DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The 35 USC 112 rejection has been withdrawn due to the rejected claims 7-8 and 19 being cancelled by the amendment filed 08/08/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al (WO 2017,049,425; hereinafter You) in view of Shih et al (US 2021/0,211,994; hereinafter Shih).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, You disclose a terminal (900) and a power headroom report PHR reporting method applied to a terminal (900), comprising an memory (920), an processor (910), and an non-transitory readable storage medium (storage medium), wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions, when being executed by a processor (910), a program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program is executed by the processor (pg. 30, lines 7-16, pg. 31, lines 3-29), the processor (910) is configured to:
trigger a PHR in a case that a first condition is satisfied wherein a cell group is resumed, wherein the cell group comprises a secondary cell (page 12, lines 6-12; condition 4, any secondary cell (Scell) is activated with an uplink; pg. 30, lines 7-12).
You do not explicitly disclose wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following: a first radio resource control RRC message has been received, wherein the first RRC message is used to indicate resuming the cell group; a second RRC message has been received, wherein the second RRC message is used to indicate adding or configuring the cell group to a non-suspended state. In the same field of endeavor, Shih disclose the first condition further comprises at least one of the following: a first radio resource control RRC message has been received, wherein the first RRC message is used to indicate resuming the cell group; a second RRC message has been received, wherein the second RRC message is used to indicate adding or configuring the cell group to a non-suspended state (in one embodiment, the UE triggers a second PHR when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, where the UE may enter RRC_CONNECTED state in response to receiving the RRC Resume message, the UE triggers the PHR in response to configuration of PHR functionality, e.g. the UE triggers the PHR in response to configuration of the PHR functionality by one or more upper layers, such as RRC; in a RRC Resume procedure in NR, the UE may initially apply a MAC Cell Group configuration comprising PHR-Configuration which indicates a second default timer length for a second timer related to a PHR procedure where the UE triggers the PHR in response to configuration of PHR functionality by the RRC; paras. [0380], [0412], [0474], [0443]-[0447], [0509], [0531], [0532]; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide high data throughput to realize in demand communication of large amount of data to and from mobile communication devices in wireless communication networks (Shih; ¶ [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 6, 12, 18, and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6 and 22, You disclose the method and non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 1 and 20 respectively, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the first condition further comprises at least one of the following: a first MAC control element CE has been received, wherein the MAC CE is used to indicate resuming the cell group; a second MAC CE has been received, wherein the second MAC CE is used to indicate switching the SpCell and the SCell in the cell group to the activated state; first downlink control information DCI has been received, wherein the first DCI is used to indicate resuming the cell group; second DCI has been received, wherein the second DCI is used to indicate switching the SpCell and the SCell in the cell group to the non-dormant BWP; and a suspend timer expires, wherein the suspend timer is used for triggering resumption of the cell group.
Regarding claim 12, 21, and 23, You disclose the method, terminal, and non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 1, 13, and 20 respectively, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the PHR comprises PHRs of all serving cells that are in the activated state, wherein a PHR variation of the serving cell in the activated state is greater than or equal to a first preset value, and a reference value of the PHR variation is a PHR of the serving cell that is sent last time.
Regarding claim 18, You disclose the terminal according to claim 13, wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following: a first media access control (MAC) control element (CE) has been received, wherein the MAC CE is used to indicate resuming the cell group; a second MAC CE has been received, wherein the second MAC CE is used to indicate switching a special cell (SpCell) and a secondary cell (SCell) in the cell group to an activated state; first downlink control information (DCI) has been received, wherein the first DCI is used to indicate resuming the cell group; second DCI has been received, wherein the second DCI is used to indicate switching the SpCell and the SCell in the cell group to the non-dormant bandwidth part (BWP); and a suspend timer expires, wherein the suspend timer is used for triggering resumption of the cell group.
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648