This is a final rejection is in response to Applicant’s amendment of 20 May 2026. Claims 19-23, 25-27, 29 and 30 are currently pending, as discussed below. Claims 1-18, 24 and 28 are canceled.
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 19, 20, 24, 29, and 30 is indefinite because Examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of recited “policy information”. It is unclear if “policy information” means: (i) vehicle control command, (ii) GPS coordinates, (iii) speed limit or traffic rule, (iv) road access availability, (v) a level of congestion traffic on the road. Examiner cannot find any detail to clarify the meaning of “policy information” in the specification or the claims.
Claims 20-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim(s) depending from claims expressly noted above are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 by/for reason of their dependency from a noted claim that is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, for the reasons given.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 May 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. Amendments to the specification is accepted although abstract was not objected to in the previous office action. Arguments and amendments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 19-30 are not persuasive and rejection sustained. Arguments and amendments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 19-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are persuasive and rejection has been withdrawn. Arguments and amendments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 19 is not persuasive and rejection has been sustained.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner agrees that the driving parameters of the Adare reference does not teach “a predetermined positioning interval for the autonomous vehicle”. However, the secondary reference Lawrenson teaches that limitation. Additionally, applicant argues that the Lawrenson does not teach “positioning policy information” however examiner submits that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language does not exclude the interpretation of positioning policy information to include as mismatched sensor and map data. Policy information is further indefinite because it includes it is not clear what information is not included in “policy information” therefore, the metes and bounds are still unclear. Applicant recites “positioning policy information that includes a predetermined positioning data for the driving section”. The term “includes” does not exclude other types of information to be included in “positioning policy information”. Applicant has not cited specific paragraphs in the disclosure and has not clarified the metes and bounds of "policy information" for example, in arguments filed on 29 October 2025, applicant cites paragraph 18: "the server may calculate a positioning cycle for positioning data at intervals of up to 20 cm at the regulation speed of the driving section" but the quoted text does not mention any such policy information. Paragraph 19 discloses "server may calculate the number of positioning vehicles for a speed section in which the positioning cycle exceeds a predetermined limit" but that quoted text does not mention any policy information. Paragraph 16 discloses: "the vehicle electronic device may compare lanes and presence or absence of curbs or obstacles in the driving section with the high-definition map data through the plurality of sensors and transmit a direction of difference and an amount of difference to the server" but the quoted text does not mention any policy information. Lastly, paragraph 21 does not define what policy information is and only discusses the condition for the server to "transmit new positioning policy information" but the metes and bounds of "policy information" is still unclear. The only paragraph cited by the applicant that gestures to the definition of positioning policy information could be is paragraph 20: "the server may calculate positioning policy information to perform positioning by providing different positioning starting points to the electronic device of each positioning vehicle and transmit the calculated positioning policy information to a vehicle scheduled to enter that section", the quoted text defines policy information as "positioning start points". Additionally, examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of "positioning policy information" and if "policy information" is different or the same as "positioning policy information".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1) and LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1)
Regarding Claim 19, Adare teaches, a system for updating high-definition maps for autonomous driving (see at least, ¶35, Adare), the system comprising: an autonomous vehicle configured to: receive a high-definition map data for a driving section and positioning policy information for the driving section (receiving vehicle apparatus may use the information/data for a driving section to update a digital map locally stored and positioning policy information adjusting one more driving parameters of the autonomous vehicle, see at least, ¶31, Adare), wherein the positioning policy information for the driving section is optionally provided (receiving vehicle apparatus may use the information for adjusting one more driving parameters of the autonomous vehicle but it is not required therefore the positioning policy information is optional, see at least, ¶31, Adare) and includes a predetermined positioning interval for the autonomous vehicle to obtain first positioning data for the driving section;
based on an absence of the positioning policy information for the driving section, obtain second positioning data of the driving section according to a basic interval by controlling an object detection device mounted on the autonomous vehicle during autonomous driving in the driving section (positioning data of the driving section is captured by the vehicle apparatus 20 capture sensor which is interpreted as an object detection device of the vehicle 5 as it autonomously traverses a driving section and based on the absence of V2V criteria (positioning policy information) does not transmit inconsistency notifications, see at least, ¶31-32 and 36-38, Adare),
