Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12, Applicant argues,
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wake, paragraph 0028, teaches applying spatial filtering to a set of time-series images captured by a robot observing and learning from human demonstration. This process includes cropping operations for the time-series of images according to positions of the hand and target objects for precise tracking. Under BRI a field of view (FOV) of a camera includes the visual field which is captured by the camera, and the cropping operation taught by Wake can reasonably be considered a refined FOV of the camera for hand and object recognition.
With regard to the requirements of claim 1, Wake teaches defining a minimum rectangle at positions of hands during the demonstration. This step includes determining a location and size of the FOV as this is required to define the cropping operation. The position of the hand is observed for each of the time-series images to detect a motion of the user based on this first FOV.
Wake further teaches cropping the time-series of images around each object. This cropping operation satisfies the requirement of adjusting the length of a second FOV, as the image is spatially filtered horizontally and vertically when defining the crop. Note the claim states “adjusting a length of a second FOV, of an image of the plurality of images…” meaning a FOV of an image must be adjusted, not necessarily the camera or configuration itself.
Note the claim does not explicitly define a relationship between the first and second FOV. Also note the obtaining step does not require the use of the first FOV to obtain the plurality of images, as argued by applicant. The claim only requires that a location and size is determined for a first FOV and the first FOV is used to detect motion of a user, which is satisfied by Wake’s teaching of observing hand positions within cropped hand position images. The second FOV adjustment is a separate step that is applied to an image of the target object, which is satisfied by Wake’s teachings of cropping time-series images according to target objects. Thus, Wake teaches each of the limitations argued above (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below for additional details).
One page 13, Applicant argues,
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Wake teaches a robotic system that learns tags for target objects to perform tasks based on verbal cues. While Wake’s tags are limited to object names and attributes, Saito provides the missing teaching for the tag comprising “a preference of the user for the target object”. For example, Fig. 5 of Saito illustrates stored tags corresponding to target objects, which includes specific expression given by a user. Here, the specific expression itself serves as a preference of the user for the target object, as this is a preferred name given to the object by the user. Further, Saito at col. 4, lines 63-67, teaches learning and storing user-related information, such as a user-preferred location in association with the specific expression for the target object. The combination of Wake in view of Saito would teach tags that not only identify an object by a preferred name given by the user but also contain contextual information like object location preferences. Thus, Wake in view of Saito satisfy the limitation argued above (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below for additional details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 7, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 17, 19, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wake et al. (US 20210402593 A1), (hereinafter Wake) in view of Saito (US 11430429 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wake teaches a method, performed by an electronic device, of performing an operation through an interaction with a user (Wake, “In aspects, Learning-from-Observation (LFO) is a machine learning model that observes and maps human movements into motor commands for a robot to perform. A LFO model is an efficient way to reduce robot programming by teaching physical movement through observation.”, pg. 2, paragraph 0020, lines 1-5, see Fig. 1A), the method comprising:
determining a location and a size of a first field of view (FOV) of a camera of the electronic device; obtaining, using a camera of the electronic device, a plurality of images including a target object; detecting a motion of the user manipulating the target object, based on the plurality of images obtained using the camera of the electronic device and based on the first FOV (Wake, “In aspects, the human demonstration of the task sequence in environment 120 may be recorded as a set of time-series images. The time-series images may be RGB–D images, which include RGB color information with per pixel depth information. To increase efficiency of the object recognition, pre-processing may be performed by cropping the set of time-series images using a minimum rectangle area that includes all of the detected hand positions of the human during the demonstration.”, pg. 3, paragraph 0028, lines 1-9, A time-series of images are captured of a human demonstrating tasks using target objects. The captured images are first cropped to a minimum rectangle area forming bounding boxes for each detected hand position during the demonstration. This first cropping operation includes determining a location and size of a FOV of the camera corresponding to hand positions, as the bounding boxes with a preset size are defined at each hand’s location. These cropped hand images represent a refined FOV of the camera, which can then be used to detect motion of users manipulating the target objects.);
