DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 2, and 7-9 are amended, Claims 5 and 6 are cancelled and Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are pending examination as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the new limitation “the contacter comprises a protrusion that protrudes from …” is indefinite because it is unclear how the contacter comprises a protrusion when in the specification the contacter is the protrusion. The protrusion is the contacter and so they are one in the same, not two elements. The limitation will be interpreted as being the same component.
Claims 2-4 & 7-10 are rejected for being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, the new limitation “as the contacter” is indefinite since how the term relates to the rest of the claim language is unclear. It seems the claim is saying the contacter has a higher density than a contact region but it isn’t clear how to compare these two different elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2020/0243937 (Kaga) in view of US 4547438 (McAurther) and US 2017/0104253 (Choi).
Regarding claims 1 & 9, Kaga teaches a metal air battery (abstract) with a packaging material provided with openings and a water repellant film ([0044, 0048, 0050, 0078]) welded as to cover the opening ([0086]). It is noted that thermally bonding as described, is seen as welding.
Kaga is silent to a plate member.
While Kaga teaches spacers between each of the batteries to allow air flow (Fig. 18, [0133]), Kaga doesn’t teach the spacers as being a plate.
Choi teaches a metal air battery system that uses a plate member with contactors between and contacting each of the batteries and allowing air flow to the cathode side of the battery (Figs. 2A-4; [0052, 0055-0061]). Choi teaches this allows for air to be directed to the cathode and the plate can be used as current collector. As discussed in the 112 rejection above, the contactor/protrusion are one in the same and so this limitation is met.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the air flow plate of Choi in the battery module of Kaga to aid in air flow and use as a current collector.
Kaga is silent to a pair of fixing members.
McArthur teaches a battery assembly to house multiple metal air batteries (Abstract, Fig. 1, 2:1-11, 3:40-45). The housing includes a pair of fixing members (56, 58, 60) at a surface end in a surface direction, which are opposingly arranged and sandwich the cells together (Fig. 1, 4:35-55). The fixing members aid in keeping the cells from moving.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the fixing members of McArthur with the cells of Kaga to keep the cells and the plates from moving around when forming a battery assembly.
Regarding claims 2-4, Kaga in view of Choi shows the plate member has multiple contactors that make contact with the metal air battery (Fig. 2A). As for the contact density being denser in one region versus another, it is well known in the art to vary the protuberances of the flow plate to change and improve the air flow of the batteries or the electrical conductivity of the assembly. The contact regions face the openings and water repellant film.
Regarding claims 7, 8 & 10, Choi teaches the contactor can be cylindrical, spindle shaped and can have holes through it (Figs. 4A-5).
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2020/0243937 (Kaga) in view of US 4547438 (McAurther) and US 9780423 (Tsukada).
Regarding claims 1 & 9, Kaga teaches a metal air battery (abstract) with a packaging material provided with openings and a water repellant film ([0044, 0048, 0050, 0078]) welded as to cover the opening ([0086]). It is noted that thermally bonding as described, is seen as welding.
Kaga is silent to a plate member.
While Kaga teaches spacers between each of the batteries to allow air flow (Fig. 18, [0133]), Kaga doesn’t teach the spacers as being a plate.
Tsukada teaches a metal air battery system that uses a plate member with contactors extending from the plate member and located between and contacting each of the batteries. This plate allows air flow to the cathode side of the battery (Abstract; Figs. 1, 4-7; 3:35-45, 5:10-20, 6:7-7:40). Tsukada teaches this allows for improved flow and decrease weight and it can be used as current collector. As discussed in the 112 rejection above, the contactor/protrusion are one in the same and so this limitation is met.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the air flow plate of Tsukada in the battery module of Kaga to aid in air flow and use as a current collector.
Kaga is silent to a pair of fixing members.
McArthur teaches a battery assembly to house multiple metal air batteries (Abstract, Fig. 1, 2:1-11, 3:40-45). The housing includes a pair of fixing members (56, 58, 60) at a surface end in a surface direction, which are opposingly arranged and sandwich the cells together (Fig. 1, 4:35-55). The fixing members aid in keeping the cells from moving.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the fixing members of McArthur with the cells of Kaga to keep the cells and the plates from moving around when forming a battery assembly.
Regarding claims 2-4, Kaga in view of Tsukada shows the plate member has multiple contactors that make contact with the metal air battery (Fig. 2A). As for the contact density being denser in one region versus another, it is well known in the art to vary the protuberances of the flow plate to change and improve the air flow of the batteries or the electrical conductivity of the assembly. The contact regions face the openings and water repellant film.
Regarding claims 7, 8 & 10, Tsukada teaches the contactor can be cylindrical, spindle shaped and can have holes through it (Figs. 5-7; 7:30-37).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to argue that the current claims of a contacter with protrusions defines over the cited prior art. However, as discussed above, these two terms refer to the same element and so they are not separate elements and as such have the same meaning and only one element is needed to meet the limitation. The teachings of Choi as discussed above and the new art of Tsukada as discussed above meet the limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Keith Walker/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726