DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclennan et al., Cochrane Database Syst Rev., 2004 Oct 18;2004(4):CD002978 in view of US 2003/0077297 (Chen et al.).
Maclennan et al. teaches the combined progesterone/estrogen as effective as estrogen alone in reducing hot flushes in postmenopausal women by the average of 77% (see page 10, col. 2, last two paragraphs).
Maclennan et al. does not expressly teach the administration of estradiol and progesterone and the dosages. Maclennan et al. does not expressly teach the herein claimed excipients. Maclennan et al. does not expressly teach the food consumption by the menopausal women. Maclennan et al. does not expressly teach the patient characteristics recited in the claims.
Chen et al. teaches a pharmaceutical formulation comprising one or more active agents that are fully solubilized (i.e., 100% solubilized), partially solubilized, or suspended in a vehicle (i.e., a solvent system) (Abstract) wherein the solvent system preferably comprises a triglyceride surfactant, including saturated polyglycolized glycerides such as Gelucire® 44/14 (i.e., lauroyl macrogol-32 glyceride or saturated polyglycolized glycerides) (para [0189], [0192], [0193], [0322], and Example 7 at para [0340]) as well as mono- and diglyceride surfactants such as Capmul® MCM (i.e., glyceryl caprylate/caprate) (para [0147] and Example 52 at para [0371]) and wherein the combination of progesterone and estradiol is used for hormone replacement therapy (para [0051]).
Chen et al. teaches the formulation wherein the hormone combination of estradiol and progesterone has a dosage strength preferably ranging from 0.5-2 mg of estradiol and 25-150 mg of progesterone [0366], including exemplary embodiments having 100 mg of progesterone [Examples 37 and 38] and 1 mg of estradiol (Examples 46 and 47), and that the amount of each can be modulated based on actual clinical need as well as other active agents in the composition (para [0366]; see also the examples at para [0360]).
Chen et al. further teaches the formulation wherein the hormones are suspended/solubilized in medium chain oils (e.g., Capryol® 90; Example 37 at [0358] and Example 43 at [0360]; [0362], including an embodiment where 1 mg of estradiol is solubilized in a liquid mixture (i.e., an amount sufficient to be substantially solubilized) containing Capryol® 90 (i.e., 100% of a monoglyceride ester of a caprylic acid) solubilizing agent (para [0362]).
Chen et al. teaches the formulation would reduce the effect of food on absorption and bioavailability of the active agent (see claim 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ estradiol and progesterone together, in the dosage herein claimed, to treat vasomotor symptoms in menopausal women. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the herein claimed excipients and formulation of estradiol/progesterone to treat vasomotor symptoms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer the composition with food.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ estradiol and progesterone together, in the dosage herein claimed, to treat vasomotor symptoms in menopausal women. It is well-known the estrogen/progesterone combination as effective in treating hot flushes. Employing the 100mg of progesterone and 0.5-2 mg of estradiol in the method of treating hot flushes would be reasonably expected to be effective. As for the employment of 1mg of estradiol, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the dosage range taught in the cited prior art encompasses that of the instant claims, prima facie case of obviousness exists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the herein claimed excipients and formulation of estradiol/progesterone to treat vasomotor symptoms. Employing the formulation and herein claimed excipients to deliver the actives (i.e., estradiol and progesterone) would be reasonably expected to impart beneficial effects such as solubilizing the hormonal actives.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the composition with food, because food won’t affect the absorption, therefore, regardless of whether the patients is taking the drug with food or not, the absorption and bioavailability will still be effective for treating hot flashes.
The examiner notes that the reduction of the hot flashes would be considered intrinsically present in the method of administering the estradiol/progesterone composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,987,237;
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 8,993,549;
Claims1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 8,633,178;
Claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 8,993,548;
Claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 10,639,375;
Claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,529,360 ;
Claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,166,963; or
Claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,110,099;
in view of Chen et al. and Maclennan et al.
Each of the conflicting patents teaches a composition comprising estradiol and progesterone in the herein claimed excipients.
The conflicting patents do not teach the method of treating vasomotor symptoms. The conflicting patents do not teach the exact dosage of estradiol and progesterone.
Maclennan et al. teaches the combined progesterone/estrogen as effective as estrogen alone in reducing hot flushes in postmenopausal women by the average of 77% (see page 10, col. 2, last two paragraphs).
Chen et al. teaches the formulation wherein the hormone combination of estradiol and progesterone has a dosage strength preferably ranging from 0.5-2 mg of estradiol and 25-150 mg of progesterone [0366], including exemplary embodiments having 100 mg of progesterone [Examples 37 and 38] and 1 mg of estradiol (Examples 46 and 47), and that the amount of each can be modulated based on actual clinical need as well as other active agents in the composition (para [0366]; see also the examples at para [0360]).
