DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 13-24 in the reply filed on 04/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected products, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Despesse (PGPub 2014/0015488).
Considering Claim 13, Despesse discloses a battery assembly (battery comprising a plurality of battery modules [Abstract]), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (battery cells 11 [0078, Figure 10b]) each comprising a pair of poles (positive and negative terminals of each cell with associated connectors 16 [0090, Figure 15]);
a printed circuit board disposed adjacent to the plurality of battery cells (an electronic card 20 has the form of a printed circuit [0075] and is disposed adjacent to the cells [0078, 0079, 0090, Figures 10b and 15]) and electrically coupled to a pole of the pair of poles of each of the plurality (connectors electrically connect terminals to electronics on the card [0090, Figure 15]);
a plurality of switches disposed on or adjacent to the printed circuit board (transistors 23 and 24 form the switches 13, 14 [0077, 0065] and are actuated to implement a switch control function [0065], disposed on and adjacent to the electronic card 20 [0076, Figures 9, 11, 12, 15]) each electrically coupled between the pair of poles of an associated battery cell of the plurality of battery cells (transistors 23 electrically coupled between connectors 16 of the terminals for each cell 11 [0083, 0090, Figure 15]); and
a controller disposed on the printed circuit board and electrically coupled to the plurality of switches (processing circuit 30 is a microcontroller [0079] that commands power control circuit 27 and is connected to central computer 22 [0079], is disposed on electronic card 20 [0079, Figures 9, 11, 12], controls transistors 23, 24 [0079, 0077]);
wherein the controller and the plurality of switches are operable for controlling the voltage provided by each of the plurality of battery cells (processing circuit 30 and transistors are operated and controlled [0079] for measurement and management control of voltage for each cell [0079, 0066, 0073, 0100, 0110]).
Considering Claim 14, Despesse discloses a short bus bar electrically coupled between another pole of the pair of poles of selected of the plurality of battery cells and electrically coupled to the printed circuit board (connectors connected to battery terminals [0090, Figure 15], part of connector 16 in elongated bus bar form for cross connection [Figure 15]).
Considering Claim 15, Despesse discloses a power supply disposed on the printed circuit board (one battery cell not mapped amongst other plurality of cells disposed on electronic card [0078, Figure 10b], one cell may power switch [0011]).
Considering Claim 16, Despesse discloses one or more sensors disposed on the printed circuit board (multiple sensors disposed on electronic card [0079, Figure 11]).
Considering Claim 18, Despesse discloses that the printed circuit board and the plurality of switches are electrically coupled to the pole of the pair of poles of each of the plurality of battery cells via a plurality of bus bars disposed above the printed circuit board (connectors connected to battery terminals [0090, Figure 15], plurality of elongated bus bars form for cross connection of switches and terminals [Figure 15]).
Considering Claim 19, Despesse discloses a short busbar electrically coupled between the pole of the pair of poles of selected of the plurality of battery cells (connectors connected to battery terminals [0090, Figure 15], part of connector 16 in elongated bus bar form for cross connection [Figure 15]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse (PGPub 2014/0015488) and further in view of Babinot et al. (PgPub 2022/0360064).
Considering Claim 20, Despesse discloses that part of connector 16 is in an elongated bus bar form for cross connection [Figure 15]. However, Despesse is silent to an insulating layer disposed on an upper surface of the short bus-bar.
Babinot discloses a battery module comprising a connecting bus bar comprising an electrically insulating top layer laminated on a first conductive layer [Abstract, 0043]. The structure reduces module cost, size, weight, and can be easily modified to fit various sizes of modules [0026] while reducing the risk of short circuiting [0116].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery module of Despesse with the top laminated insulating bus bar layer of Babinot in order to reduce module cost, size, weight, and can be easily modified to fit various sizes of modules [0026] while reducing the risk of short circuiting [0116].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 21-24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding Claim 17, Despesse discloses that an electronic card supports multiple modules [0087]. Electronic cards are advantageously disposed so as to dispose their terminals connected to the cells nearest the terminals of the cells so as to minimize the length of the connections and therefore the associated losses [0088]. Because terminal distance is prioritized, and all the electronic cards are connected to a central computer 22 [0076], there is no suggestion or motivation to provide a contact on the circuit board adapted to couple the circuit board to an adjacent circuit board as required by the claim.
Regarding claim 21, Despesse discloses transistor switches that are integrated into the core of the structures of the cells and electronic card [0061, 0092, 0094, Figure 15], so there is no suggestion or motivation to create a separate module of switches disposed adjacent to the printed circuit board as required by claim 21.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725