DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 is dependent on claim 11, which does not provide antecedent basis for “the first wireless device”. Therefore, in claim 15, the phrase “the first wireless device” should be amended to read “the wireless device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yue et al. [US20240260131A1, hereinafter YUE].
Regarding claim 11, YUE disclose:
A wireless device comprising: ([0157], “TX UE”, [0186] “UE A”)
one or more processors; (Fig. 22A, [0213], [0021] “one or more processors”) and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to ([0021] “memory”):
determine an active duration of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration of a second wireless device ([0157], “RX UE”, [0186], “UE B”) to transmit coordination information for inter user equipment (UE) coordination, ([0157] A Tx UE may align its transmit slot with its SL DRX active time (also referred to as SL Tx UE DRX active time). When SL DRX is also enabled at a Rx UE of the Tx UE, the Tx UE may also need to align its transmit slot or resource selection window with the SL DRX active time of the Rx UE (also referred to as SL Rx UE DRX active time. … … [0186] In Release-17 (and RAN1 #104b-e meeting), it was further agreed that two inter-UE coordination schemes, i.e., inter-UE coordination Scheme 1 and inter-UE coordination Scheme 2 as described below, are supported in Release-17. [0187] Inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1: [0188] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE B's transmission)).
wherein the coordination information indicates at least one of:
a set of resources for one or more sidelink transmissions; or ([0188] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE B's transmission)
a resource collision occurs between a first resource and a second resource; and
transmit, to the second wireless device and during the active duration, the coordination information. ([0157] A Tx UE may align its transmit slot with its SL DRX active time (also referred to as SL Tx UE DRX active time). When SL DRX is also enabled at a Rx UE of the Tx UE, the Tx UE may also need to align its transmit slot or resource selection window with the SL DRX active time of the Rx UE (also referred to as SL Rx UE DRX active time. … [0188] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE B's transmission)
{Examiner Note: Because Tx UE aligns its transmit slot or resource selection window with the SL DRX active time of the Rx UE, so the active time is determined.}
Regarding claim 20, YUE disclose:
A system comprising:
a first wireless device comprising: ([0157], “TX UE”, [0186] “UE A”)
one or more first processors; and (Fig. 22A, [0213], [0021] “one or more processors”)
first memory ([0021] “memory”) storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause first wireless device to:
determine an active duration of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration of a second wireless device ([0157], “RX UE”, [0186], “UE B”) to transmit coordination information for inter user equipment (UE) coordination, ([0157] A Tx UE may align its transmit slot with its SL DRX active time (also referred to as SL Tx UE DRX active time). When SL DRX is also enabled at a Rx UE of the Tx UE, the Tx UE may also need to align its transmit slot or resource selection window with the SL DRX active time of the Rx UE (also referred to as SL Rx UE DRX active time. … [0186] In Release-17 (and RAN1 #104b-e meeting), it was further agreed that two inter-UE coordination schemes, i.e., inter-UE coordination Scheme 1 and inter-UE coordination Scheme 2 as described below, are supported in Release-17. [0187] Inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1: [0188] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE B's transmission)).
wherein the coordination information indicates at least one of:
a set of resources for one or more sidelink transmissions; or ([0188] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE B's transmission)
a resource collision occurs between a first resource and a second resource; and
transmit, to the second wireless device and during the active duration, the coordination information; and ([0157] A Tx UE may align its transmit slot with its SL DRX active time (also referred to as SL Tx UE DRX active time). When SL DRX is also enabled at a Rx UE of the Tx UE, the Tx UE may also need to align its transmit slot or resource selection window with the SL DRX active time of the Rx UE (also referred to as SL Rx UE DRX active time. … [0188] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE B's transmission)
the second wireless device ([0157], “RX UE”, [0186], “UE B”) comprising:
one or more second processors; and (FIG. 22A [0213], [0021] “one or more processors”)
second memory (FIG. 22A [0213], [0021] “memory”) storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the second wireless device to:
receive the coordination information during the active duration.
{Examiner Note: Because UE A sends coordination information to UE B during the active time of UA B ([0157]), UE B receives the coordination information during the active duration.}
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of claim 1 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 11. Therefore claims 1 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 11.
