DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. that “signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values”. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraphs 0055, 0066, WIROLA et al where discloses that the first apparatus is able to obtain more original identifiers than (original and shortened) identifiers are supposed to be provided over the second network. In that case the first apparatus needs to select the (original) identifiers to be used. It is preferred that (at least a part of) the original identifiers are selected at least in part based on a quality parameter of signals of respective first radio networks or nodes thereof. An example of a quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value. Preferably the original identifiers with the highest signal strength are selected, since the respective radio networks or nodes thereof usually are most proximate to the first apparatus. If the original identifier is used as the input value, the obtained shortened check value (i.e., linear value) may then be used for generating the shortened identifier of the original identifier. For instance, the shortened identifier may be the shortened check value.
In paragraphs 0006, 0069, 0077, RAMANAND et al also discloses, a training dataset including a plurality of plot points and one or more signal strengths associated therewith of a predefined signal received from at least one spatially fixed network device. The received signal may have a second signal strength greater than a predefined signal threshold value, where the position may be determined proximate to the at least one plot point based on the second signal strength in combination with each of the one or more signal strengths, further include calculating, using the RCQM module, a cumulative duration spent at the determined position based on a predefined cleaning schedule to assess a cleaning quality for the physical spot and the input includes a signal strength of the predefined signal received at a local position in the indoor location by the remote device, accessing a training dataset including a set of plot points and signal strengths associated with a predefined signal using a server in communication with a remote device, the plot points correspond to physical spots in an indoor location. An input is received from the remote device being used during a local activity in the indoor location using the server. A plot position of the selected plot point is calculated relative to the local position of remote device. The local position proximate to the selected point is determined based on the calculated plot position for a remote management of the local activity.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
In response to applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988)and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In paragraphs 0055, 0066, WIROLA et al where discloses that the first apparatus is able to obtain more original identifiers than (original and shortened) identifiers are supposed to be provided over the second network. In that case the first apparatus needs to select the (original) identifiers to be used. It is preferred that (at least a part of) the original identifiers are selected at least in part based on a quality parameter of signals of respective first radio networks or nodes thereof. An example of a quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value. Preferably the original identifiers with the highest signal strength are selected, since the respective radio networks or nodes thereof usually are most proximate to the first apparatus. If the original identifier is used as the input value, the obtained shortened check value (i.e., linear value) may then be used for generating the shortened identifier of the original identifier. For instance, the shortened identifier may be the shortened check value.
In paragraphs 0091-0092, 0097, Jangid et al discloses, the inferiority may be ascertained based on at least one of Quality of Service (QoS) parameters such as bandwidth, signal strength, bit error rate (BER), and so on. In an embodiment, the inferiority may be ascertained based on a signal strength, and an example value of the predefined threshold may be −20 dBm. Therefore, if the signal strength of the best LTE cell is −80 dBm, and the signal strength of the LTE cell with the highest priority is more than (better than) −100 dBm, the LTE cell with the highest priority in the candidate priority list, i.e., the LTE cell with the cell ID 1 may be reselected and based on the supported NR bands and an ENDC capability of the UE. A cell selection is performed based on the prioritized LTE frequencies in the MRU LTE frequency list. The LTE full band scan for preconfigured LTE bands is initiated and select the appropriate candidate neighboring cell, there will be ping-pong triggering of cell reselection amongst different candidate neighboring cells, if the signal strength of the at least one non-candidate neighboring LTE cell is −90 dBm, and the signal strength of the serving LTE cell is less than −100 dBm, the UE 200 may reselect one of the at least one non-candidate neighboring LTE cell.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
In response to applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988)and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIROLA et al (20210022102) in view of RAMANAND et al (20220230120).
Regarding claim 1, WIROLA et al discloses, an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least perform (abstract, fig. 1):
obtain at least one encoded sample measurement comprising:
at a maximum two full identifier information of respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5);
at a maximum three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes, wherein a part of a respective full identifier information of the respective radio nodes is comprised (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
at least one signal strength information of the respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value, fig. 1-5); and
resolve a respective partial identifier information of the maximum of three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes to determine their respective full identifier information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0066, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5).