adjusting a length of a second FOV, of an image of the plurality of images including the target object, at least one of horizontally, vertically, or diagonally (Wake, “Thereafter , the images may be further cropped to form a bounding box around each detected object, converting the bounding box into a point cloud represented by an environmental coordinate, and calculating a mean value of the point cloud as a 3D position for each detected object .”, pg. 3, paragraph 0028, lines 9-14, The time-series of images are further cropped to a second FOV corresponding to target objects. This cropping operation reduces the size of the original images horizontally and vertically, which are then used for precise object recognition and learning in cluttered environments.);
obtaining, by the electronic device, a visual descriptor of the target object including visual information for identifying the target object wherein the visual descriptor further includes grasping information for providing movement of the target object, the grasping information obtained by the electronic device by analyzing the motion of the user using the plurality of images (Wake, “As illustrated, first voxel 134 is associated with a right hand of human 122 grasping cup 124 at the first time, and second voxel 135 is associated with the right hand of human 122 releasing cup 124 on shelf 128 at a second time... For simplicity, voxels associated with cup 124 within intermediate frames (e.g., images showing the human hand grasping the cup in the air between the table 126 and the shelf 128) are not illustrated; however, this should not be understood as limiting.”, pg. 3, paragraph 0033, lines 9-24, see Fig. 1B, A robot observes the task demonstrated by the human to extract grasp and release positions for moving a target object. This includes representing the object in a voxel grid and identifying visual characteristics, such as color and grasping points, from the demonstration.);
obtaining, by the electronic device, a tag of the target object based on information related to the target object received by marking the target object, wherein the tag of the target object is based on characteristics of the target object (Wake, “the images may be further cropped to form a bounding box around each detected object, converting the bounding box into a point cloud represented by an environmental coordinate, and calculating a mean value of the point cloud as a 3D position for each detected object . A color attribute for each detected object may be determined by searching a dominant pixel color in the hue, saturation, value ( HSV ) color space of the cropped time - series images . Each detected object may then be represented in four-dimensional (4D) space (e.g., spatial/temporal space based on the 3D position and a one-dimensional (1D) time attribute extracted from the time – series images) along with a color attribute. Based on the above processing, a first object may be identified as a “cup ” (e.g., cup 124), a second object may be identified as a shaker (e.g., salt shaker 130), and third object may be identified as a plate (e.g., plate 132).”, pg. 3, paragraphs 0028 and 0029, The method includes marking each detected object in the image with bounding boxes. The user’s verbal input (e.g., “cup”) is then matched to the corresponding bounding box. This generates an object tag for the target object, which can be used for future task execution.); and
in response to receiving an input signal corresponding to the tag, performing, by the electronic device, an operation corresponding to the input signal on the target object, based on the visual descriptor including the grasping information (Wake, “Once the robot knows “ where and when ” to pay attention, a task model encoder identifies skill parameters associated with the grasp and release actions, including corresponding hand laterality. The skill parameters may then be encoded in a task model defining the task sequence of picking up and placing a cup on a shelf. The robot 142 then decodes the task model to calculate motor commands based on the encoded skill parameters, thereby enabling the robot 142 to perform the task sequence of “ picking up the cup 144 and placing it on shelf 148.” In this way, the input – based FOA 140 enables robot 142 to learn a task (or task sequence) in a real environment 120.”, pg. 5, paragraph 0040, “The language parser 214 may analyze the input (e.g., verbal cue and/or textual cue) received from human 202 to identify one or more task - related verbs , a target object name (or object type), and an object attribute.”, pg. 5, paragraph 0045, lines 1-4, Once the task model for moving the target object is learned, the robot can then be instructed through verbal and/or text cues that include the objects name (e.g., “pick up the cup”).),
Wake does not teach wherein the tag of the target object comprises a frequency of use of the target object or a preference of the user for the target object; and wherein the tag of the target object comprises information about a subject who uses the target object, and information of the subject related to the target object.
