DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/076462 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 10/16/25
2. Claims 1-14 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 13 and 14 have been amended.
Response to Argument
3. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 10/16/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 13 and 14 use… n-th… and m-th…., It is unclear what these stand for. Are they variables, integers or something else?It is suggested to state what they represent. The specification discloses…By executing the N-th generation communication program 221, the CPU 210 constructs a communicator and a controller and performs N-th generation communication processing. The N-th generation communication processing is a process of executing communication conforming to the N-th generation communication standard. The N-th generation is, for example, 5G, B5G, 6G, and the like. The N-th generation may be another generation or another communication standard. The N-th generation communication processing is divided into layers, and processing corresponding to the N-th generation is performed in each layer. (see paragraph [0053]). Further it is unclear what is meant by, the first link layer protocol corresponding to an n-th generation communication standard, the second link layer protocol corresponding to an m-th communication standard… Corresponding is a broad term and leaves one of ordinary skill in the art wondering how link protocol and communication standard are associated with each other.
Finaly the specification does not seem to explain, either the first wireless communication layer or the second wireless communication layer is a physical layer. (see specification paragraphs [0042], explains Embodiment 2 will be described. Note that the following embodiments may be regarded as specific examples of Embodiment 1, for example. For example, the communication device of Embodiment 1 may correspond to a base station device 200 and a terminal device 100, the first wireless communication layer and the second wireless communication layer may correspond to either a 5G physical layer or a B5G physical layer, and the first link layer protocol and the second link layer protocol may correspond to either a 5G MAC layer or a B5G MAC layer. Also see paragraphs [0080],[0081]) This can be considered to not be supported in the specification.
The specification does not seem to disclose further explanation to these issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1, 2, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2015/0188681A1) in view of KR101885769B1 referred to as KR
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a communication device comprising: a communicator configured to include a first wireless communication layer and a second wireless communication layer, with the second wireless communication layer having a first link layer protocol or a second link layer protocol, which is a radio link protocol, and perform radio communication with another communication device via the first wireless communication layer; (see Fig.6 Li paragraph [0091] the base station maintains one single PDCP Entity for a radio bearer allocated for the UE's one specific application with certain QoS requirements. This PDCP Entity is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities; one RAT has one set of RLC Entities. See paragraph [0094]….PDCP Entities in different base stations are identical (FIG. 7 shows the PDCP Entity of one base station), and are associated with a single radio bearer RB11. This PDCP is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities, one of which ("RAT1 RLC Entity") represents the RLC module within this base station, and the others of which--only one other in this example ("RAT2 RLC Entity")--are virtual ones that represent the corresponding RLC modules of other base stations.) and a controller configured to control communication in transmission and reception of data of the second wireless communication layer by performing control on the data in accordance with whether a radio link protocol of the second wireless communication layer corresponds to the first link layer protocol or the second link layer protocol so that the transmission and reception of the data is performed. (FIG. 7 shows the PDCP Entity of one base station), and are associated with a single radio bearer RB11. This PDCP is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities, one of which ("RAT1 RLC Entity") represents the RLC module within this base station, and the others of which--only one other in this example ("RAT2 RLC Entity")--are virtual ones that represent the corresponding RLC modules of other base stations. See paragraph [0096] explains thus, different RATs share a single PDCP Entity for the given radio bearer of a given UE. One of the main functions of PDCP is to convert the downlink application layer packets into PDCP protocol PDUs, and to assign a PDCP SN (sequence number) to each PDU. )
While it can be understood Li can explains first wireless communication layer, the first link layer protocol corresponding to an n-th generation communication standard, the second link layer protocol corresponding to an m-th communication standard (m is different from n), either the first wireless communication layer or the second wireless communication layer is a physical layer; because it explains the use of physical layer as well as other RAT with different layers.(see paragraph [0099], [0103], [0110], [0111])
