DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 12/16/2025, claims 1-3, 5-13, and 17-18 are pending. Claim 18 is withdrawn. Claims 4, 14-16, and 19-20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 8-9, 11, 13, and 17 are currently amended. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 17 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 102 rejections are withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment to cancel the rejected claims.
Previous 35 USC 103 rejections are withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment. However, new rejections have been established.
Claim Interpretation
The preamble of the claims is directed to a system. The Examiner is interpreting these claims as apparatus claims since the claimed subject matter is mostly directed to the structures of an apparatus.
The Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 22 recites “…and within an X axis and Y axis plane while maintaining…” should read as “…and within an X axis and Y axis plane, while maintaining…” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/165613 (Matheu) and CN108161008 (“Yan et al” hereinafter Yan), machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Matheu teaches a microwave additive manufacturing system (Figure 45 and [0115], the energy beam used for the system might be microwaves) comprising:
an electronic controller (Figure 45, a computer system 1101 comprises an electronic controller with computer instructions for printing the 3D biological material in computer memory, to form at least a portion of the 3D biological material comprising [0016]);
a support structure formed by at least one of a support table or a build plate upon which a part is to be built (Figure 45, the printing chamber 1134 may be mounted on a movable stage 1146);
a memory in communication with the electronic controller ([0350]) for storing different microwave power levels to be used for different feedstock materials ([0168]);
a microwave energy generator subsystem (Figure 45, an energy source 1100 projecting a laser beam which might be a microwave beam [0115]) responsive to the electronic controller for generating a microwave energy signal ([0201], energy source 1100 controlled by the computer system 1101);
a beam patterning component (Figure 45, spatial light modulator, SLM 1116a and 1116b [0207]);
the beam patterning component (Figure 45, spatial light modulator, SLM 1116a and 1116b [0207]) forming an electronically controllable mask having independently electronically switchable components ([0196],SLM may be directed to project a specific image or a specific portion of an image of a material to be printed using the methods and systems disclosed herein. The SLM may be directed to project at least one image simultaneously in different wavelengths of light and at least one mirror may be used to re-direct or turn "off or "on" a particular light path or laser beam in order to print different aspects or portions of the material to be printed and [0207], SLM may be controlled by a computer system 1101), configured to pattern the microwave energy signal into a microwave beam having a desired spatial energy distribution profile for at least one of curing or sintering a feedstock material being used to form a part on the build plate ([0196]); and
at least one of the support structure being controlled by the electronic controller and movable relative to the feedstock material, and within an X axis and Y axis plane ([0209], the movable stage 1146 may be controlled by the computer system) .
Matheu fails to explicitly teach the microwave energy generator subsystem directly responsive to the electronic controller for generating the microwave energy signal in accordance with a selected one of the different feedstock materials. However, Matheu teaches one or more computer processors operatively coupled to the at least one energy source, wherein the one or more computer processors are individually or collectively programmed to (i) receive computer instructions for printing the 3D biological material from computer memory; and (ii) direct the at least one energy source to direct the at least one energy beam to the medium in the media chamber along at least one energy beam path in accordance with the computer instructions, to subject at least a portion of the polymer precursors to form at least a portion of the 3D biological material ([0034]). The computer instructions may include and/or direct adjustment of one or more parameters of the at least one energy beam as a function of time during formation of the 3D biological material, such as, for example, application of power to a source of the at least one energy beam (e.g., laser on/off) ([0124]). Matheu further discloses the energy beam, from the energy source, may be a beam of electromagnetic energy or electromagnetic radiation. An energy beam may be a microwaves beam ([0115]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the computer processor, which comprises electronic controller, are directly coupled to the energy source that generates microwave beams and control the generation of the beam based on the computer instructions and the feedstock materials.
Matheu fails to teach a microwave waveguide applicator disposed between the microwave energy generator subsystem and the beam patterning component for directing the microwave energy signal from the microwave energy generator to the beam patterning component; at least one of the support structure movable relative to the feedstock material, and within an X-axis and Y-axis plane, while maintaining communication with the microwave waveguide applicator.