wherein the object detection device includes at least one or any combination of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor, or an infrared sensor (vehicle apparatus 20 comprises sensors 29 such as camera, LIDAR, RADAR, ultrasonic, or infrared sensors, see at least, ¶38-39, Adare),
wherein an inconsistency result is generated when the high-definition map data is different from the obtained second positioning data of the driving section (vehicle apparatus 20 analyzes the sensor information/data and identify/detect inconsistencies between the analysis of the sensor information and the map information stored in memory, see at least, ¶38, Adare), and
wherein the first positioning data and the second positioning data include data corresponding to a condition of the driving section (current condition of a road network is represented by sensor information/data captured by a vehicle apparatus 20, see at least, ¶44, Adare);
based on receiving the positioning policy information for the driving section, stop autonomous driving and obtain the first positioning data of the driving section according to the predetermined positioning interval by controlling the object detection device while the autonomous vehicle travels in the driving section; and transmit one or more of the inconsistency result of the driving section or the first positioning data obtained by performing positioning according to the received positioning policy information for the driving section (based on if the detected inconsistency satisfies one or more V2V criteria (receiving positioning policy information), the vehicle generates a notification message that includes the inconsistency result (the first positioning data) of the driving section from controlling the vehicle apparatus 20 to collect sensor data, see at least, ¶31-32, Adare); and
a server configured to: provide the high-definition map data to the autonomous vehicle; generate the positioning policy information for the driving section based on receiving the inconsistency result of the driving section from the autonomous vehicle; provide the generated positioning policy information for the driving section to a selected one or more of autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section (network apparatus 10 may be a server, and may transmit notification messages that include HD maplet data comprising inconsistency result to autonomous vehicles which use for autonomous navigation and positioning, see at least, ¶11, 32 -36 and 91, Adare);
receive the first positioning data obtained by the selected one or more of the autonomous vehicles according to the positioning policy information for the driving section; and update the high-definition map data with the received first positioning data from the selected one or more of autonomous vehicles (network apparatus 10 receive notification/update messages comprising positioning data from the autonomous vehicles meeting V2V criteria (policy information) and update the HD map with the received positioning data, see at least, ¶31-37, Adare).
Adare does not explicitly teach, a predetermined positioning interval for the autonomous vehicle to obtain first positioning data for the driving section; obtain second positioning data of the driving section according to a basic interval; and based on receiving the positioning policy information for the driving section, stop autonomous driving and obtain the first positioning data of the driving section according to the predetermined positioning interval.
Lawrenson, directed to A system and method for updating map data for updating map data for an autonomous vehicle, teaches, a predetermined positioning interval for the autonomous vehicle to obtain first positioning data for the driving section; obtain second positioning data of the driving section according to a basic interval; and based on receiving the positioning policy information for the driving section, obtain the first positioning data of the driving section according to the predetermined positioning interval (Fig.5 depicts AV Sensors Collect Sensor Data 501 at predetermined intervals (basic interval) and once a potential change is identified (receiving positioning policy information), the AV sensors may continuously (predetermined interval) collect sensor data until the potential change is no longer detected (absence of positioning policy information), see at least, ¶77, Lawrenson).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare to incorporate the teachings of Lawrenson which teaches a predetermined positioning interval for the autonomous vehicle to obtain first positioning data for the driving section; obtain second positioning data of the driving section according to a basic interval; and based on receiving the positioning policy information for the driving section, obtain the first positioning data of the driving section according to the predetermined positioning interval since they are both related updating maps for autonomous vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Lawrenson would increase accuracy the AV map system (see at least ¶174-176, Lawrenson).
Lee, directed to computer systems and techniques for operating an autonomous vehicle (AV) based on the availability of navigation information, teaches based on receiving the positioning policy information for the driving section, stop autonomous driving (Fig. 14 Block 1410 depicts in accordance with the determination that navigational information is not available for the determined location (receiving policy information), the vehicle will exit autonomous mode, see at least, ¶ 122, Fig. 14, Lee)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare and Lawrenson to incorporate the teachings of Lee which teaches based on receiving the positioning policy information for the driving section, stop autonomous driving since they are both related to navigating autonomous vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of Lee would increase the safety of the vehicle when the navigation system is not in a reliable state (see at least ¶ 37, Lee).
