DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (US 20180001774) in view of Matsuda (US 20160250928).
Regarding claim 1, Murata teaches a power management apparatus (shown in figure 1)
comprising: an input device (figure 1 item 52 defined as a display);
a first battery (figure 1 item 10 defined as a main battery);
a converter connected to the first battery and configured to convert power charged in the first battery into power including a different magnitude (figure 1 item 20 a deboost DCDC converter converting power charged in the first (main) battery into a battery of a different (deboosted) magnitude);
a second battery connected to the converter and configured to perform charging thereof using the power transmitted from the converter (figure 1 item 22 defined as a sub battery connected to the converter item 20) ;
a distributor configured to distribute power of the first and the converter (figure 1 wherein a distributor, interpreted as a switch or relay, items SMR and 26 distribute the power of the main battery item 10, deboost converter item 20); and
a processor connected to the input device and the distributor and configured to perform control to be switched to an OFF mode when a preset time elapses from a start time point of a standby mode, and to perform control so that a time in the standby mode is extended when power extension time information is received through the input device before switching to the OFF mode (defined in paragraph [0039] wherein the charging ECU 50 releases the standby setting of the external charging (brings the standby setting into an off state).
Murata does not explicitly teach wherein a distributor configured to distribute power of the second battery.
Matsuda teaches wherein a distributor configured to distribute power of the second battery (shown in figure 2 a distributor, interpreted as a relay item 101, coupled to a second battery, auxiliary battery item 43. Paragraph [0068] teaches wherein the distribution of the auxiliary battery is controlled by the relay item 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata reference with the charging system of the Matsuda reference so that the vehicle may continue to operate normally when a battery is determined to be abnormal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0007] wherein maintaining vehicle operation is taught.
Figure 1 Murata teaches a vehicle system with a first and second battery and converters
Matsuda figure 2 shows a vehicle with a distributor between a second battery item 43 and a second load item 110
Regarding claim 2, Murata teaches the power management apparatus of claim 1, further including: a display and a communicator operatively connected to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to control the display to display an image of an OFF timer and an image of a button for changing setting information of the standby mode when the processor receives a user's absence signal through the communicator (paragraph [0050] teaches wherein the display displays various information of the timer and setting).
Regarding claim 10, Murata teaches a vehicle
comprising: an input device (figure 1 item 52 defined as a display);;
a display (figure 1 item 52 defined as a display);
a first battery (figure 1 item 10 defined as a main battery);
a drive motor connected to a wheel of the vehicle and driven using power of the first battery (shown in figure 1 defined as MG);
a converter connected to the first battery and configured to convert the power charged in the first battery into power including a magnitude different from a magnitude of the power of the first battery(figure 1 item 20 a deboost DCDC converter converting power charged in the first (main) battery into a battery of a different (deboosted) magnitude);
a second battery connected to the converter and configured to perform charging thereof using the power transmitted from the converter (figure 1 item 22 defined as a sub battery connected to the converter item 20);
a distributor configured to distribute power of the first and the converter (figure 1 wherein a distributor, interpreted as a switch or relay, items SMR and 26 distribute the power of the main battery item 10, deboost converter item 20); and
a processor connected to the distributor and configured to control the distributor to cut off the power supplied to the drive motor in a standby mode, and control the standby mode to be switched to an OFF mode when a preset time elapses from a start time point of the standby mode, wherein the processor is configured to extend a time for which the standby mode is performed or to control the power to be immediately turned off when power extension time information or an immediate off request signal is received by the processor through the input device before switching to the OFF mode while the standby mode is performed (defined in paragraph [0039] wherein the charging ECU 50 releases the standby setting of the external charging (brings the standby setting into an off state).
Murata does not explicitly teach wherein a distributor configured to distribute power of the second battery.
Matsuda teaches wherein a distributor configured to distribute power of the second battery (shown in figure 2 a distributor, interpreted as a relay item 101, coupled to a second battery, auxiliary battery item 43. Paragraph [0068] teaches wherein the distribution of the auxiliary battery is controlled by the relay item 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata reference with the charging system of the Matsuda reference so that the vehicle may continue to operate normally when a battery is determined to be abnormal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0007] wherein maintaining vehicle operation is taught.
