DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Claim Status
The amendment filed 13 May 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and drawings have overcome each and every objection set forth in the Office Action mailed 13 February 2026. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 1 and 3–14 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawakami discloses an electrode (see anode, C3L28–48, anode 101, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and anode 402, C14L4–12, FIG. 4; see also cathode, C3L28–48, cathode 102, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and cathode 408, C14L4–12, FIG. 4) for a lithium secondary battery (see secondary battery, C3L28–48, which can be a lithium secondary battery, C3L65–C4L5; see also secondary battery, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and spiral-type cylindrical battery, C13L62–C14L3, FIG. 4) comprising:
an electrode current collector (see collector, C10L66–C11L5, and anode collector 400, C14L4–12, FIG. 4; see also collector, C11L34–40, and cathode collector 404, C14L4–12, FIG. 4);
an electrode active material layer (see active-material layer 401, C14L4–12, FIG. 4; see also active-material layer 403, C14L4–12, FIG. 4) which is formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector (C10L66–C11L5, C11L34–40, FIG. 4) and includes an electrode active material (see material for the anode, C10L66–C11L5, and anode material, C11L6–14; see also cathode active material, C11L34–40, C11L53–64) and a binder (see binder, C11L14–26; see also binder, C11L34–40); and
a polymer coating (see polymer film, C4L5–10, polymer film 100, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and polymer film 415, C14L24–43, FIG. 4) which is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material and at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material layer (C5L40–51, FIG. 1, 2, 4; note that as the polymer coating is formed atop the electrode active material layer which contains the electrode active material, it will necessarily also be formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material), and includes polyvinyl alcohol (see polymer gel, C4L23–24, which can be polyvinyl alcohol, C9L60) that is dehydrated (C6L50–59).
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol is satisfying Equation 1 below:
[Equation 1]
0.5 ≤ Ib/Ia ≤ 2.5
wherein, in Equation 1, Ia is an intensity of a first peak appearing in a range of 1300 to 1350 cm−1 in the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FT-IR) spectrum of the polyvinyl alcohol, and Ib is an intensity of a second peak appearing in a range of 1550 to 1600 cm−1 in the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FT-IR) spectrum of the polyvinyl alcohol. However, it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the instant polymer coating.
Applicant discloses (P16L15–19) that the polyvinyl alcohol may be dehydrated to satisfy the claimed IR spectral intensity ratio range by performing high temperature heat treatment, for example at temperatures from 120 to 250 °C. Furthermore, Applicant discloses (P25L16–19) that polymer coating examples A-1, A-3, A-4, and A-5 had polyvinyl alcohol Ib/Ia values which satisfied Equation 1 after heat treatment at temperatures of 120 °C, 140 °C, 160 °C, and 180 °C, respectively.
It can be reasonably interpreted, given the above, that the polyvinyl alcohol satisfying Equation 1 is a result of performing dehydration of the polyvinyl alcohol via high temperature heat treatment in a temperature range from 120 °C to 250 °C, and preferably 120 °C to 180 °C.
Kawakami does not disclose the temperature at which the polyvinyl alcohol is dehydrated. However, it can be understood that the dehydration must take place at some temperature.
Sau teaches (p. 2 ¶ “In this article…”) the effect of heat treatment on the properties of polyvinyl alcohol. Sau teaches (p. 9 ¶ “Thus, from all…”, e.g. FIG. 7) that heat treatment of polyvinyl alcohol films at 140 °C dehydrates the polyvinyl alcohol, which then exhibits improved mechanical properties such as toughness and tensile strength in comparison to untreated polyvinyl alcohol. Note that Sau is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of polyvinyl alcohol-based polymers. Further, Kawakami is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of polyvinyl alcohol-based polymers and lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of Kawakami such that the polymer coating is dehydrated via heat treatment at 140 °C, as taught by Sau, for the purpose of improving its mechanical properties such as toughness and tensile strength.
MPEP § 2112.01.I states that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.
It is submitted that the polymer coating of modified Kawakami is substantially identical to the polymer coating of the instant application, as set forth above, such that it would inherently possess the same properties, exhibit the same results, and thus satisfy the claimed limitation, i.e. satisfy Equation 1 above.
