DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 02/20/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended; Claims 1-20 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Regarding independent Claim 1, Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 relevant to the newly added limitation “maintaining, by the device, a sequence number tracking table having a key comprising an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the claimed “sequence number tracking table having a key” does not require a particular database format or expressly labeled “table,” but reasonably encompasses maintained packet/header context information used to associate sequence-number information with an identifying key. Kousardidas in Fig. 10teaches a GTP-U header structure including a sequence number field and multiple Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) fields. In the GTP-U context, a TEID functions as a context identifier/key for identifying the tunnel;/session associated with a received packet. Because that tunnel/session context identifies the transmitting tunnel endpoint/source context and the corresponding packet flow/bearer context, the TEID reasonably corresponds to the claimed key comprising an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet.
Thus, Kousardidas is not relied upon merely for a generic packet identifier or protocol-layer sequence number; rather, Kousardidas teaches or at least suggest maintaining packet/tunnel context information in which sequence-number information is associated with a TEID key identifying the sender-flow context of the packet.
In conclusion, Kousardidas teaches “maintaining, by the device, a sequence number tracking table having a key comprising an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claim(s) 1 relevant to the newly added limitation “assigning, by the device, a sequence number to the duplicate packets, wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space based on looking up the key in the sequence number tracking table using the identity of the sender and the flow identifier associated with the packet” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding independent Claim 11, Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 relevant to the newly added limitation “identify, by the apparatus, a block of sequence numbers associated with an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See the reasoning provided above for the newly added limitation in Claim 1 of “assigning, by the device, a sequence number to the duplicate packets, wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space based on looking up the key in the sequence number tracking table using the identity of the sender and the flow identifier associated with the packet.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claim(s) 11 relevant to the newly added limitation “assign a sequence number to the duplicate packets, wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space based on an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet comprises a next available sequence number selected from the block of sequence numbers” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claim(s) 20 relevant to the newly added limitation “wherein blocks of sequence numbers are pre- allocated for different sender identities and flow identifiers, the sequence number being selected from an identified block of the blocks of sequence numbers” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for independent Claims 1 and 11. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claims 1 and 11 are equally applicable to the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas et al. (2022/0263750), Kousardidas hereinafter, in view of Varga et al. (US 2024/0195730, previously presented), Varga hereinafter, and further in view of Boscolo et al. (US 8191132), Boscolo hereinafter. Kousardidas is included in the IDS submitted on 12/09/2022.
Regarding Claim 1, Kousardidas teaches a method comprising (Fig. 5; Paras. [0120-0127]; Para. [0120] - FIG. 5 is a block diagram that illustrates a network environment of a system 500 with various nodes of a cellular network, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 5 is described in conjunction with elements from FIGS. 1 to 3, and 4A to 4E. With reference to FIG. 5, there is shown the system 500 that includes the source communication device 402, the target communication device 404, and one or more network entities of a cellular network 502, such as a source radio access network (RAN) node 504, a core network entity 506, a target RAN node 508; See also: Fig. 7; Paras. [0132-0137]; Fig. 9; Paras. [0142-0148]):
receiving, at a device in a network, a packet from a sender that is destined for a receiver (Fig. 5, step 510; Para. [0123] - In operation, the source communication device 402 is configured to provide a first set of data packets from a plurality of data packets to the target communication device 404 via a cellular communication path 510. In order to provide the first set of data packets to the target communication device 404 via the cellular communication path 510, the first set of data packets are first communicated to a network entity (such as the source RAN node 504) in an uplink transmission 512. Thereafter, the first set of data packets may be further communicated to the target communication device 404 or a further network entity, such as the core network entity 506 and the target RAN node 508, to provide to the target communication device 404 in a downlink transmission 514. The source communication device 402 is further configured to communicate a second set of data packets from the plurality of data packets to the target communication device 404 via a sidelink communication path 516. A header of each data packet includes packet information that is indicative of an association among the plurality of data packets; See also: Fig. 1, step 102; Para. [0076]);
forming, by the device, duplicate packets of the packet (Fig. 4B; Para. [0106-0107]; Para. [0108] - In accordance with an embodiment, the source communication device 402 is configured to select the duplication mode to communicate the plurality of data packets to the target communication device 404 via the two or more different paths. The selection of the duplication mode occurs before a start of a data session, i.e. before initiation of transmission of data packets or during the data session. Based on the selection of the duplication mode, the source communication device 402 is configured to provide the first set of data packets 410a, 412a, and 414a via the first path 406. The source communication device 402 is further configured to provide, to the target communication device 404, the second set of data packets 410b, 412b, and 414b via the second path 408 as duplicate data packets based on the selection of the duplication mode. In such a case, at least a payload of the first set of data packets 410a, 412a, and 414a is same as the payload of the second set of data packets 410b, 412b, and 414b in the duplication mode. The data packets of the first set of data packets 410a, 412a, and 414a and duplicate data packets of first set of data packets 410a, 412a, and 414a (i.e. the second set of data packets 410b, 412b, and 414b) are transmitted in sequence (also represented by consecutive numbers 1, 2, and 3 in the FIG. 4B); See also: Fig. 9, element 904A; Para. [0133, 0143]);