WIROLA et al discloses that the first apparatus is able to obtain more original identifiers than (original and shortened) identifiers are supposed to be provided over the second network. In that case the first apparatus needs to select the (original) identifiers to be used. It is preferred that (at least a part of) the original identifiers are selected at least in part based on a quality parameter of signals of respective first radio networks or nodes thereof. An example of a quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value. Preferably the original identifiers with the highest signal strength are selected, since the respective radio networks or nodes thereof usually are most proximate to the first apparatus. If the original identifier is used as the input value, the obtained shortened check value (i.e., linear value) may then be used for generating the shortened identifier of the original identifier. For instance, the shortened identifier may be the shortened check value (¶ 0055, 0066).
WIROLA et al does not specifically disclose in detail, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values.
In the same field of endeavor, RAMANAND et al discloses in more detail, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0069, 0077). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of WIROLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the signal strength of the predefined signal received from the spatially fixed network device, and hence improving the accuracy and reliability of the training dataset as taught by RAMANAND et al.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 16, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, on the obtained encoded at least one sample measurement; and provide the position information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 17, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, a first discreet message and a second discreet message in case the at least one encoded sample measurement is obtained as two discreet messages instead of one (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 18, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, resolve a respective signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 19, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the position estimate is determined based on a maximum of five full identifier information of the respective radio nodes with their corresponding signal strength information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein a respective full identifier information is represented by six octets (bytes), and a respective partial identifier information is represented by one octet, and the part of the respective full identifier information is a last octet of the respective obtained identifier information (¶ 0030, 0039, 0063, 0067, 0124).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 20, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the at least one signal strength information of the encoded at least one sample measurement is represented by 4 bits (¶ 0030, 0039, 0063, 0057 0067, 0124).
Regarding claim 9, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, a method, comprising (abstract, fig. 1-5):
obtaining at least one encoded sample measurement comprising:
at a maximum two full identifier information of respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5);
at a maximum three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes, wherein a part of a respective full identifier information of the respective radio nodes is comprised (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
at least one signal strength information of the respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
resolving a respective partial identifier information of the maximum of three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes to determine their respective full identifier information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5).
WIROLA et al discloses that the first apparatus is able to obtain more original identifiers than (original and shortened) identifiers are supposed to be provided over the second network. In that case the first apparatus needs to select the (original) identifiers to be used. It is preferred that (at least a part of) the original identifiers are selected at least in part based on a quality parameter of signals of respective first radio networks or nodes thereof. An example of a quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value. Preferably the original identifiers with the highest signal strength are selected, since the respective radio networks or nodes thereof usually are most proximate to the first apparatus. If the original identifier is used as the input value, the obtained shortened check value (i.e., linear value) may then be used for generating the shortened identifier of the original identifier. For instance, the shortened identifier may be the shortened check value (¶ 0055, 0066).
WIROLA et al does not specifically disclose signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values.
In the same field of endeavor, RAMANAND et al discloses, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0069, 0077). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of WIROLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the signal strength of the predefined signal received from the spatially fixed network device, and hence improving the accuracy and reliability of the training dataset as taught by RAMANAND et al.
Regarding claim 9, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, a tangible computer-readable medium storing computer program code, the computer program code when executed by a processor causing an apparatus to perform and/or control (abstract, fig. 1-5):
obtaining at least one encoded sample measurement comprising:
at a maximum two full identifier information of respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5);
at a maximum three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes, wherein a part of a respective full identifier information of the respective radio nodes is comprised (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
at least one signal strength information of the respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
resolving a respective partial identifier information of the maximum of three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes to determine their respective full identifier information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5).
WIROLA et al discloses that the first apparatus is able to obtain more original identifiers than (original and shortened) identifiers are supposed to be provided over the second network. In that case the first apparatus needs to select the (original) identifiers to be used. It is preferred that (at least a part of) the original identifiers are selected at least in part based on a quality parameter of signals of respective first radio networks or nodes thereof. An example of a quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value. Preferably the original identifiers with the highest signal strength are selected, since the respective radio networks or nodes thereof usually are most proximate to the first apparatus. If the original identifier is used as the input value, the obtained shortened check value (i.e., linear value) may then be used for generating the shortened identifier of the original identifier. For instance, the shortened identifier may be the shortened check value (¶ 0055, 0066).
WIROLA et al does not specifically disclose signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values.
In the same field of endeavor, RAMANAND et al discloses, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0069, 0077). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of WIROLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the signal strength of the predefined signal received from the spatially fixed network device, and hence improving the accuracy and reliability of the training dataset as taught by RAMANAND et al.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIROLA et al (20210022102) in view of Jangid et al (20210368568).
