Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/26/2025 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-2, 14 and 18, have been amended. Claims 4-5 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
The objection of claim 2 has been withdrawn in view of the above amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”), further in view of Edvardsson et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0009803 A1) (hereinafter "Edvardsson”) and Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”).
With respect to claim 1: Durang discloses a system, comprising:
a plurality of liquid monitoring systems, wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring system is associated with a respective liquid storage container positioned in a storage facility, wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems comprises a sensor and an antenna to broadcast a signal based on an output of the sensor (a plurality of liquid storage containers having a liquid monitoring system stored on a rack in a plurality of rickhouses, each of the liquid monitoring system having sensors and antennas [0032-0033], [0053], [0057]);
receiving the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system (the communication module of the sensors transmits data to the barrel monitoring computing system [0053]);
However, Durang does not explicitly disclose a radiating cable, wherein the radiating cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding, wherein the radiating cable is routed through the storage facility to receive the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system; and
a receiver in electrical communication with the central conductor of the radiating cable, wherein the receiver is to receive the signals received by the radiating cable;
wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Littleford discloses a radiating cable, wherein the radiating cable is routed through the storage facility to receive the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system (radiating cable/leaky feeder used to monitor liquid in a structure/building [0160], [0212], [0273], [Fig. 5]);
a receiver in electrical communication with the central conductor of the radiating cable, wherein the receiver is to receive the signals received by the radiating cable (radiating cable sends and receive signals to be analyzed and data stored [0230-0233]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang in view of Littleford in order to have radiating cables throughout a facility to receive signals broadcasted from a liquid monitoring system;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide consistent data over a longer distance by acting as a plurality of multitude of antennas for transmitters and/or receivers [Littleford: 0088];
However, Durang-Littleford does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding;
wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Edvardsson discloses wherein the cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding (a probe comprises a central conductor and can be a coaxial line having a central lead and a perforated shield [0019], [0040], [Claim 4]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford in view of Edvardsson in order to have a radiating cable comprising a central conductor and a perforated shield;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow signal propagation on its exterior surface [Edvardsson: 0019];
However, Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Orrell discloses wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels (the software defined radio (SDR) receivers can decode two audio and/or video and/or data services simultaneously [0009-0010]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson in view of Orrell in order to have a software defined radio simultaneously decode transmission coming from multiple channels;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would support two or more independent transmission and reception channels at the same time [Orrell: 0010].
With respect to claim 2: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, further comprising
Durang discloses a communications uplink in networked communication with receiver; and
a storage container monitoring computing system in communication with the communications uplink over a network, the storage container monitoring computing system comprising computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon and one or more computer processors, the computer-executable instructions configured to instruct one or more computer processors to perform the following operations:
receive communications from the uplink, wherein the communications comprise data associated with the liquid storage containers positioned in the storage facility (the communication module of the sensors transmits data to the barrel monitoring computing system, the barrel monitoring computing system stores the collected data and can provide to various computing devices such as mobile devices or a distillery computing system [0053-0054]);
With respect to claim 3: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Durang discloses wherein the sensor of each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems measures any of liquid level, ambient temperature, ambient pressure, humidity, and accelerations (the sensor can be used to determine liquid level, temperature, vapor pressure, biometric pressure, among other characteristics [0032]).
With respect to claim 6: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Durang does not explicitly disclose wherein the radiating cable is a first radiating cable, wherein a second radiating cable is routed through the storage facility, wherein the second radiating cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding, and wherein the central conductor of the second radiating cable is in electrical communication with the receiver;
Littleford discloses wherein the radiating cable is a first radiating cable, wherein a second radiating cable is routed through the storage facility, the second radiating cable is in electrical communication with the receiver; (electromagnetic signals are propagated and transmitted from a cable to another cable, the cables are used to monitor liquid in a structure/building [0088], [0117], [0160], [0212], [0273], [Fig. 5]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang in view of Littleford in order to have radiating cables throughout a facility to receive signals broadcasted from a liquid monitoring system;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide consistent data over a longer distance by acting as a plurality of multitude of antennas for transmitters and/or receivers [Littleford: 0088];
However, Durang-Littleford does not explicitly disclose wherein the second radiating cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding;
Edvardsson discloses wherein the cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding (a probe comprises a central conductor and can be a coaxial line having a central lead and a perforated shield [0019], [0040], [Claim 4]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford in view of Edvardsson in order to have a radiating cable comprising a central conductor and a perforated shield;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow signal propagation on its exterior surface [Edvardsson: 0019].
