DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11/6/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 with respect to claims 1, 8 and 13 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao (US PGPub 2022/0279623) in view of Kim (US PGPub 2014/0218517), and in further view of Larsen (US PGPub 2022/0294109).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The recited ACRONYMS such as RF must be defined within the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 8 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite the limitation “…, wherein the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna housing from the device; …”. If the term ‘the device’ indicates ‘a home security gateway device’, examiner suggests to amend the latter ‘the device’ into ‘the home security gateway device’ to avoid any confusion because of the language inconsistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao (US PGPub 2022/0279623) in view of Larsen (US PGPub 2022/0294109).
Regarding claim 13, Jiao teaches a home security gateway device (Jiao, see abstract, A gateway for Internet of Things), comprising:
a housing body characterized by a perimeter extending about the housing body (Jiao, see paragraph 0006, a body for holding components of the gateway for Internet of Things);
a plurality of carrier bodies distributed about and connected proximate the perimeter of the housing body at a plurality of mounting locations, wherein each carrier body of the plurality of carrier bodies (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao); and
a plurality of three-dimensional antennas, each received by and connected to a respective carrier body (Jiao, see figure 1B, a plurality of antennas connected to the main control board), wherein a first three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is configured to send and receive first radio frequency signals on one or more first channels (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body. the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body), wherein a second three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is configured to send and receive second radio frequency signals on two or more second channels (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086), and wherein the one or more first channels are distinct from the two or more second channels (Jiao, see paragraph 0021, A multiple-protocol gateway for Internet of Things generally contains communication protocols such as Bluetooth, ZigBee, LoRa, Ethernet, etc. With the prevalence of 5G networks, a gateway-class device may introduce 5G technology to increase the number of access devices).
Jiao teaches the above yet fails to teach each of the plurality of carrier bodies comprising a hollow antenna housing and an RF shielding element, the hollow antenna housing configured to support a three-dimensional antenna, and the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna space from the device.
Then Larsen teaches each of the plurality of carrier bodies (Larsen, see paragraph 0053, An antenna module 122 may then be installed in the cut-out section 174 as shown in FIG. 7B) comprising a hollow antenna housing (Larsen, see paragraph 0052, a non-metallic zone 170 provided above and below the antenna 120 in the top cover 112 and the bottom cover 114, respectively) and an RF shielding element (Larsen, see paragraph 0054, the antenna shielding 130 (i.e. the metallic wall) may be integrated with the metallic body frame 110 instead of installing the antenna shielding 130 separately. The C-shape metallic side wall 192 may be integrally formed with the single metallic body), the hollow antenna housing configured to support a three-dimensional antenna, and the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna space from the device (Larsen, see paragraphs 0035 and 0052, The non-metallic zone 170 is provided for the RF radiations to and from the antenna 120. The non-metallic zone 170 may be formed in the top cover 112 and/or in the bottom cover 114 right above and/or below the antenna shielding 130 for antenna radiation. For implementing the antenna self-shielding, a specific WiFi antenna type may be selected for physical and electrical isolations from the chassis, and a new scheme is used to integrate the antenna onto either metallic or non-metallic (e.g. plastic) chassis, which will be explained in detail below. In accordance with the examples disclosed herein, the antenna is isolated from the platform RF noise sources without sacrificing the antenna performances by creating a small EMI shield for the antenna rather than widespread RF noise sources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiao with Electronic computing device having self-shielding antenna of Larsen, because doing so would make Jiao more efficient in providing a self-shielding antenna module disposed around the antenna for providing electro-magnetic shielding from radio frequency (RE) noises generated from the electronic components included in the frame (Larsen, see abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches wherein at least two mounting locations of the plurality of mounting locations are disposed on opposite sides of the housing body (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao).
Regarding claim 15, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches wherein at least three mounting locations of the plurality of mounting locations are disposed among three distinct sides of the housing body (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao).
Regarding claim 16, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches wherein a first carrier body is configured to receive at least one three-dimensional antenna (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body), and is characterized by a first arm extending in a first direction and a second arm extending in a second direction, the second direction being substantially orthogonal to the first direction (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body).
