DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. The Applicant has elected the Group 1 (claims 1 – 10) for prosecution on the merits without traverse.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
3. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1 - 14 of U. S. Patent No. 11,424,787 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Claim 1 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,787. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present application is obvious in view of the claims 1 - 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,424,787. Specifically, the claims of U.S. Patent (11,424,787) are the same elements, same function, and same result as claims of present application. Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if remaining elements perform same functions as before. In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963).
More specifically, the claim 1 of the present application is the same elements, same function, and same result as specifically claims 1 and 2 of the U.S. Patent (11,424,787), specially, the independent claim 1 of the present application is the same invention as the independent claims 1 and 2 of the U.S. Patent (11,424,787).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows, and the difference of the limitations are wordings differently.
For example;
Instant Application
U.S Patent 11,424,787
1. A method for a wireless transmitter to adjust a transmission power level of a message, the method comprising: a) receiving or using an algorithm configured to take, as input, one or more network parameters, one or more environmental parameters, and one or more parameters of a planned message, and to provide, as output, a recommended transmission power level of the planned message; b) determining one or more of the input parameters, and providing the determined one or more input parameters to the algorithm; c) receiving, from the algorithm, the recommended transmission power level; d) adjusting a transmitter power according to the recommended transmission power level; and e) transmitting the planned message.
1. A method for a base station in a wireless network to transmit a message, the method comprising:
a. measuring one or more network parameters, one or more message parameters, and one or more environmental parameters; b. providing the measured network parameters, message parameters, and environmental parameters as inputs to an algorithm configured to provide, as output, a recommended transmission power level; and c. transmitting the message according to the recommended transmission power level, wherein: d. the network parameters comprise a message throughput or a message failure rate; e. the message parameters comprise a distance from the base station to a recipient of the message; and f. the environmental parameters comprise a noise or interference level.
2. A method for a base station in a wireless network to transmit a message, the method comprising:
a. measuring one or more network parameters, one or more message parameters, and one or more environmental parameters; b. providing the measured network parameters, message parameters, and environmental parameters as inputs to an algorithm configured to provide, as output, a recommended transmission power level; and c. transmitting the message according to the recommended transmission power level, wherein: d. the algorithm is based at least in part on an artificial intelligence model comprising one or more adjustable variables; and e. the one or more adjustable variables are adjusted to predict network performance based, at least in part, on the one or more network parameters, the one or more message parameters, and the one or more environmental parameters.
The additional limitation is not affecting the scope of the present invention. In addition, even though the claim of present application omitted or rearrangement of the claim structure (simply rearranged and restructured the claim elements using same or similar words), the limitation of independent claims 1 and 2 of the U.S. Patent (11,424,787) is encompassed the claimed invention of the independent claim 1 of the present application.
Therefore, the function and results of the claim invention of present application are same as the claim invention of the U.S. Patent (11,424,787).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 6,301,485).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches that a method for a wireless transmitter to adjust a transmission power level of a message (abstract, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 61 – column 2, lines 64). Lee teaches that receiving or using an algorithm configured to take, as input, one or more network parameters, one or more environmental parameters, and one or more parameters of a planned message, and to provide, as output, a recommended transmission power level of the planned message (abstract, column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64, where teaches receiving message including power control order, control parameters, that is recommend or determining prediction transmission power level), determining one or more of the input parameters, and providing the determined one or more input parameters to the algorithm (abstract, column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64, where teaches receiving message including power control order, control parameters, that is recommend or determining prediction transmission power level), receiving, from the algorithm, the recommended transmission power level (abstract, column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64, where teaches receiving message including power control order, control parameters, that is recommend or determining prediction transmission power level), and adjusting a transmitter power according to the recommended transmission power level (abstract, column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64, where teaches the power control performed by the power measuring unit, comparator and power control bit generator is a closed loop power control, and the base station predicts a receiving power according to a transmission speed of the signal transmitted from the mobile station, compares the predicted receiving power with the power control reference values Po which have been pre-setting in every base station, and transmits the proper power control order to the mobile station with the user data, thereby enabling the mobile station to transmit the signal by using the adjusted transmission power according the power control order), and transmitting the planned message (abstract, column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64, where teaches transmitting the message for the adjusted transmission power level).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches that the one or more network parameters comprise at least two of: a) a message failure rate; b) a number of messages transmitted per second; c) a number of bits transmitted per second; d) a number of active users in the network; and e) a geographical extent of the network (abstract, column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches that the algorithm comprises a mathematical or logical function relating the recommended transmission power level to the input parameters (column 4, lines 16 – column 5, lines 67, Fig. 1, 4, and column 1, lines 44 – column 2, lines 64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Montalvo (US 2021/0345120).
Regarding claims 2 and 6-7, Lee does not specifically disclose the limitation “the planned message is transmitted according to 5G or 6G technology, the algorithm comprises an AI (artificial intelligence) model that comprises a computer program or subprogram derived from an AI model”. However, Montalvo teaches the limitation “the planned message is transmitted according to 5G or 6G technology, the algorithm comprises an AI (artificial intelligence) model that comprises a computer program or subprogram derived from an AI model” (Fig. 1, pages 9, paragraphs 112 and 120, and pages 11, paragraphs 138, where teaches communicating a message or information using 5G technology and operating to drive by an AI (artificial intelligence) model). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Lee’s system as taught by Montalvo, provide the motivation to improve communication performance in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Lee does not specifically disclose the limitation “a multi-dimensional table or array of values relating the recommended transmission power level to the input parameters, and configured to be revised or updated according to wireless updating command”. Montalvo teaches the limitation “a multi-dimensional table or array of values relating the recommended transmission power level to the input parameters, and configured to be revised or updated according to wireless updating command” (pages 16, paragraphs 187 – 188, Fig. 1, 24, and pages 10, paragraphs 132-pages 11, paragraphs 133, where teaches a multi-dimensional map relating the transmission power level to the input parameters, and configuring updating for map). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Lee’s system as taught by Montalvo, provide the motivation to improve communication performance in wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose the limitation “the one or more message parameters comprise at least two of: a) a length of the planned message; b) a requested QoS (quality of service) of the planned message; c) a distance between the transmitter and an intended receiver of the planned message; d) an obscuration between the transmitter and the intended receiver; and e) a transmission power level used in a previous message to the intended receiver” as specified the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rubin et al. (US 2017/0243485) discloses V2V Safety Using Learned Signal Timing.
Boudrean et al. (US 2017/0245221) discloses Inter-Network Assisted Power Control for Interference Mitigation of D2D Communications.
Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)."
J.L
October 31, 2025
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649