Regarding Claim 20, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teach, the system according to claim 19, wherein, in the absence of the positioning policy information for the driving section, the autonomous vehicle is configured to compare the high-definition map (Based on the absence of V2V criteria, see at least ¶31-32, vehicle apparatus 20 analyzes the sensor information/data and identify/detect inconsistencies between the analysis of the sensor information and the high definition map information stored in memory, see at least, ¶38, and wherein the positioning data includes data corresponding to a condition of the driving section, see at least, ¶44, Adare)
Regarding Claim 21, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teaches, the system according to claim 20,
Lee, directed to computer systems and techniques for operating an autonomous vehicle (AV) based on the availability of navigation information teaches, wherein, wherein, based at least in part on the server receiving the inconsistency result, the server is configured to determine a reliability of the received inconsistency result from the autonomous vehicle (see at least, ¶122, Fig. 14, Lee).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have further modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee to further incorporate the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein, based at least in part on the server receiving the inconsistency result, the server is configured to determine a reliability of the received inconsistency result from the autonomous vehicle since they are both related to updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Lee would increase safety and reliability of the overall system by also stopping autonomous driving when the map confidence is unfit for safe autonomous driving.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1) and LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1) as applied to claims 19-21 and further in view of KITAHARA; GENKI et al. (US 20210199463 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teaches, the system according to claim 20,
Kitahara, directed to a map generation system for autonomously driving a vehicle teaches, wherein, based at least in part on the server receiving the inconsistency result, the server is configured to determine a reliability of the received inconsistency result from the autonomous vehicle (see at least, ¶34, Kitahara).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee to further incorporate the teachings of Kitahara which teaches, wherein, based at least in part on the server receiving the inconsistency result, the server is configured to determine a reliability of the received inconsistency result from the autonomous vehicle since they are both related updating maps for autonomous vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Kitahara would increase the accuracy of the high definition map.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1), LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1) and KITAHARA; GENKI et al. (US 20210199463 A1) as applied to claim 22 and further in view of Lasseson; Kristian (US 20110102637 A1) and PARK; Kang Won et al. (US 20200174470 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee and Kitahara teaches, the system according to claim 22, wherein, based at least in part on the server receiving the inconsistency result.
Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee and Kitahara does not explicitly teach the server is further configured to: calculate a corrected positioning interval for a regulation speed of the driving section period; and calculate a number of vehicles needed to perform positioning based on the corrected positioning interval.
Lasseson, directed to, capturing videos of trips teaches, the server is further configured to: calculate a corrected positioning interval for a regulation speed of the driving section period (see at least, ¶57, Lasseson);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee and Kitahara to further incorporate the teachings of Lasseson which teaches, the server is further configured to: calculate a corrected positioning interval for a regulation speed of the driving section period since they are both related to recording devices for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Lasseson would retain an improved record of the trip, see at least ¶32, Lasseson.
Park, directed to directed to a system and a method for supporting driving of an autonomous vehicle further teaches, calculate a number of vehicles needed to perform positioning based on the corrected positioning interval (see at least, ¶86, Fig.3, Park).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee Kitahara and Lasseson to incorporate the teachings of Park which teaches calculate a number of vehicles needed to perform positioning based on the corrected positioning interval since they are both related updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Park would increase safety and reliability of the overall system by ensuring that the vehicles in the driving section being controlled by the server are properly accounted for.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1) and LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1) as applied to claims 19-21 and further in view of VAN LAETHEM; Jean-Marc et al. (US 20160210854 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teaches, the system according to claim 19.
Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the autonomous vehicle is further configured to transmit a speed of the autonomous vehicle at a time of performing positioning when transmitting the inconsistency result of the driving section.
Van Laethem, directed to updating a database of authorized speed limits on all sections of a road network teaches, wherein the autonomous vehicle is further configured to transmit a speed of the autonomous vehicle at a time of performing positioning when transmitting the inconsistency result of the driving section (see at least, ¶18, Van Laethem).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Van Laethem which teaches wherein the autonomous vehicle is further configured to transmit a speed of the autonomous vehicle at a time of performing positioning when transmitting the inconsistency result of the driving section since they are both related updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Van Laethem would reduce the cost of monitoring and updating speed limits of all roads on a map by updating them automatically.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1), LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1) and VAN LAETHEM; Jean-Marc et al. (US 20160210854 A1) as applied to claim 25 and further in view of TOHRIYAMA; Kyoichi et al. (US 20200225044 A1).
Regarding Claim 26, Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee and Van Laethem teaches, the system according to claim 25.
Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee and Van Laethem does not explicitly teach,
wherein the inconsistency result includes an inconsistency associated with at least one of positioning of lanes, curbs, and presence or absence of obstacles in a current driving section and an amount of the inconsistency.
Tohriyama, directed to a map information provision system teaches,
wherein the inconsistency result includes an inconsistency associated with at least one of positioning of lanes, curbs, and presence or absence of obstacles in a current driving section and an amount of the inconsistency (see at least, ¶23 and 65, Tohriyama).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson, Lee and Van Laethem to incorporate the teachings of Tohriyama which teaches wherein the inconsistency result includes an inconsistency associated with at least one of positioning of lanes, curbs, and presence or absence of obstacles in a current driving section and an amount of the inconsistency since they are both related updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Tohriyama would increase safety and reliability of the overall system by improving the accuracy and positioning of landmarks in the map in the case the road has shifted or an obstacle has moved.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1) and LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1) as applied to claims 19-21 and further in view of BRAUNSTEIN; Daniel et al. (US 20170008521 A1) and Chun; Semin (US 20210354557 A1).
