Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, "a high-power switching module" → defined as “a high-power switching module that utilizes a multi-layered printed circuit board (PCB) to implement a circuit for generating high voltage, high pulses to the coil” (see paragraph [0028])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gleich et al. (US 20160184601 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gleich et al. teaches a system for administering transcranial magnetic stimulation (“transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) is used to stimulate e.g. the human brain”, paragraph [0001]), comprising:
A coil (stimulation coil 4, Fig. 2)
A controller configured to generate low voltage control signals (“control device can…conduct a measurement signal and/or to generate a trigger signal”, control device 3, Fig. 2)
A high-power switching module (pulse generator device 2, Fig. 2) configured to generate a high voltage current delivered to the coil based on the low voltage control signals (“the invention accordingly creates a magnetic stimulator for stimulation of a tissue by a magnetic field with a pulse generator device”, paragraph [0006]), wherein the controller is configured to:
Generate a plurality of bursts of pulses of current through the coil (“pulse generator device which has…a programmable control device which adjusts the pulse generator device in order to generate a complex pulse sequence…applied to a stimulation coil”, paragraph [0006]), wherein a pulse frequency of each burst of pulses is at least 40 Hz (“the magnetic stimulator in accordance with the invention can achieve repeat rates with a frequency of 1000 Hz and higher”, paragraph [0170]) and a number of pulses per burst is at least four (“an I-wave-adapted stimulation at a frequency of 666 Hz, i.e. a 1.5 ms interval between the four pulses”, paragraph [0174])
Regarding claim 5, Gleich et al. teaches the high-power switching module comprising:
A power supply unit (“charging circuit 2a is preferably connected to a power supply”, paragraph [0093]; charging circuit 2a, Fig. 2)
A capacitor (“the pulse generator device 2 contains at least one pulse capacitor which can be charged by a charging circuit to generate a pulse”, paragraph [0089]; capacitors C3-C10, shown in Fig. 7)
A first switch device configured to enable charging of the capacitor by the power supply unit (first switch Q1-Q2, shown in annotated Fig. 7 below)
An insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) (“the different power switches Q1 to Q4 can be actuated via an associated IGBT driver”, paragraph [0107]; switches Q1-Q4, shown in annotated Fig. 7 below)
A diode (diodes D1-D4, shown in annotated Fig. 7 below)
A first resistor connected in series with the diode (first resistor R1, shown in annotated Fig. 7 below)
A second resistor (second resistor R2, shown in annotated Fig. 7 below)
A second switch device connected in series with the second resistor (second switch Q3-Q4, shown in annotated Fig. 7 below) and configured to enable the capacitor to discharge through the second resistor (“pulse capacitor is effected via a further switch and a discharge resistor in a similar manner to the case of the linear charging circuit”, paragraph [0125])
Regarding claim 9, Gleich et al. teaches wherein the pulse frequency is 45 Hz (“number of pulses output per second, can be adjusted with a range of 0 to 1kHz”, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 10, Gleich et al. teaches the number of pulses per burst is 4 (“an I-wave-adapted stimulation at a frequency of 666 Hz, i.e. a 1.5 ms interval between the four pulses”, paragraph [0174]).
Regarding claim 11, Gleich et al. teaches the number of pulses per burst is 6 (“four to eight pulses, is of relevance for the effects achieved”, paragraph [0172]).
Regarding claim 12, Gleich et al. teaches the pulse frequency is 50 Hz (“number of pulses output per second, can be adjusted with a range of 0 to 1kHz”, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Gleich et al. teaches the plurality of bursts of pulses of current being generated through the coil in a plurality of burst trains (“plurality of pulse trains which each consist of pulse packets which are for their part composed of configurable pulses as can be output to a stimulation coil”, paragraph [0075]), each burst train having a duration of two seconds, wherein one burst train is delivered to the coil every ten seconds (“user can adjust…the period duration of the stimulus or pulse”, paragraph [0154]; shown in Figs. 40A and 40B). It can be configured so that the burst train will have a duration of two seconds and one burst train is delivered to the coil every ten seconds.