However, Saito teaches wherein the tag of the target object comprises a frequency of use of the target object or a preference of the user for the target object; and wherein the tag of the target object comprises information about a subject who uses the target object, and information of the subject related to the target object. (Saito, “At this time, the response information output by the agent device can be presented on the basis of information learned by the agent device. For example, the agent device learns by recognizing a recognition target such as an object by general object recognition and acquiring a general name (hereinafter also referred to as a general expression) of the recognition target… However, the same object may be expressed differently (hereinafter also referred to as a specific expression) from the general expression depending on an individual or a group (for example, a family)… an embodiment of the present disclosure are conceived focusing on the above points, and enable more smooth communication with a user by learning a recognition target and a specific expression for the recognition target in association with each other. For this purpose, the information processing apparatus for implementing the information processing method according to the present embodiment is characterized in controlling output of response information using the specific expression on the basis of input information. Here, the specific expression is an expression different from the general expression. For example, the general expression for dishes used for meals is "dish". In a case where the dish is used for serving curry, the dish may be called "curry dish" in some homes. The expression "curry dish" corresponds to the specific expression. Note that the specific expression is not limited to a name of an object such as the above-described dish. For example, the specific expression may be an adjective expression indicating a property, a state, or the like of an object or the like, in addition to the name of an object or the like.”, cols. 3 and 4, lines 54-67 and 1-41, respectively, “Note that the information processing terminal 10 may learn information indicating a location of the dish 52 of the user utterance 300 of "the curry dish is placed on a top shelf in a cupboard" in association with the specific expression of the dish 52.”, col.4, lines 63-67, “Furthermore, the specific expression DB may store information regarding a target user, the number of times, and an image, in addition to the general expression and the specific expression. The target user is a user who is used the registered specific expression and is stored in association with the specific expression.”, col. 12, lines 53-58, see Fig. 5, An electronic device learns tags for target objects in order to perform operations based on verbal cue’s given by a user. Figure 5 illustrates stored tags associated with a target object. These tags include general and user-specific expressions along with names of users who use the target object. Note that the user-specific expression represents a preference of the user, as they are tags defined at the discretion of the user. The device can further learn user-specified location preferences and stores them as part of the tag associated with the target object. Thus, the tag can be considered to comprise a preference of the user for the target object, information of a subject who uses the object and information about the subject related to the target object such that each tag is linked to a target object for subsequent operations prompted by the user.)
Wake teaches a robotic system that learns tags for target objects to perform tasks, such as moving objects, based on verbal cues containing the object’s name (Wake, pg. 5, paragraph 0045, lines 1-4). Wake further teaches including adjectives as attribute information to distinguish between objects of the same type (Wake, “Additionally , the adjective modifying “cup” within the input may be identified as the object attribute . In aspects, the object attribute distinguishes the target object from other objects of the same object type (e.g., having the same object name , "cup” ) within a cluttered space .”, pg. 5, paragraph 0045, lines 18-22) but does not teach associating a tag with information of a subject who uses the target object or information about the user related to the target object. Saito teaches a system that learns tags for target objects which include information of a user who uses the object and user-related information about the object, such as a specific expression preference or location preference, to perform subsequent operations (see above). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the robotic system of Wake to include the object tag learning as taught by Saito (Saito, cols. 3 and 4, lines 54-67 and 1-41, respectively, col.4, lines 63-67, see Figs. 5 and 10). The motivation for doing so would have been to incorporate additional descriptors for target objects to distinguish objects of the same base type, thereby improving object detection and contextual understanding of the robot. The combination of Wake in view of Siato would learn comprehensive tags for target objects, including general expression, user-specified expressions, user identities, and location preferences, and upon receiving a verbal cue containing a specific expression, perform a moving operation on the corresponding target objects using all of the associated tags. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wake with Saito to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the tag of the target object comprises information about:
a purpose of the target object, or
an exterior of the target object (Wake, “Rather, in addition to recognizing an object name , a color attribute for each object may be determined . For instance, the first object may be identified as a “ red cup,”… ”, pg. 3, paragraph 0029, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 6, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing of the operation corresponding to the input signal comprises:
Identifying the target object, based on the visual information included in the visual descriptor; and providing the movement of the target object, based on the grasping information (Wake, “Thereafter, the images may be further cropped to form a bounding box around each detected object, converting the bounding box into a point cloud represented by an environmental coordinate, and calculating a mean value of the point cloud as a 3D position for each detected object . A color attribute for each detected object may be determined by searching a dominant pixel color in the hue , saturation , value ( HSV ) color space of the cropped time-series images. Each detected object may then be represented in four-dimensional (4D) space (e.g., spatial/temporal space based on the 3D position and a one-dimensional (1D) time attribute extracted from the time–series images) along with a color attribute. Based on the above processing, a first object may be identified as a “cup” ( e.g. , cup 124 )… ”, pg. 3, paragraphs 0028 and 0029, lines 9-21 and 1-2, respectively, The bounding boxes converted into point cloud representations provide spatial and color attributes for candidate objects in the time-series of images. This information along with the users verbal cue, allows the system to identify the target object by name. Once identified, grasp locations for the target object can be extracted and used to move the target object upon instruction.).
