., [0020] and [0092] for receiving a request from a user to access/checking email messages; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for providing apps according to user needs at different points in a day time);
“selecting the third activity profile, from the plurality of activity profiles, based upon a determination that the second request is associated with the first content interface and that the second request was received during the second time of day” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] for selecting a user device profile to use in email personalization for a particular user device; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for selecting a user profile at a particular point in the day time according to user need/request);
“prioritizing email items of the inbox, based upon the third activity profile, to generate a third list of email items associated with the first content interface and the second time of day” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0091] for ranking/prioritizing email messages based on characteristics of a user devices indicated in user device profiles; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for selecting and providing apps according to user needs at different points in a day time using different user profiles corresponding to different points in the day time); and
“controlling the first graphical user interface to display the first content interface comprising the third list of email items” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0096]-[0097] for presentation of a portion of email messages on a first user device in accordance with the ranked based, at least, on characteristics of the first user devices or the user device associated with the first user device (see [0088]); also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for selecting and providing apps according to user needs at different points in a day time using different user profiles corresponding to different points in the day time).
As to claims 4 and 19, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches all limitations as recited in claims 1 and 16 including storing a plurality of device profiles associated with a user email account/profile (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 2 and [0087]).
In addition, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches tracking/monitoring a geographic location of a user or a user device (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0020], [0031]-[0032], [0052] and [0062]).
However, Dotan-Cohen et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for creating a profile associated with a location/area and selecting the profile based on the location/area as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first area;
the receiving the first request is performed while the first device is located within the first area; and
the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received while the first device was located within the first area.”
On the other hand, Kamp explicitly teaches a feature for creating a profile associated with a location/area and selecting the profile based on the location/area as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first area” (see Kamp, [0024] for creating different user profiles based on location (e.g., an area); also see [0060] for “at work” profile and “at home” profile);
“the receiving the first request is performed while the first device is located within the first area” (see Kamp, [0061] wherein a terminal used by a user can be located at home or at work); and
“the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received while the first device was located within the first area” (see Kamp, [0061] for selecting an appropriate user profile based on location of the user terminal, e.g., selecting the “at work” profile when user requests for accessing apps at work).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kamp's teaching to Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system by implementing a feature of creating and selecting/using a user profile based on a location/area. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system with an effective way to create and use different profiles based on different characteristics including location/area. In addition, both of the references (Dotan-Cohen et al. and Kamp) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system for using user profiles to customize content items provided to a user according to user needs or preferences. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claims 5 and 20, these claims are rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claims 4 and 19 respectively, and are similarly rejected including the follows:
Dotan-Cohen et al. as modified by Kamp teaches:
“detecting activity performed using the first content interface while the first device is located within a second area, wherein the second area is different than the first area” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0062] for monitoring a geographic location of a user or a user device being used by the user; also see Kamp, [0024] for creating different user profiles based on location; also see [0025] and [0034] wherein the user profiles can be created by the authentication server based on user input or use behavior/activity);
“analyzing the activity to generate a third activity profile associated with the first content interface and the second area” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0062] for monitoring a geographic location of a user or a user device being used by the user; see Kamp, [0024]-[0025] for creating different user profiles based on location and based on user behavior/activity; also see [0061]-[0062]);
“receiving a second request to access the email application, from the first device, while the first device is located within the second area” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0020] and [0062] for receiving a request for accessing email messages (i.e., accessing an email application) and determining user context including the user’s location; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] wherein a user can request access to apps using one or more different terminals at different location, e.g., at home or at work);
“selecting the third activity profile, from the plurality of activity profiles, based upon a determination that the second request is associated with the first content interface and that the second request was received while the first device was located within the second area” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0062] for performing email-personalization based on user device profiles and user context including location of a user or a user device used by the user; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for selecting a user profile based on where the user requests access to apps);
“prioritizing email items of the inbox, based upon the third activity profile, to generate a third list of email items associated with the first content interface and the second area” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0062] for performing email-personalization based on user device profiles and user context including location of a user or a user device used by the user; also see Kamp, [0061] for selecting different sets of apps defined by different user profiles); and
“controlling the first graphical user interface to display the first content interface comprising the third list of email items” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0100] for presentation of email messages ranked according to user device characteristics as well as user context including location; also see Kamp, [0061] for providing the apps to the user; also see [0080]).
As to claim 8, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches all limitations as recited in claims 1 and 16 including storing a plurality of device profiles associated with a user email account/profile (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 2 and [0087]).
In addition, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches personalizing email messages (e.g., ranking, summarizing, or modifying in term of how or what is provided to a user) based on a set of conditions/criteria (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0081]).
