DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amened claim(s) 15 under Weerts et al (US 2002/0004166 A1, hereafter Weerts) in view of Pleis (US 1,362,737, hereafter Pleis), in view of La et al. (US 2011/0045339 A1, hereafter La), in view of Nagamatsu et al. (US 2009/0030100 hereafter Nagamatsu), in view of Palmer et al. (US 3,847,676, hereafter Palmer), in view of Whear et al. (US 6,120,939, hereafter Whear ‘939), Bauer et al. (CN 1331843, hereafter Bauer), further in view of Rajaram et al (US 2011/0287324 A1, hereafter Rajaram) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Weerts et al (US 2002/0004166 A1, hereafter Weerts) in view of Pleis (US 1,362,737, hereafter Pleis), in view of La et al. (US 2011/0045339 A1, hereafter La), in view of Nagamatsu et al. (US 2009/0030100 hereafter Nagamatsu), in view of Palmer et al. (US 3,847,676, hereafter Palmer), in view of Whear et al. (US 6,120,939, hereafter Whear ‘939), Bauer et al. (CN 1331843, hereafter Bauer), in view of Rajaram et al (US 2011/0287324 A1, hereafter Rajaram), in view of Whear et al. (US 2008/0299462 A1, hereafter Whear ‘462), and further in view of the new prior art of Mittal et al. (WO 2010058240 A1, hereafter Mittal). Mittal is relied upon for teaching the use of surfactants to lower water loss as detailed in the claim rejections below.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are presented on pages 7-8 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not use the stiffening material coating of Whear ‘462 with the separator of modified Weerts since it would excessively increase the basis weight. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that the cited 50-100 g/m2 value is only cited for a typical coating applied to a glass mat [0026]. Whear ‘462 teaches only coating the ribs of a separator or coating in a pattern which would reduce added basis weight and teaches a coating weight applied to a separator of only 5-10 g/m2 [0013-0014, 0026]. When added to the 100 to 200 g/m2 taught by Rajaram [0057] this would still overlap and render the claimed range obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 17, 19-20, 22-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Weerts et al (US 2002/0004166 A1, hereafter Weerts) in view of Pleis (US 1,362,737, hereafter Pleis), in view of La et al. (US 2011/0045339 A1, hereafter La), in view of Nagamatsu et al. (US 2009/0030100 hereafter Nagamatsu), in view of Mittal et al. (WO 2010058240 A1, hereafter Mittal), in view of Whear et al. (US 6,120,939, hereafter Whear ‘939), Bauer et al. (CN 1331843, hereafter Bauer), in view of Rajaram et al (US 2011/0287324 A1, hereafter Rajaram), and further in view of Whear et al. (US 2008/0299462 A1, hereafter Whear ‘462).
With regard to claims 15, 17, 19-20, 22-24 and 26 Weerts teaches a separator for a lead acid battery (claim 17, claim 23) having a front (with major ribs) face facing a positive electrode and a reverse face facing a negative electrode (opposite the face with major ribs) [0001, 0004, 0018], the separator consisting of:
a microporous polyethylene (claim 26) membrane having a backweb with integral ribs, wherein said ribs consist of integral ribs on the front face (longitudinal major and mini ribs 20 and 30) that would run parallel to buoyant forces (parallel to longitudinal edges which would be parallel to buoyant forces when the battery is upright) and integral negative cross ribs spaced apart and running across the reverse face (micro ribs 40) [0004, 0018-0019, 0021, 0031, 0035, fig. 4];
Weerts teaches that the micro ribs may be disposed at an angle [0031] but does not explicitly teach that they are perpendicular to the longitudinal ribs (which would be perpendicular to buoyant forces). However, in the same field of endeavor Pleis teaches the use of ribs at right angles on opposite faces of a separator [col. 1 line 45-col. 2 line 2, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the perpendicular orientation of Pleis with the micro ribs of Weerts for the benefits of resisting breakage of the ribs and making the separator strong and light [Pleis col. 1 line 45-col. 2 line 2].
Weerts teaches the use of a microporous polyethylene material [0035] but does not explicitly teach the use of a microporous silica filled polyethylene membrane or a processing oil. However, in the same field of endeavor La teaches the use of a separator material comprising polyethylene, silica (a filler), and a process oil [0025]. La further teaches that the material is oxidation resistant and teaches that oxidation resistance is a desirable property [0008-0009]. Therefore, even if the material of La did not exhibit the claimed values inherently one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to optimize the oxidation resistance based on the teachings of La [0008-0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the separator material of La with the separator of Weerts for the benefit of its oxidation resistance and high strength [La 0009].
Weerts and La teach the separator material as detailed above, but do not explicitly disclose the claimed electrical resistance. However, since Weerts and La teach a substantially similar material (microporous silica filled polyethylene membrane) it would exhibit the claimed properties.