Regarding claim 17, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches wherein a first three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is configured to send and receive radio frequency signals via WiFi, Bluetooth, 4G, or 5G (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body. the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body), and a second three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is configured to send and receive radio frequency signals via two or more channels (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Regarding claim 18, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches wherein a second carrier body comprises a single arm and defines a substantially hollow volume configured to support a three-dimensional antenna (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao).
Regarding claim 19, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches further comprising an audio device configured to transmit auditory signals (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Regarding claim 20, Jiao in view of Larsen teaches wherein the plurality of mounting locations is defined along the perimeter of the housing body, such that an operational range of each of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is above a predetermined threshold (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao (US PGPub 2022/0279623) in view of Kim (US PGPub 2014/0218517), and in further view of Larsen (US PGPub 2022/0294109).
Regarding claim 1, Jiao teaches a home security gateway device (Jiao, see abstract, A gateway for Internet of Things), comprising:
a housing body characterized by a perimeter extending about the housing body (Jiao, see paragraph 0006, a body for holding components of the gateway for Internet of Things);
a plurality of carrier bodies distributed about and connected proximate the perimeter of the housing body at a plurality of mounting locations (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao);
a plurality of three-dimensional antennas (Jiao, see figure 1B, a plurality of antennas connected to the main control board), wherein a first three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is connected to a first carrier body of the plurality of carrier bodies and is configured to send and receive first radio frequency signals on one or more first channels (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body. the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body), and wherein a second three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is connected to a second carrier body of the plurality of carrier bodies and is configured to send and receive second radio frequency signals on two or more second channels (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Jiao teaches the above yet fails to teach one or more processors; one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the home security gateway device to perform operations comprising: receiving, via the first three-dimensional antenna, a signal on a first channel of the one or more first channels, wherein the first channel is characterized by a first frequency; determining that the signal comprises information associated with a peripheral security device; accessing a list comprising the one or more peripheral security devices and the two or more second channels determining that the peripheral security device is configured to send and receive signals on a second channel of the two or more second channels, wherein the second channel is characterized by a second frequency based on the list; and causing the second three-dimensional antenna to transmit the signal to the peripheral security device on the second channel.
Then Kim teaches one or more processors (Kim, see figure 3, a schematic configuration of a home gateway);
one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Kim, see figure 3, a schematic configuration of a home gateway), cause the home security gateway device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, via the first three-dimensional antenna, a signal on a first channel of the one or more first channels (Kim, see paragraph 0116, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera), wherein the first channel is characterized by a first frequency (Kim, see paragraph 0045, A registered mobile terminal 250 may connect with a wireless network 240 including a wireless access network and a provider core network, and may access the home gateway 220 through the wired network 230. A wireless network 240 may be a 2G (Generation) or 3G cellular communication system, 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project), a 4G communication system, LTE (Long-Term Evolution), WiMAX (World Interoperability for Microwave Access), and the like);
determining that the signal comprises information associated with a peripheral security device (Kim, see paragraph 0116, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera);
accessing a list comprising the one or more peripheral security devices and the two or more second channels (Kim, see paragraph 0051, the storage unit 326 may further store at least one of additional information required for controlling a home network system, for example, an arrangement plan (or a map) including an arrangement of sections included in a house (such as, a room, a kitchen, a living room, a bathroom, and the like), information associated with home devices included in a home network system, information associated with at least one target position to be secured and monitored, and movement commands for controlling a movement of a mobile home device)
determining that the peripheral security device is configured to send and receive signals on a second channel of the two or more second channels (Kim, see paragraph 0117, the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message), wherein the second channel is characterized by a second frequency based on the list (Kim, see paragraph 0047, a home gateway 300 may be connected with home devices (not illustrated) using at least one communication module 312 through 314. The communication modules 312 through 314 include at least one of a wireless LAN module 312 such as WiFi, a Zigbee module 314, a Bluetooth module 316, an NFC module 318, and a wired communication module 320); and
causing the second three-dimensional antenna to transmit the signal to the peripheral security device on the second channel (Kim, see paragraphs 0116 and 0117, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera. the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiao with home monitoring method and apparatus of Kim, because doing so would make Jiao more efficient in providing a better service by taking into consideration various requests from a user for monitoring circumstances in a house through an electrical appliance and an IP camera in a home network system (Kim, see paragraphs 0006 and 0009).