assigning, by the device, a sequence number to the duplicate packets based on an identity of the sender and on a flow identifier associated with the packet (Fig. 10; Fig. 12; Para. [0134] - In the communication device-based approach, the source communication device 402 is configured to generate a packet identifier (e.g. for a duplicated or a split packet) or a sequence number. The packet identifier (or the sequence number) is appended to the header (e.g. in the application layer or the convergence layer (such as a V2X layer in case of a vehicle)) of each data packet of a plurality of data packet that are to be provided to the target communication device 404. Optionally, the packet identifier (or the sequence number) is introduced in a header of each data packet at the communication layer, the application layer, or at the V2X layer (in case of vehicles) to reduce the impact on existing protocol layers of the user plane protocol stack; Para. [0136] - Optionally, in a case where the duplication mode is selected at the source communication device 402, the source communication device 402 is configured to generate a duplication identifier (ID), which is set for the duplicate data packets. The duplicate ID is stored (i.e. maintained) in the header of each data packet irrespective of the different radio access technologies, communication protocols, or radio links used in the two or more different paths traversed by the data packets. The convergence layer or the V2X layer (in case of V2V communication) may be used to generate the duplication ID at the source communication device 402 and to perform reordering or filtering of the received data packets at the corresponding convergence layer at the target communication device 404. The generation of such duplication ID allows unique identification of the duplicated data packets at the target communication device 404 regardless of the paths or intermediate protocols and network nodes followed by the data packets. Similarly, a packet ID may be set for the split data packets that remains in the data packet throughout the communication process for unique identification of the split data packets at the target communication device 404; See also Para. [0135, 0143, 0147, 0153]):
maintaining, by the device, a sequence number tracking table having a key comprising an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet (Fig. 10, Para. [0144-0148] - [0146] The GTP-U header 1000 includes various fields in accordance to the 3GPP specification, such as “Message type” that is reserved for a type of data present in a data packet. For example, the message type may be text, an image, an audio, or a video. The GTP-U header 1000 may further includes fields, such as length (i.e. measured in terms of number of bits) of the data packet, “Tunnel endpoint identifier”, “Sequence number” and the like. Moreover, the GTP-U header 1000 further includes a new extension header type field 1002; See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 11, Para. [0149-0153])
As explained in the Response to Arguments, the TEID fields in Fig. 10 are mapped to the claimed “key comprising an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet.”
and sending, by the device, the duplicate packets with the sequence number via different paths in the network towards the receiver (Figs. 5, 7, 8, and 9; Para. [0125] - In accordance with an embodiment, the network (such as the source RAN node 504) is configured to enable a multipath function based on an indicator in the header of each data packet of the first set of data packets or in a signalling message transmitted by the source communication device 402; See also Fig. 11, step 1130; Paras. [0131, 0135, 0144, 0150, 0153]).
Yet, Kousardidas does not expressly teach wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space.
However, Varga teaches
wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space (Fig. 7, step 702, Para. [0133] - FIG. 7 is a flow chart that illustrates the operation of the Replication function 310 at the TX node 302 in accordance with another embodiment of the present disclosure. This embodiment is similar to that of FIG. 6. As illustrated, the Replication function 310 determines that the sequence generation function 310 at the TX node 302 has been reset (step 700). Responsive to determining that the sequence generation function 310 at the TX node 302 has been reset, the Replication function 310 transmits a first plurality of packets in a Stream of packets, wherein: (a) each of the first plurality of packets comprises a respective sequence number from a linear sequence number space and (b) at least a first packet from among the first plurality of packets that was sent after the rest further comprises an explicit indicator of the reset (step 702). The Replication function 310 determines that an end of the linear sequence number space has been reached or that use of the linear sequence number space has been otherwise disabled (step 704). Responsive to determining that the end of the linear sequence number space has been reached or that use of the linear sequence number space has been otherwise disabled, the Replication function 310 transmits a second plurality of packet in the Stream of packets, wherein (a) each of the second plurality of packets comprises a respective sequence number of a cyclic sequence number space (step 706); See also Fig. 2, Para. [0059-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0102-0128]; Fig. 5, Para. [0129]; Fig. 6, Para. [0130-0132]; Fig. 7, Para. [0133-0136]; Fig. 8, Para. [0137]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0138-0145]; Fig. 10, Para. [0145-0146])
Examiner’s Note: Kousardidas teaches assigning sequence numbers to duplicate packets based on an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet. Varga further teaches that sequence numbers are selected from a sequence number space, including the use and management of a linear sequence number space for replicated packets. When combined, Kousardidas teaches the basis for selecting the sequence number (i.e., sender identity and flow identifier), while Varga teaches that the selected sequence number is taken from a number space. The claim does not require that the number space itself be constructed or selected based on the sender identity or flow identifier, but only that the sequence number is selected from a number space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kousardidas’s invention of “methods, devices, and a computer program product for executing multipath communication” (Kousardidas Para. [0005]) with Varga’s invention of “Time Sensitive Networking (TSN) and Deterministic Networking (DetNet)” applied to “frame or packet replication and elimination in a TSN or DetNet network” (Varga Para. [0001]) because Varga’s invention provides “a) the integration of FRER (Frame Replication and Elimination for Reliability) functionality with Cloud environment and Cloud redundancy solutions; b) the optimization of interactions between Application, FRER, and/or Cloud functions; c) ensuring the fulfillment of end-to-end redundancy requirements of time sensitive applications; d) avoiding single point of failure within the cloud domain when time sensitive applications are implemented; and e) the outside world “sees” the whole cloud implementation as a single Talker (Ctrl) with a single FRER entity and multiple connections to the TSN network (cloud internal deployment structure is fully hided)” (Varga Para. [0015-0019]).
