DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 are pending in the application. New grounds of rejection have been added for claims 1-6 as a result of the amendment to the claims submitted 11/13/2025. Newly added claim 19 has also been rejected while newly added claim 18 has been allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (US 2021/0288378) in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0101490).
Regarding claim 1, Okada et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, an apparatus (ref 1) comprising: a first cover (ref 24) that forms at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3); an second cover (ref 23) configured to be coupled (Fig 2) to the first cover (ref 13) so as to form an internal space (Fig 3) comprising the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3) and a tunnel portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed) between the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3); a battery pack assembly (ref 20) comprising at least one battery module (ref 21) mounted in at least one of the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3); an electronic circuitry (ref 55B, [0056]) configured to manage ([0055]-[0056]) the at least one battery module (ref 21); and a vent (refs 53, 53L, 53R) positioned away (each of refs 53L, 53R are away from ref 55B, Fig 5) from the electronic circuitry (ref 55B, [0056]) and the tunnel portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed) and configured to discharge gas ([0045]-[0046]) from the internal space (Fig 3).
Okada et al. does not explicitly disclose a side space is formed between a first body of the first cover and a second body of the second cover, and a cross-sectional area of the side space is greater than a cross-sectional area of the tunnel portion.
Yang et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, a battery apparatus (Abstract) for a vehicle (Abstract) including a battery unit (ref 100) having batteries (refs 120) therein. The apparatus includes a top cover (ref 210, Fig 5) and a bottom cover (ref 600, Fig 5) with a central portion protruding away from (ref 600 is bent downward at ref 120 from left and right edges, Fig 5) the top cover (ref 210, Fig 5). Accommodation spaces (depicted in Fig 5) are provided to house batteries (refs 120), and the apparatus includes a central tunnel region (ref 211, Fig 5). A bottom part (bottom surface of ref 210, Fig 5) of the top cover (ref 210) and a top part (top surface of ref 600, Fig 5) form a side space (into which refs 120 are disposed, Fig 5) and a cross sectional area of the side space (Fig 5, “CS1” below) is greater than (distance of space between top/bottom parts is greater on a side vs at the tunnel) a cross sectional area (“CS2”, Fig 5 below) of the tunnel portion (ref 211, Fig 5). This configuration enhances the structural integrity of the battery apparatus while incorporated into a vehicle and also reduces costs of production ([0006]).
Yang et al. and Okada et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the structural configuration of Yang et al. into the first and second covers of Okada et al. to enhance overall apparatus structural integrity and reduce costs of production.
Regarding claim 2, modified Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the vent (refs 53, 53L, 53R) is fastened to a venting bracket (areas where refs 53R, 53L are attached to ref 24, Fig 3) positioned on the second cover (ref 24).
Regarding claim 3, modified Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the electronic circuitry is positioned on a middle side (Fig 5) of the tunnel portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed), and the vent (refs 53, 53L, 53R) is positioned on the second cover (ref 24) corresponding to (Figs 3, 5) the tunnel portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed).
While reference does not disclose said electronic circuitry is positioned to a first side of the tunnel portion it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the electronic component on a first side of the tunnel portion, by moving it from a central portion of the tunnel portion to a side portion of the tunnel portion, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Further, while the reference does not disclose said electronic component is positioned to a first side of the tunnel portion, it discloses the placement of the electronic device is not particularly limited, and may be placed at any desired location ([0056]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the electronic component on a first side of the tunnel portion to maximize battery performance and safety ([0056]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first cover (ref 24) comprises a central portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed – where the tunnel portion is) positioned between each of the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3). Okada et al. does not explicitly disclose the first cover comprises a plurality of first bodies, rather, it discloses it is an integral structure in the Figures. Okada et al. further discloses the described embodiments may be modified, improved, etc. ([0062]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrange the first cover as a plurality of separable bodies (i.e. first bodies of the instant claim). See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968 (CCPA 1965) (making elements of a device integral or separable is considered an obvious design choice and does not render an invention patentable); see also KSR, 550 U.S. at 417 ("[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.").
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose a height of the first central portion is greater than a height of the at least two accommodation spaces, and the first central portion is convex upward from the plurality of first bodies. Okada et al. further discloses the described embodiments may be modified, improved, etc. ([0062]). As such, it is well known in the art that a battery module cover can have a variety of shapes of configurations (as evidenced by Okada et al., [0062]). The change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to modify first cover of Okada et al. to include a variety of shapes. An ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing the invention would have been motivated to do the foregoing in order to optimize the structural integrity and overall performance of the battery.
Regarding claim 19, Okada et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, an apparatus (ref 1) comprising: a first cover (ref 24) that forms at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3); an second cover (ref 23) configured to be coupled (Fig 2) to the first cover (ref 13) so as to form an internal space (Fig 3) comprising the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3) and a tunnel portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed) between the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3); a battery pack assembly (ref 20) comprising at least one battery module (ref 21) mounted in at least one of the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3); an electronic circuitry (ref 55B, [0056]) configured to manage ([0055]-[0056]) the at least one battery module (ref 21); and a vent (refs 53, 53L, 53R) positioned away (each of refs 53L, 53R are away from ref 55B, Fig 5) from the electronic circuitry (ref 55B, [0056]) and the tunnel portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed) and configured to discharge gas ([0045]-[0046]) from the internal space (Fig 3), the first cover (ref 24) comprises a central portion (middle space between each of refs 21, Fig 3, above which cover 24 is depressed – where the tunnel portion is) positioned between each of the at least two accommodation spaces (areas where each of refs 21 are placed, Fig 3).
Okada et al. does not explicitly disclose the second cover comprises a second central portion protruding away from the first cover, and the second cover is coupled with the first cover, the first central portion is spaced apart from the second central portion.
Yang et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, a battery apparatus (Abstract) for a vehicle (Abstract) including a battery unit (ref 100) having batteries (refs 120) therein. The apparatus includes a top cover (ref 210, Fig 5) and a bottom cover (ref 600, Fig 5) with a central portion protruding away from (ref 600 is bent downward at ref 120 from left and right edges, Fig 5) the top cover (ref 210, Fig 5). Accommodation spaces (depicted in Fig 5) are provided to house batteries (refs 120), and the apparatus includes a central tunnel region (ref 211, Fig 5). A bottom part (bottom surface of ref 210, Fig 5) of the top cover (ref 210) and a top part (top surface of ref 600, Fig 5) form central spaces spaced apart from one another (where each of ref 120 is disposed, Fig 5), and the top and bottom covers are coupled together (Fig 5, each of left and right ends coupled). This configuration enhances the structural integrity of the battery apparatus while incorporated into a vehicle and also reduces costs of production ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the structural configuration of Yang et al. into the first and second covers of Okada et al. to enhance overall apparatus structural integrity and reduce costs of production.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Reasons for allowance of instant dependent claim 7 were stated in the 8/13/2025 office action at P7-8 and are therefore not being repeated here.
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Newly added instant independent claim 18 incorporates limitations of previous dependent claim 7 therein. Reasons for allowance of instant dependent claim 7 were stated in the 8/13/2025 office action at P7-8 and are therefore not being repeated here.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 19 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725