DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of copending Application No. 18/074,898 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to examined the claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP 804(II)(B)(1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 – 10, 12, and 14 - 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al (US 2020/0413084, hereafter XU) in view of Lee (US 2021/0105499) in further view of Leleannec (US 2021/0266586, hereafter Leleannec).
As per claim 1, XU discloses a method of video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a video comprising a current video block and a bitstream of the video, whether to insert a block vector of a non-adjacent neighboring block into a list of motion candidates for a prediction of a block vector of the current video block based on whether the non-adjacent neighboring block and the current video block are in different coding tree unit (CTU) rows (¶ 109; The HMVP table is reset (emptied) when a new CTU row is encountered in some examples); and
performing, based on the determining, the conversion, wherein the block vector of the non-adjacent neighboring block is not inserted into the list of motion candidates for the prediction of the block vector of the current video block in response to the current video block and the non-adjacent neighboring block being in different CTU rows (¶ 116 - 120).
However, XU does not explicitly teach wherein the non-adjacent neighboring block covering position (x - M, y + H/2) or position (x + W/2, y - M) is checked when constructing the list of motion candidates, wherein a coordinator of a top-left sample of the current video block is (x, y), M is an integer, W is a width of the current video block, and H is a height of the current video block.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the non-adjacent neighboring block covering position (x - M, y + H/2) or position (x + W/2, y - M) is checked when constructing the list of motion candidates, wherein a coordinator of a top-left sample of the current video block is (x, y), M is an integer, W is a width of the current video block, and H is a height of the current video block (¶ 156).
However, XU or Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the block vector of the non-adjacent neighboring block is inserted into the list of motion candidates after block vectors from a history-based block vector prediction (HBVP) candidates list.
In the same field of endeavor, Leleannec wherein the block vector of the non-adjacent neighboring block is inserted into the list of motion candidates after block vectors from a history-based block vector prediction (HBVP) candidates list (¶ 98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of XU in view of Lee in further view of Leleannec. The advantage is optimizing video coding.
As per claim 3, XU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein M = 8 (¶ 112).
As per claim 5, XU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the block vector of the non-adjacent neighboring block is not inserted into the list of motion candidates in response to the list of motion candidates comprising no empty entries after inserting block vectors from (i) a history-based block vector prediction (HBVP) candidates list and/or (ii) adjacent neighboring blocks of the current video block (¶ 114 and 116).
As per claim 6, XU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the list comprises an intra block copy (IBC) merge list (¶ 134).
As per claim 7, XU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the list comprises an intra block copy (IBC) advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list (¶ 134).
As per claim 8, XU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises decoding the video from the bitstream (¶ 31).
As per claim 9, XU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises encoding the video into the bitstream (¶ 31).
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim(s) 2 and 3 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim(s) 2 and 3 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, arguments analogous to those presented for claim(s) 6 and 3 are applicable for claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, arguments analogous to those presented for claim(s) 7 are applicable for claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, arguments analogous to those presented for claim(s) 6 and 3 are applicable for claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, arguments analogous to those presented for claim(s) 7 are applicable for claim 24.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487