However, Dotan-Cohen et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for creating a profile associated with a set of conditions and selecting the profile based on a set of conditions as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first set of conditions;
the receiving the first request is performed at a time determined to meet the first set of conditions; and
the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received at a time determined to meet the first set of conditions.”
On the other hand, Kamp explicitly teaches a feature for creating a profile associated with a set of conditions and selecting the profile based on the set of conditions as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first set of conditions” (see Kamp, [0024] for creating different user profiles based on different time, location or any other type of parameter (i.e., condition(s)); also see [0076]);
“the receiving the first request is performed at a time determined to meet the first set of conditions” (see Kamp, [0024] wherein a request for accessing apps can be received from a client at different points in time); and
“the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received at a time determined to meet the first set of conditions” (see Kamp, [0024] and [0076] for selecting a user profile based on user’s location and timeframes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kamp's teaching to Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system by implementing a feature of creating and selecting/using a user profile based on a set of conditions. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Dotan-Cohen’s system with an effective way to create and use different profiles based on different characteristics including a set of conditions. In addition, both of the references (Dotan-Cohen et al. and Kamp) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system for using user profiles to customize content items provided to a user according to user needs or preferences. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claims 8, and is similarly rejected including the follows:
Dotan-Cohen et al. as modified by Kamp teaches:
“detecting activity performed using the first content interface at a time determine to have a second set of conditions, wherein the second set of conditions is different than the first set of conditions” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0020] for tracking user context when accessing email messages in an email application, wherein the user context includes a plurality of conditions (e.g., the user’s location, the user’s activity, a schedule associated with the user, etc.) ; also see Kamp, [0025] for identifying/detecting user behavior/activity when using the specific mobile device; also see [0024] and [0076] for creating user profiles based on time, location or other type of parameter (i.e., conditions));
“analyzing the activity to generate a third activity profile associated with the first content interface and the second set of conditions” (see Kamp, [0024]-[0025] and [0076] for creating user profiles based on time, location or other type of parameter (i.e., conditions) based on user behavior/activity) ;
“receiving a second request to access the application, from the first device, at a time determined to meet the second set of conditions” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0020] and [0092] for receiving a request/input for accessing and checking email messages; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for receiving request from a user for access of apps);
“selecting the third activity profile, from the plurality of activity profiles, based upon a determination that the second request is associated with the first content interface and that the second request was received at a time meeting the second set of conditions” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0097] for selecting a user device profile to use in personalizing/ranking email messages; also see Kamp, [0061]-[0062] for selecting a user profile based on when and where the request is received (e.g., at night and at home));
“prioritizing content items of the content items database, based upon the third activity profile, to generate a third list of content items associated with the first content interface and the second set of conditions” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0097] for selecting a user device profile to use in personalizing/ranking email messages; also see Kamp, [0061] for selecting different sets of apps defined by different user profiles); and
“controlling the first graphical user interface to display the first content interface comprising the third list of content items” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for presentation of personalized/ranked email messages according to different user devices (i.e., user device profiles); also see Kamp, [0061] for providing the apps to the user; also see [0080]).
Claims 6-7 (effective filing date 08/06/2018) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dotan-Cohen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0048595, Publication date 02/15/2018), and further in view of Gao et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0171110, Publication date 06/16/2016).
As to claim 6, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches all limitations as recited in claims 1 and 16 including storing and/ using a plurality of device profiles associated with a user email account/profile for email personalization (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 2 and [0087]-[0088).
In addition, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches tracking user context including weather data (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0031]).
However, Dotan-Cohen et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for generating and selecting/using a profile based on weather characteristics as equivalently recited as follows:
“the first activity profile is associated with a first set of weather characteristics;
the receiving the first request is performed while the first device is in a region determined to have the first set of weather characteristics; and
the selecting the first activity profile is performed based upon a determination that the first request was received while the first device was in a region having the first set of weather characteristics”.