However KR is introduced and further explains… In one configuration, a device 1402/1402 'for wireless communication comprises means for receiving data transmitted from the network or transmitting data over the first communication link using the first RAT, Means for receiving a configuration message from a network indicating that data is to be served from the network or transmitted over the network via a second communication link using the RAT, Means for receiving data served from a network over a communication link, means for configuring at least one protocol layer to transmit data to the network, means for receiving data served from the network over a second communication link using a second RAT, Means for sending data to the physical layer, a physical layer acknowledgment for the configuration message, Means for initiating a timer upon transmission of a physical layer acknowledgment, means for waiting to receive at least one protocol layer status report up to the expiration of the timer, Means for clearing a buffer to store data received over a second communication link using a second RAT after configuring at least one protocol layer, means for clearing the buffer for storing data received over a second communication link using at least one protocol layer, At least one protocol layer status report identifies data received by the UE via a first RAT or a second RAT, a configuration acknowledgment message or other signaling message ….(see paragraphs [0240] and [0143])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Li with KR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve communication with multiple access technologies and technologies standards (see paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Li taught the communication device according to claim 1, as described above. Li further teaches wherein when the second wireless communication layer does not support the first link layer protocol, in transmission and reception of data corresponding to the first link layer protocol from and to the other communication device, the controller adjusts a first parameter, which is a parameter of the first link layer protocol of the data, to a second parameter, which is a parameter of the second link layer protocol, in the control so that the data corresponds to the second link layer protocol, and passes the data to the second wireless communication layer.(see Li paragraph [0095] explains the use of rules/policy made on which RAT(s) should be used for next DL transmission….the policy can have parameters and thus based on rules/policy decision to specify or choose different RAT)
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches a communication device comprising: a communicator configured to include a first wireless communication layer and a second wireless communication layer, with the second wireless communication layer having a first link layer protocol or a second link layer protocol, which is a radio link protocol, and perform radio communication with another communication device via the first wireless communication layer; (see Fig.6 Li paragraph [0091] the base station maintains one single PDCP Entity for a radio bearer allocated for the UE's one specific application with certain QoS requirements. This PDCP Entity is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities; one RAT has one set of RLC Entities. See paragraph [0094]….PDCP Entities in different base stations are identical (FIG. 7 shows the PDCP Entity of one base station), and are associated with a single radio bearer RB11. This PDCP is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities, one of which ("RAT1 RLC Entity") represents the RLC module within this base station, and the others of which--only one other in this example ("RAT2 RLC Entity")--are virtual ones that represent the corresponding RLC modules of other base stations.) and a controller configured to control communication in transmission and reception of data of the second wireless communication layer by performing control on the data in accordance with a parameter of the first link layer protocol or the second link layer protocol that is received from the other communication device so that the transmission and reception of the data is performed. (FIG. 7 shows the PDCP Entity of one base station), and are associated with a single radio bearer RB11. This PDCP is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities, one of which ("RAT1 RLC Entity") represents the RLC module within this base station, and the others of which--only one other in this example ("RAT2 RLC Entity")--are virtual ones that represent the corresponding RLC modules of other base stations. See paragraph [0096] explains thus, different RATs share a single PDCP Entity for the given radio bearer of a given UE. One of the main functions of PDCP is to convert the downlink application layer packets into PDCP protocol PDUs, and to assign a PDCP SN (sequence number) to each PDU. )
While it can be understood Li can explains first wireless communication layer, the first link layer protocol corresponding to an n-th generation communication standard, the second link layer protocol corresponding to an m-th communication standard (m is different from n), either the first wireless communication layer or the second wireless communication layer is a physical layer; because it explains the use of physical layer as well as other RAT with different layers.(see paragraph [0099], [0103], [0110], [0111])