With respect to claim 7: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Durang discloses wherein the storage facility has a first area and a second area (a collection of barrels are stored in multiple rickhouses [0057]);
However, Durang does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver is physically positioned in the first area and at least a portion of the radiating cable and the liquid storage containers are physically positioned in the second area;
Littleford discloses wherein the receiver is physically positioned in the first area and at least a portion of the radiating cable and the liquid storage containers are physically positioned in the second area (liquid in a well located at a different location then the surface instrument [0209-0210], [Fig. 5];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang in view of Littleford in order to have radiating cables throughout a facility positioned at a different location then the receiver;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be able to provide consistent data over a longer distance by acting as a plurality of multitude of antennas for transmitters and/or receivers [Littleford: 0088].
With respect to claim 11: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Durang does not explicitly disclose wherein the radiating cable has a length of at least 10 feet.
Littleford discloses wherein the radiating cable has a length of at least 10 feet (the cable can have a length of 0.1 meters to 10 meters;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang in view of Littleford in order to have cable length of at least 10 feet;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be able to provide consistent data over a longer distance by acting as a plurality of multitude of antennas for transmitters and/or receivers [Littleford: 0088].
With respect to claim 12: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Durang discloses wherein the storage facility comprises a rickhouse, wherein each liquid storage container is a barrel of distilled spirits (facility comprises a rickhouse and each storage container comprises a barrel of distilled spirits [Claim 12]).
With respect to claim 13: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 12 as set forth above.
Durang discloses wherein each barrel of distilled spirits is a wooden storage container having a wooden end wall and each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring system is coupled to the respective wooden end wall of the barrel of distilled spirits (liquid monitoring system are installed into a wooden storage container comprising distilled spirits [0038], [Claim 12]).
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Edvardsson et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0009803 A1) (hereinafter "Edvardsson”), further in view of Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-7 and 11-13 above, further in view of Lieberman et al Pub. No.: (US 2018/0038605 A1) (hereinafter "Lieberman”).
With respect to claim 8: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 7 as set forth above.
However, Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell does not explicitly disclose wherein the second area is a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere under the 2020 National Electrical Code and the first area is not a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere;
Lieberman discloses wherein the second area is a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere under the 2020 National Electrical Code and the first area is not a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere (extraction room and anteroom both comprises a NEC Class 1 Division 1 rating [0051], [0053]. Therefore, rooms outside of extraction and anteroom at non Class 1 Division 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell in view of Lieberman in order to have a NEC class 1 division 1 area;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide a room for storing flammable gasses/liquids [Lieberman: 0004].
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Edvardsson et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0009803 A1) (hereinafter "Edvardsson”), further in view of Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-7 and 11-13 above, further in view of Drbal et al Pub. No.: (US 2016/0018347 A1) (hereinafter "Drbal”).
With respect to claim 9: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Durang discloses plurality of liquid monitoring system (a collection of barrels being monitored are stored in multiple rickhouses [0057]);
However, Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell does not explicitly disclose an electrode portion and a sensor housing, wherein the electrode portion comprises at least one sensing electrode and a static electrode;
Drbal discloses an electrode portion and a sensor housing, wherein the electrode portion comprises at least one sensing electrode and a static electrode (sensor assemblies include sensor mounts, and static configurations for static measurements of liquid [0056], [0059], [0311], [0313]. Electrode sensor and sensing electrode [0013], [0170], [0203]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell in view of Drbal in order to have an electrode portion and a sensor housing;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be able to provide additional support or protection [Drbal: 0341].
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Edvardsson et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0009803 A1) (hereinafter "Edvardsson”), further in view of further in view of Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”) and Drbal et al Pub. No.: (US 2016/0018347 A1) (hereinafter "Drbal”) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Lintzgy et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0349742 A1) (hereinafter "Lintzgy”).
With respect to claim 10: Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell-Drbal discloses the system of claim 9 as set forth above.
However, Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Orrell-Drbal does not explicitly disclose wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring system comprises a microcontroller configured to periodically initiate a broadcasting of the signal;
Lintzgy discloses wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring system comprises a microcontroller configured to periodically initiate a broadcasting of the signal (periodically transmits a burst of signals to the surface of the liquid or other material [0002]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Edvardsson-Drbal-Orrell in view of Lintzgy in order to have a microcontroller configured to periodically initiate a broadcasting of the signal;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would produce an accurate indication of the level of the contents of a vessel [Lintzgy: 0002].
Claims 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”).
With respect to claim 14: Durang discloses a system, comprising:
a plurality of liquid monitoring systems, wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring system is associated with a respective barrel of distilled spirits in a storage facility, wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems comprises a plurality of sensors and an antenna to broadcast a signal based on an output of the plurality of sensors (a plurality of liquid storage containers having a liquid monitoring system stored on a rack in a plurality of rickhouses, each of the liquid monitoring system having sensors and antennas [0032-0033], [0053], [0057]);
receiving the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system (the communication module of the sensors transmits data to the barrel monitoring computing system [0053]);
at least one software defined radio (the liquid monitoring system includes a radio such as Fanstel BLE5 radio [0051]);
However, Durang does not explicitly disclose a plurality of radiating cables, wherein the plurality of radiating cables are each routed through the storage facility to receive the signals broadcast from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system; and
wherein each of the plurality of radiating cables is in electrical communication with a respective receiver instance of at least one software defined radio;
wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Littleford discloses a plurality of radiating cables (the radiating able is further connected to another radiating cable [0037], [0076], [Claim 3], [Claim 7]), wherein the plurality of radiating cables are each routed through the storage facility to receive the signals broadcast from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system (radiating cable/leaky feeder used to monitor liquid in a structure/building [0160], [0212], [0273], [Fig. 5]);
wherein each of the plurality of radiating cables is in electrical communication with a respective receiver instance of at least one software defined radio (radiating cable sends and receive signals to be analyzed and data stored [0230-0233]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang in view of Littleford in order to have radiating cables throughout a facility to receive signals broadcasted from a liquid monitoring system;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide consistent data over a longer distance by acting as a plurality of multitude of antennas for transmitters and/or receivers [Littleford: 0088];
However, Durang-Littleford does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Orrell discloses wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels (the software defined radio (SDR) receivers can decode two audio and/or video and/or data services simultaneously [0009-0010]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford in view of Orrell in order to have a software defined radio simultaneously decode transmission coming from multiple channels;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would support two or more independent transmission and reception channels at the same time [Orrell: 0010].
With respect to claim 15: Durang-Littleford-Orrell discloses the system of claim 14 as set forth above, further comprising
Durang discloses a communications uplink in networked communication with at least one software defined radio (the communication module of the sensors transmits data to the barrel monitoring computing system, the barrel monitoring computing system stores the collected data and can provide to various computing devices such as mobile devices or a distillery computing system [0053-0054]).
With respect to claim 16: Durang-Littleford-Orrell discloses the system of claim 14 as set forth above.
Durang discloses wherein the plurality of sensors of each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems measures any of liquid level, ambient temperature, ambient pressure, humidity, and accelerations (the sensor can be used to determine liquid level, temperature, vapor pressure, biometric pressure, among other characteristics [0032]).
