1. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
2. Withdrawn Election/Restrictions and rejoined claims 1-20.
The restriction made 11/05/2025, Group 1, claims 1-11, Group 2, Claim 12-17, and Group 3, Claims 18-20 are rejoined since examiner found the inventions are not distinct and that there would not be a serious search or examination burden, as a result of a restriction requirement 11/05/2025 hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Because all claims previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 have been rejoined, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 11/05/2025 is hereby withdrawn. In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the phrase “a type of the cooking appliance” and “a specific type of information” renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type of"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). the specification does not define or does not provide the list of items what can be included on the “a type of cooking appliance”, and for “type of information”.
A claim must be paired with sufficient detail to make the scope clear and definite. Without further limiting language, it may be considered indefinite and could lead to rejection under § 112(b) because claims must be written in such a way that they “particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter” and are “definite”, so that the boundaries are clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
As claim 2-11 and 13-17, these claims are at least rejected for their dependencies, directly or indirectly, on the rejected claims 1 and 12. They are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the “computer-implemented” of independent claims 1 and 18, encompasses signals per se. The specification of US publication US20240180362A1 discloses that Par. [0065”] …Computer-readable media can be a computer-readable signal medium and/or a computer-readable storage medium. A computer-readable storage medium may include an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, and/or semiconductor system, apparatus, or device, or any suitable combination of these…”; in addition, Par. [0066] “A computer-readable signal medium may include a propagated data signal with computer-readable program code embodied therein, for example, in baseband or as part of a carrier wave. Such a propagated signal may take any of a variety of forms, including, but not limited to, electro-magnetic, optical, and/or any suitable combination thereof…” A claim whose BRI covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter. See MPEP 2106.03(II). Accordingly, claims 1 and 18 fail to recite statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. It is suggested that claims to be amend to recite a “non-transitory” computer-implemented to overcome this rejection.
As claim 2-11 and 19-20 these claims are at least rejected for their dependencies, directly or indirectly, on the rejected claims 1 and 18. They are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5.1. Claim(s) s 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young et al. (US 20170139385 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Young discloses a system for developing automated cooking programs [0005], (processor, an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs by a plurality of cooking appliances), the system comprising:
a personal electronic device client computing devices 102) in communication with a cooking appliance (the cooking appliance 104), ([0050] In some implementations, a user may utilize one or more of the client computing devices 102 to interact with the cooking appliance 104) the personal electronic device including a first user interface (touch screen 292A) and first processing logic (processor 282) configured to:
automatically generate, based on a type of the cooking appliance, a cooking program creation form including a plurality of information fields ([0053], [0062], [0065], the user may select a recipe on a Web site which automatically provides details to the computing device 102, execute a program or “app” that provides at least one of instructions or data to the cooking appliance 104 and receives information from the cooking appliance via one or more suitable communications interface, and allow a user to select an end result for the food product 118 which the user is cooking via the user interface),
wherein each information field is configured to receive a specific type of information relating to an automatic cooking program configured to be executed by a cooking appliance of the selected cooking appliance type ( to cook a food item of a selected food item type ([0005], [0006], [0040], operation in a processor-based food preparation guidance system may be summarized as including receiving, by at least one processor, cooking programs may be chosen via a user's processor-based system or device, an input cooking parameter or an output cooking parameter and an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs by a plurality of cooking appliances; and interacting with a selectable cooking program via the graphical user interface)
display, on the first UI, the cooking program creation form including the plurality of information fields ([0151], display or cause to be displayed the determined more accurate cooking process projection on the display of one or more computing devices. The user may then utilize the provided projection for planning or other purposes);
receive information in one or more of the information fields of the cooking program creation form to create the automatic cooking program ([0005], [0006], [0056], [0062], a processor-based food preparation guidance system may be summarized as including receiving, by at least one processor, an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs by a plurality of cooking appliances; providing, by the at least one processor, analysis result data to at least one user computing device associated with a user based at least in part on the analysis of the received cooking parameters. Receiving an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs may include detecting at least one user selection of a cooking program to be sent to a cooking appliance), and
communicate the automatic cooking program to the cooking appliance ([0050], the cooking appliance 104 may communicate with the computing device 102 and the FPG system 108); and
wherein the cooking appliance (cooking appliance 104) includes a sensor (sensor 126), a second UI (touch screen 128), and an electronic controller (circulator 122) including second processing logic (processor 260) configured to automatically execute the instructions of the automatic cooking program to cook a food item ([0005], [0192], an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs by a plurality of cooking appliance).
