DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species 1 (figures 1-5, claims 1-14, 21-29, 32, 34-36, 39 and 41) in the reply filed on 10/24/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1-13, 21-22, 25-29, 32, 35-36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20200194167).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses a body (see figure 4) including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figure 4); a coil (300) disposed in the body and including a coil pattern having a plurality of turns (see figure 4);a first lead-out portion (312) disposed in the body and connected to one end of the coil (see figures 4-5); a second lead-out portion (322) disposed in the body and connected to the other end of the coil (see figures 4-5); a first dummy lead-out portion (313) and a second dummy lead- out portion (323) disposed in the body and spaced apart from the coil (see figures 4-5); a first external electrode disposed (500) on the first surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion(see figures 4-5); and a second external electrode (600) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion (322), wherein a coil pattern closest to the first surface among the coil pattern disposed in a region between the first lead-out portion and the first dummy lead-out portion is connected to the first lead-out portion (see figures 4-5), and a coil pattern closest to the first surface among the coil pattern disposed in a region between the second lead- out portion and the second dummy lead-out portion is connected to the second lead-out portion(see figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses a wherein a central axis of the coil is parallel to the first surface of the body.
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses a support member (200) on which the coil is disposed.
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses the support member (200) is disposed perpendicularly to the first surface of the body.
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses wherein the coil includes first and second coil patterns (310/320) respectively disposed on one surface and the other surface of the support member, and a via (330) connecting the first and second coil patterns.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses wherein the coil includes first and second coil patterns (310/320) respectively disposed on one surface and the other surface of the support member, and a via (330) connecting the first and second coil patterns.
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses wherein the via passes through the support member to connect ends of respective innermost turns of the first and second coil patterns.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses wherein the first lead-out portion (312) and the second dummy lead-out portion (323) are respectively exposed to the first surface of the body (see figures 4-6) and connected to the first external electrode (500), and the second lead-out portion (322) and the first dummy lead-out portion (313) are respectively exposed to the first surface of the body (figures 4-6) and connected to the second external electrode (600).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses wherein the first lead-out portion (312) and the second dummy lead-out portion (323) are spaced apart from each other about the support member (200) and the second lead-out portion (322) and the first dummy lead- out portion (313) are spaced apart from each other about the support member (200).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. (para 0062) discloses wherein the first lead-out portion and the second dummy lead-out portion are connected to each other through a first connection via passing through the support member.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. (para 0062) discloses wherein the second lead-out portion and the first dummy lead-out portion are connected to each other through a second connection via passing through the support member.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses wherein on the one surface of the support member, the first dummy lead-out portion and the first lead-out portion are sequentially disposed in a direction in which an outermost turn of the first coil pattern is wound from the inside to the outside, and on the other surface of the support member, the second dummy lead-out portion and the second lead-out portion are sequentially disposed in a direction in which an outermost turn of the second coil pattern is wound from the inside to the outside.
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. (figures 4-5) discloses wherein an outermost turn of the coil includes a first connection pattern corresponding to the region between the first lead- out portion and the first dummy lead-out portion.
Regarding claim 21, Lee et al. (figures 4-5) discloses wherein the outermost turn of the coil further includes a second connection pattern corresponding to a region between the second lead-out portion and the second dummy lead-out portion (see figure 4), and the first and second connection patterns are disposed on both surfaces of the support member (see figure 4), and at least partially overlap each other around the support member when viewed in a projection in a direction of a central axis of the coil. (see figure 4)
Regarding claim 22, Lee et al. (figures 4-5) discloses wherein each of the first and second dummy lead-out portions includes a lower surface exposed to the first surface of the body, and an upper surface opposing the lower surface, and upper surfaces of the first and second dummy lead-out portions are respectively inclined to face the coil.
Regarding claim 25, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other (see figure 4); a support member (200) disposed in the body (see figure 4), perpendicular to the first surface of the body (see figure 4); a coil (300) disposed on the support member and including a coil pattern having a plurality of turns (see figure 4); first and second lead-out portions (312/322) disposed in the body and respectively connected to one end and the other end of the coil (see figure 4); and first and second external electrodes (500/600) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first and second lead-out portions, respectively (see figure 4), wherein the first and second lead-out portions are respectively connected to an outermost turn of the coil and spaced apart from an inner turn closest to the outermost turn (see figure 4), and in a region adjacent to the first surface of the body (see figure 4), an outermost turn of the coil connected to the first lead- out portion and an outermost turn of the coil connected to the second lead-out portion partially overlap each other around the support member when viewed in a direction of a central axis of the coil (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 26, Lee et al. (para 0029) discloses wherein, a direction, perpendicular to the first direction, is defined as a second direction, and a direction, respectively perpendicular to the first and second directions, is defined as a third direction, and a maximum length of the coil component in the second direction is 1.1 mm or less, and a maximum width of the coil component in the third direction is 0.66 mm or less.