Weerts does not explicitly teach the claimed puncture resistance. However, in the same field of endeavor, Whear ‘939 teaches a puncture resistance of more than 8 N is desirable (which would overlap and render obvious the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05) [col. 6 lines 17-24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the puncture resistance of Whear ‘939 with the separator of modified Weerts since it is known to be effective in a battery separator [Whear ‘939 col. 6 lines 17-24].
Weerts does not explicitly teach the use of a surfactant or the claimed water loss. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mittal teaches the use of surfactants with separators and teaches the use of additives in addition to surfactants to optimize reducing water loss (which would render the claimed values obvious) [pg. 8 lines 14-18]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the surfactants of and additives of Mittal with the separator of modified Weerts for the benefit of a substantial reduction in the rate of water loss [Mittal pg. 8 lines 1-4].
Weerts and La teach the separator material as detailed above but do not explicitly disclose having an Acid Leachable Total Organic Carbon value less than 100 ppm (claim 15), less than 75 ppm (claim 20), nor less than 50 ppm (claim 19). However, this property would be based on the separator composition. Since Weerts and La teach a substantially similar material (microporous silica filled polyethylene membrane) it would exhibit the claimed properties. Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor (battery separator materials) Nagamatsu teaches minimizing acid insoluble impurities including carbon below 150 ppm or less (which would render obvious the claimed ranges of claims 15, 19, and 20) [0088]. Based on the teachings of Nagamatsu one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to minimize carbon amounts for the benefit of avoiding conductive impurities that may cause short circuits in a battery separator [Nagamatsu 0088].
Weerts does not explicitly teach bio-mineral fillers. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bauer teaches the use of hydroxyapatite (a bio-mineral) fillers in battery separators [Bauer machine translation page 4, paragraphs 3-4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the hydroxyapatite (bio-mineral) of Bauer with the separator of modified Weerts since it is known to be effective in separators with high temperature resistance and mechanical stability [Bauer machine translation page 3 paragraph 4-page 4 paragraph 4].
Weerts does not explicitly teach the claimed thickness or basis weight. However, in the same field of endeavor, Rajaram teaches the use of a lead acid battery separator with a thickness of 100 microns or greater (which overlaps and renders obvious the claimed ranges of claims 15, 22, and 24) [0058] and a basis weight of between 100 to 200 gsm (which overlaps and renders obvious the claimed range) [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the thickness of Rajaram with the separator of Weerts since it is known to be effective in a lead acid battery [0002, 0057-0058].
Modified Weerts teaches reverse face ribs spaced apart (micro ribs 40) [0004, 0018-0019, 0021, 0031, 0035, fig. 4] but does not explicitly teach the claimed stiffness. However, in the same field of endeavor, Whear ‘462 teaches a similar material (microporous polyethylene with ribs) with a glass fiber mat can have a stiffness of 1401 mN in the CMD direction and further teaches the use of a stiffening material to provide a stiffness of 2766 mN in a CMD direction (which falls within and anticipates the claimed range) [0011-0015]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the stiffening material and corresponding stiffness of Whear ‘462 with the separator of modified Weerts for the benefit of enhanced stiffness without hindering ionic flow [Whear ‘462 0013].
The limitations regarding the lead acid battery being an idle start stop battery are considered intended use since they would not further limit the structure of the claimed separator. While intended use recitations and other types of functional language cannot be entirely disregarded. However, in apparatus, article, and composition claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
With regard to claim 17, Weerts teaches in a lead acid battery, the improvement comprising the separator of claim 15 (separator for use in a lead-acid battery) [0001, 0010].
With regard to claim 23, Weerts teaches the use of the separator in a battery [0001, 0010].
With regard to claim 27, Weerts does not explicitly teach the use of a glass mat. However, in the same field of endeavor, Whear ‘462 teaches the use of a glass fiber mat [0017]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the glass fiber mat of Whear ‘462 with the separator of Weerts for the benefit of increased stiffness [Whear ‘462 0017].
Claim 18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Weerts, Pleis, La, Rajaram, Whear ‘939, Bauer, Mittal, and Whear ‘462 as applied to claims 15, 17, 19-20, 22-24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Hottori et al. (US 6,492,059 B1, hereafter Hottori).
With regard to claim 18, Weerts teaches the improvement comprising the lead acid battery of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose that it is located within a vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hottori teaches a lead-acid battery separator for use in a car or electric vehicle [col. 3, lines 4-12]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the lead-acid battery separator of Weerts in a battery for the car or electric vehicle of Hottori for the benefit of powering motors or accessories within the vehicle.
Claim 30 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Weerts, Pleis, La, Rajaram, Whear ‘939, Bauer, Mittal, and Whear ‘462 as applied to claims 15, 17, 19-20, 22-24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Aasen (GB 524,421, hereafter Aasen).