Regarding claim 12, YUE discloses all limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, YUE also discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
determine to transmit the coordination information based on sidelink control information (SCI) of the one or more sidelink transmissions ( [0192] The coordination information sent from UE A to UE B includes the presence of expected/potential and/or detected resource conflict on the resources indicated by UE B's SCI., ...) enabling hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback associated with the one or more sidelink transmissions. ([0088] The following information is transmitted by means of the SCI format 2-B: … [0094] HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator—1 bit as defined in clause 16.3 of TS 38.213.)
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of claim 2 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 12. Therefore claims 2 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Park et al. [US20220191851A1, hereinafter PARK].
Regarding claim 13, YUE discloses all limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, but YUE does not disclose:
- wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to determine not to transmit a second coordination information based on sidelink control information (SCI) of the one or more sidelink transmissions disabling HARQ feedback associated with the one or more sidelink transmissions.
However, PARK discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
determine not to transmit a second coordination information based on sidelink control information (SCI) of the one or more sidelink transmissions (Fig. 10, sleep mode between the 2nd and 3rd transmission, [0194] Referring to FIG. 10, the TX UE may select/reserve resources for up to three transmissions through the SCI, and the TX UE may inform the RX UE of the resources by indicating the resources through the SCI. The RX UE may check transmission scheduling information (i.e., resource scheduling information selected/reserved by the TX UE) included in the SCI transmitted by the TX UE, and through this, the RX UE may infer/determine time(s) (e.g., slot(s)) for which the TX UE performs three transmissions (e.g., 1.sup.st PSSCH, 2.sup.nd PSSCH, 3.sup.rd PSSCH). Accordingly, as in the embodiment of FIG. 10, the RX UE may perform a power saving operation by transitioning to a SL sleep mode from a time when reception of the 1.sup.st transmission is completed to a time when the 2.sup.nd transmission is received. That is, the RX UE may operate the SL DRX HARQ RTT timer from a time when reception of the 1.sup.st transmission is completed to a time when the 2.sup.nd transmission is received. In addition, the RX UE may perform a power saving operation by transitioning to the SL sleep mode from a time when reception of the 2.sup.nd transmission is completed to a time when the 3.sup.rd transmission is received. That is, the RX UE may operate the SL DRX HARQ RTT timer from a time when reception of the 2.sup.nd transmission is completed to a time when the 3.sup.rd transmission is received. …disabling HARQ feedback associated with the one or more sidelink transmissions ([0120] The following information is transmitted by means of the SCI format 2-A: [0121] HARQ process number—4 bits [0122] New data indicator—1 bit [0123] Redundancy version—2 bits [0124] Source ID—8 bits [0125] Destination ID—16 bits [0126] HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator—1 bit [0127] Cast type indicator—2 bits as defined in Table 7 [0128] CSI request—1 bit.)
{Examiner Note 1: When the RX UE goes to SL sleep mode based on the SCI received from the TX UE, it has determined that there is no conflict and thus, no need to transmit anything, including the second coordination information.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE to incorporate the teaching of PARK to provide the wireless device to determine not to transmit a second coordination information based on sidelink control information (SCI) of the one or more sidelink transmissions disabling HARQ feedback associated with the one or more sidelink transmissions. The modification provides for power saving operation of a UE in SL DRX mode (PARK, [0164]).
Regarding claim 3, the limitation of claim 3 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 13. Therefore claims 3 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 13.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE and PARK as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sarkis et al. [US20220240265A1, hereinafter SARKIS].
Regarding claim 14, YUE and PARK discloses all limitations of claim 13 as discussed above, but YUE and PARK do not disclose:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a priority value of the one or more sidelink transmissions being greater than a threshold.
However, SARKIS discloses:
- wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
- determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a priority value of the one or more sidelink transmissions being greater than a threshold. ([0031] In some aspects, the inter-UE coordination information message component 198 may be configured to determine a priority level for a sidelink transmission comprising inter-UE coordination information, to transmit the sidelink transmission with an indication of the determined priority level. … [0032] The UE 104 may be configured to transmit the higher priority inter-UE coordination information and to skip transmission of the lower priority sidelink message. The UE 104 may be configured to transmit the higher priority sidelink message and to skip transmission of the lower priority inter-UE coordination information.)
{Examiner Note 1: The priority level is considered the “threshold”}.