Yet, Kousardidas nor Varga teach a number space based on looking up the key in the sequence number tracking table using the identity of the sender and the flow identifier associated with the packet.
However, Boscolo teaches
a number space based on looking up the key in the sequence number tracking table using the identity of the sender and the flow identifier associated with the packet (Fig. 16, step 1602, Column 10, Lines 36-46 - In step 1601, the facility creates one or more packets enclosing the received application data. In step 1602, the facility uses the sequence number stored in the stack database table row for the connection in the packets' direction from the perspective of the packets' destination to set the sequence numbers in the packets created in step 1601. In step 1603, the facility sends the packets created in step 1601 to their destination. In step 1604, the facility updates the sequence number in the stack data table row for the connection used in step 1602 to reflect the size of the packets sent in step 1603. After step 1604, these steps conclude; See also: Figs. 1-15 and 17-18 with associated paragraphs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number space based on looking up the key in the sequence number tracking table using the identity of the sender and the flow identifier associated with the packet as taught by Boscolo, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga, so that it would provide techniques which allow for “increase throughput by using special-purpose hardware to assist with functions such as packet validity assessment, connection lookup, or post-proxying data relay ("cut-through")” (Boscolo Column 4, Lines 9-13).
Regarding Claim 2, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 1.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the identity of the sender comprises a Media Access Control (MAC) address of the sender (Fig. 12; Para. [0154] - FIG. 12 illustrates an exemplary indicator in a header of a data packet, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 is described in conjunction with elements from FIGS. 1, 2, 3, 4A to 4E, and 5 to 11. With reference to FIG. 12, there is shown a PDCP header structure 1200. The PDCP header structure 1200 includes a plurality of fields, such as a plurality of reserve fields 1202, 1204, and 1206, and fields for MAC address of a data packet).
Regarding Claim 3, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 1.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the different paths comprise wireless paths in the network that are on different wireless channels (Figs. 4A-4C, elements 406 and 408; Para. [0099] - The multipath communication refers to communication of data via two or more different paths to a common destination device, where each path is different from other paths in use of at least a radio access technology, a communication protocol, a radio link, an interface, or a combination thereof, to communicate data. Thus, the first path 406 is different from the second path 408 in use of the radio access technology, one or more communication protocols, the radio link, and/or the interface to communicate data; See also Paras. [0100, 0101]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 3.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the different paths comprise different wireless access points (Figs. 4A-4C, elements 406 and 408; Para. [0101] - In another example, the first path 406 may employ IEEE 802.11p, whereas the second path 408 may employ a 5G-V2X communication or an LTE-V2X (via PC5) communication. In yet another example, the first path 406 and the second path 408 may employ different device-to-device communication, such as the first path 406 may employ LTE PC5, whereas the second path 408 may employ NR PC5. In yet another example, the first path 406 may employ a Wi-Fi based communication, whereas the second path 408 may employ a PC5 interface-based device-to-device communication; See also Paras. [0099, 0100]).
Regarding Claims 5, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 1.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the device is located onboard a moving vehicle (Para. [0098] - Each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 may include suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that is configured to communicate (send/receive) data via the two or more different paths. In accordance with an embodiment, each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 is at least one of: a vehicle, an electronic device (e.g. an electronic control unit (ECU), an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system, or other in-vehicle device) used in a vehicle, or a portable electronic device (e.g. a smart phone, a drone, an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, a machine type communication (MTC) device, a hand-held computing device, an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRAN) NR-dual connectivity (EN-DC) device, or any other customized hardware for wireless telecommunication). The vehicle may be a non-autonomous, a semi-autonomous, or an autonomous vehicle).
Regarding Claims 6, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 5.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the moving vehicle is a train or automobile (Para. [0098] - Each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 may include suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that is configured to communicate (send/receive) data via the two or more different paths. In accordance with an embodiment, each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 is at least one of: a vehicle, an electronic device (e.g. an electronic control unit (ECU), an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system, or other in-vehicle device) used in a vehicle, or a portable electronic device (e.g. a smart phone, a drone, an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, a machine type communication (MTC) device, a hand-held computing device, an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRAN) NR-dual connectivity (EN-DC) device, or any other customized hardware for wireless telecommunication). The vehicle may be a non-autonomous, a semi-autonomous, or an autonomous vehicle).
Regarding Claim 10, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 1.