Jiao in view of Kim teaches the above yet fails to teach each of the plurality of carrier bodies comprising a hollow antenna housing and an RF shielding element, wherein the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna housing from the device.
Then Larsen teaches each of the plurality of carrier bodies (Larsen, see paragraph 0053, An antenna module 122 may then be installed in the cut-out section 174 as shown in FIG. 7B) comprising a hollow antenna housing (Larsen, see paragraph 0052, a non-metallic zone 170 provided above and below the antenna 120 in the top cover 112 and the bottom cover 114, respectively) and an RF shielding element (Larsen, see paragraph 0054, the antenna shielding 130 (i.e. the metallic wall) may be integrated with the metallic body frame 110 instead of installing the antenna shielding 130 separately. The C-shape metallic side wall 192 may be integrally formed with the single metallic body), wherein the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna housing from the device (Larsen, see paragraphs 0035 and 0052, The non-metallic zone 170 is provided for the RF radiations to and from the antenna 120. The non-metallic zone 170 may be formed in the top cover 112 and/or in the bottom cover 114 right above and/or below the antenna shielding 130 for antenna radiation. For implementing the antenna self-shielding, a specific WiFi antenna type may be selected for physical and electrical isolations from the chassis, and a new scheme is used to integrate the antenna onto either metallic or non-metallic (e.g. plastic) chassis, which will be explained in detail below. In accordance with the examples disclosed herein, the antenna is isolated from the platform RF noise sources without sacrificing the antenna performances by creating a small EMI shield for the antenna rather than widespread RF noise sources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiao in view of Kim with Electronic computing device having self-shielding antenna of Larsen, because doing so would make Jiao in view of Kim more efficient in providing a self-shielding antenna module disposed around the antenna for providing electro-magnetic shielding from radio frequency (RE) noises generated from the electronic components included in the frame (Larsen, see abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the first three-dimensional antenna is configured to send and receive radio frequency signals via WiFi, Bluetooth, 4G, or 5G (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body. the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body), and the second three-dimensional antenna is configured to send and receive radio frequency signals via the two or more channels comprising two or more of 433 MHz, 345 MHz, 868 MHz, or Z-WAVE 908 MHZ (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Regarding claim 3, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the second three-dimensional antenna is a combo antenna, configured to send and receive radio frequency signals on the two or more channels simultaneously (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Regarding claim 4, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprise additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the home security gateway device to perform additional operations comprising communicating with one or more peripheral security devices and one or more user devices simultaneously (Jiao, see paragraphs 0036, 0043, the number of Wi-Fi antennas in the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be more than one, for example, may be two. the Bluetooth antenna 110 and the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be integrated into a whole, for example, the Bluetooth antenna 110 may be attached to the Wi-Fi antenna module. the antenna form of the Wi-Fi antennas of the Wi-Fi antenna component 108 may be a form of a dipole antenna, which comprises a first radiation body 1082 in the horizontal direction, a second radiation body 1084 in the vertical direction and a ground wire 1086).
Regarding claim 5, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the first carrier body is connected to the housing body at a first mounting location of the plurality of mounting locations (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao), wherein second carrier body is connected to the housing body at a second mounting location of the plurality of mounting locations that is orthogonally offset from the first mounting location, the first and second three-dimensional antennas being configured to send and receive radio frequency signals on a common channel (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body. the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body).
Regarding claim 6, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the first carrier body is configured to support the first three-dimensional antenna and a third three-dimensional antenna, the first and third three-dimensional antennas being configured to send and receive radio frequency signals on a common channel (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao).
Regarding claim 7, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein each three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is formed in a flat substrate that is flexible to contour around a surface of a respective carrier body of the plurality of carrier bodies (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao).
Regarding claim 8, Jiao teaches a home security gateway device (Jiao, see abstract, A gateway for Internet of Things), comprising:
a printed circuit board (Jiao, see figure 1B, main control board 104);
a plurality of three-dimensional antennas electrically connected to the printed circuit board (Jiao, see figure 1B, a plurality of antennas connected to the main control board);
one or more processors electrically connected to the printed circuit board (Jiao, see paragraph 0025, The main control board 104 may comprise a CPU and a memory, and the main control board 104 coordinates work processes of the various modules and rationally allocates the CPU resource to ensure that the various modules work in order).