Regarding claim 14, Gleich et al. teaches a total number of pulses delivered during a treatment being at least 600 (“number of pulses output per second, can be adjusted”, paragraph [0015]). The number of pulses can be adjusted during treatment to be 600.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gleich et al. in view of Simon et al. (US 20110152967 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Gleich et al. teaches the low voltage control signals including an enable signal and an inhibit signal (“controllable switch to break and close the oscillation circuit…the pulse capacitor is charged to a desired voltage”, paragraph [0003], Fig. 1, “DC/DC switching regulator”, paragraph [0122]), but does not teach an amplitude signal, and at least one pulse width and frequency signal.
However, Simon et al. teaches a system for administering transcranial magnetic stimulation (“magnetic stimulator coil…for transcranial (TMS)”, paragraph [0083]), including at least one amplitude signal, and at least one pulse width and frequency signal (“parameters of the modulation signal 400 are preferably programmable, such as the frequency, amplitude…pulse width, pulse shape, etc.”, paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Gleich et al. with the system of Simon et al. and utilizing an amplitude signal, and at least one pulse width and frequency signal in order to allow for the burst of pulses of current to through the coil and to the patient.
Regarding claim 3, Gleich et al. in view of Simon et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 2, including a microcontroller that generates a signal (“microprocessor MP passes a pulse command”, paragraph [0106], Fig. 5) and wherein each pulse width and frequency signal of the at least one pulse width and frequency signal is generated by a gate driver (“amplitude of the oscillation is determined by the charging voltage of the pulse capacitor…current progression is damped by time losses at the power switches”, paragraph [0109], Gleich et al., “maximum switching frequency for the power switches…preferably an IGBT power switch”, paragraph [0105]).
Furthermore, Simon et al. teaches wherein each amplitude signal of the at least one amplitude signal is generated by a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) (“analog-to-digital converters for digitizing externally supplied analog signals”, paragraph [0077]) that converts a pulse width modulation signal generated by a microcontroller into a voltage (“parameters of the modulation signal 400 are preferably programmable, such as…pulse width”, paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Gleich et al. in view of Simon et al. by allowing for the conversion of digital to analog and converting the pulse width modulation signal into a voltage. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a DAC in order to convert the signals into a voltage, providing a better measure of the signals. okok
Regarding claim 4, Gleich et al. in view of Simon et al. teaches the microcontroller (microprocessor, shown in Fig. 5) being coupled to at least one processor (computer 7, Fig. 1) and a display device (“control device 3 is connected to display elements or display devices”, paragraph [0102]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gleich et al.
Regarding claim 6, Gleich et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 5, but does not teach the high-power switching module comprising two power supply units and two IGBTs capable to deliver biphasic pulses to the coil.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gleich et al. since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success, such as delivering biphasic pulses to the coil with double the power supply units and IGBT. See MPEP 2144.04 St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gleich et al. in view of Schwarz et al. (US 20200324133 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Gleich et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 5, but does not teach the capacitor, IGBT, the diode, and the first resistor being connected to a multi-layer printed circuit board.
However, Schwarz et al. teaches the IGBT, the diode (“may include any switching device, such as a diode…IGBT”, paragraph [0280]), and the first resistor (“may also include…resistors”, paragraph [0275]) being connected to a multi-layer printed circuit board (“electrodes…may be spaced from each other…by material of a printed circuit board”, paragraph [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Gleich et al. with the circuit board assembly of Schwarz et al. in order to implement a circuit for generating high voltage, high current pulses to the coil. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the circuit board by including the capacitor, enabling the higher voltage pulses.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gleich et al. in view of Schwarz et al. and further in view of Mirksy et al. (US 20070080360 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Gleich et al. in view of Schwarz et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 7, but does not teach the specific multiple layers of the circuit board. However, Mirsky et al. teaches the multi-layer printed circuit board including at least seven layers (“several metal layers”, paragraph [0017]) including a top metal layer, a bottom metal layer (“metallization on the top surface of the substrate…metallization on the bottom surface of the substrate”, paragraph [0114]), an interior ground plane metal layer (“an internal aluminum layer (which can be used for power or ground”, paragraph [0031]), and an interior high-voltage plane metal layer (“insulating layer…forms a conduction path itself”, paragraph [0101]), each of the metal layers separated by a dielectric layer (“several metal layers (of conductive traces) separated from one another by layers dielectric material”, paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Gleich et al. in view of Schwarz et al. with the multi-layer printed circuit board of Mirsky et al. in order to implement a circuit for generating high voltage and current pulses to the coil.
Conclusion
/L.L.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791