Kousardidas also teaches
assigning, by the device, a second sequence number to a second packet received from a second sender, wherein the device selects the second sequence number from a different range of numbers than that of the sequence number assigned to the packet based in part on an identity of the second sender (Para. [0136] - Optionally, in a case where the duplication mode is selected at the source communication device 402, the source communication device 402 is configured to generate a duplication identifier (ID), which is set for the duplicate data packets. The duplicate ID is stored (i.e. maintained) in the header of each data packet irrespective of the different radio access technologies, communication protocols, or radio links used in the two or more different paths traversed by the data packets. The convergence layer or the V2X layer (in case of V2V communication) may be used to generate the duplication ID at the source communication device 402 and to perform reordering or filtering of the received data packets at the corresponding convergence layer at the target communication device 404. The generation of such duplication ID allows unique identification of the duplicated data packets at the target communication device 404 regardless of the paths or intermediate protocols and network nodes followed by the data packets. Similarly, a packet ID may be set for the split data packets that remains in the data packet throughout the communication process for unique identification of the split data packets at the target communication device 404; See also Para. [0135]).
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Baillargeon et al. (US 2016/0323782), Baillargeon hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Kousardidas teaches an apparatus, comprising (Fig. 4D; Paras. [0111-0117]):
one or more network interfaces to communicate with a network (Fig. 4D, element 432; Para. [0111]);
a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes (Fig. 4D, element 428; Paras. [0112-0114]);
and a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, the 6 process when executed configured to (Fig. 4D; Paras. [0050, 0111, 0113, 0117):
receive a packet from a sender that is destined for a receiver (Fig. 5, step 510; Para. [0123]; See also: Fig. 1, step 102; Para. [0076]);
form duplicate packets of the packet (Fig. 4B; Para. [0106-0107]; Para. [0108]; See also: Fig. 9, element 904A; Para. [0133, 0143]);
identify, by the apparatus, a block of sequence numbers associated with an identity of the sender and a flow identifier associated with the packet (Fig. 10, Para. [0144-0148]; See also: Fig. 3, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 11, Para. [0149-0153]);
assign a sequence number to the duplicate packets (Fig. 10; Fig. 12; Para. [0134]; Para. [0136]; See also Para. [0135, 0143, 0147, 0153]):
and send the duplicate packets with the sequence number via different paths in the network towards the receiver (Figs. 5, 7, 8, and 9; Para. [0125]; See also Fig. 11, step 1130; Paras. [0131, 0135, 0144, 0150, 0153]).
Yet, Kousardidas does not expressly teach wherein the sequence number comprises a next available sequence number selected from the block of sequence numbers.
However, Baillargeon teaches
wherein the sequence number comprises a next available sequence number selected from the block of sequence numbers (Figs. 8 and 9; Para. [0116-0119] - [0116] In the current 3GPP specifications, the GTP-U tunnel sender can maintain a separate sequence number for each GTP-U tunnel. Such sequence number is set to an initial value of zero upon the transmission of the first user packet encapsulated into GTP-U tunnel. It is incremented by 1 for each subsequent GTP-U packet transmission on the tunnel. The sequence number defined in the current 3GPP specification is intended to trigger the reordering of out of sequence packets at the remote peer when in-sequence delivery is required. FIG. 8 shows the current GTP-U header with the sequence number flag (S) set to 1. The Sequence Number (SN) field contains an unsigned 16 bit integer. [0117] A new GTP-U header field called Byte Sequence Number (BSN) is proposed in an embodiment. It identifies the byte in the flow of data from the GTP-U tunnel sender to the GTP-U tunnel receiver. More specifically, it represents the first byte of data in the transmitted GTP-U packet for a specific UE bearer or Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID). The GTP-U tunnel sender sets the sequence number to an initial value of 1 upon the transmission of the first packet into GTP-U tunnel. It is incremented by the number of bytes from the previously transmitted user packet payload (including IP header) for each subsequent GTP-U packet transmission on the tunnel. The new GTP-U sequence number does not include the GTP-U overhead and does not include the volume of bytes associated with GTP-U signaling messages.; See also Para. [0120-0121, 0122-0124]; Figs. 1A-1C; Fig. 2, Para. [0087-0091]; Fig. 3, Para. [0093-0096]; Fig. 4, Para. [0097-0104]; Fig. 9; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Figs. 12-14; Fig. 15, Para. [0133-0145]; Figs. 16-17, Para. [0146-0157]; Figs. 18-23, Para. [0160-0170])
Examiner’s Note: Kousardidas teaches duplicate packet transmission with sequence-number and sender-flow tunnel context information. Baillargeon further teaches maintaining a sequence number for a specific GTP-U tunnel/UE bearer and incrementing it for subsequent packets, thereby teaching selection of a next available sequence number from the applicable tunnel/flow sequence-number block.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kousardidas’s invention of “methods, devices, and a computer program product for executing multipath communication” (Kousardidas Para. [0005]) with Baillargeon’s invention of “methods and radio network nodes for network congestion management in a wireless communication network” (Baillargeon Para. [0007]) because Baillargeon’s invention provides “congestion management solution independent from UE terminals and Internet endpoints or other transport protocol (e.g. TCP) implementations,” “simple functions implemented on existing nodes without negatively impacting the performance of the mobile network,” “faster response to congestion with short feedback,” and “consistent congestion volume policies controlled by mobile operator depending on the radio access technology and/or service mix)” (Baillargeon Para. [0177-0180]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kousardidas in view of Baillargeon teaches Claim 11.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the identity of the sender comprises a Media Access Control (MAC) address of the sender (Fig. 12; Para. [0154] - FIG. 12 illustrates an exemplary indicator in a header of a data packet, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 is described in conjunction with elements from FIGS. 1, 2, 3, 4A to 4E, and 5 to 11. With reference to FIG. 12, there is shown a PDCP header structure 1200. The PDCP header structure 1200 includes a plurality of fields, such as a plurality of reserve fields 1202, 1204, and 1206, and fields for MAC address of a data packet).
