Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: retention feature in claim 11, receptacle feature in claims 7-10, 13, and 14.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second end and the receiving feature, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4-6, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4-6 relate to the relative position of second end being partially below (claim 4), substantially level with (claim 5), or partially above (claim 6) the first end relative to the top side. The term second end is only present in claims 4-6 and is not disclosed in the specification. The drawings do not label a second end. It is unclear to what specific portions of the invention the applicant is referring.
Claims 13 and 14 relate to the relative position of a receptacle feature with a receiving surface being partially above (claim 13) or substantially even with (claim 14) the first end relative to the top side. The term receiving surface is only present in claims 4-6 and is not disclosed in the specification. The drawings do not label a second end. It is unclear to what specific portions of the invention the applicant is referring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tramasure (WO 8802224 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, and 16, Tramasure discloses a extinguisher ashtray with a container (i.e. base with bottom and sides that is a receptacle surrounded by a rim, see element 2 in figures 1 and 4 below) for receiving and retaining ashes and cigarettes and an adjacent chamber (i.e. hood, 6) planar base (10) with a top portion (8) for collecting the ashes (i.e. byproducts) and cigarettes (i.e. is configured to at least partially receive a smokable item. A slider is moved and closes a first opening on a first end of the chamber so that any burning is extinguished in the chamber due to lack of oxygen (see figure 4.) A second end of the chamber is also disclosed (9).
Regarding claims 4-6, the second end as illustrated (element 9) is partially below the first end relative to the top side at its lowest point, substantially level in the middle and above the bottom portion of the first end.
Regarding claim 12, the wall (i.e. rim) of Tramasure has a thickness and two right angle corners as illustrated on the top of the wall. These are considered to be a retention feature.
Regarding claim 15, Tramasure illustrates a lighted smokable item within the fist opening of the extinguishing device (see figure 4 above) and moving ash to a receptacle. Although Tramasure does not expressly disclose that the smokable item was lit, it is inherent that it was lit because it has been partially consumed and is burning as illustrated.
Regarding claim 16, Tramasure discloses that the device can be emptied from the first opening (claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tramasure (WO 8802224 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above or alternatively as being unpatentable over Tramasure (WO 8802224 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15, and in further view of Athon (US 1,911,262).
Regarding claim 9, Tramasure does not disclose that the receiving surface is concave. However, the shape of the bottom surface of Tramasure constitutes a design choice and is not critical to the claimed invention (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) or In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Alternatively, Athon discloses an ash tray with a partially concave bottom portion (1) and concave receiving portions (3) along the rim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use the concave sides and/or concave reciving portions along the rim, to further provide the appearance of conventional ash trays like Athon and a place to put smoking articles still in use upon the rim (i.e. that users do not want extinguished). Doing so would provide aesthetic design choice for some users and would also meet a commonly used function for ash trays. The combination would achieve predictable results.
Regarding claims 17-20, Tramasure does not disclose placing a smokeable item on a rim or and indent on the rim. However, Athon discloses a traditional ash tray rim with indents to allow users to place still lit smoking articles so that they can continue to be used. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to incorporate the indents of Athon in the device of Tramasure so that users can use the device to hold smoking articles during use.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747