Claims 3 and 14 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (US 20180001774) in view of Matsuda (US 20160250928) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Yashiro (US 20140088827).
Regarding claim 3, Murata and Matsuda teach the power management apparatus of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the image of the button includes an image of a power extension time button, an image of a standby mode maintenance button, and an image of an immediate power OFF button.
Yashiro teaches wherein the image of the button includes an image of a power extension time button, an image of a standby mode maintenance button, and an image of an immediate power OFF button (figures 4 – 12 show a display device with various images of vehicle control and communication including a power extension button, a standby maintenance button and an immediate power OFF button).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata and Matsuda reference with the charging system of the Yashiro reference so that the user of the vehicle may easily control the vehicle setting with a display device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0004] wherein controlling the vehicle with a display device is taught.
Yashiro shows a display device with various vehicle controls.
Regarding claim 14, Murata and Matsuda teach the vehicle of claim 10, but do not explicitly teach further including: a start button; and a pedal signal receiver configured to receive a pedal signal of a brake pedal of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to: switch the OFF mode to a ready mode when the processor receives a start ON signal through the start button and the pedal signal through the pedal signal receiver while performing the OFF mode; and switch the ready mode to the OFF mode when the processor receives a start OFF signal through the start button and the pedal signal through the pedal signal receiver while performing the ready mode.
Yashiro teaches further including: a start button; and a pedal signal receiver configured to receive a pedal signal of a brake pedal of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to: switch the OFF mode to a ready mode when the processor receives a start ON signal through the start button and the pedal signal through the pedal signal receiver while performing the OFF mode; and switch the ready mode to the OFF mode when the processor receives a start OFF signal through the start button and the pedal signal through the pedal signal receiver while performing the ready mode (shown in figures 4 – 12 wherein a variety of vehicle controls and operations may be controlled from the display device. The interface, which is well known in the art to include, a start button, a pedal information, and switch to an OFF mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata and Matsuda reference with the charging system of the Yashiro reference so that the user of the vehicle may easily control the vehicle setting with a display device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0004] wherein controlling the vehicle with a display device is taught.
Regarding claim 15, Murata and Matsuda teach the vehicle of claim 10, but do not explicitly teach further including: a start button; and a lever signal receiver configured to receive a signal of a shift lever of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to: switch the OFF mode to the standby mode when the processor receives a parking stage signal of the shift lever through the lever signal receiver and a start ON signal of the start button while performing the OFF mode; and switch the standby mode to the OFF mode when the processor receives a start OFF signal of the start button while performing the standby mode.
Yashiro teaches wherein further including: a start button; and a lever signal receiver configured to receive a signal of a shift lever of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to: switch the OFF mode to the standby mode when the processor receives a parking stage signal of the shift lever through the lever signal receiver and a start ON signal of the start button while performing the OFF mode; and switch the standby mode to the OFF mode when the processor receives a start OFF signal of the start button while performing the standby mode (shown in figures 4 – 12 wherein a variety of vehicle controls and operations may be controlled from the display device. The interface, which is well known in the art to include, a start button, a pedal information, and switch to an OFF mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata and Matsuda reference with the charging system of the Yashiro reference so that the user of the vehicle may easily control the vehicle setting with a display device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0004] wherein controlling the vehicle with a display device is taught.
Regarding claim 16, Murata and Matsuda teach the vehicle of claim 10, but do not explicitly teach further including: a parking button; a pedal signal receiver configured to receive a pedal signal of a brake pedal of the vehicle; and a lever signal receiver configured to receive a signal of a shift lever of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to: switch the standby mode to a ready mode when the processor receives a release signal of the parking button and the pedal signal while performing the standby mode; and switch the ready mode to the standby mode when the processor receives a parking stage signal of the shift lever through the lever signal receiver while performing the ready mode.