Regarding Claim 13, Kousardidas in view of Baillargeon teaches Claim 11.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the different paths comprise wireless paths in the network that are on different wireless channels (Figs. 4A-4C, elements 406 and 408; Para. [0099] - The multipath communication refers to communication of data via two or more different paths to a common destination device, where each path is different from other paths in use of at least a radio access technology, a communication protocol, a radio link, an interface, or a combination thereof, to communicate data. Thus, the first path 406 is different from the second path 408 in use of the radio access technology, one or more communication protocols, the radio link, and/or the interface to communicate data; See also Paras. [0100, 0101]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kousardidas in view of Baillargeon teaches Claim 13.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the different paths comprise different wireless access points (Figs. 4A-4C, elements 406 and 408; Para. [0101] - In another example, the first path 406 may employ IEEE 802.11p, whereas the second path 408 may employ a 5G-V2X communication or an LTE-V2X (via PC5) communication. In yet another example, the first path 406 and the second path 408 may employ different device-to-device communication, such as the first path 406 may employ LTE PC5, whereas the second path 408 may employ NR PC5. In yet another example, the first path 406 may employ a Wi-Fi based communication, whereas the second path 408 may employ a PC5 interface-based device-to-device communication; See also Paras. [0099, 0100]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kousardidas in view of Baillargeon teaches Claim 11.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the device is located onboard a moving vehicle (Para. [0098] - Each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 may include suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that is configured to communicate (send/receive) data via the two or more different paths. In accordance with an embodiment, each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 is at least one of: a vehicle, an electronic device (e.g. an electronic control unit (ECU), an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system, or other in-vehicle device) used in a vehicle, or a portable electronic device (e.g. a smart phone, a drone, an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, a machine type communication (MTC) device, a hand-held computing device, an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRAN) NR-dual connectivity (EN-DC) device, or any other customized hardware for wireless telecommunication). The vehicle may be a non-autonomous, a semi-autonomous, or an autonomous vehicle).
Regarding Claim 16, Kousardidas in view of Baillargeon teaches Claim 15.
Kousardidas also teaches
wherein the moving vehicle is a train or automobile (Para. [0098] - Each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 may include suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that is configured to communicate (send/receive) data via the two or more different paths. In accordance with an embodiment, each of the source communication device 402 and the target communication device 404 is at least one of: a vehicle, an electronic device (e.g. an electronic control unit (ECU), an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system, or other in-vehicle device) used in a vehicle, or a portable electronic device (e.g. a smart phone, a drone, an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, a machine type communication (MTC) device, a hand-held computing device, an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRAN) NR-dual connectivity (EN-DC) device, or any other customized hardware for wireless telecommunication). The vehicle may be a non-autonomous, a semi-autonomous, or an autonomous vehicle).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga, and further in view of Meylan et al. (US 2018/0176816), Meylan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 20, Kousardidas teaches a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that cause a device in a network to execute a process comprising (Fig. 4D; Paras. [0050, 0111, 0113, 0117]):
receiving, at a device in a network, a packet from a sender that is destined for a receiver (Fig. 5, step 510; Para. [0123]; See also: Fig. 1, step 102; Para. [0076]);
forming, by the device, duplicate packets of the packet (Fig. 4B; Para. [0106-0107]; Para. [0108]; See also: Fig. 9, element 904A; Para. [0133, 0143]);
assigning, by the device, a sequence number to the duplicate packets based on an identity of the sender and on a flow identifier associated with the packet (Fig. 10; Fig. 12; Para. [0134]; Para. [0136]; See also Para. [0135, 0143, 0147, 0153]):
and sending, by the device, the duplicate packets with the sequence number via different paths in the network towards the receiver (Figs. 5, 7, 8, and 9; Para. [0125]; See also Fig. 11, step 1130; Paras. [0131, 0135, 0144, 0150, 0153]).
Yet, Kousardidas does not expressly teach wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space.