Regarding claim 7, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the visual descriptor comprises information indicating at least one of:
a 3-dimensional (3D) model of the target object,
a point cloud of all or a portion of the target object,
texture of all or a portion of the target object,
a descriptor limited to visual characteristics of the target object,
a geometric structure of the target object, or
an exterior of the target object (Wake, “Thereafter, the images may be further cropped to form a bounding box around each detected object, converting the bounding box into a point cloud represented by an environmental coordinate, and calculating a mean value of the point cloud as a 3D position for each detected object . A color attribute for each detected object may be determined by searching a dominant pixel color in the hue , saturation , value ( HSV ) color space of the cropped time-series images. Each detected object may then be represented in four-dimensional (4D) space (e.g., spatial/temporal space based on the 3D position and a one-dimensional (1D) time attribute extracted from the time–series images) along with a color attribute .”, pg. 3, paragraph 0028, lines 9-21).
Regarding claim 10, Wake in view of Saito teaches the methods according to claim 1, further comprising:
storing the visual descriptor in a database; storing the tag of the target object in the database; and storing a link between the visual descriptor and the tag of the target object in the database (Wake, “In aspects, object selector 218 may communicate with various databases 224 and/or servers 222 via network 206 to identify the target object. For example, in a cluttered environment including a plate, a cup, and a salt shaker, based on the target object (e.g., cup) and the object attribute (e.g., green) output by the language parser 214, the object selector 218 may identify a green cup within the time-series images.”, pg. 5, paragraph 0047, lines 1-10, Bounding boxes from the time-series of images are stored as object candidates with spatial and color data. The user’s verbal cue is stored separately for linguistic analysis. The system links the verbal cue to the correct bounding box to identify the target object and saves this association for later task execution.).
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 1, additionally reciting an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor. Wake in view of Saito teaches an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor (Wake, “Furthermore , embodiments of the disclosure may be practiced in an electrical circuit comprising discrete electronic elements , packaged or integrated electronic chips containing logic gates, a circuit utilizing a microprocessor, or on a single chip containing electronic elements or microprocessors… The computing device 600 may also have one or more input device (s) 612 such as visual image sensors”, pg. 11, paragraphs 0088 and 0089, lines 1-6 and 1-2, respectively) to perform the method of claim 1. As indicated in the analysis of claim 1, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 1.
Claims 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 correspond to claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10, respectively, additionally reciting an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor. Wake in view of Saito teaches an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor (see analysis of claim 11) to perform the method of claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10. As indicated in the analysis of claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10. Therefore, claims 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10.
Claim 20 corresponds to claim 1, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. Wake in view of Saito teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Wake, “Robot 204 may include a computer system 208 comprising an input-based FOA 210 having a number of modules. Each module may perform aspects of the input based FOA 210 based on executing computer-readable instructions.”, pg. 5, paragraph 0043, lines 1-5) to perform the method of claim 1. As indicated in the analysis of claim 1, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the operation corresponding to the input signal on the target object includes moving the target object using a robot arm of the electronic device (Wake, “Based on the processing described in FIG. 1B, including parsing the input 136 and spatio-temporally filtering 138 the time-series images of the human demonstration of the task sequence (collectively, input-based Focus-of-Attention 140), a robot 142 performs the task sequence of picking up a cup 144 from table 146 and placing it on shelf 148.”, pg. 4, paragraph 0037, lines 7-12, see Fig. 1A-1C).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wake et al. (US 20210402593 A1)in view of Saito (US 11430429 B2) and further in view of Tan et al. (US 20200285247 A1), (hereinafter Tan).
