DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10, 12, and 14-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 11 and 13 have been cancelled by Applicant.
In Applicant’s response filed 03 July 2025, claims 1, 16, and 18-19 were amended and claims 11 and 13 were cancelled. These amendments have been entered.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on 03 July 2025.
These drawings are acceptable or what they show; however the following objections remain:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fastening element” which includes “a head and an elongated member” of claim 1 and the “helical screw” of claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Examiner notes that, while a ref. no. “7” is shown indicating a “fastening element 7” is generally shown in Figs. 2 and 3, no details of the fastening element are shown and no “head” or “elongated member” are shown. Nor is any “helical screw” shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourgeois (FR 2748084, a copy of which is attached herewith, along with a machine-generated English translation).
Re Claim 1: Bourgeois discloses furniture comprising a plurality of pieces,
at least one first piece (2; Fig. 3) of the plurality of pieces comprises at least one fastening plate (4; Fig. 1) and at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A),
at least one second piece (2; Fig. 1) of the plurality of pieces comprises at least one fastening piece (6) and at least one groove (12, 15) in the fastening piece, wherein the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) is inserted into the at least one groove (along the “sliding direction” shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), and
the at least one first piece and the at least one second piece (2, 2) are removably connected together through a fastening element (bolts 7), wherein the fastening element includes a head and an elongated member (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and wherein the elongated member is inserted (along the “insertion direction” shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) into the fastening piece (6) in a direction (the “insertion direction”) that is perpendicular to a direction (the “sliding direction”) in which the at least one fastening protrusion is inserted into the at least one groove.
Re Claim 2: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening plate (4) is attached to a first end of the least one first piece (2; Fig. 3).
Re Claim 3: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening plate (4) comprises a plurality of plates (not shown) and the plurality of plates are attached to the first end and a second end (not shown; opposite to the end shown in Fig. 3) of the least one first piece.
Re Claim 4: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) is connected to the at least one fastening plate (4).
Re Claim 5: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) comprises at least one hole (the holes through which connecting means 7 pass; see Fig. 4).
Re Claim 6: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) comprises a plurality of holes (the holes through which connecting means 7 pass; see Fig. 4).
Re Claim 7: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) comprises a plurality of protrusions (11, 11A).
Re Claim 8: Bourgeois discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions (11, 11A) are connected to the plurality of plates (4).
Re Claim 9: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening piece (6; Fig. 2) is attached to a first end of the least one second piece (2; Fig. 1).
Re Claim 10: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening piece (6) comprises a plurality of fastening pieces (not shown) and the plurality of fastening pieces are attached to the first end and a second end (not shown; opposite to the end shown in Fig. 1) of the least one second piece.
Re Claim 12: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening piece (6) comprises a plurality of grooves (12, 15; Fig. 2).
Re Claim 14: Bourgeois discloses wherein the at least one fastening piece (6) comprises a plurality of fastening pieces (not shown) and the plurality of fastening pieces comprises a plurality of grooves (12, 15) and each of the plurality of protrusions (11, 11A) are inserted into each of the plurality of grooves.
Re Claim 15: Bourgeois discloses wherein the furniture further comprises at least one aperture (8; Fig. 1) in at least one of the plurality of pieces.
Re Claim 16: Bourgeois discloses wherein the fastening member is a helical screw (7).
Re Claim 18: Bourgeois discloses wherein one of the two pieces of the plurality of pieces (2, 2) has a plurality of apertures (8; Fig. 1).
Re Claim 19: Bourgeois discloses wherein each of the plurality of apertures (8) is circular in shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourgeois (FR 2748084).
Re Claims 17 and 20: Bourgeois, as discussed for claim 1 above, discloses furniture significantly as claimed except wherein each of the plurality of pieces is made from metal or wood (as is required by claim 17); and each of the plurality of pieces is made from metal (as is required by claim 20).
Examiner notes that it has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) [discussed in MPEP 2144.07].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the device of Bourgeois, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that each of the plurality of pieces is made from metal or wood (as is required by claim 17); and each of the plurality of pieces is made from metal (as is required by claim 20), for the purpose of, for example, optimizing strength, weight, and cost characteristics, and since the use of such a known material would have been considered a design choice within the skill of the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Applicant has argued that Bourgeois fails to disclose the newly added limitations of amended claim 1. Specifically, Applicant has argued that the elongated member of the fastening element (threaded bolts 7) of Bourgeois is not inserted into the fastening piece (6) in a direction that is perpendicular to ta direction in which the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) is inserted into the at least one groove (12, 15) of the fastening piece.
In response, Examiner notes that, as discussed in the prior art rejection above, the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) is actually inserted into the groove (12, 15) in a “sliding direction” (see annotated Fig. 2 above) relative to a frame of reference on the fastening piece (6). As discussed in lines 118-120 of the English translation attached with the copy of Bourgeois in the Office Action mailed 03 April 2025, “after inserting the protrusion 11 of the first core into a cutout in the corresponding upright, the second core 6 is inserted into the upright where it slides until the stop comes into contact with the protrusion.” Thus, in the attachment process of Bourgeois, the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) is first inserted into the holes (8) of the upright (2) and the, subsequently, the fastening piece (6) is slid along the “sliding direction” shown in annotated Fig. 2 above such that the at least one fastening protrusion (11, 11A) is received within the groove (12, 15) along the “sliding direction”. After that, the fastening element (7) is inserted along the “insertion direction” to complete the assembly. As shown in annotated Fig. 2 above, this “insertion direction” is perpendicular to the “sliding direction”.
For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the prior art rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678