Regarding claims 13, Young discloses automatically executing the automatic cooking program using the second processing logic (processer 260) includes utilizing the sensor (sensor 126) to detect a characteristic of the food item ([0069], The starting event determined when the cooking appliance 104 senses that the food product 118 has been inserted), and automatically determining one or more cooking parameters of the cooking program based on the detected characteristic of the food item ([0069], the cooking program specify a cooking duration, a starting even, temperature, preheat the cooking appliance).
Regarding claim 14, Young automatically executing the automatic cooking program using the second processing logic includes transitioning between multiple steps of the cooking program (([0060]-[0069], [0082], after a recognized power interruption, the FPG system 108 may determine whether any modifications to the cooking program are required and cause such modifications to be implemented. Updates to a cooking program and/or to provide cooking projections presentable to a user, for example, a program type, a program start time (e.g., immediately or at a determined future time), an accelerated cooking program).
Regarding claim 15, Young discloses the second processing logic is configured to transition between two of the multiple steps of the cooking program by detecting a trigger event ([0060], [0073], [0147], the cooking appliance 104 measures the surface temperature of the food product 118 and measures one or more interior temperatures of the food product. the cooking program may indicate the amount of time the food product 118 should be held at the set-point temperature or at a safe holding temperature. The updated cooking program may be sent to the cooking appliance for execution thereby. For example, the updated cooking program may alter control of one or more operational parameters of the cooking appliance (e.g., temperature, time, speed, humidity, pressure, fan speed).
Regarding claim 16, young discloses the second processing logic (processor260) of the cooking appliance (cooking appliance 104) is further configured to communicate, to the personal electronic device ([0066], The cooking appliance 104 may transmit various data or information to the client computing devices 102), a notification of a completion of executing the cooking program (([0009], [0050], [0053], Fig. 1-2, [0065]-[0069], cooking appliance 104 to generate a cooking program for preparing the food product 118. For example, the user may select a recipe on a Web site which automatically provides details to the computing device 102, the FPG system 108, and/or cooking appliance 104 about the food product to be prepared upon selection of the recipe).
Regarding claim 17, Young discloses the first processing logic (processor 282 of Fig. 2) of the personal electronic device (client computing device 102) is further configured to automatically prompt the user to provide feedback regarding the performance of the automatic cooking program (Abstract, [0009], [0042], [0196], [0201],[0208], the FPG system may also analyze the aggregated data to improve cooking programs based on the received real-time cooking data and/or user supplied feedback. For example, a cooking program for a food product may specify a cooking temperature of 70° C. Over a period of time, the FPG system may determine based on received cooking data and user feedback that users generally prefer the food product when the food product is cooked at 65° C. Thus, the FPG system may modify the cooking program to specify a cooking temperature of 65° C. or may at least provide a suggestion to users that a cooking temperature of 65° C. may be preferable, and receive an indication of a user satisfaction level).