Regarding claim 2, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining of the visual descriptor comprises obtaining the visual descriptor, in response to the motion of the user being detected within the first FOV in which the plurality of images are obtained (Wake, “In aspects , the human demonstration of the task sequence in environment 120 may be recorded as a set of time-series images. The time-series images may be RGB–D images, which include RGB color information with per pixel depth information. To increase efficiency of the object recognition, pre - processing may be performed by cropping the set of time-series images using a minimum rectangle area that includes all of the detected hand positions of the human during the demonstration . Thereafter, the images may be further cropped to form a bounding box around each detected object , converting the bounding box into a point cloud represented by an environmental coordinate , and calculating a mean value of the point cloud as a 3D position for each detected object. A color attribute for each detected object may be determined by searching a dominant pixel color in the hue, saturation, value (HSV) color space of the cropped time-series images.”, pg. 3, paragraph 0028, lines 1-17, The time-series of images is first cropped to a FOV according to hand positions to analyze the motion of the user during demonstration. Visual descriptors, such as color and grasping points for the object, are then analyzed from the time-series of images cropped to a FOV around each object.).
Wake in view of Saito does not teach wherein obtaining the visual descriptor further comprises segmenting, from at least one of the images of the plurality of images, a background, the target object, and a body of the user.
However, Tan teaches wherein obtaining the visual descriptor further comprises segmenting, from at least one of the images of the plurality of images, a background, the target object, and a body of the user (Tan, “In accordance with embodiments, techniques for object segmentation, object matching, object pose estimation, are applied together in an active relearning approach. Object segmentation/matching begins with capturing images of objects in the robot's environment — including, but not limited to assembly parts, industrial plants, power generation turbines, structures, obstacles, persons, etc.).”, pg. 1, paragraph 0010, “In accordance with embodiments, object segmentation is achieved by applying a deep learning – based approach implemented in deep neural networks (DNN) to segment objects from the environment. During a model training process, an object is placed in the environment with annotated pixels. In accordance with embodiments, a foreground DNN performs foreground segmentation, a background DNN performs background segmentation, and a refinement DNN refines the segmentation results. These three neural networks combine to cooperatively create a neural network.”, pg. 1, paragraph 0013, see Fig. 2, Neural Network 240).
Wake in view of Saito teaches capturing a time-series of images and performing spatial filtering to crop images according to positions of hands and target objects for robot observation learning of a human performing a task (Wake, pg. 3, paragraphs 0028-0031). Wake in view of Saito does not teach performing segmentation of background regions, target objects, and a body of a user. Tan teaches performing segmentation using DNNs which segments background regions and foreground regions, including persons and various objects (see above). Before the Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wake in view of Saito to include segmentation to identify hand positions, target objects, and body regions as taught by Tan (Tan, pg. 1, paragraph 0013, see Fig. 2, Neural Network 240). The motivation for doing so would have been to provide additional mapping and visualization data, thereby improving object localization accuracy (as suggested by Tan, pg. 1, paragraph 0001, lines 1-11, “Autonomous robot navigation requires a good localization and mapping component. A fully autonomous robot utilizes a dense mapping of the environment which presents segmentation of objects in the environment. The robot can use such information to perform decision making , and complex mobile manipulation. Conventional sparse modeling algorithms execute quickly—for sparse environments the results can provide adequate robot localization . The accuracy of the conventional sparse modeling algorithm localization is impacted by the limited mapping and visualization input data.”). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wake in view of Saito with Tan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 2, additionally reciting an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor. Wake in view of Saito and further in view of Tan teaches an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor (see analysis of claim 11) to perform the method of claim 2. As indicated in the analysis of claim 2, Wake in view of Saito and further in view of Tan teaches the method according to claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 2.
Claims 8, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wake et al. (US 20210402593 A1) in view of Saito (US 11430429 B2) and further in view of Buehler et al. (US 20130346348 A1), (hereinafter, Buehler).
Regarding claim 8, Wake in view of Saito the method of claim 1. Wake in view of Saito does not teach wherein the obtaining of the tag of the target object comprises marking the target object by using at least one light source, based on the visual descriptor.