However, Varga teaches
wherein the sequence number is selected from a number space (Fig. 7, step 702, Para. [0133]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0059-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0102-0128]; Fig. 5, Para. [0129]; Fig. 6, Para. [0130-0132]; Fig. 7, Para. [0133-0136]; Fig. 8, Para. [0137]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0138-0145]; Fig. 10, Para. [0145-0146])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kousardidas’s invention of “methods, devices, and a computer program product for executing multipath communication” (Kousardidas Para. [0005]) with Varga’s invention of “Time Sensitive Networking (TSN) and Deterministic Networking (DetNet)” applied to “frame or packet replication and elimination in a TSN or DetNet network” (Varga Para. [0001]) because Varga’s invention provides “a) the integration of FRER (Frame Replication and Elimination for Reliability) functionality with Cloud environment and Cloud redundancy solutions; b) the optimization of interactions between Application, FRER, and/or Cloud functions; c) ensuring the fulfillment of end-to-end redundancy requirements of time sensitive applications; d) avoiding single point of failure within the cloud domain when time sensitive applications are implemented; and e) the outside world “sees” the whole cloud implementation as a single Talker (Ctrl) with a single FRER entity and multiple connections to the TSN network (cloud internal deployment structure is fully hided)” (Varga Para. [0015-0019]).
Yet, Kousardidas nor Varga teach wherein blocks of sequence numbers are pre- allocated for different sender identities and flow identifiers, the sequence number being selected from an identified block of the blocks of sequence numbers.
However, Meylan teaches
wherein blocks of sequence numbers are pre-allocated for different sender identities and flow identifiers, the sequence number being selected from an identified block of the blocks of sequence numbers (Fig. 4, steps 404, 406, 416, 418, and 420; Para. [0061-0088] - [0063] At Block 404, the transmitter can detect that a packet, of the set of packets, is a prioritized packet. In an aspect, priority packet detecting component 344, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 305 and/or memory 302, can detect that the packet, of the set of packets, is a prioritized packet. In one example, priority packet detecting component 344 can detect that the packet is a prioritized packet based on a contents of the packet, a header thereof, a flow over which the packet is received, etc. For example, priority packet detecting component 344 can detect that the packet corresponds to a certain application (e.g., VoIP) or type of packet (e.g., a feedback packet, such as an ACK/NACK packet, etc.), and may accordingly determine that the packet is to be prioritized for transmission over other received packets. Thus, in an example, a packet classifier (e.g., priority packet detecting component 344) can perform packet inspection on the packet and/or a header thereof to determine that the packet is of a type that can be prioritized. In another example, priority packet detecting component 344 can detect the priority of the packets based on a queue or flow over which the packet is received (e.g., a feedback queue can be prioritized over a normal data flow, as described above and further herein)…. [0072]…For example, packet prioritizing component 346 can utilize a separate priority packet type defined by the communication layer to indicate priority packets, and the priority packets may use a separate sequence number space than the other non-priority (e.g., data) packet type, may not use sequence numbering, or may use the same sequence number space… [0076] In another example, multiple priority packet types can be defined for multiple different priority levels, and packet prioritizing component 346 can select a priority type for a given packet. Packet prioritizing component 346, for example, can map a packet to a given flow that corresponds to the priority level, and can indicate a flow identifier within the DRB (e.g., DRB 350 or 352 if available). The transmitter may request creation of additional flows from the receiver, or the transmitter may autonomously start using some subflow identifiers, as an implicit indication the subflow is being used. Similarly to the priority level, a separate PDCP sequence numbering may be used for each flow identifier, which may allow for moving later packets from a higher priority flow to the head of the line, as sequence numbers in the priority space can be differentiated (e.g., by a receiver) from sequence numbers in the non-priority space. In addition, for example, a single PDCP sequence number space may be used for the multiple priority levels. In any case, the base station 105 can receive the PDUs in the multiple flows, and can accordingly process the packets with or without reordering based on using different sequence number spaces or based on an indication not to order certain PDUs (e.g., of priority packets) that may be indicated in the header… [0078] In an example, in assigning the sequence number at Block 416, the transmitter may, at Block 418, assign a sequence number from a number space associated with priority packets. In an aspect, packet prioritizing component 346, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 305 and/or memory 302, can assign the sequence number from the number space associated with the priority packets. For instance, certain sequence numbers in the number space may be reserved for the priority packets, and these sequence numbers may be known by the UE 115 and base station 105. Accordingly, packet prioritizing component 346 can assign the reserved sequence numbers to priority packets if priority packets are detected by the priority packet detecting component 344. In a specific example, packet ordering component 340 may skip some PDCP SNs in ordering PDUs corresponding to non-priority packets (e.g., for prebuilding) to leave room for putative higher priority packets arriving after the time of prebuilding. For instance, the gaps can be located at certain intervals (e.g., defined by a value G configured at the UE 115 and base station 105, such that SN mod G=0 can be identified as a SN used for priority packets). In some examples, however, this may result in some SNs not being used (and the SN gap remaining) if no priority packets are available when SNs around the priority SNs are being used. As the receiver (e.g., base station 105) knows the priority SNs, however, it can assume (e.g., after a period of time) that a certain SN is not used.; See also: Para. [0027-0029]; Fig. 5, Para. [0089-0096]; Figs. 6-9)
Examiner’s Note: Kousardidas teaches duplicate packet transmission with sequence-number and sender-flow context information, and Varga teaches selecting a sequence number from a number space. Meylan further teaches reserving sequence numbers/sequence-number spaces for particular packet types/flows, thereby teaching pre-allocated blocks of sequence numbers from which an applicable sequence number is selected for the corresponding sender-flow context.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein blocks of sequence numbers are pre-allocated for different sender identities and flow identifiers, the sequence number being selected from an identified block of the blocks of sequence numbers as taught by Meylan, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga, so that it would provide techniques “prioritizing packets in a wireless communication systems” (Meylan Para. [0002]) allowing for “detecting that a packet, of the set of packets, is a prioritized packet type, prioritizing the packet for transmission ahead of its order in the defined sequence based on the detection of the prioritized packet type, and transmitting the packet ahead of its order in the defined sequence to an access point, ” (Meylan Para. [0007]) thereby providing solutions to 5G systems “where packets are prebuilt, however, it may not be possible to insert priority packets ahead of the prebuilt packets for prioritized transmission without deciphering the packets, modifying sequence numbers, etc.” (Meylan Para. [0005]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo, and in further view of Yi (US 2022/0255704, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 7, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 5.