Regarding claim 18, Young discloses computer-implemented method ([0005], a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium) for creating a new automatic cooking program based on a pre-existing automatic cooking program (Fig. 3 and 4, [0130] At 312, the at least one processor may receive a modification to the cooking program (or other control instruction) from a user computing devices over the data communications channel. At 314, responsive to receiving the modification to the cooking program), the method comprising:
receiving, at an electronic device of a user ( client device 102), a user modification of one or more variables of a plurality of variables of a base automatic cooking program ([0006], Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 16, Fig. 19, Analyzing the received cooking parameters may include analyzing the received cooking parameters to modify a cooking program for a particular user, and providing analysis result data to at least one user may include providing the modified cooking program to at least one of a user computing device associated with the particular user or a cooking appliance associated with the particular user),
wherein the plurality of variables includes one or more variables relating to a food item to be cooked ([0005], [0006], [0128], Fig. 3, received the input parameter related to the food product to be cooked. The cooking appliance may receive state information data from the cooking appliance. Such state information data may include, for example, set-point temperature, current temperature, water level, estimated time until completion, estimated time until the food product should be placed in a cooking chamber of the cooking appliance, etc.),
a cooking appliance to cook the food item ([0065], cooking appliance 104 to generate a cooking program for preparing the food product 118., and user preferences ([0043],[0069], adjust future recipes to better meet the user's preferences), wherein the base automatic cooking program (food preparation guidance system 108) a first set of operating parameters associated with the plurality of variables ([0005], [0006], [0069], [0128], Fig. 3, state information data may include, for example, set-point temperature, current temperature, water level, estimated time until completion, estimated time until the food product should be placed in a cooking chamber of the cooking appliance, etc.) and configured to be utilized by the cooking appliance to cook the food item according to the user preferences ([0005], [0009], an execution of a plurality of cooking programs may include detecting at least one user selection of a cooking program to be sent to a cooking appliance),
automatically generating a second set of operating parameters based on the first set of operating parameters and the user modification of the one or more variables (Abstract, Fig. 3 and 4, , [0006], [0043], [0061], [0147], analyzing the received cooking parameters to modify a cooking program, and providing analysis result data to a user for providing the modified cooking program to a user computing device or a cooking appliance), and the user modification of the one or more variables ([0065], automatically provides details to the computing device 102, the food preparation guidance system 108, and/or cooking appliance 104 about the food product to be prepared upon selection of the recipe, the user may be able to modify the selected recipe to suit the user's particular preferences), wherein the second set of operating parameters is associated with the modified plurality of variables ([0046]-[0047], [0130], the processor may receive a modification a plurality of parameters to the cooking program or other control instruction, receiving at least one cooking parameter comprises receiving at least one output cooking parameter comprising at least one of: a temperature, a projected cooking time, a projected cooking completion time, an image of a food product, or an indication of a user satisfaction level).
generating a new automatic cooking program including the user modified plurality of variables and the automatically generated second set of operating parameters (Fig. 3, 4, [0129], [0201], [0205], improve cooking programs based on the received real-time cooking data and/or user supplied feedback. The FPG system may modify the cooking program to specify a cooking temperature of 65° C. or may at least provide a suggestion to users that a cooking temperature of 65° C. may be preferable. Receiving at least one cooking parameter comprises receiving at least one output cooking parameter comprising at least one of: a temperature, a projected cooking time, a projected cooking completion time, an image of a food product, or an indication of a user satisfaction level); and
storing, in a memory of the electronic device ([0108], NV memory 284 and V-memory 286 of the client computing device 102), the new automatic cooking program (Fig. 3, modify the generated cooking program 314) as an associated child cooking program ([0047], determined cooking program) of the base automatic cooking program ([0053], cooking program 109A form food preparation system 108).
Regarding claim 19, Young discloses the plurality of variables of the base automatic cooking program includes one or more of a food item type (cook product 118, a cookware type, a cookware size, a preferred interior doneness level of the food item ([0006], [0179], receiving at least one of a texture, consistency, or doneness for the food product), a preferred exterior brownness level of the food item9[0180], cooked steak. For example, as the user scrolls from left to right selecting the icons 902, videos depicting steaks cooked at various temperatures from rare to well-done may be displayed on the display of the computing device), a cooking appliance type ([0039], [0046], automated cooking appliances, (e.g., sous vide cooker, oven or other cooking appliance), and a capability of the cooking appliance.