However, Yan teaches a microwave waveguide applicator (Figure 1, waveguide cavity 21 is considered a waveguide applicator as it direct microwave through, page 1, lines 46-47) disposed between the microwave energy generator subsystem (Figure 1, microwave generating system 2) and the beam patterning component (Figure 1, microwave lens 22) for directing the microwave energy signal from the microwave energy generator to the beam patterning component (page 1, lines 46-47); at least one of the support structure movable relative to the feedstock material, and within an X-axis and Y-axis plane (Figure 1, workpiece lifting platform 43), while maintaining communication with the microwave waveguide applicator (page 1, lines 46-47 and page 3, lines 42-48; both waveguide applicator and workpiece lifting platform are in communicate with the controller while moving).
Matheu and Yan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing a 3D object using microwave generating system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Matheu such that it includes all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Yan to use waveguide to guide the microwave from the microwave generating system to the desired location (page 1, lines 46-47).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the beam patterning component forms an adaptable lens (Due to lack of specific definition for adaptable lens. The Examiner is interpreting adaptable lens as any lens that is capable of adjusting the energy beam as disclosed in [0023] of instant application. The SLM discloses by Matheu comprises of lens and may be directed to project a specific image or a specific portion of an image of a material to be printed in different wavelengths of light).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the memory is configured to store at least one software module (Matheu, [0127], receive computer instructions for printing the 3D material from computer memory) used for determining a microwave beam energy profile required for forming at least one of a layer of the part, or an entirety of the part ([0049] and [0127], direct the at least one energy source to direct the at least one energy beam to the medium in the media chamber along at least one energy beam path in accordance with the computer instructions).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, therein the memory operably associated with the electronic controller for storing one or more data files (Matheu, [0127], receive computer instructions for printing the 3D material from computer memory and [0049]) including at least one of: 3D part information needed for forming the part ([0240]).
Claim(s) 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/165613 (Matheu) and CN108161008 (“Yan et al” hereinafter Yan), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2021/0379830 (“Champion et al” hereinafter Champion).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the beam patterning component comprises an engineered radio frequency reflecting surface component.
However, Champion teaches the beam patterning component comprises an engineered radio frequency reflecting surface component ([0026], the antenna emits and focus electromagnetic energy in the near-field region of the antenna with a wavelength between 1m and 1mm. The wavelength of radio frequency is outside the antenna emitting range. Thus, the antenna of Champion inherently has an engineered RF reflecting surface component as it operates in a similar manner to that of the instant application [0027]).
Matheu and Champion are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing system and using optical source to manufactured 3D parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the beam patterning component as taught by the modified Matheu such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Champion to helps direct the heating energy of the microwave emitter tip to a limited area of the build material layer in close proximity to the antenna aperture ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, Matheu further teach a movement subsystem for moving the support table or build plate, relative to the other (Figure 45 and [0209], the computer system 1101 may control the movement of the movable stage 1146 in the x, y, and/or z directions. The movable stage 1146 may comprise at least one actuator (e.g., piezoelectric actuator) that moves (or positions) the movable stage 1146).
The modified Matheu fails to teach an extrusion system supported for movement within an X/Y plane for extruding the feedstock material onto the support table or build plate, wherein the feedstock material comprises a thermally-responsive paste; and wherein the beam patterning component includes an engineered RF reflecting surface component configured to track movement of the extrusion system and to cure or sinter the thermally responsive paste as the thermally-responsive paste is laid down on the support table or build plate.
However, Champion teaches an extrusion system supported for movement within an X/Y plane for extruding the feedstock material onto the support table or build plate (Figure 1A, printbar 108 include multiple printheads 112 positioned lengthwise along the length of the printbar 108 in a manner such that liquid ejection nozzles on the printheads 112 can provide full, or substantially full, print coverage across the width of a build material layer 104 [0025]), wherein the feedstock material comprises a thermally-responsive paste ([0013], each build material layer can be exposed to a fusing energy to thermally fuse together and solidify and [0010]); and wherein the beam patterning component includes an engineered RF reflecting surface component ([0026], the antenna emits and focus electromagnetic energy in the near-field region of the antenna with a wavelength between 1m and 1mm. The wavelength of radio frequency is outside the antenna emitting range. Thus, the antenna of Champion inherently has an engineered RF reflecting surface component) configured to track movement of the extrusion system and to cure or sinter the thermally responsive paste as the thermally-responsive paste is laid down on the support table or build plate ([0026], the antenna emits and focus electromagnetic energy in the near-field region of the antenna to deliver energy to a region of powder close to the antenna aperture. Thus, the system of Champion is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by the modified Matheu such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Champion to helps direct the heating energy of the microwave emitter tip to a limited area of the build material layer in close proximity to the antenna aperture ([0027]) and to discharge print materials to the desired location with desired quantity ([0025]).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/165613 (Matheu) and CN108161008 (“Yan et al” hereinafter Yan), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2020/0016820 (“Penny et al” hereinafter Penny).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach a motion gantry for moving the beam patterning component relative to at least one of a support table or a build plate on which the feedstock material is present.