Yet, Kousardidas nor Varga expressly teach wherein the moving vehicle is an autonomous or semi- autonomous robot.
However, Yi teaches
wherein the moving vehicle is an autonomous or semi- autonomous robot (Fig. 1, elements 100a-100f; Para. [0079] - In the present disclosure, the wireless devices 100a to 100f may be called user equipments (UEs). A user equipment (UE) may include, for example, a cellular phone, a smartphone, a laptop computer, a digital broadcast terminal, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation system, a slate personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, an ultrabook, a vehicle, a vehicle having an autonomous traveling function, a connected car, an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an artificial intelligence (AI) module, a robot, an augmented reality (AR) device, a virtual reality (VR) device, a mixed reality (MR) device, a hologram device, a public safety device, an MTC device, an IoT device, a medical device, a FinTech device (or a financial device), a security device, a weather/environment device, a device related to a 5G service, or a device related to a fourth industrial revolution field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the moving vehicle is an autonomous or semi- autonomous robot as taught by Yi, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga/Boscolo, so that it would provide a means to prevent redundant RLC retransmission for radio bearers configured with PDCP, which in turn can conserve radio resources (Yi Para. [0010]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga and Baillargeon, and in further view of Yi.
Regarding Claim 17, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Baillargeon teaches Claim 15.
Yet, Kousardidas, Varga, nor Baillargeon expressly teach wherein the moving vehicle is an autonomous or semi- autonomous robot.
However, Yi teaches
wherein the moving vehicle is an autonomous or semi- autonomous robot (Fig. 1, elements 100a-100f; Para. [0079] - In the present disclosure, the wireless devices 100a to 100f may be called user equipments (UEs). A user equipment (UE) may include, for example, a cellular phone, a smartphone, a laptop computer, a digital broadcast terminal, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation system, a slate personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, an ultrabook, a vehicle, a vehicle having an autonomous traveling function, a connected car, an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an artificial intelligence (AI) module, a robot, an augmented reality (AR) device, a virtual reality (VR) device, a mixed reality (MR) device, a hologram device, a public safety device, an MTC device, an IoT device, a medical device, a FinTech device (or a financial device), a security device, a weather/environment device, a device related to a 5G service, or a device related to a fourth industrial revolution field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the moving vehicle is an autonomous or semi- autonomous robot as taught by Yi, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga/ Baillargeon, so that it would provide a means to prevent redundant RLC retransmission for radio bearers configured with PDCP, which in turn can conserve radio resources (Yi Para. [0010]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo, and in further view of Park et al. (US 2020/0084663, previously cited), Park hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Kousardidas, Varga, nor Boscolo expressly teach wherein the receiver eliminates one of the duplicate packets based on the sequence number.
However, Park teaches
wherein the receiver eliminates one of the duplicate packets based on the sequence number (Para. [0311] - In an example illustrated in FIG. 32, there may be two N3 and N9 tunnels between NG-RAN and UPF for redundant transmission. The UPF interfacing the DN and may act as the traffic distributor for downlink traffic may duplicates the packet of the URLLC service from the DN and may assign the same GTP-U sequence number to them. These duplicated packets may be transmitted to I-UPF1 and I-UPF2 via N9 Tunnel 1 and N9 Tunnel 2 separately. Each I-UPF may forward the packet with the same GTP-U sequence number which may be received from the UPF to NG-RAN via N3 Tunnel 1 and N3 Tunnel 2 respectively. The NG-RAN may eliminate the duplicated packet based on the GTP-U sequence number. In case of UL traffic, the NG-RAN acting as the Traffic Distributer for UL traffic duplicates the packet of the URLLC service for the UE and the UPF may eliminate the duplicated packet; See also Paras. [0343, 0507, 0542]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the receiver eliminates one of the duplicate packets based on the sequence number as taught by Park, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga/Boscolo, so that it would provide a “solution for duplication of a session in the wireless device and mechanism to dynamically activate and deactivate duplication of the packets of the session” (Park Para. [0284]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga and Baillargeon, and in further view of Park.