On the other hand, Gao et al. explicitly teaches a feature for generating and selecting/using a profile based on weather characteristics (see Gao, [0041] and Fig. 7 for generating user profiles based on various weather conditions and using the user profiles for personalizing content provided to a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gao et al.'s teaching to Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system by implementing a feature of creating and selecting/using a user profile based on weather conditions. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system with an effective way to create and use different profiles based on different characteristics including weather characteristics. In addition, both of the references (Dotan-Cohen et al. and Gao et al.) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system for using user profiles to customize content items provided to a user according to user needs or preferences. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claims 6, and is similarly rejected including the follows:
Dotan-Cohen et al. as modified by Gao et al. teaches:
“detecting activity performed using the first content interface while the first device is in a region determined to have a second set of weather characteristics, wherein the second set of weather characteristics is different than the first set of weather characteristics” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0031] for tracking user context including weather data; also see Gao et al., Fig. 7, element 704 for accessing current weather condition information (i.e., weather characteristics));
“analyzing the activity to generate a third activity profile associated with the first content interface and the second set of weather characteristics” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0034]-[0035] and [0088] for generating a user profile and/or user device profiles based on tracked interactions/activity information associated with a user and the user devices; also see Gao et al., [0041] and Fig. 7 for generating user profiles based on various weather conditions and using the user profiles for personalizing content provided to a user);
“receiving a second request to access the email application, from the first device, while the first device is in a region determined to have the second set of weather characteristics” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0092] for receiving a request for accessing and checking email message (i.e., accessing an email application); also see Gao et al., Fig. 7 for providing content to a user based on the user profile and weather conditions);
“selecting the third activity profile, from the plurality of activity profiles, based upon a determination that the second request is associated with the first content interface and that the second request was received while the first device was in a region having the second set of weather characteristics” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0097] for selecting a user device profile to use for ranking email messages provided in the user device; also see Gao et al., Fig. 7 for providing content to a user based on the user profile and weather conditions);
“prioritizing email items of the inbox, based upon the third activity profile, to generate a third list of email items associated with the first content interface and the second set of weather characteristics” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0088] and [0097] for ranking email messages provided in the user device based on characteristic of the user device (i.e., a user device profile); also see Gao et al., Fig. 7 for providing/customizing content to a user based on the user profile and weather conditions); and
“controlling the first graphical user interface to display the first content interface comprising the third list of email items” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0097] for presentation of the ranked email messages to a user device; also see Gao et al., Fig. 7 providing content to a user based on the user profile and weather conditions).
Claims 10-12 (effective filing date 08/06/2018) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dotan-Cohen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0048595, Publication date 02/15/2018), and further in view of Xiao et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0090007, Publication date 04/12/2012).
As to claim 10, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches all limitations as recited in claims 1 and 16 including storing and/ using a plurality of device profiles associated with a user email account/profile for email personalization (see Dotan-Cohen et al., Fig. 2 and [0087]-[0088]).
In addition, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches assigning score or weight for ranking a particular email message with respect to one or more user devices (see [0081]).
However, Dotan-Cohen et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for generating a profile including weights associated with types of content based on user activity as equivalently recited as follows:
“wherein the first activity profile comprises:
indications of one or more types of content associated with first activity; and
indications of one or more weights of the one or more types of content, wherein the one or more weights of the one or more types of content are determined based upon amounts of activity, of the first activity, associated with each type of content of the one or more types of content.”
On the other hand, Xiao et al. explicitly teaches a feature for generating a profile including weights associated with types of content based on user activity as equivalently recited as follows:
“wherein the first activity profile comprises” (see Xiao et al., [0046] and [0052]-[0053] for generating and updating a user profile with weights for different types of television content based on user behavior information):
“indications of one or more types of content associated with first activity” (see Xiao et al., [0046] and [0052]-[0053] for identifying/indicating different types of content (e.g., sitcoms, educational television shows, etc.); also see [0045]); and
“indications of one or more weights of the one or more types of content, wherein the one or more weights of the one or more types of content are determined based upon amounts of activity, of the first activity, associated with each type of content of the one or more types of content” ” (see Xiao et al., [0046] and [0052]-[0053] for generating or updating a user file with weights for different types of television content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xiao et al.'s teaching to Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system by implementing generating a profile including weights associated with types of content based on user activity. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system with an effective way to order/prioritize different types of contents based on profiles. In addition, both of the references (Dotan-Cohen et al. and Xiao et al.) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system for using user profiles to customize/prioritize content items provided to a user according to user activity. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As to claim 11, this claim is rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claims 10, and is similarly rejected including the follows:
Dotan-Cohen et al. as modified by Xiao et al. teaches:
“wherein the prioritizing the email items of the inbox is performed, based upon the one or more weights of the one or more types of content, to generate the first list of email items having an order of email items based upon the one or more weights of the one or more types of content” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0081] for assigning score or weight for ranking a particular email message with respect to one or more user devices; also see Xiao et al., [0052]-[0053] for personalizing TV guide (i.e., listing of television programs) based on weights associated with different types of contents).
