DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements/steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements for claims 1, 8 and 15 are: “wherein the instruction is to comprise a key comparison operation, wherein the circuitry is to generate the descriptor based on a determination that the key comparison operation results in a match in a hash table”. According to specification, the accelerator/processor generates the descriptor based on the key comparison instruction when compared against the hash table results in the match. Therefore, prior to generating descriptor, the essential step of receiving the instruction indicating key comparison operation and matching against the hash table is required.
The claims depending the rejected claims fail to cure the deficiency of the rejected parent claims and therefore rejected under same rationales as applied to parent independent claims.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “detect a fence flag associated with the instruction, wherein the descriptor is generated based on the detection of the fence flag”. However, according to current disclosure, the descriptor comprise a comparison descriptor, a fence flag and a copy descriptor. Thus, the limitation “detect a fence flag associated with the instruction and generating descriptor is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “refrain from processing another descriptor associated with the instruction based on the generation of the descriptor”. Claim 7 depends from claim 1 and claim 1 recite generating only one descriptor and therefore the limitation “another descriptor” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2019/0102346).
As per claim 1, Wang teaches an apparatus (Wang: claim 1), comprising:
a processor (Wang: par. [0033]); and an accelerator device to comprise circuitry (Wang: par. [0022[: “The lookup engine can be used to accelerate flow classification lookup”; par. [0036]: “Queries from the same core could be dispatched to different accelerators to exploit the parallelism”) to:
generate a descriptor based on an instruction received from the processor, wherein the instruction is to be processed by the accelerator device; and process the descriptor (Wang: par. [0047]: “the instruction query from command queue 502 is provided to scoreboard 506 and scoreboard 506 generates at least several actions in sequence. First, based on the key address passed by the instruction, scoreboard 506 generates a data request to fetch the key from an LLC slice. Second, after the key has been returned, hash 508-A or B performs a hashing operation for the key and calculates the indexes of the buckets. Third, scoreboard 506 generates a request for contents of the buckets. Fourth, a comparator 510-A or B compares the signature in each entry of the primary bucket to find a match”; par. [0048]: “Scoreboard 506 can orchestrate operation of lookup engine 500”; taught as the lookup engine/scoreboard receives the query instruction and generates several actions (e.g., descriptors) and process the instructions of retrieving index of hash bucket, obtaining key and compare signatures).
As per claim 2, Wang teaches wherein the instruction is to comprise a key comparison operation, wherein the circuitry is to generate the descriptor based on a determination that the key comparison operation results in a match (Wang: par. [0031]: “A bucket can be associated with several entries, where an entry has a signature and a pointer to the key-data pair. In this example of hash table lookup procedure, a provided key is hashed to retrieve an index of a corresponding bucket in the table…Hashed keys that match a signature in a bucket lead to retrieval of the associated key-data pointer pairs”; taught as a key is hashed to retrieve an index of a bucket, means if the key index matches the bucket, then the keys from the bucket are obtained for the comparison).
As per claim 4, Wang teaches wherein the key comparison operation is based on a first memory address specified in the instruction and a memory address of an entry of a hash table (Wang: par. [0031]: “Hashed keys that match a signature in a bucket lead to retrieval of the associated key-data pointer pairs. The key portion of the key-data pointer pair is compared against the key from the query. If there is a match, the data pointer can be used to retrieve the data that is requested”; fig. 1, pointer and data pointer).
As per claims 8 and 15, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by circuitry of a processor (Wang: par. [0090])/an apparatus, comprising an accelerator device (Wang: pars. [0022], [0036]), cause the processor to: generate a plurality of batch descriptors, each batch descriptor associated with a lookup in a hash table, each batch descriptor to comprise a respective plurality of descriptors; and transmit the plurality of batch descriptors to an accelerator coupled to the processor to cause the accelerator to process the lookups in the hash table in parallel (Wang: par. [0022[: “The lookup engine can be used to accelerate flow classification lookup”; par. [0036]: “Queries from the same core could be dispatched to different accelerators to exploit the parallelism”; par. [0047]: “the instruction query from command queue 502 is provided to scoreboard 506 and scoreboard 506 generates at least several actions in sequence. First, based on the key address passed by the instruction, scoreboard 506 generates a data request to fetch the key from an LLC slice. Second, after the key has been returned, hash 508-A or B performs a hashing operation for the key and calculates the indexes of the buckets. Third, scoreboard 506 generates a request for contents of the buckets. Fourth, a comparator 510-A or B compares the signature in each entry of the primary bucket to find a match”; par. [0048]: “Scoreboard 506 can orchestrate operation of lookup engine 500”; taught as the lookup engine/scoreboard receives the query instruction and generates several actions (e.g., descriptors) and process the instructions of retrieving index of hash bucket, obtaining key and compare signatures).
As per claims 14 and 20, Wang teaches receive, from the accelerator based on a hit for an input key in the hash table, a value address associated with a value in the hash table; and access the value based on the value address (Wang: par. [0031]: “Hashed keys that match a signature in a bucket lead to retrieval of the associated key-data pointer pairs. The key portion of the key-data pointer pair is compared against the key from the query. If there is a match, the data pointer can be used to retrieve the data that is requested”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9-13 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming 35 USC 112(b) rejection of the claims noted above.
Conclusion
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d) (1) requires such support in the Specification for any new language added to the claims and 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(a) requires support be found in the Drawings for all claimed features.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dai et al. (US 2024/0012811) teaches a method of processing query comprising key with PIM device.
Jiang et al. (US 2023/0394082) teaches a hash table system for comparing keys to the hash table.
Matthews et al. (US 10,795,873) teaches a system performing hash based operations.
Vemulapalli et al. (US 2020/0226099) teaches a hash table that reduces a number DMA operations during table traverse.
Kaushikkumar M. Patel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/Kaushikkumar M Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138