However, Penny discloses a motion gantry for moving the beam patterning component relative to at least one of a support table or a build plate on which the feedstock material is present (Penny, Figure 7, the spatial light modulator, SLM, is gantry based and moved along the X and Y axis plane [0071]).
Matheu and Penny are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing system and using optical source to manufactured 3D parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the beam patterning component as taught by Matheu such that the beam patterning component is movable relative to the feedstock material, and within an X axis and Y axis plane as taught by Penny to achieve higher optical resolution for both laser delivery and for optical monitoring instrumentation ([0070]).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the motion gantry is movable (Penny, Figure 7 and [0071]).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the motion gantry is movable in at least one of: both of X axis and Y axis directions of movement; or within each one of perpendicular X axis, Y axis and Z axis directions of movement (Penny, Figure 7 and [0071]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/165613 (Matheu) and CN108161008 (“Yan et al” hereinafter Yan), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2022/0193394 (“Feldman et al” hereinafter Feldman).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the microwave energy generator subsystem includes an amplifier for amplifying the microwave energy signal.
However, Feldman teaches the microwave energy generator subsystem includes an amplifier for amplifying the microwave energy signal ([0082], the microwave energy source can have an amplifier).
Matheu and Feldman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing microwave system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the system as taught by the modified Matheu to incorporated an amplifier for amplifying the microwave energy signal as taught by Feldman to increase the magnitude of a signal to transmits the microwave energy from the source to the printing device ([0113]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/165613 (Matheu), CN108161008 (“Yan et al” hereinafter Yan), machine translation provided, and US2021/0379830 (“Champion et al” hereinafter Champion) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US2020/0016820 (“Penny et al” hereinafter Penny).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 11, the beam patterning component and the engineered RF reflecting surface are operatively supported from and moved concurrently by the motion gantry (Champion, since the engineered RF reflecting surface component is part of the antenna, which is the beam patterning component, moving engineered RF reflecting surface will also move the beam patterning component and [0018], each microwave emitter in an array generally comprises an antenna and microwave emitter array 110 passes from left to right over the print bed 102 in the X-axis [0029]. As the microwave emitter array moves, the engineered RF reflecting surface component and the antenna both move alongside as well), but fails to teach the movement subsystem comprises a motion gantry movable along at least one axis of movement.
Penny further teaches the movement subsystem comprises a motion gantry movable along at least one axis of movement (Penny, Figure 7, the spatial light modulator, SLM, is gantry based and moved along the X and Y axis plane [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the beam patterning component as taught by Matheu such that the beam patterning component is movable relative to the feedstock material, and within an X axis and Y axis plane as taught by Penny to achieve higher optical resolution for both laser delivery and for optical monitoring instrumentation ([0070]).
Claim 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/165613 (Matheu), CN108161008 (“Yan et al” hereinafter Yan), machine translation provided, and US2025/0100077 (“Macneish et al” hereinafter Macneish).