Yashiro teaches further including: a parking button; a pedal signal receiver configured to receive a pedal signal of a brake pedal of the vehicle; and a lever signal receiver configured to receive a signal of a shift lever of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to: switch the standby mode to a ready mode when the processor receives a release signal of the parking button and the pedal signal while performing the standby mode; and switch the ready mode to the standby mode when the processor receives a parking stage signal of the shift lever through the lever signal receiver while performing the ready mode (shown in figures 4 – 12 wherein a variety of vehicle controls and operations may be controlled from the display device. The interface, which is well known in the art to include, a start button, parking button, a braking button, and switch to an OFF mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata and Matsuda reference with the charging system of the Yashiro reference so that the user of the vehicle may easily control the vehicle setting with a display device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0004] wherein controlling the vehicle with a display device is taught.
Regarding claim 17, Murata and Matsuda teach the vehicle of claim 16, but do not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: control an operation of an ON timer when entering the ready mode; and switch the ready mode to the standby mode when a time counted by the ON timer elapses a reference time.
Yashiro teaches wherein the processor is configured to: control an operation of an ON timer when entering the ready mode; and switch the ready mode to the standby mode when a time counted by the ON timer elapses a reference time (shown in figures 4 – 12 wherein a variety of vehicle controls and operations may be controlled from the display device. The interface, which is well known in the art to include, a start button, parking button, a braking button, and switch to an OFF mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata and Matsuda reference with the charging system of the Yashiro reference so that the user of the vehicle may easily control the vehicle setting with a display device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0004] wherein controlling the vehicle with a display device is taught.
Regarding claim 18, Murata and Matsuda teach the vehicle of claim 10, but do not explicitly teach further including: a pedal signal receiver configured to receive a pedal signal of a brake pedal of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to stop a remaining time count until a switching time point to the OFF mode when the processor receives the pedal signal before switching the standby mode to the OFF mode while performing the standby mode.
Yashiro teaches further including: a pedal signal receiver configured to receive a pedal signal of a brake pedal of the vehicle, wherein the processor is configured to stop a remaining time count until a switching time point to the OFF mode when the processor receives the pedal signal before switching the standby mode to the OFF mode while performing the standby mode (shown in figures 4 – 12 wherein a variety of vehicle controls and operations may be controlled from the display device. The interface, which is well known in the art to include, a start button, a pedal information, a timer with remaining time and switch to an OFF mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Murata and Matsuda reference with the charging system of the Yashiro reference so that the user of the vehicle may easily control the vehicle setting with a display device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Matsuda reference in paragraph [0004] wherein controlling the vehicle with a display device is taught.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 9, 11 – 13, and 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20130257375 A1 Power Supply Apparatus Ang; Wanleng Et Al.
Us 20140371969 A1 Information Provision Apparatus Asai; Kentaro Et Al.
Us 20220388419 A1 Charging System Doi; Taiga Et Al.
Us 20170174157 A1 Key Off Energy Management System Deljevic; Zeljko Et Al.
Us 20200016990 A1 On-Board Charging System Esdel; Benjamin Robert
Us 20140343831 A1 Telematics-Based System Hosey; Eric T. Et Al.
Us 20220396175 A1 Battery Pack Kim; Duk-You Et Al.
Us 20230406152 A1 Battery Management Device Ko; Jaeyoon
Us 20170259690 A1 Charging/Discharging Control Koga; Tatsuya Et Al.
Us 20100204859 A1 Electrically Powered Vehicle Kamaga; Ryuichi
Us 20230055841 A1 Control Device Mori; Junichi Et Al.
Us 20130257344 A1 Controlling A Power Supply Millet; Michael Et Al.
Us 20130264867 A1 Controlling Vehicle Mitsutani; Noritake
Us 20240005418 A1 Charging Service Paik; Sang Jin
Us 20190139162 A1 Information Providing System Sawada; Hiroki Et Al.
Us 20140203759 A1 Power Supply System Sugiyama; Yoshinobu
Us 20090276640 A1 Power Management Apparatus Wu; Li-Chien
Us 10471836 B2 Vehicle-Mounted Charging System Yabuuchi; Yasuhiro
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859