DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being Luo (WO2019192226). A copy of Luo (WO2019192226) is provided with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Lou teaches a vaporization state recognition method performed by a controller (Figs 1-3, control component 400, 0036) of a vaporizer (aerosol generating article 20, 0034), comprising: obtaining, by the controller, a heating rate of an atomizing sheet (Figs 1, 2, heating component 300, 0038) of the vaporizer; and determining, by the controller, a vaporization state of the vaporizer according to the heating rate (0053, 0072), the determining the vaporization state of the vaporizer according to the heating rate comprises: obtaining, by the controller, a changing trend of the heating rate in a predetermined vaporization time (0073, heating is performed at a certain power (e.g., maximum power) for a certain time (e.g., 80ms), the temperature of the resistance wire is detected, and the temperature change is calculated (equivalent to the slope of the temperature rise curve)); determining, by the controller, that the atomizing sheet is abnormal or the vaporizer is in a dry heating state in response to the heating rate being in an increasing trend in the predetermined vaporization time (0073, if the temperature change rate exceeds a threshold, dry-burn is determined); and determining, by the controller, that the vaporizer enters a stable vaporization interval in the determined vaporization time in response to the heating rate being in a declining trend in the predetermined vaporization time (0073, otherwise, it is determined that dry-burn has not occurred).
With respect to the limitations of claims 3, 4 and 5, Lou teaches after the determining that the vaporizer enters a stable vaporization interval in the determined vaporization time (0073, otherwise, it is determined that dry-burn has not occurred), the method further comprises: determining whether the heating rate in the stable vaporization interval is greater than or equal to a preset threshold; and determining that the vaporizer is in a dry heating state in response to the heating rate in the stable vaporization interval being greater than or equal to the preset threshold (0072, 0076, where the dry burning check is repeatedly checked between puffs if there are no dry burning faults);
determining whether the heating rate in the stable vaporization interval is greater than or equal to a preset threshold comprises: determining whether the heating rate in each different sub-interval in the stable vaporization interval is greater than or equal to the preset threshold corresponding to each sub- interval (0072, 0076, where the dry burning check is repeatedly checked between puffs if there are no dry burning faults);
the predetermined vaporization time is a time period of vaporization for 4 seconds to 12 seconds counted from a start of the vaporizer (period for 2nd puff vaporization time is 8~10 seconds = (first puff duration is 2 seconds + 6 second delay interval)).
With respect to the limitations of claim 6, Lou teaches a vaporization state recognition apparatus, comprising: an obtaining module (control component 400, 0036) configured to obtain a heating rate of an atomizing sheet (Figs 1-3, heating component 300, 0038) of a vaporizer (aerosol generating article 20, 0034); and a processing module (main control unit 420, 0052) configured to determine a vaporization state of the vaporizer according to the heating rate (0053, 0072), determining the vaporization state of the vaporizer according to the heating rate comprises: obtaining a changing trend of the heating rate in a predetermined vaporization time (0073, heating is performed at a certain power (e.g., maximum power) for a certain time (e.g., 80ms), the temperature of the resistance wire is detected, and the temperature change is calculated (equivalent to the slope of the temperature rise curve)); determining that the atomizing sheet is abnormal or the vaporizer is in a dry heating state in response to the heating rate being in an increasing trend in the predetermined vaporization time (0073, if the temperature change rate exceeds a threshold, dry-burn is determined); and determining that the vaporizer enters a stable vaporization interval in the determined vaporization time in response to the heating rate being in a declining trend in the predetermined vaporization time (0073, otherwise, it is determined that dry-burn has not occurred).
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, Lou teaches an electronic device, comprising: a memory (Figs 1-3, storage unit 410, 0050); and a processor (main control unit 420, 0052) comprised in the controller (control component 400, 0036) of the vaporizer (aerosol generating article 20, 0034), the memory stores program instructions (0050, the storage unit also stores instructions), and the processor (420) is configured to read the program instructions from the memory (410) to execute the vaporization state recognition method of claim 1 (as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, 0053, 0072).
With respect to the limitations of claim 8, Lou teaches the electronic device comprises the vaporizer (aerosol generating article 20), the vaporizer comprises the atomizing sheet (heating component 300, 0038) and a temperature characteristic component (temperature sensor, 0039, 0049), and the temperature characteristic component is connected to the processor (420) and is configured to detect a temperature of the atomizing sheet (0039, 0049).
With respect to the limitations of claim 10, Lou teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable mediums (Figs 1-3, storage unit 410, 0050) having processor-executable instructions stored thereon (0050, the storage unit also stores instructions), the processor-executable instructions, when executed, facilitate the vaporization state recognition method of claim 1 (0053, 0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Luo (WO2019192226) as applied to claims 1, 7 and 8, further in view of Davis (US 2021/0401061).
With respect to the limitations of claim 9, Lou discloses a temperature characteristic component but is silent to the temperature characteristic component comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermistor or a negative temperature coefficient thermistor. However, Davis discloses the temperature characteristic component comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermistor or a negative temperature coefficient thermistor (Fig 43, 0578, the PTC thermistor (RPTC) is thermally connected to the atomizer; 0579) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the electronic device of Lou having a atomizing sheet and temperature characteristic component connected to the processor silent to the type of temperature characteristic component with the temperature characteristic component comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermistor or a negative temperature coefficient thermistor of Davis for the purpose of using a known temperature sensor configuration that allows for regulation of power supplied to a heating element based on an increase or decrease in resistance of the sensor (0579), thereby improving the overall versatility of the device.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 3 and 5-8 have been amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendments to claims 1 and 5, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 with respect to the cited prior art not disclosing the claim 1 and 6 amendments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued on pages 7-8 about claims 1 and 6 that Lou fails to disclose the limitations directed to “a changing trend of the heating rate in a predetermined vaporization time; the heating rate being in an increasing trend in the predetermined vaporization time; the heating rate being in a declining trend in the predetermined vaporization time” because Lou fails to disclose that the changing trend reflects a second-order analysis of the temperature profile and how the heating rate itself evolves over time, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lou fully discloses obtaining, by the controller, a changing trend of the heating rate in a predetermined vaporization time (0073, heating is performed at a certain power (e.g., maximum power) for a certain time (e.g., 80ms), the temperature of the resistance wire is detected, and the temperature change is calculated (equivalent to the slope of the temperature rise curve)); determining, by the controller, that the atomizing sheet is abnormal or the vaporizer is in a dry heating state in response to the heating rate being in an increasing trend in the predetermined vaporization time (0073, if the temperature change rate exceeds a threshold, dry-burn is determined); and determining, by the controller, that the vaporizer enters a stable vaporization interval in the determined vaporization time in response to the heating rate being in a declining trend in the predetermined vaporization time (0073, otherwise, it is determined that dry-burn has not occurred) as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 6 above.
As discussed in figure 4 and paragraphs 0071-0073, a dry burning detection method based on if the temperature change rate exceeds a threshold (0073) is continuously checked during use of the electronic cigarette and based on whether the temperature change rate trends up or down according to a threshold rate, a dry burn condition is detected, therefore Lou fully discloses the recited claim limitations. Additionally, the claims do not require that a changing trend equated to a second-order analysis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 2/11/2026