{Examiner Note 2: Since higher priority tasks are transmitted and lower priority ones are skipped, it suggests that a threshold exists for comparing priorities. The determination is made based on this threshold which represents the priority level.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE and PARK to incorporate the teaching of SARKIS to provide the wireless device to determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a priority value of the one or more sidelink transmissions being greater than a threshold. The modification improves resource selection for sidelink transmissions. (SARKIS, [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, YUE and PARK discloses all limitations of claim 13 as discussed above, but YUE and PARK do not disclose:
further comprising determining not to transmit the second coordination information based on the second wireless device being in a sidelink transmission duration.
However, SARKIS discloses:
further comprising determining not to transmit the second coordination information based on the second wireless device (Fig. 8, “UE 806” and “UE 804”) being in a sidelink transmission duration. (Fig. 8, the UE 802 (the device) may skip transmission of coordination information 808A to the UE 806 (second UE) while UE 806 is transmitting Sidelink transmission 810, [0069]: “Although FIG. 8 illustrates overlapping communication with two different UEs 804 and 806, the aspects may be similarly applied for overlapping transmissions with the same sidelink UE. FIG. 8 illustrates a first of a conflict with half-duplex operation in which the UE 802 may not receive the sidelink transmission 810 while transmitting the inter-UE coordination information 808A. FIG. 8 illustrates a second example conflict with half-duplex operation in which the UE 802 may not transmit the sidelink transmission 812 while receiving the inter-UE coordination information 808B. The UE 802 may determine to transmit one transmission and skip reception of the other or may determine to receive one sidelink transmission and skip transmission of the other.”)
{Examiner Note: Based on [0069] which mentions “Although FIG. 8 illustrates overlapping communication with two different UEs 804 and 806, the aspects may be similarly applied for overlapping transmissions with the same sidelink UE”, UEs 804 and 806 can be considered a single UE}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE and PARK to incorporate the teaching of SARKIS to provide the wireless device to determining not to transmit the second coordination information based on the second wireless device being in a sidelink transmission duration. The modification improves resource selection for sidelink transmissions. (SARKIS, [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, 7, the limitation of claim 4, 7 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 14, 17. Therefore claims 4, 7 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 14, 17.
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE and PARK as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hong et al. [US20230141004A1, hereinafter HONG].
Regarding claim 15, YUE and PARK discloses all limitations of claim 13 as discussed above, but YUE and PARK do not disclose:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a remaining battery level of the first wireless device being lower than a threshold.
However, HONG discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a remaining battery level of the first wireless device being lower than a threshold. ( [0149] For example, if a UE is vulnerable to battery consumption (and/or has the amount of remaining battery less than a pre-configured threshold) the UE may be configured to: [0150] not perform an operation of transmitting (and/or receiving) an inter-UE coordination message.)
{Examiner Note: The statement in [0149] is true for any UE, including the wireless device}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE to incorporate the teaching of HONG to provide to determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a remaining battery level of the first wireless device being lower than a threshold. The modification enables performing SL communication efficiently (HONG, [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, the limitation of claim 5 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 15. Therefore claims 5 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 15.
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE and PARK as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. [US20230137259A1, hereinafter HWANG].
Regarding claim 16, YUE and PARK discloses all limitations of claim 13 as discussed above, but YUE and PARK does not disclose:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the one or more sidelink transmissions being shorter than a threshold.
However, HWANG discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to
determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the one or more sidelink transmissions being shorter than a threshold. ([0346] Here, the assistance information/additional information may mean inter-UE coordination information, … [0349] For example, the UE-A may transmit the assistance information within a specific window after a time requested by the UE-B. Alternatively, for example, the UE-A may transmit the assistance information within a specific time from a time requested by the UE-B. For example, a packet delay budget (PDB) for the assistance information transmitted by the UE-A may be configured based on a time at which the UE-A receives a request from the UE-B. The UE-B may expect that the UE-A transmits the assistance information within the PDB or a remaining PDB for the assistance information. … [0437] According to an embodiment, the inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted within a predefined time. Specifically, the inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted within the predefined time from a time at which the inter-UE coordination information is triggered (by the request or conditions other than the request). The predefined time may be determined based on a packet delay budget (PDB). For example, the PDB may be configured/determined based on a time at which the request is received. For example, the PDB may be configured/determined based on a time at which the inter-UE coordination information is triggered by conditions other than the request. For example, information related to the PDB may be pre-configured. For example, the information related to the PDB may be included in the request. The information related to the PDB may be based on an embodiment related to PDB information about the assistance information described above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE to incorporate the teaching of HWANG to provide the wireless device to determine not to transmit the second coordination information based on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the one or more sidelink transmissions being shorter than a threshold. The modification allows a UE to avoid resource collisions. (HWANG, [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of claim 6 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 16. Therefore claims 6 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 16.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE and PARK as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yang et al. [US20220046746A1, hereinafter YANG].