Chen et al. further teaches the formulation wherein the hormones are suspended/solubilized in medium chain oils (e.g., Capryol® 90; Example 37 at [0358] and Example 43 at [0360]; [0362], including an embodiment where 1 mg of estradiol is solubilized in a liquid mixture (i.e., an amount sufficient to be substantially solubilized) containing Capryol® 90 (i.e., 100% of a monoglyceride ester of a caprylic acid) solubilizing agent (para [0362]).
Chen et al. teaches the formulation would reduce the effect of food on absorption and bioavailability of the active agent (see claim 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ the estradiol/progesterone composition in the method of treating hot flashes.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the estradiol/progesterone composition in the method of treating hot flashes. It is well-known the estrogen/progesterone combination as effective in treating hot flushes. Employing the 100mg of progesterone and 0.5-2 mg of estradiol in the method of treating hot flushes would be reasonably expected to be effective. As for the employment of 1mg of estradiol, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The conflicting patents teach various range of the amounts to be in the composition, which encompass the herein claimed dosage of estradiol and progesterone. Prima facie case of obviousness exists in this case.
As for the food consumption in the patients, since food won’t affect the absorption, regardless of whether the patients is taking the drug with food or not, the absorption and bioavailability will still be effective for treating hot flashes.
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,846,648;
Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 8,846,649;
Claims 5-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,933,059;
Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 8,987,238;
Claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,006,222;
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,012,434;
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,114,145;
Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,114,146;
Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,301,920;
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,206,932;
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,675,288; or
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,806,740;
in view of Chen et al. and Maclennan et al.
Each of the conflicting patents teaches a method of treating menopausal symptoms by administering estrogen and progesterone together.
The conflicting patents do not expressly teach the method of treating vasomotor symptoms. The conflicting patents do not expressly teach the patients consuming food in the method. The conflicting patents do not expressly teach the exact excipients in the composition.
Maclennan et al. teaches the combined progesterone/estrogen as effective as estrogen alone in reducing hot flushes in postmenopausal women by the average of 77% (see page 10, col. 2, last two paragraphs).
Chen et al. teaches the formulation wherein the hormone combination of estradiol and progesterone has a dosage strength preferably ranging from 0.5-2 mg of estradiol and 25-150 mg of progesterone [0366], including exemplary embodiments having 100 mg of progesterone [Examples 37 and 38] and 1 mg of estradiol (Examples 46 and 47), and that the amount of each can be modulated based on actual clinical need as well as other active agents in the composition (para [0366]; see also the examples at para [0360]).
Chen et al. further teaches the formulation wherein the hormones are suspended/solubilized in medium chain oils (e.g., Capryol® 90; Example 37 at [0358] and Example 43 at [0360]; [0362], including an embodiment where 1 mg of estradiol is solubilized in a liquid mixture (i.e., an amount sufficient to be substantially solubilized) containing Capryol® 90 (i.e., 100% of a monoglyceride ester of a caprylic acid) solubilizing agent (para [0362]).
Chen et al. teaches the formulation would reduce the effect of food on absorption and bioavailability of the active agent (see claim 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ the estradiol/progesterone composition in the method of treating hot flashes.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the estradiol/progesterone composition in the method of treating hot flashes. It is well-known the estrogen/progesterone combination as effective in treating hot flushes. Employing the 100mg of progesterone and 0.5-2 mg of estradiol in the method of treating hot flushes would be reasonably expected to be effective. As for the employment of 1mg of estradiol, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The conflicting patents teach various range of the amounts to be in the composition, which encompass the herein claimed dosage of estradiol and progesterone. Prima facie case of obviousness exists in this case.
As for the food consumption in the patients, since food won’t affect the absorption, regardless of whether the patients is taking the drug with food or not, the absorption and bioavailability will still be effective for treating hot flashes.
Claims 1-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of copending Application No. 19/028, 531 (‘531) in view of Maclennan et al.
‘531 teaches a method of treating menopausal symptoms by employing a composition of 1mg of estradiol and 100mg of progesterone with the herein claimed excipients (see for example claim 33).
‘531 does not expressly teach a method of treating vasomotor symptoms.
Maclennan et al. teaches the combined progesterone/estrogen as effective as estrogen alone in reducing hot flushes in postmenopausal women by the average of 77% (see page 10, col. 2, last two paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the composition of ‘531 to treat vasomotor symptoms.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the composition of ‘531 to treat vasomotor symptoms. It is well-known the estrogen/progesterone combination as effective in treating hot flushes. Therefore, employing the 100mg of progesterone and 1 mg of estradiol in the method of treating hot flushes would be reasonably expected to be effective.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
No claims are allowed.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627