DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in fig. 3 of Ostby “As shown above, and when the ski (or "runner") of Ostby is elevated, from the first position shown above, the wheels "are below the runners and lift the same from the ground” (Col. 1, Lines 38-39 of Ostby). However, the spindle is now moved substantially ground forward such that its axis is closer to the vertical line of the axis of the front wheel. This is contrary to the present invention.”.
In response, Examiner notes that applicant’s claim requires structurally from amended claim 1: “a snow vehicle ski comprising … a bottom surface (48) … a portion of each one of the pair of in-line wheels (52, 54) extends below the bottom surface … a vertical line drawn downwardly from the central axis of the spindle (24) provides a reference point for setting the distances from the vertical lines drawn downwardly from the central axis of the front wheel (fig. 4) and from the central axis of the rear wheel (fig. 4); and wherein the distance between the central axis line of the front wheel (52) and the central axis of the vertical line of the spindle (24) is greater than the distance between the central axis line of the rear wheel (54) and the central axis of the vertical line of the spindle.” (Figs. 2 and 4 show the applicable structure.) As shown in Ostby (fig. 1), and agreed to by Applicant, Ostby teaches “a snow vehicle ski comprising … a bottom surface (seen in fig. 1) … a portion of each one of the pair of in-line wheels (front 13, rear 13) extends below the bottom surface … a vertical line drawn downwardly from the central axis of the spindle (25; seen in annotated fig. 1 below) provides a reference point for setting the distances from the vertical lines drawn downwardly from the central axis of the front wheel (front 13) and from the central axis of the rear wheel (rear 13) (structure seen in annotated fig. 1 below); and wherein the distance between the central axis line of the front wheel (front 13) and the central axis of the vertical line of the spindle (24) is greater than the distance between the central axis line of the rear wheel (54) and the central axis of the vertical line of the spindle.” (Seen in annotated fig. 1, below.) The fact that Ostby teaches of multiple positions for the wheels is irrelevant. Ostby teaches the limitations that are claimed in the invention.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/08/2022. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the spindle" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robillard (US 10,059,362), as cited by Applicant, in view of Ostby (US 2,468,271).
With respect to claim 1, Robillard discloses a snow vehicle ski comprising: a leading end portion (fig. 2; front portion of 150); a medial portion (fig. 2; middle portion of 150); a trailing end portion (fig. 2; end portion of 150); a top surface (fig. 2; top of 188); a bottom surface (fig. 2; bottom of 150): a spindle support (area of 188 where 190 is located; see fig. 2, col. 8, lines 58-67, col. 9 lines 1-14) extending upwardly from the top surface (fig. 2) and disposed at the medial portion of the ski (fig. 2); a spindle pivot point (128), the spindle pivot point (128) comprising an axis (fig. 2, col. 6, lines 28-40); a pair of in-line wheels (110, 112); wherein a portion of each one of the pair of in-line wheels (110, 112) extends below the bottom surface (fig. 2); wherein the pair of in-line wheels (110, 112) comprises a front wheel (110) and a rear wheel (112); wherein the front wheel (110) comprises an axis (fig. 6); wherein the rear wheel (112) comprises an axis (fig. 6); wherein a vertical line drawn downwardly from the central axis of the spindle (126) provides a reference point for setting the distances from the vertical lines drawn downwardly from the central axis of the front wheel (110) and from the central axis of the rear wheel (112). (Figs. 1-28, col. 4, lines 27-67, cols. 5-19.) Robillard is silent regarding the front and rear wheels at different distances from the axis of the spindle. Ostby teaches of the forwardly disposed front wheel (front 13; fig. 1) comprises an axis and the rearwardly disposed rear wheel (rear 13; fig. 1) comprises an axis; wherein a vertical line drawn downwardly from the central axis of the spindle (25) provides a reference point for setting the distances from the vertical lines drawn downwardly from the central axis of the front wheel (annotated fig. 1, above) and from the central axis of the rear wheel (annotated fig. 1, above); and wherein the distance between the central axis line of the front wheel (annotated fig. 1, above) and the central axis of the vertical line of the spindle (annotated fig. 1, above) is greater than the distance between the central axis line of the rear wheel (annotated fig. 1, above) and the central axis of the vertical line of the spindle (25) (annotated fig. 1, above). (Figs. 1-4, cols. 1-2.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Ostby into the invention of Robillard, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to hold the wheels in operative positions. (Col. 1, lines 38-44.)
With respect to claim 3, Robillard, as modified, discloses each of the pair of in-line wheels (110, 112) comprises a hard structure that is highly resistant to impact damage (col. 8, lines 35-57). (Figs. 1-28, col. 4, lines 27-67, cols. 5-19.) In addition, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a hard structure that is highly resistant to impact damage, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614