DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 under Sun and Hodge have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sun, Hodge, and the new prior art of Yu et al. (US 2023/0291030 A1, hereafter Yu). Yu is relied upon for teaching closed fluid channels with openings as required by the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN 102315499 A, hereafter Sun) in view of Hodge et al. (US 2016/0164149 A1, hereafter Hodge), and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2023/0291030 A1, hereafter Yu).
With regard to claim 1, Sun teaches a battery system having a heat-dissipation circulation structure, comprising:
a shell (housing 200) provided on one side thereof with a fluid injection port (inlet 211), and provided on the other side thereof with a fluid extraction port (outlet 231) [0040-0044, fig. 1b];
a battery module (battery pack 10 comprising cells 100), disposed in the shell, and located between the fluid injection port and the fluid extraction port, wherein the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells (cells 100) and a battery fixed holder (lower support surface 222) for accommodating and fixing the plurality of battery cells [0036-0044, fig. 1b];
a fluid channel located (first pipe 210) around the battery fixed holder (integral in shell 200 that surrounds lower support surface 222) and communicated with the fluid injection port (inlet 211) [0040-0044, fig. 1a-1b];
and a plurality of tubes (grooves 112) communicating with the battery fixed holder (via holes 221), respectively, wherein each of the plurality of tubes has a peripheral wall (sidewalls of grooves 112), the peripheral wall is provided with an upper end extended to the fluid channel and including an upper opening, and provided with a lower end [0040-0044, fig. 1b, fig. 2];
wherein the fluid channel is communicated with a space where the plurality of battery cells are located via the plurality of tubes [0040-0044, fig. 1b];
wherein a cold fluid (air at inlet 211) is injected via the fluid injection port, and flows into the space flows laterally toward the plurality of battery cells (in first pipe 210 and second pipe 230), absorbs heat from the plurality of battery cells to become a hot fluid (heat transfer) and the hot fluid is laterally discharged toward the fluid extraction port (in second pipe 230 to outlet 231) [0005, 0040-0048, fig. 1b, fig. 3].
Sun does not explicitly teach the tubes (grooves in fins 110) penetrate the fixed holder. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hodge teaches cooling fins that are inserted into base plates using protrusions [0032, fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the inserted protrusions of Hodge with the fins (containing grooves 112) and fixed holder of Sun for the benefit of securing the components together [Hodge 0032].
Sun teaches tubes with peripheral walls (grooves 112) [0040-0044, fig. 1b, fig. 2] but does not teach the tubes have closed peripheral walls with openings between the lower and upper end (central regions of the tubes). However, in the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches the use of tubes (circulation ducts 300) with closed peripheral walls and a plurality of openings (holes 310a and 310b) [0051-0054]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the closed walls and openings of Yu with the battery system of Sun for the benefit of minimizing a temperature difference and increasing life expectancy of batteries [Yu 0054]. When used with the battery of Sun the side openings of Yu would be capable of allowing a cold fluid to flow laterally towards the plurality of cells.
With regard to claim 2, Sun teaches the plurality of tubes (grooves 112) are the only outlets for the cold fluid flowed in the fluid channel (as seen in fig. 1a-b the grooves are the only openings in the vertical direction where the cells 100 are located) [0040-0044, fig. 1a-b].
With regard to claim 5, Sun teaches air that would be capable of forming a cold zone [0040-0044]. Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). See also MPEP § 2114.
The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With regard to claim 6, Sun teaches batteries that may charge and discharge and would be capable of forming a hot zone [0036-0040].
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Hodge, and Yu as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-6 above, and further in view of Drozdz et al. (US 2008/0280192 A1, hereafter Drozdz).
With regard to claim 3, Sun teaches a fluid channel (first pipe 210) and fluid injection port (inlet 211) that is the only inlet for cold fluid to be flowed in the fluid channel [0040-0044, fig. 1a-1b] but does not explicitly teach that the components contain guiding units including baffles. However, in the same field of endeavor, Drozdz teaches the use of baffles to distribute air [0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the baffles of Drozdz with the fluid channel of Sun for the benefit of designing a desired airflow pattern [Drozdz 0059].
With regard to claim 4, Sun teaches the fluid channel is composed of an upper plate (212), a pair of side plates (216 and 213), and a lower plate (215), the fluid channel is provided with an opening end (bottom) and provided with a closed end (top and sides) [0040-0044, fig. 1a-c].
Sun does not explicitly teach a mouth shaped channel, however this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would perform the same function and only require a change in shape. See MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Sun does not explicitly teach the upper ends of the tubes passed through the lower plate and the tubes (grooves 112) provided with an upper end in the fluid channel, however this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would perform the same function and only require a change in shape (shorter walls 220 and longer walls 216). See MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Sun teaches a fluid channel (first pipe 210) and fluid injection port (inlet 211) that is the only inlet for cold fluid to be flowed in the fluid channel [0040-0044, fig. 1a-1b] but does not explicitly teach that the components contain guiding units including baffles. However, in the same field of endeavor, Drozdz teaches the use of baffles to distribute air [0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the baffles of Drozdz with the fluid channel of Sun for the benefit of designing a desired airflow pattern [Drozdz 0059].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Hodge and Yu as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-6 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0102576 A1, hereafter Yamamoto).
With regard to claim 7, Sun teaches a fluid channel (first pipe 210) and fluid injection port (inlet 211) [0040-0044] but does not teach a blower. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto teaches the use of a blower with inlet (143a) and outlet (143c) ports [0060-0061]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the blower of Yamamoto with the channel and injection port of Sun for the benefit of being able to force a cooling fluid to circulate [Yamamoto 0033].
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Hodge, and Yu as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-6 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2014/0196964 A1, hereafter Hayashi).
With regard to claims 8-9 Sun teaches an injection port (inlet 211) and an extraction port (outlet 231) [0040-0044, fig. 1b] but does not explicitly teach blowing fans or exhaust fans at the injection and extraction ports. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches the use of blowers (fans) that may be located at inlet and outlet ducts [0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the blowers of Hayashi with the inlet and outlet of Sun for the benefit of driving air to adjust the temperature of batteries [Hayashi 0085].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Hodge, and Yu as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-6 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 111009702 A, hereafter Wang).
With regard to claim 10, Since the claim is drawn to a product it would not be limited by possible adjustments made during production (product by process) or use (intended use) and would only be limited by the resulting structure. Since the claim does not require a specific number of tubes or length of tubes Sun’s teaching of tubes with a length and number of tubes (grooves 112) per fins (110) [0040-0044, fig. 1b] would read on the claimed limitations. Sun does not explicitly teach the capability of adjustments. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches adjusting the diameter of cooling tubes [pg. 4 paragraph 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the diameter adjustment of Wang with the battery system of Sun for the benefit of to accelerate coolant flow and rapidly reduce temperature [Wang pg. 4 paragraph 5].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724