Jiao teaches the above yet fails to teach one or more non-transitory computer readable media electrically connected to the printed circuit board and comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the home security gateway device to perform operations comprising: receiving, via a first three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas, a first signal on a first channel characterized by a first frequency; determining that the first signal comprises information associated with a peripheral security device; accessing a list comprising the peripheral security device and an associated channel characterized by a second frequency; determining that the peripheral security device is configured to send and receive signals on the associated channel based on the list; and causing a second three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas to transmit the signal to the peripheral security device on the second channel.
Then Kim teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable media electrically connected to the printed circuit board and comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Kim, see figure 3, a schematic configuration of a home gateway), cause the home security gateway device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, via a first three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas, a first signal on a first channel characterized by a first frequency (Kim, see paragraphs 0045 and 0116, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera. A registered mobile terminal 250 may connect with a wireless network 240 including a wireless access network and a provider core network, and may access the home gateway 220 through the wired network 230. A wireless network 240 may be a 2G (Generation) or 3G cellular communication system, 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project), a 4G communication system, LTE (Long-Term Evolution), WiMAX (World Interoperability for Microwave Access), and the like);
determining that the first signal comprises information associated with a peripheral security device (Kim, see paragraph 0116, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera);
accessing a list comprising the peripheral security device and an associated channel characterized by a second frequency (Kim, see paragraphs 0047 and 0051, the storage unit 326 may further store at least one of additional information required for controlling a home network system, for example, an arrangement plan (or a map) including an arrangement of sections included in a house (such as, a room, a kitchen, a living room, a bathroom, and the like), information associated with home devices included in a home network system, information associated with at least one target position to be secured and monitored, and movement commands for controlling a movement of a mobile home device. a home gateway 300 may be connected with home devices (not illustrated) using at least one communication module 312 through 314. The communication modules 312 through 314 include at least one of a wireless LAN module 312 such as WiFi, a Zigbee module 314, a Bluetooth module 316, an NFC module 318, and a wired communication module 320);
determining that the peripheral security device is configured to send and receive signals on the associated channel based on the list (Kim, see paragraph 0117, the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message); and
causing a second three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas to transmit the signal to the peripheral security device on the second channel (Kim, see paragraphs 0116 and 0117, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera. the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiao with home monitoring method and apparatus of Kim, because doing so would make Jiao more efficient in providing a better service by taking into consideration various requests from a user for monitoring circumstances in a house through an electrical appliance and an IP camera in a home network system (Kim, see paragraphs 0006 and 0009).
Jia in view of Kim teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is housed in a carrier body, each of carrier body comprising a hollow antenna housing and an RF shielding element, wherein the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna housing from the device.
Then Larsen teaches Then Larsen teaches wherein each of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is housed in a carrier body (Larsen, see paragraph 0053, An antenna module 122 may then be installed in the cut-out section 174 as shown in FIG. 7B), each of carrier body comprising a hollow antenna housing (Larsen, see paragraph 0052, a non-metallic zone 170 provided above and below the antenna 120 in the top cover 112 and the bottom cover 114, respectively) and an RF shielding element (Larsen, see paragraph 0054, the antenna shielding 130 (i.e. the metallic wall) may be integrated with the metallic body frame 110 instead of installing the antenna shielding 130 separately. The C-shape metallic side wall 192 may be integrally formed with the single metallic body), wherein the RF shielding element is configured to shield the hollow antenna housing from the device (Larsen, see paragraphs 0035 and 0052, The non-metallic zone 170 is provided for the RF radiations to and from the antenna 120. The non-metallic zone 170 may be formed in the top cover 112 and/or in the bottom cover 114 right above and/or below the antenna shielding 130 for antenna radiation. For implementing the antenna self-shielding, a specific WiFi antenna type may be selected for physical and electrical isolations from the chassis, and a new scheme is used to integrate the antenna onto either metallic or non-metallic (e.g. plastic) chassis, which will be explained in detail below. In accordance with the examples disclosed herein, the antenna is isolated from the platform RF noise sources without sacrificing the antenna performances by creating a small EMI shield for the antenna rather than widespread RF noise