Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR-20210020759-A), hereinafter Park, as cited in the IDS.
In regards to claim 1, Park teaches a binder for a secondary battery, the binder comprising a copolymer ([0012]), wherein the copolymer comprises a repeating unit (b) of the following Chemical Formula 2 ([0139]-[0141] vinyl alcohol), a repeating unit (d) of the following Chemical Formula 4 ([0139]-[0141] sodium acrylate), and a repeating unit (e) of the following Chemical Formula 5 ([0139]-[0141] n-butyl vinyl ether):
wherein R1, R3, and R5 are independently of one another substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbyl having 1 to 10 carbon atoms; R2, R4, and R6 are independently of one another hydrogen or substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbyl having 1 to 10 carbon atoms; Mn+ is a cation having an oxidation number of n other than a hydrogen ion; and n is an integer of 1 to 3.
Park does not explicitly disclose that the binder comprises a repeating unit (a) of the following Chemical Formula 1 and a repeating unit (c) of the following Chemical Formula 3, however, these units would implicitly be in the copolymer of Park. Park teaches that the vinyl alcohol in the copolymer of [0139]-[0141] is formed through a saponification of vinyl acetate ([0057]; [0139]-[0141]), and Park also teaches that the sodium acrylate of [0139]-[0141] is formed through a saponification of methyl acrylate ([0059]; [0139]-[0141]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would know that the degree of saponification would not be completely 100%. As such, at least a minimal amount of both the vinyl acetate (corresponding to the claimed repeating unit (a)) and methyl acrylate (corresponding to the claimed repeating unit (c)) would exist in the copolymer formed in [0139]-[0141].
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein (a+b) : (c+d) of the copolymer is 0.05 to 0.95 : 0.95 to 0.05, wherein a, b, c, and d are mole fractions of the repeating units (a), (b), (c), and (d), respectively, in the copolymer (as described above, a and c are formed in minimal amounts; [0023] claimed b is 10% or more with respect to the sum of the molar numbers of the units in the copolymer; [0022] the molar ratio of Parks A (instant (b)) to Parks B-1 and B-2 (instant (d)) is 90:10 to 10:90, and the ratio of Park’s B-1 to B-2 is 67:33 to 1:99, a such it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the ranges would overlap). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein e of the copolymer is 0.005 to 0.2, wherein e is a mole fraction of the repeating unit (e) in the copolymer ([0076] 1 to 70 mol%). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein e of the copolymer is 0.01 to 0.1, wherein e is a mole fraction of the repeating unit (e) in the copolymer ([0076] 1 to 70 mol%). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein in Chemical Formula 5, R5 is substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbyl having 1 to 4 carbon atoms ([0139]-[0141] n-butyl vinyl ether; chemical formula C; [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the copolymer satisfies the following Equation 1:
0.45<(b+d)/(a+b+c+d+e)<1.0
wherein a, b, c, d, and e are mole fractions of the repeating units (a), (b), (c), (d), and (e), respectively, in the copolymer ([0021]; the chemical formula A, represented by vinyl alcohol in [0139]-[0141], is interpreted as b of the instant application, and chemical formula B-2, represented by sodium acrylate in [0139]-[0141], is interpreted as d of the instant application; [0023] molar percentage of chemical formula A is 10% or more compared to the rest of the polymer; [0022] molar ratio of chemical formula A to chemical formulas B-1 and B-2 is 90:10 to 10:90 and [0025] the molar ratio of B-1 to B-2 is 67:33 to 1:99). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the copolymer has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 to 2,000,000 Da ([0028] 100,000 to 2,000,000).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the binder for a secondary battery is a binder for a lithium secondary battery negative electrode ([0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches a secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode and a negative electrode for a secondary battery ([0038]), wherein the negative electrode for a secondary battery comprises: a current collector ([0033]; [0039]); and a negative electrode active material layer disposed on the current collector ([0033]; [0039]), and the negative electrode active material layer comprises the binder for a secondary battery of claim 1 and a negative electrode active material ([0033]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Park also teaches wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a silicon-based active material ([0106] silicon).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Park also teaches wherein the negative electrode active material further comprises a graphite-based active material ([0108]).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Park also teaches wherein a mass ratio between the silicon-based active material and the graphite-based active material is 3 to 97:97 to 3 ([0116] 5:95 to 95:5). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Park also teaches wherein the binder for a secondary battery is comprised at 0.5 to 30 wt % with respect to a weight of the negative electrode active material layer ([0037] binder included in 0.5 to 40 wt% based on the total weight of the active material layer). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US-20200403244-A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the copolymer is a linear polymer.
Wang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of copolymer binders for battery electrodes ([0006]). Wang teaches wherein the copolymer is a linear polymer ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to have modified Park and defined the copolymer of Park to be a linear copolymer. Doing so allows for relatively high solubility (Wang [0033]), helping improve the stability of the structure of the electrode (Wang [0032]).
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722