Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes in view of U.S. Publication No. 20180027990 issued to Kroeker further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20130180047 issued to Veronneau.
Regarding claim 1,
Barnes discloses a convertible crib, comprising plural panels: (Barnes: FIG. 2 (200, 201)) at least one first stage configuration in the form of a bassinet … (Barnes: [0010] “[0010] FIG. 6 illustrates the present invention assembled as a mini-crib.” See also FIG. 6) at least one additional stage configuration in the form of a toddler bed, a day bed, a junior bed and/or a full-size crib, … and at least 1 or more panels being used in both the first and additional stage configurations (Barnes: [0035] “As shown in FIG. 6, the convertible bed assembly may be converted into a mini-size crib utilizing first base frame (200) of mattress support assembly (199), head board 20, footboard 22, first side panel 40, and second side panel 50.” See also [0037] “As shown in FIG. 6A, the convertible bed assembly may be converted into a full-size crib utilizing first base frame (200) and second base frame 201 of mattress support assembly (199), head board 20, footboard 22, first side panel 40, and second side panel 50.”)
Barnes does not appear to disclose having a length of not more than approximately 30 inches (762 mm) and a width of not more than approximately 20 inches (457 mm); having a length of at least approximately 54 inches and a width of at least approximately 30 inches;
However, Kroeker discloses having a length of not more than approximately 30 inches (762 mm) and a width of not more than approximately 20 inches (457 mm); (Kroeker: [0027] “ the bassinet can have a length ranging from about 20 inches to about 50 inches (e.g., about 22 inches to about 40 inches, from about 24 inches to about 35 inches, or from about 26 inches to about 31 inches). In some cases, the bassinet can have a height ranging from about 8 inches to about 15 inches (e.g., from about 9 inches to about 13 inches, or from about 10 inches to about 12 inches).)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the mini crib by adjusting dimensions as taught in Kroeker since it has been held in In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Barnes in view of Kroeker does not appear to disclose having a length of at least approximately 54 inches and a width of at least approximately 30 inches;
However, Veronneau discloses having a length of at least approximately 54 inches and a width of at least approximately 30 inches; (Veronneau: [0005] “For example, known in the art are North American standard cribs having an outside length of about 54 inches and an inside length of about 52 inches, which may be convertible into a double or full-sized bed having an outside width of about 54 inches. “)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the mini crib by adjusting dimensions as taught in Veronneau since it has been held in In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 5,
Barnes in view of Kroeker in view of Veronneau discloses the convertible crib of claim 1, comprising at least one further stage configuration selected from a group consisting of a non-full-sized crib, a non-full sized toddler bed, a non-full- sized day bed, and a non-full-sized crib, having a length of at least approximately 38 inches and a width of at least approximately 30 inches. (Barnes: FIG. 6A, the examiner notes that the length can be adjusted via the track, furthermore, changing the size of the dimensions of the crib does not perform differently than the prior art see claim 1 reasonings.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM C ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673