However KR is introduced and further explains… In one configuration, a device 1402/1402 'for wireless communication comprises means for receiving data transmitted from the network or transmitting data over the first communication link using the first RAT, Means for receiving a configuration message from a network indicating that data is to be served from the network or transmitted over the network via a second communication link using the RAT, Means for receiving data served from a network over a communication link, means for configuring at least one protocol layer to transmit data to the network, means for receiving data served from the network over a second communication link using a second RAT, Means for sending data to the physical layer, a physical layer acknowledgment for the configuration message, Means for initiating a timer upon transmission of a physical layer acknowledgment, means for waiting to receive at least one protocol layer status report up to the expiration of the timer, Means for clearing a buffer to store data received over a second communication link using a second RAT after configuring at least one protocol layer, means for clearing the buffer for storing data received over a second communication link using at least one protocol layer, At least one protocol layer status report identifies data received by the UE via a first RAT or a second RAT, a configuration acknowledgment message or other signaling message ….(see paragraphs [0240] and [0143])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Li with KR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve communication with multiple access technologies and technologies standards (see paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches a communication system comprising: a first communication device and a second communication device, wherein the first communication device configured to include a first wireless communication layer and a second wireless communication layer, with second wireless communication layer having a first link layer protocol, which is a radio link protocol, the second communication device configured to include the first wireless communication layer and the second wireless communication layer, (see Fig.6 Li paragraph [0091] the base station maintains one single PDCP Entity for a radio bearer allocated for the UE's one specific application with certain QoS requirements. This PDCP Entity is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities; one RAT has one set of RLC Entities. See paragraph [0094]….PDCP Entities in different base stations are identical (FIG. 7 shows the PDCP Entity of one base station), and are associated with a single radio bearer RB11. This PDCP is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities, one of which ("RAT1 RLC Entity") represents the RLC module within this base station, and the others of which--only one other in this example ("RAT2 RLC Entity")--are virtual ones that represent the corresponding RLC modules of other base stations.) with second wireless communication layer including a second link layer protocol, which is a radio link protocol, the second communication device configured to transmit, to the first communication device, data corresponding to the second link layer protocol, and the first communication device configured to perform radio communication with the second communication device via the first wireless communication layer, and in reception of data of the second wireless communication layer, when the first communication device receives, from the second communication device, data corresponding to the second link layer protocol, the first communication device performs control on the data so that the data corresponds to the first link layer protocol. (FIG. 7 shows the PDCP Entity of one base station), and are associated with a single radio bearer RB11. This PDCP is then associated with multiple sets of RLC Entities, one of which ("RAT1 RLC Entity") represents the RLC module within this base station, and the others of which--only one other in this example ("RAT2 RLC Entity")--are virtual ones that represent the corresponding RLC modules of other base stations. See paragraph [0096] explains thus, different RATs share a single PDCP Entity for the given radio bearer of a given UE. One of the main functions of PDCP is to convert the downlink application layer packets into PDCP protocol PDUs, and to assign a PDCP SN (sequence number) to each PDU. )
While it can be understood Li can explains first wireless communication layer, the first link layer protocol corresponding to an n-th generation communication standard, the second link layer protocol corresponding to an m-th communication standard (m is different from n), either the first wireless communication layer or the second wireless communication layer is a physical layer; because it explains the use of physical layer as well as other RAT with different layers.(see paragraph [0099], [0103], [0110], [0111])
However KR is introduced and further explains… In one configuration, a device 1402/1402 'for wireless communication comprises means for receiving data transmitted from the network or transmitting data over the first communication link using the first RAT, Means for receiving a configuration message from a network indicating that data is to be served from the network or transmitted over the network via a second communication link using the RAT, Means for receiving data served from a network over a communication link, means for configuring at least one protocol layer to transmit data to the network, means for receiving data served from the network over a second communication link using a second RAT, Means for sending data to the physical layer, a physical layer acknowledgment for the configuration message, Means for initiating a timer upon transmission of a physical layer acknowledgment, means for waiting to receive at least one protocol layer status report up to the expiration of the timer, Means for clearing a buffer to store data received over a second communication link using a second RAT after configuring at least one protocol layer, means for clearing the buffer for storing data received over a second communication link using at least one protocol layer, At least one protocol layer status report identifies data received by the UE via a first RAT or a second RAT, a configuration acknowledgment message or other signaling message ….(see paragraphs [0240] and [0143])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Li with KR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve communication with multiple access technologies and technologies standards (see paragraph [0004]).
Claim Objections
7. Claims 3-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478