However, Buehler teaches wherein the obtaining of the tag of the target object comprises marking the target object by using at least one light source, based on the visual descriptor (Buehler, “the robot may place optical signals into the real world itself. For example, to communicate its object selection to the user, the robot may simply shine a laser pointer at the object.”, pg. 7, paragraph 0048, lines 26-29, The robot marks the object via a laser pointer to communicate the object selection to the user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wake in view of Saito to include a laser pointer for object selection as taught by Buehler (Buehler, pg. 7, paragraph 0048, lines 26-29). The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the robot to verify the intended target object with the user prior to task learning, thereby improving the communication between user and robot. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wake in view of Saito with Buehler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Wake in view of Saito teaches the method according to claim 1. Wake in view of Saito does not teach wherein the obtaining of the tag of the target object comprises marking the target object using at least one augmented reality (AR) projection, based on the visual descriptor.
However, Buehler teaches wherein the obtaining of the tag of the target object comprises marking the target object using at least one augmented reality (AR) projection, based on the visual descriptor (Buehler, “Visually displaying the task in an augmented-reality display means that the robot overlays computer-generated graphics (in the broadest sense, i.e., including pictorial elements, text, etc.) onto the real-world, or a representation (such as a camera image) thereof. For example, the robot may overlay graphics onto a camera view captured by the robot, and display the resulting augmented-reality image on a monitor.”, pg. 2, paragraph 0011, lines 1-8, “In some embodiments, the task involves selecting a vision model from among a plurality of computer-implemented vision models, and identifying an object in a camera view based on a representation of the object in accordance with the model. Again, visually displaying performance of the task may involve overlaying an object outline onto the camera view.”, pg. 2, paragraph 0013, The object is detected based on a visual model and an outline of the detection result is project in augment reality for user confirmation.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wake in view of Saito to include marking the target object using an augmented reality projection as taught by Buehler (Buehler, pg. 2, paragraph 0011, lines 1-8 and pg. 2, paragraph 0013). The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the robot to verify the intended target object with the user prior to task learning, thereby improving the communication between user and robot. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wake in view of Saito with Buehler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 8, additionally reciting an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor. Wake in view of Saito and Buehler teaches an electronic device including a camera, a memory and at least one processor (see analysis of claim 11) to perform the method of claim 8. As indicated in the analysis of claim 8, Wake in view of Saito and Buehler teaches the method according to claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 8.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wake et al. (US 20210402593 A1) in view of Saito (US 11430429 B2) and further in view of Shin (US 20150360368 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Wake in view of Saito teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 20, wherein the grasping information includes information about a point where a body part of a user contacts the target object to manipulate the target object (Wake, “As illustrated, first voxel 134 is associated with a right hand of human 122 grasping cup 124 at the first time, and second voxel 135 is associated with the right hand of human 122 releasing cup 124 on shelf 128 at a second time... For simplicity, voxels associated with cup 124 within intermediate frames (e.g., images showing the human hand grasping the cup in the air between the table 126 and the shelf 128) are not illustrated; however, this should not be understood as limiting.”, pg. 3, paragraph 0033, lines 9-24, see Fig. 1B, A voxel position where the hand contacts the target object is determined by the robot.).
Wake in view of Saito does not teach wherein the grasping information includes a center of gravity of the target object.
However, Shin teaches wherein the grasping information includes a center of gravity of the target object (Shin, “In order to achieve the above object, according to an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of controlling a system for calculating weight and center of gravity of an object to be lifted by a robot”, pg. 1, paragraph 0009, lines 1-4, see Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wake in view of Saito to include a center of gravity determination step for each of the target objects, as taught by Shin (Shin, pg. 1, paragraph 0009, lines 1-4, see Fig. 3). The motivation for doing so would have been to account for object variability and mass distribution, thereby improving the robot’s ability to maintain balance and control during object manipulation (as suggested by Shin, “it is necessary to know the weights and the centers of gravity of objects to be manipulated so as to prevent the intelligent robots or wearable robots from losing their balance due to the objects.”, pg. 1, paragraph 0005). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wake in view of Saito with Shin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CONNOR L HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672