DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 9, 17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “the at least one wire terminal” lacks antecedent basis. It appear that --assembly-- should be added to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 3, line 1 insert --the-- before "clamping member."
In claim 9, “the at least one wire terminal” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 17, “the at least one wire terminal” lacks antecedent basis. It appear that --assembly-- should be added to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 20, line 2 insert --the-- before "clamping member".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reibke et al. (US 7,238,043).
Regarding claim 1, Reibke discloses an electrical wiring device (in Figure 1) comprising: a housing (5) having an interior and at least one wire receiving opening (3) that provides access from an exterior of the housing to the interior of the housing; and at least one wire terminal assembly (1, 2) positioned in the interior of the housing such that the at least one wire terminal assembly is accessible from the at least one wire receiving opening, the at least one wire terminal assembly includes a clamp brace (2) and a clamping member (1), the clamping member being configured to automatically be in a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace and to remain in the closed position until moved to an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamp brace and the clamping member or removed from the at least one wire terminal [assembly]; an actuator (23/6) as part of the electrical wiring device and extending at least partially from at least one actuator opening (22) in the housing, the actuator being operatively associated with the at least one wire terminal [assembly] and configured to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position.
Regarding claim 17, Reibke discloses an electrical wiring device comprising: a housing (5) having an interior and at least one wire receiving opening (3), wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow; and at least one wire terminal (1, 2) positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that the at least one wire terminal includes a clamp brace (2) and a clamping member (1), the clamping member being configured to automatically move to a closed position and remain in the closed position until moved to an open position, wherein when in the closed position a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and when in the open position the wire can be inserted between the clamp brace and the clamping member or removed from the at least one wire terminal [assembly]; an actuator (23/6) as part of the electrical wiring device and extending at least partially from at least one actuator opening (22) in the housing, the actuator being operatively associated with the at least one wire terminal [assembly] and configured to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Reibke discloses the clamping member comprising a spring (6).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Reibke discloses clamping member moving in a first direction to the closed position and in a second direction to the open position.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Reibke discloses the movement of the clamping member in the second direction being opposite the movement of the clamping member in the first direction.
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Reibke discloses the movement of the clamping member in the first direction and the second direction being substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Reibke discloses the movement of the clamping member in the first direction and the second direction being substantially linear.
Regarding claims 7 and 24, Reibke discloses that the wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire so that the clamping member presses the wire against the clamp brace.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reibke in view of Stromiedel (US 7,704,095).
Reibke discloses an electrical wiring device (in Figure 1) comprising: a housing (5) having an interior and at least one wire receiving opening (3) that provides access from an exterior of the housing to the interior of the housing; and at least one wire terminal assembly (1,2) positioned in the interior of the housing such that the at least one wire terminal assembly is accessible from the at least one wire receiving opening, the at least one wire terminal assembly includes a clamp brace (1) and a clamping member (2), the clamping member being configured to automatically be in a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace and to remain in the closed position until moved to an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamp brace and the clamping member or removed from the at least one wire terminal [assembly]; an actuator (23/6) as part of the electrical wiring device and extending at least partially from at least one actuator opening (22) in the housing, the actuator being operatively associated with the at least one wire terminal [assembly] and configured to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position.
Reibke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for a plurality of wire receiving openings nor a plurality of wire terminal assemblies. However, wiring devices with a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of wire terminal assemblies are well known in the art as evidenced by Stromiedel. Stromiedel discloses a wiring device Fig 2 with a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of wire terminal assemblies 22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the wiring device of Reibke by providing a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of wire terminal assemblies to as is well known as taught by Stromiedel.
Regarding claim 10, the clamping member of Reibke comprises a spring.
Regarding claim 11, clamping member of Reibke moves in a first direction to the closed position and in a second direction to the open position.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the movement of the clamping member of Reibke in the second direction is opposite the movement of the clamping member in the first direction.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the movement of the clamping member of Reibke in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the movement of the clamping member of Reibke in the first direction and the second direction is substantially linear.
Regarding claim 15, Reibke discloses the wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire so that the clamping member presses the wire against the clamp brace.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Please note that Reibke discloses an actuator (23/6) as part of the electrical wiring device and extending at least partially from at least one actuator opening (22) in the housing, the actuator being operatively associated with the at least one wire terminal [assembly] and configured to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position.
Please note that “as part” does not define any concrete structural connection between the actuator and the wiring device, but only that they function together. Thus, the actuator 23 meets the claim language.
Additionally, portion 6 where 23 touches can also be interpreted as the actuator, since the claim does not provide any structural limitation to distinguish from portion 6. Portion 6 extends partially (or fully) from the actuator opening in the housing.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833