Regarding claim 18, YUE and PARK discloses all limitations of claim 13 as discussed above, but YUE and PARK do not disclose:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to determine not to transmit the second coordination information when the second wireless device is outside of the active duration, wherein the second wireless device does not perform sidelink reception during a time duration.
However, YANG discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to determine
not to transmit the second coordination information when the second wireless device is outside of the active duration ([0141] “DRX off duration”), wherein the second wireless device does not perform sidelink reception during a time duration. (0141] The communication include performing one or more of sidelink transmission, sidelink reception, or sidelink sensing during the DRX ON duration and to skip performing the one or more of the sidelink transmission, the sidelink reception, or the sidelink sensing during a DRX OFF duration of the DRX pattern. For example, as illustrated at 1706, the UE may perform the sidelink reception during the DRX ON duration and skip the sidelink reception during a DRX OFF duration. …. As another example, as illustrated at 1710, the UE may transmit, during the DRX ON duration, a message to a second wireless device reserving the resource that occurs during the DRX ON duration and refrain from reserving resources outside the DRX ON duration.)
{Examiner Note 1: Based on [0141], any UE, including the second wireless device may skip or not receive a sideink transmission during DRX OFF duration.}
{Examiner Note 2: Based on [0141], any UE, including the (first) wireless device, may skip any sideink transmission, including the transmission of second coordination information, during DRX OFF duration.}
{Examiner Note 3: DRX OFF duration is considered “a time duration”}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE and PARK to incorporate the teaching of YANG to provide the wireless device to determine not to transmit the second coordination information when the second wireless device is outside of the active duration, wherein the second wireless device does not perform sidelink reception during a time duration. The modification provides for reduction on power consumption by a UE. (YANG, [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of claim 8 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 18. Therefore claims 8 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 18.
Regarding claim 10, YUE and PARK discloses all limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, but YUE and PARK do not disclose:
wherein the time duration is for a sidelink resource pool.
However YANG discloses:
wherein the time duration is for a sidelink resource pool. ([0074] For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE and PARK to incorporate the teaching of YANG to provide wherein the time duration is for a sidelink resource pool. The modification provides for reduction on power consumption by a UE. (YANG, [0053]).
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE, PARK and YANG as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Guo et al. [ US20240204926A1, hereinafter GUO].
Regarding claim 19, YUE, PARK and YANG discloses all limitations of claim 18 as discussed above, but the references do not disclose:
wherein the second wireless device not performing the sidelink reception comprises the second wireless device not decoding at least one of:
a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH);
a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH);
a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH);
a sidelink medium access control control element (MAC CE); or
a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message.
However, GUO discloses:
wherein the second wireless device not performing the sidelink reception comprises the second wireless device not decoding at least one of:
a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH);
a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); ([0066] For example, the receiving UE may transmit a PSFCH including a positive acknowledgement (ACK) that indicates that the receiving UE successfully received and decoded the PSSCH or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) that indicates that the receiving UE un-successfully received and/or decoded the PSSCH.)
a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH);
a sidelink medium access control control element (MAC CE); or
a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have modified YUE, PARK and YANG to incorporate the teaching of GUO to provide the second wireless device not performing the sidelink reception comprises the second wireless device not decoding at least one of:a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); a sidelink medium access control control element (MAC CE); or a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message. The modification improves detecting a collision between multiple different sidelink feedback channels in the same set of feedback channel resources. (GUO, [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, the limitation of claim 9 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 19. Therefore claims 9 is also rejected for similar reason set forth in claims 19.
Conclusion
/Z.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417