DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “braking mechanism” of claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“braking mechanism” in claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “braking mechanism” which invokes 112(f), however, the specification fails to disclose any structural features which correspond to this limitation. Therefore, claim 22 contains subject matter which fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “braking mechanism” which invokes 112(f), however, the specification fails to disclose any structural features which correspond to this limitation, thereby rendering the claim indefinite. Because the application fails to adequately set forth any corresponding structure, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot be reasonably certain of the structural metes and bounds of the claimed invention, and therefore, cannot be reasonably certain of what would constitute literal infringement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-13, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11,333,373 B2 (herein “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1. Kim discloses a mobile energy storage system (Fig. 8) comprising:
a thermal energy storage unit (70);
an inlet (61-76-62 and 93-94 are openings capable of being inlets and outlets) through which the storage unit can be connected to a charging station, during a charging state;
an outlet (61-76-62 and 93-94 are openings capable of being inlets and outlets) by which the storage unit can be connected to a consumer, during a discharging state; and
a platform (60/80) connected to the storage unit, the platform comprising an apparatus that facilitates mobilization of the platform (wheels 85) to enable mobilization of the storage unit between the charging station and the consumer.
Regarding claim 2. Kim discloses the system of claim 1 comprising a fluid distribution system (63 and 73) to introduce a heat transfer fluid (inside 63 and 73) into the storage unit, circulate the HTF through the storage unit, and move the HTF out of the storage unit (loops 63 and 73 circulate HTF into, through, and out of the heat storage unit).
Regarding claim 3. Kim discloses the system of claim 2 wherein the fluid distribution system is capable of introducing cooled HTF via the inlet (cool HTF fluid enters inlet 76 through heat exchanger 67 to receive heat and transfer it to the heat storage unit 70) to circulate through the storage unit to charge the storage unit with thermal energy.
Regarding claim 4. Kim discloses the system of claim 2 wherein the fluid distribution system circulates the HTF through a charged storage unit to discharge the storage unit, thereby cooling the HTF (73 moves hot HTF from 73A to 73B to discharge heat from the heat storage unit and then returns cooled HTF from 73B to 73A).
Regarding claim 5. Kim discloses the system of claim 4 comprising a heat exchanger (67) which is capable of accepting cooled HTF from the storage unit (cooled HTF travels from the heat storage unit at 65 to the heat exchanger 67), to cool air using the cooled HTF and to output cooled air (heat exchanger 67 cools air flowing through 76).
Regarding claim 6. Kim discloses the system of claim 5 comprising a tube (31) which is capable of transporting cooled air from the outlet to a consumer.
Regarding claim 11. Kim discloses the system of claim 1 comprising a portable power source (battery 130) to provide power to components of the system.
Regarding claim 12. Kim discloses the system of claim 1 which is capable of being used with a consumer that is a parked vehicle.
Regarding claim 13. Kim discloses the system of claim 12 wherein the parked vehicle can be an aircraft.
Regarding claim 21. Kim discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the apparatus connected to the platform comprises one or more of: wheels, skis, or a chain track (wheels 85).
Regarding claim 22. Kim discloses the system of claim 1 comprising a braking mechanism capable of locking the apparatus during the charging state and during the discharging state (the electric motors 84 can be utilized as a braking mechanism, one example of which is shorting the stopped motors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US 2024/0027140 A1 (herein “Ling”).
Ling discloses a mobile heat storage device (Fig. 2) comprising: a container (5) housing a plurality of encapsulated heat storage units (6) ([0027]), wherein the heat storage units are connected in parallel (via manifolds at left side of units 6 in Fig. 2) to allow substantially simultaneous charging and discharging, and wherein the container is configured such that it could be stacked upon another container; and tubes (at left side of the device shown in Fig. 2) capable of being connected to a charging device or a discharging device and transferring air to and from the heat storage units.
In attempting to produce an improved mobile energy storage system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kim with the teachings of Ling’s mobile energy storage system which can make full use of various energy sources and reduce energy consumption (Ling: [0006]).
Regarding claim 6. The combined teachings of Kim and Ling disclose the system of claim 5 comprising a tube (Ling: left side of container in Fig. 2) capable of transporting cooled air from the outlet to the consumer.
Regarding claim 7. The combined teachings of Kim and Ling disclose the system of claim 2 wherein the energy storage unit comprises a container (Ling: 5), the container comprising: an HTF inlet to allow the HTF to enter the container (Ling: inlet at left of the container in Fig. 2, and manifolds at left of elements 6); an HTF outlet to allow the HTF to exit the container after being circulated through the container (Ling: outlet at left of the container in Fig. 2, and manifolds at left of elements 6); and capsules containing a phase change material (Ling: ([0027]) arranged within the container to provide a passage for the HTF to flow over the capsules while circulating through the container.
Regarding claim 8. The combined teachings of Kim and Ling disclose the system of claim 7 wherein the container (Ling: Fig. 2) is configured such that it is capable of being stacked upon another container.
Regarding claim 9. The combined teachings of Kim and Ling disclose the system of claim 1 comprising a plurality of thermal energy storage units (Ling: 6) configured to be discharged substantially simultaneously (Ling: manifolds connect units in parallel).
Regarding claim 10. The combined teachings of Kim and Ling disclose the system of claim 9 comprising: an ingoing pipe to provide HTF to the plurality of storage units, substantially simultaneously (Ling: one of the pipes/tubes at the left of the container in Fig. 2 leading to one of the manifolds), and an outgoing pipe to lead HTF out from the plurality of storage units, after the HTF circulated through the plurality of storage units substantially simultaneously (Ling: the other of the pipes/tubes at the left of the container in Fig. 2 leading to one of the manifolds).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of the amendments to the claims, all previous 112(a) and 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn. Note: this office action contains new 112(a) and 112(b) rejections drawn to newly added claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763