Regarding claim 20, Young discloses the first set of operating parameters of the base automatic cooking program includes one or more of a cooking mode a cooking temperature a cooking duration, and steps in a cooking process ([0008], [0067], cooking parameter including at least one of: a temperature, a projected cooking time, a projected cooking completion time, an image of a food product, or an indication of a user satisfaction level).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6.1 Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 20170139385 A1) in view of Eilerts (US 2021/0176834 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a computer-implemented method for developing automatic cooking programs ([0005], [0008], a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, processor-based food preparation guidance system is an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs), the method comprising:
displaying, on a user interface (UI) of an electronic device (client device 102), a cooking program (cooking program 109A) creation form including a plurality of information fields, each field configured to receive a specific type of information relating to an automatic cooking program ([0005]-[0006], [0053], [0056], [0110], Fig. 3-4, [0139], [0172], a user interaction pattern with a graphical user interface of a user computing device which provides at least one selectable cooking program. A user interface displayed on the display of the computing devices 102 may include various pull-down menus, tabs, user selectable icons, input fields, scroll bars, images, videos, audio, and dialog boxes, as well as other user interface components);
receiving, via the UI, user-provided information in a second one or more of the information fields of the cooking program creation form ([0090], [0139], At 406, the processor-based device may provide a prompt for an ending condition, temperature, preference or characteristic for the selected food product, for instance, via a display of the computing device. For example, the processor-based device may display or cause to be displayed an egg white texture prompt screen (e.g., a visual prompt) that allows a user to view and scroll through images of egg whites having differing textures (e.g., runny, medium, firm);
creating a new automatic cooking program based on the information in the first and second information fields of the cooking program creation form ([0090], [0110], [0115], Fig. 3 and 4, the application(s) may include logic or instructions to provide the end user with access to a number of graphical screens or windows with prompts, fields, and other user interface structures that allow the user or consumer to obtain food preparation instructions, control or guidance via the FPG system 108. Such may include, for example, logic or machine executable instructions for various screens or windows;
communicating the automatic cooking program to a cooking appliance of the cooking appliance type (Fig. 1, [0050], [0053], [0068] The client computing devices 102 may transmit various data or information to the cooking appliance 104 and/or to the FPG system 108. For example, the client computing devices 102 may transmit a cooking program to the cooking appliance 104 or new firmware to the cooking appliance), wherein the cooking appliance is configured to automatically execute the cooking program to cook a food item of the food item type ([0065]-[0071], the user may select a recipe that provides information usable by the client computing device 102, the FPG system 108, and/or cooking appliance 104 to generate a cooking program for preparing the food product 118. For example, the user may select a recipe on a Web site which automatically provides details to the computing device 102, the FPG system 108, and/or cooking appliance 104 about the food product to be prepared upon selection of the recipe. In some implementations, the user may be able to modify the selected recipe to suit the user's particular preferences); and
storing the automatic cooking program in a memory (storage memory 284) of the electronic device (client device 102) (Abstract, [0089], Cooking instructions is stored as processor-readable cooking programs that use mutable real time status updates as input).
Young fails to discloses receiving, in the cooking program creation form via the UI, a selection of a cooking appliance type and a food item type for the automatic cooking program; and automatically providing information in a first one or more of the information fields of the cooking program creation form, based on the selected cooking appliance type and the selected food item type.
However, Eilerts discloses receiving, in the cooking program creation form via the UI, a selection of a cooking appliance type and a food item type for the automatic cooking program (Fig. 5, Par. [0032], [0036], displaying connected appliances, selecting the appliance, click continue, display the food preparation plan. Select a cooking appliance from a set of cooking appliances which must be used to perform the preparation. Upon selecting the cooking appliance, the user is prompted to place the selected dishes in the selected cooking appliances); and automatically providing information in a first one or more of the information fields of the cooking program creation form, based on the selected cooking appliance type and the selected food item type ([0037], Fig. 5, after the selection and confirmation, the preparation program is then carried out. The end time is displayed on the user interface of the operating device. Preferably, the times for the individual menu courses are also displayed).
