DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "(e.g. morpholine)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase “e.g.” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation of (e.g. morpholine) within parentheses is confusing and unclear as it does not clearly indicate the totality of species that are encompassed.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation of O,S,N,P,Si,C is unclear as to what moieties are bound to the O,S,N,P,Si,C to fulfill their valencies.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation of (C=C) within parentheses is confusing and unclear as it does not clearly indicate the totality of species that are encompassed.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation of “L is a linker moiety, optionally bearing a functional group or reactive group” is unclear and confusing because when L is present a functional group or reactive group is required for the linking moiety to perform its function of linking two things together. Also, the L is a linker moiety is described by functional language and does not provide any structural components.
The dependent claims fall therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH05585A 2000 (see translation and original).
JPH05585A 2000 teaches of the compounds
(abstract; p3, [0005]; [0013-0017]) wherein X is oxygen
([0008]) and anticipates the structure
of the instant claims.
The R1 comprises hydrogen, halogen atom, nitro group, -OR6, etc. ([0005]) that anticipates the R1 of the instant claims is independently hydrogen, halogen, nitro, O-alkyl, etc.
The R2 comprises hydrogen, etc. ([0005]) that anticipates the hydrogen found at the position
of the instant claims.
The R3 comprises hydrogen, halogen atom, nitro group, -OR6, sulfonamide, etc. ([0005]) that
anticipates the R1 of the instant claims is independently hydrogen, halogen, nitro, O-alkyl, sulfonamide,
etc.
The R4 comprises hydrogen, etc. ([0006]) that anticipates the hydrogen found at the position
of the instant claims.
The R5 comprises hydrogen, etc. ([0006]) that anticipates the hydrogen found at the position
of the instant claims.
The hydrogen at location
anticipates the hydrogen found at the position
of the instant claims.
The R7 comprises hydrogen, R6, optionally substituted alkenyl group, optionally substituted arylalkyl, etc. ([0006]) wherein R6 comprises an alkyl group, optionally substituted aryl, etc. that anticipates the R2 of the instant claims is independently substituted or unsubstituted C-1-C24 alkyl, substituted or unsubstituted aryl, substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl, etc.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steenackers (WO2015/165854A1).
Steenackers (WO2015/165854A1) teaches of the compound
that was purchased from Spectrum Info ltd. (p35, [0186]; p36, [0187]) that anticipates the structure
of the instant claims when R2 is unsubstituted C4; R1 is hydrogen and O-alkyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murthy et al. (US 8,628,753B2) in view of Peng et al. (US 2007/0042398A1).
Murthy et al. (US 8,628,753B2) discloses cyanine dyes
as diagnostic tools to detect a variety of diseases and disorders (column 14, lines 35+; column 24, lines 34+; claim 8) wherein R3 and R4 comprise most preferably C1, C2, C3 or C4 alkyl sulfonate, -SO-3, etc.; and n is an integer from 1-5 (column 15, lines 6-22). The substituents can be at one or more positions of the cyclic end groups (column 4, lines 1-7).
The sulfonate and alkyl sulfonate improve water solubility of the dyes (column 21, lines 1-25).
The R1 and R2 moieties comprises hydrogen, C1-20 alkyl, etc. (column 14, lines 59+).
Murthy et al. does not disclose the individual
moiety comprising sulfonate or alkyl sulfonates at the R1 positions .
Peng et al. (US 2007/0042398A1) discloses cyanine dyes
(p9, [0091-0092]) and are prepared by reacting
benzoindolium salt starting compounds with imine derivatives (p17, ([0097]).
The compounds comprise water solubilizing groups, such as sulfonate, etc. The sulfonate groups
also are advantageous as they provide increased photostability and considerable reduction of
interaction with surrounding dye molecules, e.g., reduce self-aggregation (p8, [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the reference of Murthy et al. comprises
starting material compounds for the preparation of the cyanine dyes wherein the sulfonate and/or alkyl sulfonate R’ moieties can be located at multiple positions around the benz[c,d]indole moiety, not excluding the R1 positions of
, and R’’’ comprises C1-20 alkyl moieties with a reasonable expectation of success as Murthy et al. teaches that the sulfonate and/or alkyl sulfonate substituents can be at one or more positions of the cyclic end groups and Peng et al. teaches that the isolated starting benz[c,d]indole moieties are combined with an appropriate imine derivatives to prepare cyanine dyes with the advantages of water solubility, increased photostability and reduce self-aggregation for detecting a variety of diseases and disorders.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618