sources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiao in view of Kim with Electronic computing device having self-shielding antenna of Larsen, because doing so would make Jiao in view of Kim more efficient in providing a self-shielding antenna module disposed around the antenna for providing electro-magnetic shielding from radio frequency (RE) noises generated from the electronic components included in the frame (Larsen, see abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the signal is a first signal, and wherein the computer-readable instructions further cause the processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving a second signal on the second channel via the second three-dimensional antenna, wherein the second signal comprises alert data (Kim, see paragraphs 0045 and 0116, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera. A registered mobile terminal 250 may connect with a wireless network 240 including a wireless access network and a provider core network, and may access the home gateway 220 through the wired network 230. A wireless network 240 may be a 2G (Generation) or 3G cellular communication system, 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project), a 4G communication system, LTE (Long-Term Evolution), WiMAX (World Interoperability for Microwave Access), and the like);
determining that the second signal was transmitted by the peripheral security device based at least in part on the alert data (Kim, see paragraph 0116, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera);
accessing, in response to the alert data, a recipient list comprising one or more user devices and one or more associated channels from the one or more non-transitory computer readable media (Kim, see paragraphs 0047 and 0051, the storage unit 326 may further store at least one of additional information required for controlling a home network system, for example, an arrangement plan (or a map) including an arrangement of sections included in a house (such as, a room, a kitchen, a living room, a bathroom, and the like), information associated with home devices included in a home network system, information associated with at least one target position to be secured and monitored, and movement commands for controlling a movement of a mobile home device. a home gateway 300 may be connected with home devices (not illustrated) using at least one communication module 312 through 314. The communication modules 312 through 314 include at least one of a wireless LAN module 312 such as WiFi, a Zigbee module 314, a Bluetooth module 316, an NFC module 318, and a wired communication module 320);
generating an alert message based on the alert data (Kim, see paragraph 0117, the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message); and
transmitting the second signal via one or more three-dimensional antennas of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas using the one or more associated channels associated with each of the one or more user devices (Kim, see paragraphs 0116 and 0117, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera. the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message).
Regarding claim 10, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches further comprising a housing body that defines a plurality of mounting locations for the plurality of three-dimensional antennas (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao), wherein the plurality of mounting locations are located about the housing body such that a first three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is connected to a first side of the housing body, a second three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is connected to a second side of the housing body, and a third three-dimensional antenna of the plurality of three-dimensional antennas is connected to a third side of the housing body (Jiao, see paragraphs 0037 and 0039, the 5G antenna component 112 may comprise at least one pair of two 5G antennas (e.g., 5G main antennas) arranged on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body. the 5G antenna component 112 may further comprise two pairs of four antennas located on both sides or on the same side of a largest face of the main control board 104, or outside one or two sides of the main control board 104 along the first direction of the body).
Regarding claim 11, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches each three-dimensional antenna is connected to and supported by a carrier body that is connected to the housing body at one of the plurality of mounting locations via a fastener tab or a screw (Jiao, see figures 2C, 2D, 2E, 2F, 2G and paragraph 0024, The body 102 may be used for holding various components of the gateway for Internet of Things 100. In some embodiments, the body 102 may further comprise a housing and a bracket, the bracket is arranged inside the housing, the bracket is used for implementing installation of the various components of the gateway 100, and the housing is arranged around the bracket and covers the various components inside it. Even though expressly teaching a plurality of carrier bodies, figures 2C-2G of Jiao teaches dielectric insulating materials [corresponding to a plurality of carries bodies] supporting radiation bodies and ground wires of the antennas. Examiner suggests to further specify the structures and/or the functions of the plurality of carrier bodies to discriminate the imminent invention from Jiao).
Regarding claim 12, Jiao in view of Kim and Larsen teaches wherein the signal causes the home security gateway device to pair with the peripheral security device (Kim, see paragraphs 0116 and 0117, the mobile terminal transmits, to the home gateway, the home monitoring request message including indication information that indicates the selected place or camera. the home gateway requests the home device corresponding to the indication information to transmit the image data in response to the home monitoring request message).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).