As to claim 12, this claim is rejected based on the same argument as above to reject claims 11, and is similarly rejected including the follows:
Dotan-Cohen et al. as modified by Xiao et al. teaches:
“a first content item of the inbox is associated with a first type of content, of the one or more types of content, corresponding to a first weight of the one or more weights” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0081] for assigning score or weight for ranking a particular email message with respect to one or more user devices; also see Xiao et al., [0052]-[0053] wherein each television shows/programs is associated with a type of content (e.g., sitcoms, educational television shows, etc.) and each type of content is associated with a weight calculated based on user behavior/activity information);
“a second content item of the inbox is associated with a second type of content, of the one or more types of content, corresponding to a second weight of the one or more weights” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0081] for assigning score or weight for ranking a particular email message with respect to one or more user devices; also see Xiao et al., [0052]-[0053] wherein each television shows/programs is associated with a type of content (e.g., sitcoms, educational television shows, etc.) and each type of content is associated with a weight calculated based on user behavior/activity information);
“the first weight is higher than the second weight” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0081]-[0082] for assigning score or weight for ranking a particular email message with respect to one or more user devices; also see Xiao et al., [0052]-[0053] for different weights associated with different types of content); and
“the first list of content items comprises the first content item preceding the second content item” (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0081]-[0082] for assigning score or weight for ranking a particular email message with respect to one or more user devices and ranking based on the determined scored of each message; also see Xiao et al., [0052]-[0053] for generating a personalized TV guide (e.g., a listing of television programs) based on user profile based on weights associated with types of content, e.g., including a listing of animated cartoons followed by a listing of all available half-hour long television court shows, wherein animated cartoons are weighted higher in a profile associated with a child).
Claim 13 (effective filing date 08/06/2018) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dotan-Cohen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0048595, Publication date 02/15/2018), and further in view of Srivastava (U.S. Patent No. 8,725,811, Patent date 05/13/2014).
As to claim 13, Dotan-Cohen et al. teaches all limitations as recited in claim 1 including first/second activity including one or more interactions with one or more email items (see Dotan-Cohen et al., [0058] for composing an email; also see [0097] for selecting and reading email messages).
However, Dotan-Cohen et al. does not explicitly teach other types of interactions with email items as recited as follows:
“the first activity used to generate the first activity profile comprises at least four of one or more first email items being selected, one or more first email items being replied to, one or more first email items being forwarded, one or more first links within one or more first email items being selected, one or more first emails being composed, or one or more first email items being displayed for longer than a threshold amount of time”; and
“the second activity used to generate the second activity profile comprises at least four of one or more second email items being selected, one or more second email items being replied to, one or more second email items being forwarded, one or more second links within one or more second email items being selected, one or more second emails being composed, or one or more second email items being displayed for longer than the threshold amount of time”.
On the other hand, Srivastava explicitly teaches a features of monitoring other types of interactions with email items as recited as follows:
“the first activity used to generate the first activity profile comprises at least four of one or more first email items being selected, one or more first email items being replied to, one or more first email items being forwarded, one or more first links within one or more first email items being selected, one or more first emails being composed, or one or more first email items being displayed for longer than a threshold amount of time” (see Srivastava, [column 7, lines 36-46] for monitoring user interactions with email messages including using/selecting hyperlinks in the email to access content over the network, replying to the email, forwarding the email or deleting the email; also see [column 2, lines 32-60] and [column 9, lines 1-15] for monitoring an amount of time spent by a user when interacting with messages (e.g., an amount of time the message is displayed in the preview pane, an amount of time the message is selected, etc.)); and
“the second activity used to generate the second activity profile comprises at least four of one or more second email items being selected, one or more second email items being replied to, one or more second email items being forwarded, one or more second links within one or more second email items being selected, one or more second emails being composed, or one or more second email items being displayed for longer than the threshold amount of time” (see Srivastava, [column 7, lines 36-46] for monitoring user interactions with email messages including using/selecting hyperlinks in the email to access content over the network, replying to the email, forwarding the email or deleting the email; also see [column 2, lines 32-60] and [column 9, lines 1-15] for monitoring an amount of time spent by a user when interacting with messages (e.g., an amount of time the message is displayed in the preview pane, an amount of time the message is selected, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Srivastava's teaching to Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system by implementing a feature of monitoring different types of interactions with email messages and monitoring amount of time associated with interactions. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Dotan-Cohen et al.’s system with an effective way to evaluate the importance of email messages and prioritize email messages according to their importance as suggested by Srivastava (see Abstract). In addition, both of the references (Dotan-Cohen et al. and Srivastava) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system for customizing/prioritize content items provided to a user according to user activity.. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Phuong Thao Cao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164