DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 10/31/2025. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 1-5 are pending review in this action. The previous objection regarding the Drawings is withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to the Drawings. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below, however, previously cited prior art references have been upheld as reading on some claim limitations.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/31/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshie et al. (JP 2013246892 A) (disclosed by Applicant in IDS dated 04/12/2024) (citations herein are made to the English translation provided by the Applicant which was attached to the IDS dated 04/12/2024), further in view of Noguchi (US 2020/0303733 A1).
The examiner notes that although Noguchi (US 2020/0303733 A1) shares common inventors with the instant application, it qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as it was published on 09/24/2020 which is before the effective filing date of the instant application (12/10/2021).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Yoshie discloses a lithium-ion battery (lithium ion secondary battery, 40), comprising: an electrode body (power generating element, 41), wherein: the electrode body (power generating element, 41) includes: a negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b), a positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a), and a separator arranged between the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b) and the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) (Figure 6, [0048-0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b) includes a negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil) that is a substrate of a negative electrode (negative electrode, 41b) and a negative electrode mixture layer (negative electrode active material) arranged on the negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil) (Figure 6, [0022, 0045, 0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) includes a positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) that is a substrate of a positive electrode (positive electrode, 41a) and a positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) arranged on the positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) (Figure 6, [0022, 0045, 0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the electrode body (power generating element, 41) is pressed (at the coated portion) to be shaped in a flattened form (Figures 6 and 7, [0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the electrode body (power generating element, 41) further includes: a negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) at one end of the electrode body (power generating element, 41) in the longitudinal direction (left to right of page in Figure 6) where the negative electrode mixture layer (negative electrode active material) is not applied to the negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil), and a positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) at the other end of the electrode body (power generating element, 41) in the longitudinal direction (left to right of page in Figure 6) where the positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) is not applied to the positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) (Figures 6 and 7, [0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) having an undulated (wrinkled) form in which a thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil) corresponds to an amplitude direction and the height direction (up and down page in Figure 8) corresponds to a wavelength direction (Figures 7 and 8, [0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) having an undulated (wrinkled) form in which a thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) corresponds to an amplitude direction and the height direction (up and down page in Figure 8) corresponds to a wavelength direction (Figures 7 and 8, [0049]). Yoshie further discloses an embodiment of the lithium-ion battery (lithium ion secondary battery, 10/40) wherein the electrode body (power generating element, 11/41) is in a roll (winding) configuration rather than a laminated configuration, wherein the roll (wound) configuration is formed by rolling (winding) a stack of the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 11a), the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 11b), and a separator therebetween (Figures 1 and 2, [0022-0023]). Yoshie further discloses that the functions of a roll (wound) electrode body (power generating element, 11/41) and a laminated electrode body (power generating element, 11/41) are substantially the same (Figures 2 and 6, [0045-0047]).
Yoshie further discloses that the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b) and the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) are formed in strips (Figure 6, [0022 0048-0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the separator may be a microporous film containing polyethylene [0066].
The examiner notes that the instant specification teaches that the separator is a resin sheet [0046]. The examiner further notes that the instant specification does not provide a special definition for what may be considered to be a “strip”. Thus the skilled artisan would appreciate that although Yoshie does not explicitly disclose that the separator is in the form of a strip, as Yoshie teaches that the separator may be a polyethylene (resin) film and is located between the entire interface of the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b) and the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) which are in the form of a strip, the separator of Yoshie may be considered to be in the form of a strip.
Yoshie is deficient in disclosing 1) that in the embodiment of Figure 6 that the electrode body is in roll form, and that the roll is formed by rolling a stack of the negative electrode plate, the separator, and the positive electrode plate in a rolling direction; 2), that the rolling direction corresponds to a longitudinal direction of the negative electrode plate, a longitudinal direction of the positive electrode plate, and a longitudinal direction of the separator; and 3) that the negative electrode collector portion and the negative electrode mixture layer have the same length in the longitudinal direction of the negative electrode plate; and the positive electrode collector portion and the positive electrode mixture layer have the same length in the longitudinal direction of the positive electrode plate.
Regarding 1)-3), Noguchi discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (100) comprising a wound electrode body (20), wherein the electrode body (20) includes a positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, 50), a negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, 60), and a separator (70) disposed between the positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, 50) and the negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, 60) (Figure 2, [0020-0021]). Noguchi further discloses that each of the positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, 50) and the negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, 60) comprise a current collector plate (52/62) on which an active material layer (54/64) is formed, wherein the active material layer (54/64) is arranged in a band shape on the current collector plate (52/62) across the longitudinal direction (up and down page in Figure 2) (Figure 2, [0021, 0059, 0060]). Noguchi further discloses that the wound electrode body (20) is formed by winding the positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, 50), the negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, 60), and the separator (70) in a winding direction which corresponds to the longitudinal direction (up and down page in Figure 2) of each of the positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, 50), the negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, 60), and the separator (70) (Figure 2, [0021]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the electrode body configuration of Yoshie to have the structure taught by Noguchi, such that in each of the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, the electrode mixture layer is present on the current collector across the longitudinal direction and wherein the electrode body is wound in the longitudinal directions of the electrodes and separator, as it is known in the art that such an arrangement for an electrode body is suitable for use in a lithium ion secondary battery, as taught by Noguchi. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would be motivated to make such a modification because Yoshie teaches that a roll (wound) electrode body configuration is a known equivalent to a laminated electrode body configuration, and the skilled artisan would appreciate that such a modification would result in a well-performing lithium-ion battery, as taught by Yoshie. The substitution of known equivalent structures involves only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144). When a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the in the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, the electrode collector portion and the electrode mixture layer each extend across the entire electrode substrate layer in the longitudinal direction. While acknowledging that the collector portion of the electrodes of modified Yoshie would still include the undulated (wrinkled) form as taught by Yoshie, the skilled artisan would appreciate that an overall length of the electrodes of modified Yoshie would still be the same. For example, Figure 8 of Yoshie shows the undulated (wrinkled) form between points A and B [0050]. When points A and B are the ends of the electrode substrate layer, although the total length of the collector portion may be greater than the total length of the mixture layer, the straight-line length between points A and B are expected to be the same in the longitudinal direction.