With regard to claim 30, modified Weerts does not explicitly teach the use of fish meal as a filler. However, in a field of endeavor relevant to the problem solved, Aasen teaches the use of fish meal as a filler in thermoplastic materials [line 42-line 61]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fish meal of Aasen with the separator of modified Weerts since it is taught to contain skin and bones that are effective fillers in thermoplastic materials that are workable and able to be hardened in molds [Aasen line 42-line 61].
Claims 31 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Weerts et al (US 2002/0004166 A1, hereafter Weerts) in view of Pleis (US 1,362,737, hereafter Pleis), in view of La et al. (US 2011/0045339 A1, hereafter La), in view of Palmer et al. (US 3,847,676, hereafter Palmer), in view of Whear et al. (US 6,120,939, hereafter Whear ‘939), in view of Bauer et al. (CN 1331843, hereafter Bauer), and further in view of Whear et al. (US 2008/0299462 A1, hereafter Whear ‘462).
With regard to claim 31, Weerts teaches a separator for a lead acid battery (claim 17, claim 23) having a front (with major ribs) face facing a positive electrode and a reverse face facing a negative electrode (opposite the face with major ribs) [0001, 0004, 0018], the separator consisting of:
a microporous polyethylene (claim 26) membrane having a backweb with integral ribs, wherein said ribs consist of integral ribs on the front face (longitudinal major and mini ribs 20 and 30) that would run parallel to buoyant forces (parallel to longitudinal edges which would be parallel to buoyant forces when the battery is upright) and integral negative cross ribs spaced apart and running across the reverse face (micro ribs 40) [0004, 0018-0019, 0021, 0031, 0035, fig. 4];
Weerts teaches that the micro ribs may be disposed at an angle [0031] but does not explicitly teach that they are perpendicular to the longitudinal ribs (which would be perpendicular to buoyant forces). However, in the same field of endeavor Pleis teaches the use of ribs at right angles on opposite faces of a separator [col. 1 line 45-col. 2 line 2, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the perpendicular orientation of Pleis with the micro ribs of Weerts for the benefits of resisting breakage of the ribs and making the separator strong and light [Pleis col. 1 line 45-col. 2 line 2].
Weerts teaches the use of a microporous polyethylene material [0035] but does not explicitly teach the use of a microporous silica filled polyethylene membrane or a processing oil. However, in the same field of endeavor La teaches the use of a separator material comprising polyethylene, silica (a filler), and a process oil [0025]. La further teaches that the material is oxidation resistant and teaches that oxidation resistance is a desirable property [0008-0009]. Therefore, even if the material of La did not exhibit the claimed values inherently one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to optimize the oxidation resistance based on the teachings of La [0008-0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the separator material of La with the separator of Weerts for the benefit of its oxidation resistance and high strength [La 0009].
Weerts does not explicitly teach the use of a surfactant. However, in the same field of endeavor, Palmer teaches the use of mixtures of ionic and non-ionic surfactants with separators [col. 6 lines 25-49]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the surfactants of Palmer with the separator of modified Weerts for the benefit of increasing the wettability of the separator with acids which improves separator performance [col. 1 lines 9-12, col. 6 lines 25-49].
Weerts does not explicitly teach bio-mineral fillers. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bauer teaches the use of hydroxyapatite (a bio-mineral) fillers in battery separators [Bauer machine translation page 4, paragraphs 3-4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the hydroxyapatite (bio-mineral) of Bauer with the separator of modified Weerts since it is known to be effective in separators with high temperature resistance and mechanical stability [Bauer machine translation page 3 paragraph 4-page 4 paragraph 4].
Weerts does not explicitly teach the claimed puncture resistance. However, in the same field of endeavor, Whear ‘939 teaches a puncture resistance of more than 8 N is desirable (which would overlap and render obvious the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05) [col. 6 lines 17-24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the puncture resistance of Whear ‘939 with the separator of modified Weerts since it is known to be effective in a battery separator [Whear ‘939 col. 6 lines 17-24].
Modified Weerts teaches reverse face ribs spaced apart (micro ribs 40) [0004, 0018-0019, 0021, 0031, 0035, fig. 4] but does not explicitly teach the claimed stiffness. However, in the same field of endeavor, Whear ‘462 teaches a similar material (microporous polyethylene with ribs) with a glass fiber mat can have a stiffness of 1401 mN in the CMD direction and further teaches the use of a stiffening material to provide a stiffness of 2766 mN in a CMD direction (which falls within and anticipates the claimed range) [0011-0015]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the stiffening material and corresponding stiffness of Whear ‘462 with the separator of modified Weerts for the benefit of enhanced stiffness without hindering ionic flow [Whear ‘462 0013].
The limitations regarding the lead acid battery being an idle start stop battery are considered intended use since they would not further limit the structure of the claimed separator. While intended use recitations and other types of functional language cannot be entirely disregarded. However, in apparatus, article, and composition claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724