CTNF 18/077,992 CTNF 89037 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 discloses the limitation, “the first assembly electrode part.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 13. Claim 15 recites the limitation " the second-first branch electrode part or the second-second branch electrode part comprises a curved recess inside thereof, and the first expanded electrode part comprises a shape corresponding to the curved recess”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Its seems that these limitation may be actually be dependent on claim 6 instead of claim 1. Claim 17 discloses the limitation, “the first assembly electrode part.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 18 and 19 are rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 17. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6, 10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schuele et al. [US 2017/0133550 A1], “Schuele” . Regarding claim 1 , Schuele discloses a semiconductor light emitting device display device (Fig. 1-21C, abstract): a substrate (Fig. 17L, 1200 and ¶[0108]); a first assembly electrode (Fig. 17A, 1701 and ¶[0108]) disposed on the substrate; a second assembly electrode branched (Fig. 17I, 1714 and ¶[0108]) and disposed above the first assembly electrode (1701); an insulating layer (1700) disposed between the first assembly electrode and the second assembly electrode (as shown in Fig. 17H); an assembly barrier wall (Fig. 17K, 1202) including an assembly hole and disposed on the second assembly electrode (as shown in Fig. 17K); and a semiconductor light emitting device (Fig. 17L, 300) disposed in the assembly hole, electrically connected to the second assembly electrode (1714, as shown). Regarding claim 2 , Schuele discloses claim 1, Schuele further disclose the second assembly electrode (Fig. 17L, 1714 (annotated Fig. 17L below)) comprises a second body electrode part (MB), and a second-first branch electrode part (1714.1), a second-second branch electrode part (1714.2) extending from the second body electrode part (MB) in a direction of the first assembly electrode and spaced apart from each other (as shown), and wherein the first assembly electrode (1701) is disposed between the second-first branch electrode part and the second-second branch electrode part (as shown below in the annotated figure below). PNG media_image1.png 343 376 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3 , Schuele discloses claim 1, Schuele further disclose the first assembly electrode (Fig. 17L, 1701)and the second assembly electrode (1714) do not vertically overlap each other (as shown). Regarding claim 4 , Schuele discloses claim 2, Schuele further disclose the first assembly electrode (Fig. 17L, 1701) comprises a first body electrode part (1701MB) and a first extended electrode part (1701EX) extending from the first body electrode part in a direction of the second assembly electrode part (as shown in Fig. 17L). Regarding claim 5 , Schuele discloses claim 4, Schuele further disclose the first extended electrode part (Fig. 17L annotated above, 1701EX) is disposed between the second-first branch electrode part (1714.1) and the second-second branch electrode part (1714.2). Regarding claim 6 , Schuele discloses claim 5, Schuele further disclose the first extended electrode (Fig. 17L annotated above, 1701EX) comprises a first expanded electrode part having a shape corresponding (as shown above) to a horizontal cross-section of the semiconductor light emitting device (as shown in Fig. 4B, the shape correspond). Regarding claim 10 , Schuele discloses claim 1, Schuele further disclose a V+/V- signal is applied to the first assembly electrode, and the second assembly electrode is grounded (as shown in Fig. 14A, and ¶[0077]). Further, the Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bfunctiond Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. The recitation of “a V+/V- signal is applied to the first assembly electrode, and the second assembly electrode is grounded” does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Schuele who teaches the structure as claimed. Regarding claim 15 , Schuele discloses claim 1, Schuele further disclose the second-first branch electrode part or the second-second branch electrode part (1714.2) comprises a curved recess inside thereof (the electrode is curved), and the first expanded electrode part comprises a shape corresponding to the curved recess (as shown in Fig. 17L annotated above). Regarding claim 16 , Schuele discloses a semiconductor light emitting device display device (Fig. 1-21C, abstract and Fig. 17G’ annotated below for clarity): a substrate (Fig. 17L, 1200 and ¶[0108]); a second assembly electrode (Fig. 17E, 1712) branched and disposed on the substrate (as shown); a first assembly electrode (1701) disposed in the second assembly electrode (as shown) and disposed at the same height as the second assembly electrode (as shown in Fig. 17F); an insulating layer (1700) disposed between the first assembly electrode and the second assembly electrode (as shown); an assembly barrier wall (Fig. 17L, 1202) including an assembly hole (as shown) and disposed on the second assembly electrode and the insulating layer (as shown in Fig. 17L); and a semiconductor light emitting device (300) disposed in the assembly hole (as shown). Regarding claim 17 , Schuele discloses claim 16, Schuele further discloses the second assembly electrode (Fig. 17G’ annotated below, 1712) comprises a second body electrode part (MB), and a second-first branch electrode part (1712.1), a second-second branch electrode part (1712.2) extending from the second body electrode part in the direction (as shown) of the first assembly electrode part (1701) and spaced apart from each other (as shown), wherein the first assembly electrode (1701) is disposed between the second-first branch electrode part (1712.1) and the second-second branch electrode part (1712.2) spaced apart (as shown). PNG media_image2.png 413 497 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 18 , Schuele discloses claim 17, Schuele further discloses the first assembly electrode (Fig. 17G’, 1701) comprises a first body electrode part (1701MB) and a first extended electrode part (1701EX) extending from the first body electrode part in the direction of the second assembly electrode part (1712) (as shown), wherein the first extended electrode part comprises a first expanded electrode part having a shape corresponding to a horizontal cross-section of the semiconductor light emitting device (as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 17G, the shape correspond). Regarding claim 19 , Schuele discloses claim 17, Schuele further discloses the second-first branch electrode part (Fig. 17G’, 1712.2) or the second-second branch electrode part comprises a curved recess inside thereof, the first expanded electrode part has a shape corresponding to the curved recess (as shown in Fig. 17G’). Regarding claim 20 , Schuele discloses claim 16, Schuele further discloses Schuele further disclose a V+/V- signal is applied to the first assembly electrode, and the second assembly electrode is grounded (as shown in Fig. 14A, and ¶[0077]). Further, the Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bfunctiond Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. The recitation of “a V+/V- signal is applied to the first assembly electrode, and the second assembly electrode is grounded” does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Schuele who teaches the structure as claimed . 07-15 AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. [WO 2020/262752 A1], “Jeong” further [US 2022/0351993 A1] will be relied upon for English translation . Regarding claim 11 , Jeong discloses a display device of a semiconductor light emitting device (Figs 17-18): a substrate (Fig. 17, 210); a first assembly electrode (230a) disposed on the substrate (as shown); a second assembly electrode (230b) disposed on the first assembly electrode; an insulating layer (220a) disposed between the first assembly electrode(230a) and the second assembly electrode (230b) (as shown); a second insulating layer (220b) disposed on the second assembly electrode (230b) and the insulating layer (220a); an assembly barrier wall (250) including an assembly hole (240) and disposed on the second assembly electrode (230b); and a semiconductor light emitting device (150) disposed in the assembly hole (240) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7-9, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al [US 11,211,366 B2] discloses a semiconductor light-emitting diodes are placed on the assembly substrate at preset positions using electric field and magnetic field Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PRIYA M RAMPERSAUD whose telephone number is (571)272-3464. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Wed 9am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chad Dicke can be reached at (571)270-7996. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. PRIYA M. RAMPERSAUD Examiner Art Unit 2897 /P.M.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/077,992 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897