Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received 12/08/2025:
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application. Claims 1,3,5-6,13,15,17, and 19-20 have been amended.
The objection to the drawings has been overcome in light of amended Figures 5-6.
The previous rejections have been overcome in light of the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 recites “…wherein the venting guide unit includes a material that is hardened by heat generated from the cell case”. The instant disclosure teaches “the venting guide unit 400 may include a material that is hardened due to heat conduction generated as the internal temperature of the cell case 300 rises. As an example, the venting guide unit 400 may include clay that becomes hard when being heated for a specific time, but is not limited thereto” (P59). However, no temperature, composition/phase of the material of the venting guide unit prior to heat generation, or method is taught and thus the hardening can happen as an initial step or at any other point. In light of the instant disclosure, the venting guide unit is intended to keep the cell sealed, therefore forcing generated gas to be discharged from a fragile spot/vent/predetermined region. Accordingly, if a venting guide unit is a structure that remains sealed, forcing gas to exhaust from a predetermined region, such as a tape that is inherently thermoset as a thermoplastic will not remain sealed), the limitation will be met. MPEP 2113 A thermoset, ceramic, etc. will meet the limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. (US 20150093608)
Regarding claim 1, Seong teaches a battery cell 100 comprising an electrode assembly 120; an electrode lead 132/134 connected to the electrode assembly 120,
a cell case 110 accommodating the electrode assembly 120, a first portion 122/124 of the electrode lead disposed within the cell case and a second portion 132/134 of the electrode lead extending away from the cell case 110 ((P58-62; Fig. 1-2), and
a venting guide unit, or frame 210 coupled to a first side of the cell case, the venting guide unit defining a U-shaped first slot to receive and secure at least a portion of the first side therewithin, wherein the unit/frame is integrally coupled to cover the outer circumference of the cells 100 (P65.70; Fig. 2-5), the second portion 132/134 of the electrode lead extending through an opening in the venting guide unit,
wherein the venting guide unit 210 is configured to induce a formation of a break region in the cell case 110 when an internal pressure of the cell case 110 exceeds a threshold pressure, the break region configured to rupture, or the sealing of the case is released based on the venting guide portion of the frame, and provide a venting channel 240 for discharge of venting gas (P65.77-80; Fig. 2-14). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.01
Regarding claim 3, Seong teaches the venting guide unit 410 is configured to induce channel through a predetermined region, the venting gas being discharged through the venting channel 440 (P65-67.70.77-79; Fig. 1-11).
Regarding claim 4, Seong teaches the cell case 110 includes an accommodation portion 112 and a sealing portion, the accommodation portion defining a volume to accommodate the electrode assembly 120 therein (P59), the sealing portion extending from the accommodation portion by a predetermined length, the portion of the first side disposed within the first slot of the venting guide unit includes the sealing portion (P59-62.65-66.70; Fig. 2-10).
Regarding claim 5, Seong teaches the venting channel 240/440 is located between the first side and a second side of the cell case adjacent the first side (P24-25; Fig. 3-12).
Regarding claim 10, Seong teaches a battery module, comprising a battery cell according to claim 1 (P38)
Regarding claim 11, Seong teaches a battery pack, comprising at least one battery module according to claim 10 (P38).
Regarding claim 12, Seong teaches a vehicle, comprising at least one battery pack according to claim 11 (P38-39).
Regarding claim 13, Seong teaches a battery cell 100 comprising an electrode assembly 120; a first electrode lead 132 and a second electrode lead 134 connected to the electrode assembly 120, a cell case 110 accommodating the electrode assembly 120,
a first venting guide unit, or frame 210 coupled to a first side of the cell case, the venting guide unit defining a U-shaped first slot to receive and secure at least a portion of the first side therewithin, wherein the unit/frame is integrally coupled to cover the outer circumference of the cells 100 (P23.65.70; Fig. 2-5), the second portion 132/134 of the electrode lead extending through an opening in the first venting guide unit,
wherein the first venting guide unit 210 is configured to induce a formation of a break region in the cell case 110 when an internal pressure of the cell case 110 exceeds a threshold pressure, the break region configured to rupture, or the sealing of the case is released based on the venting guide portion of the frame, and provide a venting channel 240 for discharge of venting gas (P65.77-80; Fig. 2-14).
Regarding claim 14, Seong teaches a second venting guide unit coupled to a second side of the cell case, the second side being opposite to the first side, or the frame forming a second venting guide on the opposite/second side of the cell case (P59-62.65-66.70; Fig. 2-10).
Regarding claim 15, Seong teaches the second venting guide unit, or second end of the frame, secures at least a portion of the second side therewithin, the second electrode lead, which may be positioned to protrude from the opposite side of the cell (P22-24), extending away from the cell case through the second venting guide unit, wherein the guide unit covers each side excluding a portion for the terminal to protrude (P22-24), the second venting guide unit being configured to discharge the venting gas through a predetermined region of the cell case as the internal pressure of the cell case increases, the predetermined region being located adjacent the second venting guide unit (P24-25.65-67.70.77-79; Fig. 1-11).
Regarding claim 16, Seong teaches a third venting guide unit coupled to a third side of the cell case extending between the first and second sides, or the side between the first and second sides covered by the unit (P24-25.65-67.70.77-79; Fig. 1-11).