Regarding claim 27, Lee et al. (para 0029) discloses wherein a maximum thickness of the coil component in the first direction is 0.88 mm or less.
Regarding claim 28, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figure 4), a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction (see figure 4), and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction (see figure 4); a support member (200), disposed in the body(see figure 4); a coil (300), including a first coil pattern (310) having a plurality of first turns disposed on one surface of the support member(see figure 4), wherein the plurality of first turns are wound around an axis crossing the fifth surface and the six surface (see figure 4); a first lead-out portion (312), disposed in the body and connected to the first coil pattern only through a first connection pattern extending from the first lead-out portion (see figure 4); and a first external electrode (500) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion (see figure 4),, wherein the first connection pattern is disposed between the first surface of the body and a core of the coil (see figure 4), and extends across a center portion of the body located in the second direction (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 29, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses wherein the coil further includes a second coil pattern (320) having a plurality of second turns disposed on another surface of the support member (200); the coil component further comprises: a second lead-out portion (322) disposed in the body and connected to the second coil pattern only through a second connection pattern extending from the second lead-out portion (see figure 4); a via (330) disposed in the support member to connect the first and second coil patterns (see figure 4); and a second external (600) electrode disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion (see figure 4) and the second connection pattern is disposed between the first surface of the body and the core of the coil (see figure 4) and extends across the center portion of the body located in the second direction (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 32, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses wherein the first connection pattern extends parallel to the first surface.
Regarding claim 35, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figure 4), a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction (see figure 4), and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction (see figure 4); a coil (300) disposed in the body and including a first coil pattern (310) having a plurality of first turns wound outwards in a first rotating order in a sequence corresponding to an order of the fourth, second, third, and first surfaces (see figure 4); a first lead-out portion (312) extending from the first surface towards an interior of the body and connected to the first coil pattern only through a first connection pattern extending according to the first rotating order towards the first lead-out portion (see figure 4); and a first external electrode (500) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion (see figure 4), wherein the first external electrode is closer to the fourth surface than the third surface (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 36, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses a second coil pattern (312) having a plurality of second turns wound outwards in a second rotating order in a sequence corresponding to an order of the fourth, first, third, and second surfaces (see figure 4); the coil component further comprises: a second lead-out portion (322) disposed in the body and connected to the second coil pattern only through a second connection pattern extending from the second lead-out portion(see figure 4); a via (330) disposed in the support member (200) to connect the first and second coil patterns (see figure 4); and a second external electrode (600) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion (see figure 4) and the second external electrode is closer to the third surface than the fourth surface. (see figure 4)
Regarding claim 39, Lee et al. (figures 4-6) discloses wherein the first connection pattern extends parallel to the first surface.
2 Claims 1, 23-25, 28-29, 34-36, 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 10219248)(English translation)
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses a body (see figures 1-2) including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figures 1-2); a coil (310/320) disposed in the body and including a coil pattern having a plurality of turns (see figures 1-2);a first lead-out portion (410) disposed in the body and connected to one end of the coil (see figures 1-2); a second lead-out portion (420) disposed in the body and connected to the other end of the coil (see figures 1-2); a first dummy lead-out portion (620) and a second dummy lead- out portion (610) disposed in the body and spaced apart from the coil (see figures 1-3); a first external electrode disposed (810) on the first surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion(see figures 1-3); and a second external electrode (820) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion (see figures 1-3), wherein a coil pattern closest to the first surface among the coil pattern disposed in a region between the first lead-out portion and the first dummy lead-out portion is connected to the first lead-out portion (see figure 2), and a coil pattern closest to the first surface among the coil pattern disposed in a region between the second lead- out portion and the second dummy lead-out portion is connected to the second lead-out portion(see figure 2).
Regarding claim 23, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses wherein the body further includes a third surface and a fourth surface connecting the first surface and the second surface and opposing each other (see figures 1-2), and at least one of the first and second lead-out portions and the first and second dummy lead-out portions includes an anchor part (4101/4201) protruding toward one of the third surface and the fourth surface of the body. (see figures 4-5 and page 6).
Regarding claim 24, Kim et al. (figures 4-5 and page 6) discloses wherein the anchor part protrudes toward the second surface of the body.