Regarding claim 1, WIROLA et al discloses, an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least perform (abstract, fig. 1):
obtain at least one encoded sample measurement comprising:
at a maximum two full identifier information of respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5);
at a maximum three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes, wherein a part of a respective full identifier information of the respective radio nodes is comprised (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
at least one signal strength information of the respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value, fig. 1-5); and
resolve a respective partial identifier information of the maximum of three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes to determine their respective full identifier information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5).
WIROLA et al discloses, the first apparatus is able to obtain more original identifiers than (original and shortened) identifiers are supposed to be provided over the second network. In that case the first apparatus needs to select the (original) identifiers to be used. It is preferred that (at least a part of) the original identifiers are selected at least in part based on a quality parameter of signals of respective first radio networks or nodes thereof. An example of a quality parameter is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value. Preferably the original identifiers with the highest signal strength are selected, since the respective radio networks or nodes thereof usually are most proximate to the first apparatus. If the original identifier is used as the input value, the obtained shortened check value (i.e., linear value) may then be used for generating the shortened identifier of the original identifier. For instance, the shortened identifier may be the shortened check value (¶ 0055, 0066).
WIROLA et al does not specifically disclose in detail signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values.
In the same field of endeavor, Jangid et al discloses in more detail, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0091-0092, 0097). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of WIROLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables efficiently prioritizing selection of LTE cells providing a new radio support during cell selection, cell reselection, handover to a target cell, inter radio access technology redirection from a wireless network as taught by Jangid et al.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 16, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, on the obtained encoded at least one sample measurement; and provide the position information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 17, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, a first discreet message and a second discreet message in case the at least one encoded sample measurement is obtained as two discreet messages instead of one (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 18, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, resolve a respective signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 19, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the position estimate is determined based on a maximum of five full identifier information of the respective radio nodes with their corresponding signal strength information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, fig. 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein a respective full identifier information is represented by six octets (bytes), and a respective partial identifier information is represented by one octet, and the part of the respective full identifier information is a last octet of the respective obtained identifier information (¶ 0030, 0039, 0063, 0067, 0124).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 20, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the at least one signal strength information of the encoded at least one sample measurement is represented by 4 bits (¶ 0030, 0039, 0063, 0057 0067, 0124).
Regarding claim 9, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, a method, comprising (abstract, fig. 1-5):
obtaining at least one encoded sample measurement comprising:
at a maximum two full identifier information of respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5);
at a maximum three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes, wherein a part of a respective full identifier information of the respective radio nodes is comprised (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
at least one signal strength information of the respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
resolving a respective partial identifier information of the maximum of three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes to determine their respective full identifier information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5).
WIROLA et al does not specifically disclose signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values.
In the same field of endeavor, Jangid et al discloses, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0091-0092, 0097). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of WIROLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables efficiently prioritizing selection of LTE cells providing a new radio (NR) support during cell selection, cell reselection, handover to a target cell, inter radio access technology redirection from a wireless network as taught by Jangid et al.
Regarding claim 9, WIROLA et al discloses in claim 1 further, a tangible computer-readable medium storing computer program code, the computer program code when executed by a processor causing an apparatus to perform and/or control (abstract, fig. 1-5):
obtaining at least one encoded sample measurement comprising:
at a maximum two full identifier information of respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5);
at a maximum three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes, wherein a part of a respective full identifier information of the respective radio nodes is comprised (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
at least one signal strength information of the respective radio nodes (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5); and
resolving a respective partial identifier information of the maximum of three partial identifier information of respective radio nodes to determine their respective full identifier information (¶ 0039, 0050, 0053-0055, 0123, 0139, provide one original identifier (one full mac address) and two or three shortened identifiers, fig. 1-5).
WIROLA et al does not specifically disclose signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values.
In the same field of endeavor, Jangid et al discloses, signal strength information represented by a linear value based on at least one of pre-defined signal strength values or pre-defined signal strength ranges mapped to the respective linear values (¶ 0091-0092, 0097). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of WIROLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables efficiently prioritizing selection of LTE cells providing a new radio (NR) support during cell selection, cell reselection, handover to a target cell, inter radio access technology redirection from a wireless network as taught by Jangid et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643