Young and Eilerts are analogous art. They relate to the cooking program.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an operating program, taught by Eilerts, incorporated with food preparation guidance system, taught by Young, in order to allow an easy and simple operation and the preparation of a dish or also several dishes, and particularly, of parts of high quality and of the highest quality of a menu course as well.
Regarding claim 2, Young discloses receiving feedback at the electronic device regarding a performance of the automatic cooking program (Abstract, the data may be supplemented with feedback to verify what was cooked, how the result compared to visual representation in advance of cooking and satisfaction level),, and using a machine learning model trained to automatically output a modification of one or more of the information fields of the automatic cooking program based on the feedback (Abstract, [0005], [0006], [0043], [0049], [0076], Fig. 4, step 418, data is used to reproduce past cooking results, adjust future recipes, suggest recipes or products, or connecting users to online communities of users. Cooking data may be used to offer just-in-time problem solving, products, or connection to other users).
Regarding claim 3, Young discloses the automatic cooking program is configured to cook the food item according to an expected finished outcome ([0201], the FPG system may modify the cooking program to specify a cooking temperature of 65° C. or may at least provide a suggestion to users that a cooking temperature of 65° C. may be preferable), and the feedback includes a comparison of the expected finished outcome with an actual finished outcome of the food item after being cooked using the cooking program (Abstract, [0042], [0169], user-supplied feedback to verify what food product(s) was cooked, to determine how the resulting food product compared to visual representations provided to the user in advance of cooking, and to gauge a user's satisfaction level with the resulting food product, for example).
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses discloses the automatic cooking program includes instructions to the cooking appliance to automatically determine one or more cooking parameters to cook the food item based on sensed characteristics of the food item ([0069], [0082], [0078] The starting event may also be when the cooking appliance 104 senses that the food product 118 has been inserted. The starting event may also occur at a determined time or after a determined delay after one or more events. Using the time-series data and the state of the cooking appliance 104, the FPG system 108 may measure or determine one or more liquid bath characteristics, food product characteristics. The food preparation guidance system 108 may determine for how long and at what temperatures the food product was in a range that promotes foodborne pathogen growth).
Regarding claim 5, Young discloses automatically determining the first information fields includes determining options in a drop-down menu of the cooking program creation form, wherein the options are based on possible finished outcomes associated with the selected food item category ([0139], [0172], FIG. 6. The home screen includes a scrollable list of icons for various food products, including a steak icon 602, a salmon icon 604 and a chicken icon 606 which depict pieces of steak, salmon and chicken, respectively. A multi-purpose icon 608 is also present in the bottom right-hand corner of the home screen 600 which may be used to display various data and which may be selected by the user to perform various functions. For example, the screen print screen 700 of the home screen of FIG. 7 depicts the multi-purpose icon 608 as showing a current temperature reading in ° C. for a liquid bath of a cooking appliance to which the user computing device is communicatively couple).
Regarding claim 6, Young discloses automatically determining the first information fields includes determining options in a drop-down menu of the cooking program creation form, wherein the options are determined based on available cooking modes of the selected cooking appliance ([0139], [0172]-[0173], , FIG. 6. The home screen includes a scrollable list of icons for various food products, including a steak icon 602, a salmon icon 604 and a chicken icon 606 which depict pieces of steak, salmon and chicken, respectively. A multi-purpose icon 608 is also present in the bottom right-hand corner of the home screen 600 which may be used to display various data and which may be selected by the user to perform various functions. For example, the screen print screen 700 of the home screen of FIG. 7 depicts the multi-purpose icon 608 as showing a current temperature reading in ° C. for a liquid bath of a cooking appliance to which the user computing device is communicatively couple).