Regarding Claim 18, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Baillargeon teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Kousardidas, Varga, nor Baillargeon expressly teach wherein the receiver eliminates one of the duplicate packets based on the sequence number.
However, Park teaches
wherein the receiver eliminates one of the duplicate packets based on the sequence number (Para. [0311] - In an example illustrated in FIG. 32, there may be two N3 and N9 tunnels between NG-RAN and UPF for redundant transmission. The UPF interfacing the DN and may act as the traffic distributor for downlink traffic may duplicates the packet of the URLLC service from the DN and may assign the same GTP-U sequence number to them. These duplicated packets may be transmitted to I-UPF1 and I-UPF2 via N9 Tunnel 1 and N9 Tunnel 2 separately. Each I-UPF may forward the packet with the same GTP-U sequence number which may be received from the UPF to NG-RAN via N3 Tunnel 1 and N3 Tunnel 2 respectively. The NG-RAN may eliminate the duplicated packet based on the GTP-U sequence number. In case of UL traffic, the NG-RAN acting as the Traffic Distributer for UL traffic duplicates the packet of the URLLC service for the UE and the UPF may eliminate the duplicated packet; See also Paras. [0343, 0507, 0542]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the receiver eliminates one of the duplicate packets based on the sequence number as taught by Park, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga/Baillargeon, so that it would provide a “solution for duplication of a session in the wireless device and mechanism to dynamically activate and deactivate duplication of the packets of the session” (Park Para. [0284]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo, and in further view of Godin (US 2020/0351701). Godin was included in the IDS submitted on 01/09/2024.
Regarding Claim 9, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Boscolo teaches Claim 1.
Kousardidas also teaches
assigning, by the device, a second sequence number to a second packet received from the sender (Fig. 5, step 510; Para. [0123]; See also: Fig. 1, step 102; Para. [0076]),
wherein the device selects the second sequence number from a different range of numbers than that of the sequence number assigned to the packet (Paras. [0135, 0136])
and sending, by the device, duplicates of the second packet with the second sequence number towards the receiver via the different paths (Figs. 5, 7, 8, and 9; Para. [0125] See also Fig. 11, step 1130; Paras. [0131, 0135, 0144, 0150, 0153]).
Yet, Kousardidas, Varga, nor Boscolo expressly teaches wherein the device selects the second sequence number from a different range of numbers than that of the sequence number assigned to the packet based on the second packet having a different flow identifier than that of the second packet.
However, Godin teaches
based on the second packet having a different flow identifier than that of the second packet (Fig. 4, elements 420 and 422; Para. [0146] - At 422, FIG. 4 further shows a field named “DL QFI Sequence Number” in the frame type 0 of the DL PDU Session Information frame format. In some examples, this field may comprise 3 bytes. At 420, FIG. 4 also shows that the DL QFI Sequence Number 422 is associated in the same frame as a QoS Flow Identifier (QFI) 420. QFI field 420 may be in an octet above the DL QFI Sequence Number 422 and can be used to identify to which QoS flow a packet belongs to. The DL QFI Sequence Number can then be associated and managed per QoS flow i.e. incremented if the next packet to be sent corresponds to same QoS flow. The DL QFI Sequence Number parameter may be assigned by the UPF or NG-RAN node associated with a given QoS flow. The DL QFI Sequence Number parameter may have a field length of 3 octets. Furthermore, the DL QFI Sequence Number parameter may in some examples have a value range between 0 and 2.sup.24-1; See also: Fig. 5, elements 520 and 522; Para. [0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on the second packet having a different flow identifier than that of the second packet as taught by Godin, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga/Boscolo, so that it would provide methods to improve packet reception when redundant data transmission is performed (Godin Para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousardidas in view of Varga and Baillargeon, and in further view of Godin.
Regarding Claim 19, Kousardidas in view of Varga and Baillargeon teaches Claim 11.
Kousardidas also teaches
assign a second sequence number to a second packet received from the sender (Fig. 5, step 510; Para. [0123]; See also: Fig. 1, step 102; Para. [0076]),
wherein the apparatus selects the second sequence number from a different range of numbers than that of the sequence number assigned to the packet (Paras. [0135, 0136])
and send duplicates of the second packet with the second sequence number towards the receiver via the different paths (Figs. 5, 7, 8, and 9; Para. [0125] See also Fig. 11, step 1130; Paras. [0131, 0135, 0144, 0150, 0153]).
Yet, Kousardidas, Varga, nor Baillargeon expressly wherein the device selects the second sequence number from a different range of numbers than that of the sequence number assigned to the packet based on the second packet having a different flow identifier than that of the second packet.
However, Godin teaches
based on the second packet having a different flow identifier than that of the second packet (Fig. 4, elements 420 and 422; Para. [0146]; See also: Fig. 5, elements 520 and 522; Para. [0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on the second packet having a different flow identifier than that of the second packet as taught by Godin, in the combined system of Kousardidas/Varga/Baillargeon, so that it would provide methods to improve packet reception when redundant data transmission is performed (Godin Para. [0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468