Regarding Claim 13, Matheu teaches a microwave additive manufacturing system (Figure 45 and [0115], the energy beam used for the system might be microwaves) comprising:
an electronic controller (Figure 45, a computer system 1101 comprises an electronic controller with computer instructions for printing the 3D biological material in computer memory, to form at least a portion of the 3D biological material comprising [0016]);
a support structure formed by at least one of a support table or a build plate, upon which a part is to be built using a feedstock material (Figure 45, the printing chamber 1134 may be mounted on a movable stage 1146);
a memory in communication with the electronic controller ([0350]) for storing different microwave power levels to be used for different feedstock materials ([0168]);
a beam patterning component (Figure 45, spatial light modulator, SLM 1116a and 1116b [0207]);
a microwave energy generator subsystem (Figure 45, an energy source 1100 projecting a laser beam which might be a microwave beam [0115]) responsive to the electronic controller for generating a microwave energy signal ([0201], energy source 1100 controlled by the computer system 1101);
the beam patterning component (Figure 45, spatial light modulator, SLM 1116a and 1116b [0207]) forming an electronically controlled mask having independently electronically switchable components ([0196],SLM may be directed to project a specific image or a specific portion of an image of a material to be printed using the methods and systems disclosed herein. The SLM may be directed to project at least one image simultaneously in different wavelengths of light and at least one mirror may be used to re-direct or turn "off or "on" a particular light path or laser beam in order to print different aspects or portions of the material to be printed and [0207], SLM may be controlled by a computer system 1101), and being controlled by the electronic controller ([0207], the SLM may be controlled by a computer system 1101), for patterning the microwave energy signal into a microwave beam having at least a desired 2D spatial energy distribution profile for at least one of curing or sintering a feedstock material being used to form a part ([0196]).
Matheu fails to explicitly teach the microwave energy generator subsystem directly responsive to the electronic controller for generating the microwave energy signal. However, Matheu teaches one or more computer processors operatively coupled to the at least one energy source, wherein the one or more computer processors are individually or collectively programmed to (i) receive computer instructions for printing the 3D biological material from computer memory; and (ii) direct the at least one energy source to direct the at least one energy beam to the medium in the media chamber along at least one energy beam path in accordance with the computer instructions, to subject at least a portion of the polymer precursors to form at least a portion of the 3D biological material ([0034]). The computer instructions may include and/or direct adjustment of one or more parameters of the at least one energy beam as a function of time during formation of the 3D biological material, such as, for example, application of power to a source of the at least one energy beam (e.g., laser on/off) ([0124]). Matheu further discloses the energy beam, from the energy source, may be a beam of electromagnetic energy or electromagnetic radiation. An energy beam may be a microwaves beam ([0115]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the computer processor, which comprises electronic controller, are directly coupled to the energy source that generates microwave beams and control the generation of the beam based on the computer instructions.
Matheu fails to teach a microwave waveguide applicator disposed between the microwave energy generator subsystem and the beam patterning component for directing the microwave energy signal from the microwave energy generator to the beam patterning component.
However, Yan teaches a microwave waveguide applicator (Figure 1, waveguide cavity 21 is considered a waveguide applicator as it direct microwave through, page 1, lines 46-47) disposed between the microwave energy generator subsystem (Figure 1, microwave generating system 2) and the beam patterning component (Figure 1, microwave lens 22) for directing the microwave energy signal from the microwave energy generator to the beam patterning component (page 1, lines 46-47).
Matheu and Yan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing a 3D object using microwave generating system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Matheu such that it includes all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Yan to use waveguide to guide the microwave from the microwave generating system to the desired location (page 1, lines 46-47).
The modified Matheu fails to teach a motion gantry for moving the beam patterning component and the microwave waveguide applicator concurrently along at least one axis while the curing or the sintering of the feedstock material is occurring.
However, Macneish teaches a motion gantry (Figure 1 and [0010], first gantry 134 and second gantry 136) for moving the beam patterning component (Figure 2, laser optics 160, 162, 164) and the microwave waveguide applicator (Figure 2 and [0025], at least one laser optics can be replaced by a waveguide) concurrently along at least one axis while the curing or the sintering of the feedstock material is occurring ([0025]).
Matheu and Macneish are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing a 3D object using microwave generating system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by the modified Matheu such that it includes all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Macneish to allow motion in the first, second, and third axis ([0024]) to print melted materials at desired location to form desired shape ([0024]).
Regarding Claim 17, the modified Matheu teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the memory is configured to store (Matheu, [0127], receive computer instructions for printing the 3D material from computer memory and [0049]) at least one of: at least one software module used for determining a microwave beam energy profile required for forming at least one of a layer of the part, or an entirety of the part; or at least one data file including at least one of: 3D part information needed for forming the part ([0240]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754