Regarding claim 19, Seong teaches a battery cell 100 comprising an electrode assembly 120; a first electrode lead 132 and a second electrode lead 134 connected to the electrode assembly 120, a cell case 110 accommodating the electrode assembly 120,
a first venting guide unit, or frame 210 coupled to a first side of the cell case, the venting guide unit defining a U-shaped first slot to receive and secure at least a portion of the first side therewithin, wherein the unit/frame is integrally coupled to cover the outer circumference of the cells 100 (P23.65.70; Fig. 2-5), the second portion 132/134 of the electrode lead extending through an opening in the first venting guide unit,
a second venting guide unit coupled to a second side of the cell case, the second side being opposite to the first side, or the frame forming a second venting guide on the opposite/second side of the cell case (P59-62.65-66.70; Fig. 2-10), the second venting guide unit, or second end of the frame, secures at least a portion of the second side therewithin, the second electrode lead, which may be positioned to protrude from the opposite side of the cell (P22-24), extending away from the cell case through the second venting guide unit, wherein the guide unit covers each side excluding a portion for the terminal to protrude (P22-24), and a third venting guide unit coupled to a third side of the cell case extending between the first and second sides, or the side between the first and second sides covered by the unit (P24-25.65-67.70.77-79; Fig. 1-11), wherein the first venting guide unit 210 is configured to induce a formation of a break region in the cell case 110 when an internal pressure of the cell case 110 exceeds a threshold pressure, the break region configured to rupture, or the sealing of the case is released based on the venting guide portion of the frame, and provide a venting channel 240 for discharge of venting gas (P65.77-80; Fig. 2-14).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong as applied to at least claims 1 above, and further in view of Kritzer et al. (US 20160064707)
Regarding claim 2, Seong teaches the material of the venting guide unit is not particularly limited but may include thermoplastics (P33-35).
Seong is silent in teaching the venting guide unit includes a material that is hardened by heat generated from the cell case; however, Kritzer, in a similar field of endeavor related to venting of a cell (P60.69-71.116).
Kritzer teaches a frame including a layer of an inelastic body, such as a thermoset, to provide mechanical stability and having an advantage of low weight and cost as an alternative to a thermoplastic (P60.69-71.116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a material that is hardened by heat generated from the cell case, such as a thermoset, as taught by Kritzer, in the guide unit of Seong to provide a low weight, low cost frame with mechanical stability. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results are reasonably predictable. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. MPEP 2143 B Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.01
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong as applied to at least claim 5 above, and further in view of Rhee (US 20220021073).
Regarding claim 6, Seong teaches the venting channel can be formed in any direction, is not restricted, and may be selected such that in an array each channel is aligned (P23-28).
Seong in silent in teaching the venting channel is a corner formed between the first and second side of the cell case; however, Rhee, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches venting of battery cells (P13-14).
A venting channel is formed in a corner, between a first and second side of the cell case, or at a vertex which is the corner, a point of weakness, of the cell to discharge flame, gas and the like quickly to avoid explosion (P44-46.51-62; Fig. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the venting channel in a corner formed between the first side and a second side of the cell case of Seong, as taught by Rhee, to account for general pouch manufacture and have a quick discharge, avoiding explosion. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Regarding claim 7, modified Seong teaches including a lead film 140 disposed around the electrode lead, 132 the lead film 140 being disposed within the first slot of the venting guide unit (P60; Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, modified Seong teaches the venting guide unit is disposed around a portion of the electrode lead (P59-62.65-66.70; Fig. 2-10).
Regarding claim 9, modified Seong teaches the corners of the cell may be chamfered (Fig. 3.10.12). Rhee of modified Seong shows when the corner is used as the corners may be chamfered, wherein when used as the venting channel corner, it is shown chamfered, as a weakness point to induce the channel formation at a known weak vertex point delaying ignition (P53- 66; Fig. 2-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to chamfer the corner of modified Seong in view of Rhee to form the weak point of the seal at the corner vertex of the cell delaying ignition.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong as applied to at least claim 16 above, and further in view of Rhee (US 20220021073).
Regarding claim 17, Seong teaches the venting channel can be formed in any direction, is not restricted, and may be selected such that in an array each channel is aligned (P23-28).
Seong in silent in teaching the venting channel is a corner formed between the first and second side of the cell case; however, Rhee, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches venting of battery cells (P13-14).
A venting channel is formed in a corner, between a first and second side of the cell case, or at a vertex which is the corner, a point of weakness, of the cell to discharge flame, gas and the like quickly to avoid explosion (P44-46.51-62; Fig. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the venting channel in a corner formed between the first side and a second side of the cell case of Seong, as taught by Rhee, to account for general pouch manufacture and have a quick discharge, avoiding explosion. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Regarding claim 18, modified Seong teaches the corners of the cell may be chamfered (Fig. 3.10.12). Rhee of modified Seong shows when the corner is used as the corners may be chamfered, wherein when used as the venting channel corner, it is shown chamfered, as a weakness point to induce the channel formation at a known weak vertex point delaying ignition (P53- 66; Fig. 2-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to chamfer the corner of modified Seong in view of Rhee to form the weak point of the seal at the corner vertex of the cell delaying ignition.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong as applied to at least claim 19 above, and further in view of Rhee (US 20220021073).
Regarding claim 20, Seong teaches the venting channel can be formed in any direction, is not restricted, and may be selected such that in an array each channel is aligned (P23-28).
Seong in silent in teaching the venting channel is located at a first corner formed between the first and an adjacent fourth side of the cell case, the fourth side being opposite to the third side; however, Rhee, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches venting of battery cells (P13-14).
A venting channel is formed in a corner, between a first and adjacent side of the cell case, or at a vertex which is the corner, a point of weakness, of the cell to discharge flame, gas and the like quickly to avoid explosion (P44-46.51-62; Fig. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the venting channel in a corner formed between the first side and an adjacent side, such as the fourth side opposite to the third side of the cell case of Seong, as taught by Rhee, to account for general pouch manufacture and have a quick discharge, avoiding explosion. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the new claim limitations overcome the previous showing of obviousness. The amendments overcome the previous rejections. New and amended grounds of rejection are above set forth. New and amended grounds of rejection are necessitated by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Amanda Rosenbaum/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752