DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is responsive to the IDS filed on 7/6/2026.
Claims 1 and 5 were amended by Examiner’s amendment.
Claims 4 and 7-13 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are currently pending.
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 were previously indicated as allowable. The IDS filed on 7/6/2026 included JP 2021064579A JUNKO et al. which necessitated the reopening of prosecution and the is explained in detail in the rejections under 35 USC §102/103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by and obvious over JP 2021064579A JUNKO et al. provided in the IDS dated 7/6/2026.
Regarding claim 1. JUNKO [0007] discloses a pouch-type all-solid-state battery with a reference electrode inserted in the annotated figures depicted below, the battery comprising:
[0019] a unit cell comprising
a negative electrode portion (20),
a positive electrode portion (10), and
a solid electrolyte portion (40) interposed between the negative electrode portion (20) and the positive electrode portion (10) and having a sheet shape;
[0019] an exterior material provided with a space capable of accommodating the unit cell therein “for example, a pouch made of aluminum laminate film.”;
The annotated figures depicted below discloses a reference electrode tap called a third electrode (30) adjacent to the solid electrolyte portion (40), and formed inside the unit cell (100) enclosed by the exterior material; and
a reference electrode portion called an active material layer (33) positioned between the solid electrolyte portion (40) and the reference electrode tap (30), and formed inside the unit cell, the reference electrode portion being located at a center of a side surface of the solid electrolyte portion and
JUNKO [0026] discloses wherein the reference electrode portion has a thickness (A) of about 5 μm to 50 μm which is obvious over the instantly claimed range of 10 µm to 50 µm. Furthermore,
JUNKO [0026] discloses that “when the insulating layer 32 is formed by a dip-coating method, it is expected that the thickness of the insulating layer 32 will be reduced if the thickness of the insulating layer 32 is 10 μm or more” which anticipates the instantly claimed range of 10 µm to 50 µm and
JUNKO [0031] discloses the thickness (A) of the reference electrode portion (5 μm to 50 μm) and [0035] a thickness (B) of the solid electrolyte portion (500 μm to 900 μm) after pressurization satisfy the following Relation Formula 1:
[Relation Formula 1]
B/2 ≥ A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the instantly claimed range of 10 µm to 50 µm which is both obvious and close enough to be anticipated by JUNKO.
Regarding claim 2. JUNKO discloses the pouch-type all-solid-state battery with the reference electrode inserted of claim 1, wherein the annotated figure depicted below discloses an area of the negative electrode portion is the same as or larger than an area of the positive electrode portion.
Regarding claim 5. JUNKO [0035] discloses in the annotated figure depicted below the pouch-type all-solid-state battery with the reference electrode inserted of claim 1, wherein a shortest distance (C) between the positive electrode portion or the negative electrode portion and the reference electrode portion and a thickness (B) of the solid electrolyte portion (500 μm to 900 μm) after pressurization satisfy the following Relation Formula 2:
[Relation Formula 2] B/2 ≥ C ≥ 1µm
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021064579A JUNKO et al.
Regarding claim 6. JUNKO discloses the pouch-type all-solid-state battery with the reference electrode inserted of claim 1.
JUNKO does not disclose wherein a shortest distance (C) between the positive electrode portion or the negative electrode portion and the reference electrode portion is from about 10 µm to 120 µm.
It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Also see MPEP 2144.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the range of sizes in the electrodes. The size proportions being well known in the art and within the purview of a person of ordinary skill.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021064579A JUNKO et al. in view of US 20210408580 A1, YE et al.
Regarding claim 3. JUNKO discloses the pouch-type all-solid-state battery with a reference electrode inserted of claim 1.
JUNKO does not disclose wherein the solid electrolyte portion comprises
a first coating layer formed on an upper surface of the negative electrode portion; and
a second coating layer positioned between the first coating layer and the positive electrode portion, and one end of the reference electrode portion is positioned between the first coating layer and the second coating layer.
YE [title] discloses Solid State Batteries where
YE [0173] discloses a first coating layer formed on an upper surface of the negative electrode portion; and
YE [0171] discloses a second coating layer positioned between the first coating layer and the positive electrode portion, and one end of the reference electrode portion is positioned between the first coating layer and the second coating layer.
YE [0172] further discloses that “[p]rior studies have revealed that the most common lithium ion electrode materials… form unstable interfaces with most solid electrolytes, particularly the high performance ceramic sulfides. Successful implementation of ceramic sulfides in solid-state batteries may employ suitable coating materials that can mitigate these interfacial instabilities.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the coating layers disclosed by YE in the solid sate battery disclosed by JUNKO in order to mitigate interfacial instabilities.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 7/6/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727