DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
If further efforts are made to clarify and fully define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider referencing specific paragraphs, column and line numbers, and/or figures from the cited prior art. While the citations provided are representative and mapped to individual claim limitations, other portions of the references may also be relevant. Incorporating such disclosures may assist the Applicant in preparing a more complete response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plane of the platform", however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins et al. (US Pat. 5152482; hereafter referred to as Perkins) in view of Gelon (US 20120205492).
Regarding claim 1:
Perkins discloses (in Figs. 1-4 and 7) a satellite (SAT) (10) comprising a platform (PF) (12), at least one solar panel (PS) (16) for supplying the satellite (SAT) (10) with electrical energy, the solar panel (PS) (16) being fixed along one side of the platform (PF) (12), the satellite (10) comprising an antenna system (Rx+Z, Rx-Z, Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (18, 20, 18’ and 20’) comprising two remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z) (18 and 18’) and two remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (20 and 20’), wherein: the two remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z) (18 and 18’) are disposed back to back on either side of the platform (12), the two remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (20 and 20’) are disposed back to back, on either side of the platform (12), the antenna system (18, 20, 18’ and 20’) is disposed at one of the two ends of the side of the platform (PF) (12) on which the solar panel (PS) (16) is fixed (See Figs.).
Perkins discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except that the two remote control antennas and the two remote measurement antennas are spaced one from the other by a distance less than or equal to X, where A corresponds to the wavelength of the remote control or remote measurement signal and the platform (PF) comprises an arm forming an extension of the platform (PF) in the plane of the platform (PF), along an axis (AX) corresponding to the junction between the platform (PF) and the solar panel (PS), the antenna system (Rx+Z, Rx-Z, Tx+Z, Tx-Z) being disposed on the said arm (BR) of the platform (PF).
However, separation distance between antennas is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing signal interference, feedback loops and thereby providing isolation between the antennas to improve the radiation efficiency and antenna diversity.
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious matter of design consideration to set the spacing between the antennas as distance less than or equal to À in order to adjust isolation between antennas. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Perkins is silent on that the platform (PF) comprises an arm forming an extension of the platform (PF) in the plane of the platform (PF), along an axis (AX) corresponding to the junction between the platform (PF) and the solar panel (PS), the antenna system (Rx+Z, Rx-Z, Tx+Z, Tx-Z) being disposed on the said arm (BR) of the platform (PF).
Gelon discloses (in Figs. 3-4) the platform (PF) (312) comprises an arm (314) forming an extension of the platform (PF) (312) in the plane of the platform (PF) (312), along an axis (AX) (vertically; See Fig. 1) corresponding to the junction between the platform (PF) (312) and the solar panel (PS) (360), the antenna system (Rx+Z, Rx-Z, Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (380) being disposed on the said arm (314) of the platform (PF) (312).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement he platform (PF) comprises an arm forming an extension of the platform (PF) in the plane of the platform (PF), along an axis (AX) corresponding to the junction between the platform (PF) and the solar panel (PS), the antenna system (Rx+Z, Rx-Z, Tx+Z, Tx-Z) being disposed on the said arm (BR) of the platform (PF) as taught by Gelon into the device of Perkins for the benefit of achieving a space deployable satellite desirably compatible with the mass and fairing envelope constraints of launch vehicles such as, for example, Ariane V, Atlas XEPF, Proton, and Sea Launch (Para. 0003, Lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 2:
Perkins discloses (in Fig. 7) the platform (PF) (12) comprises a transponder (TP) (126), the transponder (TP) (126) being adjacent to the antenna system (Rx+Z, Rx-Z, Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (18, 20, 18' and 20').
Regarding claim 3:
Perkins discloses the two remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z) (18 and 18') are disposed between the transponder (TP) (126) and the two remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (20 and 20').
Regarding claim 4:
Perkins discloses the transponder (TP) (126) is disposed between the two remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z) (18 and 18') and the two remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (20 and 20').
Regarding claim 6:
Perkins discloses the arm (14) of the platform (12) comprises a deployment device (DD), the said
deployment device (DD) being equipped with a low-impact passive system (Col. 7, Lines 27-30).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins and Gelon, and further in view of Masak et al. (US Pat. 4516126; hereafter referred to as Masak).
Regarding claim 7:
Perkins does not explicitly disclose the satellite comprises a first coupler (CPRx) configured for
summing signals coming from the remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z), a second coupler (CPTx)
configured for distributing a remote measurement signal to the remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z), the first coupler (CPRx) and the second coupler (CPTx) being respectively connected between the
remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z), and between the remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z).
Masak discloses (in Figs. 2 and 3) comprising a first coupler (CPRx) (3A) configured for summing
signals coming from the remote control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z) (1A), a second coupler (CPTx) (3B)
configured for distributing a remote measurement signal to the remote measurement antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-
Z) (1B), the first coupler (CPRx) (3A) and the second coupler (CPTx) (3B) being respectively connected
between the remote-control antennas (Rx+Z, Rx-Z) (1A), and between the remote measurement
antennas (Tx+Z, Tx-Z) (1B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date
of the claimed invention to implement the couplers and arranged by Masak into the device of the modified Perkins for the benefit establishing the coherence of respective signals received or transmitted by the plurality of
antennas to provide an antenna system, augmented with beam steering, capable of cancelling multiple
interfering signals with minimum effect on the desired signal and a maximization of the processed key
performance parameters (Col. 1, Lines 29-33).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845