Regarding Claim 27, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teaches the system according to claim 19,
Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee does not explicitly wherein the server is configured to calculate a corrected positioning interval to perform positioning within a margin of error at a regulation speed of the driving section.
Braunstein, directed to directed to systems and methods for constructing, using, and updating the sparse map for autonomous vehicle navigation teaches, wherein the server is configured to calculate a corrected positioning interval to perform positioning within a margin of error (see at least, ¶349, Fig. 5E, Braunstein).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Braunstein which teaches wherein the server is configured to calculate a corrected positioning interval to perform positioning within a margin of error since they are both related updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Braunstein would increase safety and reliability of the overall system by ensuring the path provided by the positioning cycle contains a low margin of error which ensures a high granularity of path information.
Chun, directed to directed to an apparatus for assisting driving of a host vehicle teaches, within a margin of error at the regulation speed of the driving section (see at least, ¶78, 91, Fig. 4, ¶127, Chun).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee and Braunstein to incorporate the teachings of Chun with which teaches within a margin of error at the regulation speed of the driving section since they are both related updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Chun would increase safety and reliability of the overall system by instruction vehicles to accelerate or decelerate in accordance with the speed limits of the driving section.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adare; Andrew et al. (US 20200296558 A1) in view of LAWRENSON; Matthew John et al. (US 20180356236 A1) and LEE; Jong Ho et al. (US 20210078593 A1) as applied to claims 19-21 and further in view of Chun; Semin (US 20210354557 A1).
Regarding Claim 29, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teaches, the system according to claim 19,
Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee does not explicitly teach, wherein the server is configured to: determine whether the autonomous vehicle's speed at a time of positioning is consistent with the autonomous vehicle's speed according to the positioning policy information; based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle's speed at the time of positioning being consistent with a speed of the autonomous vehicle according to the positioning policy information, update the high-definition map data with the received first positioning data; and provide the updated high-definition map data to the selected one or more of the autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section.
Chun, directed to directed to an apparatus for assisting driving of a host vehicle teaches, determine whether the autonomous vehicle's speed at a time of positioning is consistent with the autonomous vehicle's speed according to the positioning policy information; based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle's speed at the time of positioning being consistent with a speed of the autonomous vehicle according to the positioning policy information, update the high-definition map data with the received first positioning data; and provide the updated high-definition map data to the selected one or more of the autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section (see at least, ¶78, 91, Fig. 4, ¶127, Chun).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Chun with which teaches determine whether the autonomous vehicle's speed at a time of positioning is consistent with the autonomous vehicle's speed according to the positioning policy information; based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle's speed at the time of positioning being consistent with a speed of the autonomous vehicle according to the positioning policy information, update the high-definition map data with the received first positioning data; and provide the updated high-definition map data to the selected one or more of the autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section since they are both related updating and utilizing maps for vehicle navigation and incorporation of the teachings of Chun would increase safety and reliability of the overall system by instruction vehicles to accelerate or decelerate in accordance with the speed limits of the driving section.
Regarding Claim 30, Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee teaches, the system according to claim 19.
Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee does not explicitly teach wherein, based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle's speed at a time of positioning not being consistent with the autonomous vehicle's speed according to the positioning policy information, the server is configured to: store the first positioning data received from the autonomous vehicle; determine supplementary positioning policy information for obtaining additional positioning data at the driving section; and transmit the supplementary positioning policy information to the selected one or more of autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section.
Chun, directed to directed to an apparatus for assisting driving of a host vehicle teaches, wherein, based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle's speed at a time of positioning not being consistent with the autonomous vehicle's speed according to the positioning policy information, the server is configured to: store the first positioning data received from the autonomous vehicle; determine supplementary positioning policy information for obtaining additional positioning data at the driving section; and transmit the supplementary positioning policy information to the selected one or more of autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section (see at least, ¶78, 91, Fig. 4, ¶127, Chun).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Adare in view of Lawrenson and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Chun with which teaches wherein, based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle's speed at a time of positioning not being consistent with the autonomous vehicle's speed according to the positioning policy information, the server is configured to: store the first positioning data received from the autonomous vehicle; determine supplementary positioning policy information for obtaining additional positioning data at the driving section; and transmit the supplementary positioning policy information to the selected one or more of autonomous vehicles scheduled to enter the driving section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRENE C KHUU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664