With respect to claim 18: Durang discloses a system, comprising:
a plurality of liquid monitoring systems, wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems is associated with a respective barrel of distilled spirits in a first area of a storage facility, wherein each liquid monitoring system of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems comprises a plurality of sensors and an antenna to broadcast a signal based on outputs of the plurality of sensors (a plurality of liquid storage containers having a liquid monitoring system stored on a rack in a plurality of rickhouses, each of the liquid monitoring system having sensors and antennas [0032-0033], [0053], [0057]);
receiving the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring system (the communication module of the sensors transmits data to the barrel monitoring computing system [0053]);
a communications uplink in networked communication with receiver (the communication module of the sensors transmits data to the barrel monitoring computing system, the barrel monitoring computing system stores the collected data and can provide to various computing devices such as mobile devices or a distillery computing system [0053-0054]);
However, Durang does not explicitly disclose a radiating cable, wherein at least a portion of the radiating cable is each routed through the first area of the storage facility, wherein the radiating cable is to receive the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems;
a receiver in electrical communication with the radiating cable, wherein the receiver is positioned in a second area of the storage facility, wherein the receiver is to receive the signals received by the radiating cable;
wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Littleford discloses a radiating cable, wherein at least a portion of the radiating cable is each routed through the first area of the storage facility, wherein the radiating cable is to receive the signals broadcasted from one or more of the liquid monitoring systems of the plurality of liquid monitoring systems (radiating cable/leaky feeder used to monitor liquid in a structure/building [0160], [0212], [0273], [Fig. 5]);
a receiver in electrical communication with the radiating cable, wherein the receiver is positioned in a second area of the storage facility, wherein the receiver is to receive the signals received by the radiating cable (radiating cable sends and receive signals to be analyzed and data stored in a structure/building [0230-0233]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang in view of Littleford in order to have radiating cables throughout a facility to receive signals broadcasted from a liquid monitoring system;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide consistent data over a longer distance by acting as a plurality of multitude of antennas for transmitters and/or receivers [Littleford: 0088];
However, Durang-Littleford does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels;
Orrell discloses wherein the receiver comprises a wide-band software defined radio configured to simultaneously decode transmissions coming from multiple channels (the software defined radio (SDR) receivers can decode two audio and/or video and/or data services simultaneously [0009-0010]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford in view of Orrell in order to have a software defined radio simultaneously decode transmission coming from multiple channels;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would support two or more independent transmission and reception channels at the same time [Orrell: 0010].
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”) as applied to claims 14-16 and 18 above, further in view of Edvardsson et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0009803 A1) (hereinafter "Edvardsson”).
With respect to claim 17: Durang-Littleford-Orrell discloses the system of claim 14 as set forth above.
However, Durang-Littleford-Orrell does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of radiating cables comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding;
Edvardsson discloses wherein the cable comprises a central conductor and a perforated shielding (a probe comprises a central conductor and can be a coaxial line having a central lead and a perforated shield [0019], [0040], [Claim 4]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Orrell in view of Edvardsson in order to have a radiating cable comprising a central conductor and a perforated shield;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow signal propagation on its exterior surface [Edvardsson: 0019].
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”) as applied to claims 14-16 and 18 above, further in view of Lieberman et al Pub. No.: (US 2018/0038605 A1) (hereinafter "Lieberman”).
With respect to claim 19: Durang-Littleford-Orrell discloses The system of claim 18 as set forth above.
However, Durang-Littleford-Orrell does not explicitly disclose wherein the first area is a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere under the 2020 National Electrical Code and the second area is not a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere;
Lieberman discloses wherein the first area is a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere under the 2020 National Electrical Code and the second area is not a Class 1 Division 1 explosive atmosphere (extraction room and anteroom both comprises a NEC Class 1 Division 1 rating [0051], [0053]. Therefore, rooms outside of extraction and anteroom at non Class 1 Division 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Orrell in view of Lieberman in order to have a NEC class 1 division 1 area;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide a room for storing flammable gasses/liquids [Lieberman: 0004].
Claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0064177 A1) (hereinafter “Durang”) in view of Littleford et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0333969 A1) (hereinafter "Littleford”) and Orrell et al Pub. No.: (US 2008/0134276 A1) (hereinafter "Orrell”) as applied to claims 14-16 and 18 above, further in view of Drbal et al Pub. No.: (US 2016/0018347 A1) (hereinafter "Drbal”).
With respect to claim 20: Durang-Littleford-Orrell discloses The system of claim 18 as set forth above.
Durang discloses plurality of liquid monitoring system (a collection of barrels being monitored are stored in multiple rickhouses [0057]);
However, Durang-Littleford-Orrell does not explicitly disclose an electrode portion and a sensor housing, wherein the electrode portion comprises at least one sensing electrode and a static electrode;
Drbal discloses an electrode portion and a sensor housing, wherein the electrode portion comprises at least one sensing electrode and a static electrode (sensor assemblies include sensor mounts, and static configurations for static measurements of liquid [0056], [0059], [0311], [0313]. Electrode sensor and sensing electrode [0013], [0170], [0203]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Durang-Littleford-Orrell in view of Drbal in order to have an electrode portion and a sensor housing;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be able to provide additional support or protection [Drbal: 0341].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446