Regarding claims 7, Young discloses creating a second automatic cooking program based on the first automatic cooking program ([0126], processor causes a cooking program to be generated. The cooking program include at least one of instructions or data usable by a cooking appliance to perform a cooking process for a food product), wherein creating the second automatic cooking program includes:
receiving a user modification of the information in one of the information fields of the cooking program creation form (Fig. 3, [0130], receive a modification to the cooking program (or other control instruction) from at least one of the plurality of user computing devices over the at least one data communications channel. The cooking program may include at least one of instructions or data usable by a cooking appliance to perform a cooking process for a food product);
using a machine learning model trained to automatically output a modification of another one of the information fields of the cooking program creation form based on the user modification ([0006], [0043], [0049], [0076], Fig. 4, step 418, analyzing the received cooking parameters to modify a cooking program, and the modified cooking program to a user computing device or a cooking appliance. Based on feedback gathered from past behavior of the user, adjust future recipes, suggest recipes or products);
storing the modified cooking program as a new second cooking program associated with the first cooking program (Fig. 3, [0102], the memory 284 of the client device stored the modification the cooking program).
Regarding claim 8, Young discloses the automatic cooking program includes first instructions configured to be automatically executed by the cooking appliance to cook the food item ([0005], an indication of an execution of a plurality of cooking programs by a plurality of cooking appliances prepare the food product), and second instructions directing to the user ([0008], provides analysis result data to at least one user computing device associated with a user based at least in part on the analysis of the received cooking parameters).
Regarding claim 9, Young discloses the automatic cooking program includes multiple cooking steps, and each cooking step includes a cooking mode and a cooking temperature ([0006[, [0009], [0047], cooking parameter including at least one of: a temperature, a projected cooking time, a projected cooking completion time, an image of a food product, or an indication of a user satisfaction level).
Regarding claim 10, Young discloses the automatic cooking program includes instructions for the cooking appliance to automatically transition between the different cooking steps of the cooking program in response to detecting a trigger event ([0060]-[0069], [0082], after a recognized power interruption, the FPG system 108 may determine whether any modifications to the cooking program are required and cause such modifications to be implemented. Updates to a cooking program and/or to provide cooking projections presentable to a user, for example, a program type, a program start time (e.g., immediately or at a determined future time), an accelerated cooking program).
Regarding claim 11, Young discloses detecting the trigger event includes detecting an internal temperature of the food item reaching a threshold level ([0060], [0073], the cooking appliance 104 measures the surface temperature of the food product 118 and measures one or more interior temperatures of the food product. the cooking program may indicate the amount of time the food product 118 should be held at the set-point temperature or at a safe holding temperature).
Citation Pertinent prior art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manuel et al. (US 20150064314 A1) discloses receiving a food item type of a food item to be cooked, a cooking appliance type of a cooking appliance for cooking the food item, a doneness and a temperature of the food item at a server, performing a search of a database stored in a memory of the server.
Unagami et al. (US 20150074237 A1) discloses displaying the selected recipe information on the display. The control data is set in a cooker. The selected recipe information having the identifier is transmitted to a first server in association with a user ID of the information terminal apparatus in a case where the user permits the recipe information to be collected for a purpose of use related to health care using the first display data, and in a case where the selected recipe information has the identifier.
Koo et al (US 20140295822 A1) discloses techniques for improving user's cooking experience with a Smart-Cook architecture are described herein. The Smart-Cook architecture includes a mobile device that is configurable to communicate via the Internet. The mobile device is also configurable to communicate via a Smart-Cook interface with a Smart-Cook appliance that is located within a close proximity. The techniques described herein leverage a graphical user interface (GUI) of the mobile device to monitor and control cooking operations of the Smart-Cook appliance.
Cafferty et al. (US 2013/0092032A1) discloses intelligent home cooking appliances, associated systems, and/or methods. More particularly, the technology disclosed herein relates to intelligent home cooking appliances and interactive content that is interpretable to send instructions to such intelligent home cooking appliances.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KIDEST WORKU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119