DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, directed towards claims 16-17 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds for rejection are made below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,5, 7-9, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giacomini (2011/0183222).
Regarding claim 1, Giacomini (G) discloses a system for generating a continuous heat supply from renewable energy comprising: a hydrogen generator (12, Figure 1, i.e., electrolyzer) to be electrically connected to a photovoltaic panel (4, [0022]) and to be thermally connected to a thermal loop, the thermal loop including: a solar thermal system ([0003]), a heat load (10) and a radiator ([0029], i.e., radiant type), and a catalytic combustion reactor (18, [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the solar thermal system ([0030]), the heat load (10), and the radiator ([0029-30]) are in thermal communication with one another via a heat exchange fluid (17, [0029,0033], circulation mandates a fluid).
Regarding claim 5, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a hydrogen fuel cell (19) electrically connected to the hydrogen generator (12, [0032], via 6,4, when renewable energy sources are not available) to provide electricity to the hydrogen generator.
Regarding claim 7, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1,furher comprising a hydrogen storage system (21, Figure 1) fluidly connected to the hydrogen generator (12) to store hydrogen generated by the hydrogen generator ([0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the hydrogen generator (12) comprises a proton exchange membrane (PEM) electrolyzer ([0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the thermal loop further includes a pump (16, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising an electricity storage system electrically (6) connected to the photovoltaic panel (4, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Giacomini (G) discloses a method of producing a continuous heat supply from renewable energy comprising: producing thermal energy via a solar thermal system ( [0030], Figure 1); generating hydrogen in a hydrogen generator (Via 12); producing thermal energy by combusting the generated hydrogen (Via 18); and providing the produced thermal energy to a heat load (via 17-10).
Regarding claim 17, Giacomini (G) discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the thermal energy produced by the solar thermal system is only produced when sunlight is received by the solar thermal system ([0022,0030], Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Giacomini (G) discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the thermal energy is provided to the heat load via a heat exchange fluid (17,[0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Giacomini (G) discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising releasing the produced thermal energy via a radiator or via the solar thermal system when the system is not receiving sunlight ([0029-0030). As a clarification, when solar energy is not available other sources of energy are utilized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giacomini (2011/0183222) and Fathi et al. (US 11,698,058).
Regarding claim 3, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 2, but not that the heat exchange fluid is a molten salt.
However, Fathi (F) discloses an energy harvester (Abstract) wherein the heat exchange fluid is a molten salt (C5, L50-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to select a coolant based on the application, molten salt is typically used in extremely high temperature applications, such as solar towers.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giacomini (2011/0183222) and Moreau (US 2012/0125029).
Regarding claim 4, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 2, but not that the heat exchange fluid is glycol.
However, Moreau (M) discloses a multi-energy system (Abstract) where the heat exchange fluid is glycol ([0279]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize glycol as a thermal transfer fluid due to its non- corrosive properties and lower vaporization and freezing properties than that of water.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giacomini (2011/0183222) and Yeh et al. (US 2009/0180765).
Regarding claim 6, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 1, but not that it comprises a DC/DC rectifier electrically connected to the photovoltaic panel and the hydrogen generator.
However, Yeh (Y) discloses a multiple-power storage system (Abstract) comprising a DC/DC rectifier (114) electrically connected to the photovoltaic panel and could be connected to the hydrogen generator ([0014], Figures 2 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a DC/DC rectifier within the circuit of Moreau in order to control/ stabilize the voltage to ensure proper functioning of the device.
Claims 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giacomini (2011/0183222) and Zhou et al. (US 2017/0120725).
Regarding claim 10, Giacomini (G) discloses the system of claim 9, but not that the pump is a heat pump.
However Zhou (Z) discloses a heating cycle (Abstract) wherein a heat pump (22, Figure 1) is used in heating circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a heat pump in the system to allow for creating cooled air to increase the comfort of the inhabitants.
Regarding claim 11 Giacomini (G), as modified, discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the heat pump (22) is electrically connected to the photovoltaic panel (G-4, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Giacomini (G), as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the solar thermal system is configured to operate as a radiator(18, Figure 1) when it is not generating heat.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762