Regarding claim 25, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other (see figures 1-2); a support member (200) disposed in the body (see figures 1-2), perpendicular to the first surface of the body (see figures 1-2); a coil (310/320) disposed on the support member and including a coil pattern having a plurality of turns (see figures 1-2); first and second lead-out portions (410/420) disposed in the body and respectively connected to one end and the other end of the coil (see figures 1-2); and first and second external electrodes (810/820) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first and second lead-out portions, respectively (see figures 1-2), wherein the first and second lead-out portions are respectively connected to an outermost turn of the coil and spaced apart from an inner turn closest to the outermost turn (see figures 1-2), and in a region adjacent to the first surface of the body (see figures 1-2), an outermost turn of the coil connected to the first lead- out portion and an outermost turn of the coil connected to the second lead-out portion partially overlap each other around the support member when viewed in a direction of a central axis of the coil (see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figures 1-2), a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction (see figures 1-2), and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction (see figures 1-2); a support member (200), disposed in the body(see figures 1-2); a coil (310/320), including a first coil pattern (310) having a plurality of first turns disposed on one surface of the support member(see figures 1-2), wherein the plurality of first turns are wound around an axis crossing the fifth surface and the six surface (see figures 1-2); a first lead-out portion (410), disposed in the body and connected to the first coil pattern only through a first connection pattern extending from the first lead-out portion (see figures 1-2); and a first external electrode (810) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion (see figures 1-2),, wherein the first connection pattern is disposed between the first surface of the body and a core of the coil (see figures 1-2), and extends across a center portion of the body located in the second direction (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 29, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses wherein the coil further includes a second coil pattern (320) having a plurality of second turns disposed on another surface of the support member (200); the coil component further comprises: a second lead-out portion (420) disposed in the body and connected to the second coil pattern only through a second connection pattern extending from the second lead-out portion (see figures 1-2); a via (120) disposed in the support member to connect the first and second coil patterns (see figures 1-2); and a second external (820) electrode disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion (see figures 1-2) and the second connection pattern is disposed between the first surface of the body and the core of the coil (see figure 2) and extends across the center portion of the body located in the second direction (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 34, Kim et al. (figures 4-5 and page 6) discloses wherein the first lead-out portion includes an anchor part protruding toward one of the third surface and the fourth surface of the body.
Regarding claim 35, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figures 1-2), a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction (see figures 1-2), and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction (see figures 1-2); a coil (310/320) disposed in the body and including a first coil pattern (310) having a plurality of first turns wound outwards in a first rotating order in a sequence corresponding to an order of the fourth, second, third, and first surfaces (see figures 1-2); a first lead-out portion (410) extending from the first surface towards an interior of the body and connected to the first coil pattern only through a first connection pattern extending according to the first rotating order towards the first lead-out portion (see figures 1-2); and a first external electrode (810) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion (see figures 1-2), wherein the first external electrode is closer to the fourth surface than the third surface (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 36, Kim et al. (figures 1-12 and pages 2-12) discloses a second coil pattern (312) having a plurality of second turns wound outwards in a second rotating order in a sequence corresponding to an order of the fourth, first, third, and second surfaces (see figures 1-2); the coil component further comprises: a second lead-out portion (420) disposed in the body and connected to the second coil pattern only through a second connection pattern extending from the second lead-out portion(see figures 1-2); a via (120) disposed in the support member (200) to connect the first and second coil patterns (see figures 1-2); and a second external electrode (6820) disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion (see figures 1-2) and the second external electrode is closer to the third surface than the fourth surface. (see figures 1-2)
Regarding claim 39, Kim et al. (figures 1-2) discloses wherein the first connection pattern extends parallel to the first surface.
Regarding claim 41, Kim et al. (figures 4-5 and page 6) discloses wherein the first lead-out portion includes an anchor part protruding toward one of the third surface and the fourth surface of the body
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20200194167).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. (figures 4-6 and para 0059-0064) discloses wherein the body further includes a third surface and a fourth surface connecting the first surface and the second surface and opposing in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 4). Para 0029 of Lee et al. discloses a teaching wherein the coil body of Lee et al can be design ed to have various length/width/thickness combinations but does not disclose a ratio Lc/Lb of a length Lc of the first connection pattern in the second direction to a length Lb of the body in the second direction is 0.35 or more and 0.90 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to ratio Lc/Lb of a length Lc of the first connection pattern in the second direction to a length Lb of the body in the second direction is 0.35 or more and 0.90 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Such as to allow for a compact inductive design, thereby saving valuable space on the printed circuit board while also saving in production cost in regards to time and material needed to make the inductive device.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837