As such, upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Yoshie as modified by Noguchi discloses the lithium-ion battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Yoshie does not explicitly disclose that the undulated (wrinkled) form is shaped to have an amplitude that decreases as the negative electrode mixture layer (negative electrode active material) or the positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) becomes closer.
However, Yoshie does disclose that the undulated (wrinkled) form is formed only in the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) and the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) (Figures 6 and 7, [0048-0049]). Yoshie further discloses that the regions of the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b) and the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) wherein the negative electrode mixture layer (negative electrode active material) and the positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) are applied, respectively, are flattened (Figures 6 and 7, [0049]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that as the undulated (wrinkled) form is formed only in the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) and the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c), and the remainder of the negative electrode plate (negative electrode, 41b) and the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) is flattened, that the limitations of Claim 2 requiring that the undulated (wrinkled) form is shaped to have an amplitude that decreases as the negative electrode mixture layer (negative electrode active material) or the positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) becomes closer, and the undulated form (wrinkled) is shaped to have an amplitude that increases as the negative electrode mixture layer (negative electrode active material) or the positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) becomes farther, are necessarily met.
For example, the undulated (wrinkled) form is present in the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) of the positive electrode plate (positive electrode, 41a) (i.e., undulation increases from 0 when moved further from the positive electrode active material where there is no undulation), and the undulated (wrinkled) form is absent is a region wherein the positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode active material) is formed (i.e., undulation decreases to 0 when moved away from a region of the positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Yoshie as modified by Noguchi discloses the lithium-ion battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Yoshie further discloses that the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) and the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) are connected by a connector (current collector connector, 12/13) to an external terminal (positive electrode terminal/negative electrode terminal, 16/17) of the lithium-ion battery (lithium ion secondary battery, 40) above a flat portion of the flattened form (Figure 6, [0024-0025, 0030, 0045, 0048]).
As shown in Figure 7, the undulated (wrinkled) form of each of the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) and the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) extends the entire length of the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) and the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c), thus the undulated (wrinkled) form of each of the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d) and the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c) is necessarily located downward from a lower end of the connector (current collector connector, 12/13) (Figures 6 and 7, [0048-0049]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Yoshie as modified by Noguchi discloses the lithium-ion battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Yoshie further discloses that in a flat portion of the flattened form of the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d), two negative electrode substrate layers (strip of copper foil) that are adjacent to each other in a thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil) of the roll (power generating element, 11/41) both have the undulated (wrinkled) form so that a gap between the two negative electrode substrate layers (strip of copper foil) is located at a position that varies in the thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil) (Figures 7 and 8, [0052]). Yoshie further discloses that in a flat portion of the flattened form of the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c), two positive electrode substrate layers (strip of aluminum foil) that are adjacent to each other in a thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) of the roll (power generating element, 11/41) both have the undulated (wrinkled) form so that a gap between the two positive electrode substrate layers (strip of aluminum foil) is located at a position that varies in the thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) (Figures 7 and 8, [0052]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Yoshie as modified by Noguchi discloses the lithium-ion battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Yoshie further discloses that in a flat portion of the flattened form of the negative electrode collector portion (negative electrode side uncoated portion, 41d), a gap between two negative electrode substrate layers (strip of copper foil) that are adjacent to each other in a thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the negative electrode substrate layer (strip of copper foil) of the roll (power generating element, 11/41) has a dimension of zero µm at a certain location between the two negative electrode substrate layers (strip of copper foil), as they are in contact with one another (Figure 7 and 8, [0052]).
Yoshie further discloses that in a flat portion of the flattened form of the positive electrode collector portion (positive electrode side uncoated portion, 41c), a gap between two positive electrode substrate layers (strip of aluminum foil) that are adjacent to each other in a thickness direction (left to right of page in Figure 8) of the positive electrode substrate layer (strip of aluminum foil) of the roll (power generating element, 11/41) has a dimension of zero µm at a certain location between the two positive electrode substrate layers (strip of aluminum foil), as they are in contact with one another (Figure 7 and 8, [0052]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/31/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Yoshie et al. (JP 2013246892 A) and Noguchi (US 2020/0303733 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724