Assuming, arguendo, that the property recited in the claimed limitation is not inherent, as there is no evidence on the record that any differences between the instantly claimed polymer coating and that of modified Kawakami are critical, and as the conditions of the prior art significantly overlap the relevant conditions disclosed in the instant specification, it is submitted that prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the polymer coating of modified Kawakami and that of the instant application to be obvious variants of one another.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above. Kawakami discloses wherein the polymer coating is formed on both the surface of the electrode active material and the surface of the electrode active material layer (C5L40–51, FIG. 1, 2, 4; note that as the polymer coating is formed atop the electrode active material layer which contains the electrode active material, it will necessarily also be formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material), as already set forth in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above. Kawakami discloses wherein the electrode for a lithium secondary battery is an anode or a cathode (see anode, C3L28–48, anode 101, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and anode 402, C14L4–12, FIG. 4; see also cathode, C3L28–48, cathode 102, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and cathode 408, C14L4–12, FIG. 4; C5L40–51, FIG. 1, 2, 4) as already set forth in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above. Kawakami further discloses a lithium secondary battery (see secondary battery, C3L28–48, which can be a lithium secondary battery, C3L65–C4L5; see also secondary battery, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and spiral-type cylindrical battery, C13L62–C14L3, FIG. 4) comprising:
a cathode (see cathode, C3L28–48, cathode 102, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and cathode 408, C14L4–12, FIG. 4); and
an anode (see anode, C3L28–48, anode 101, C5L1–21, FIG. 1, and anode 402, C14L4–12, FIG. 4) disposed to face the cathode (FIG. 1, 2, 4),
wherein at least one of the cathode and the anode is the electrode for a lithium secondary battery according to Claim 1 (C5L40–51, FIG. 1, 2, 4).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, as evidenced by Kuraray (“Basic Physical Properties of PVOH Resin”; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kawami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises at least one of the structural units represented by Formulas 1 to 5 below:
wherein, in Formulas 1 to 5, * is a bond, and n is an integer of 1 to 100,000.
However, it is well-known in the field of polyvinyl alcohol that 1,2-glycol bonds are present in polyvinyl alcohol, which are formed from head-to-tail–tail-to-head polymerization of vinyl acetate, as evidenced by Kuraray (p. 10, ¶ “Additionally, 1,2-glycol bond…”). One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the product of tail-to-head–head-to-tail polymerization in the polymer chain will necessarily be followed by the product of head-to-tail–tail-to-head polymerization, thus forming the structural unit *—CHOH—CH2—CH2—CHOH—* (such a moiety is shown in Kuraray FIG. 19). In the case that the *—CHOH—CH2—CH2—CHOH—* structural unit is formed at the starting or terminal end of the polymer, i.e. such that the structural unit present at one of the ends of the final polymer is *—CHOH—CH2—CH2—CH2OH, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that dehydration of the polymer (which occurs for the electrode of modified Kawakami as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above) could result in elimination of one equivalent of water across the final two carbons of the polymer, thus forming the structural unit *—CHOH—CH2—CH=CH2, which matches that shown in Formula 1 where n is the integer 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2016/0336625 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 50,000 to 2,000,000 Da.
Jeong teaches an electrode (see negative electrode, [0034]) for a lithium secondary battery (see lithium metal battery, [0034]) comprising: an electrode active material layer (see lithium or lithium metal alloy, [0036]); and a polymer coating (see protective layer, [0034]), which is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material and at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material layer ([0034]; note that as the polymer coating is formed atop the electrode active material layer which contains the electrode active material, it will necessarily also be formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material), and includes polyvinyl alcohol (see first polymer, [0034], which can be poly(vinyl alcohol), [0034]). Jeong teaches ([0042]) that when the polyvinyl alcohol has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 50,000 to 200,000 Da, the mechanical properties of the polymer coating are not degraded and the film properties can be excellent.
Jeong is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of modified Kawakami such that the polyvinyl alcohol has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 50,000 to 200,000 Da, as taught by Jeong, for the purpose of ensuring that the mechanical properties of the polymer coating are not degraded and that the film properties can be excellent.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Matsuoka et al. (US 2020/0411842 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol has a degree of saponification of 80 mol% or less.
Matsuoka teaches an electrode (see positive electrode 11, [0017], FIG. 1) for a secondary battery (see non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery 10, [0017], FIG. 1) comprising: an electrode current collector (see positive electrode current collector, [0022]); an electrode active material layer (see positive electrode mixture layer, [0022]) which is formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector ([0022]) and includes an electrode active material (see composite oxide particles, [0022]); and a polymer coating (see polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), [0022]) which is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material and at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material layer (note that as the polymer coating is mixed with the electrode active material, which will necessarily be present on a surface of the electrode active material layer, the polymer coating can be understood as also being formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material layer) and includes polyvinyl alcohol. Matsuoka teaches ([0042]) that when the polyvinyl alcohol has a degree of saponification of 60 to 70%, good adhesion to the electrode active material and an auxiliary conductive agent can be easily obtained. Matsuoka is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of modified Kawakami such that the polyvinyl alcohol has a degree of saponification of 60 to 70%, as taught by Matsuoka, for the purpose of achieving good adhesion to the electrode active material and auxiliary conductive agent (note that good adhesion to the electrode active material and auxiliary conductive agent would be advantageous even in the case of including the polyvinyl alcohol in the electrode as a coating layer atop the electrode active material layer, as in the case of Kawakami).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Min et al. (WO 2022/159202 A1; US 2022/0052345 A1 used for translation and citation purposes; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein a content of the polymer coating is 0.01 to 10 parts by weight based on a total 100 parts by weight of the electrode active material layer.
Min teaches an electrode (see negative electrode, [0037]) for a lithium secondary battery (see lithium secondary battery, [0068]) comprising: an electrode current collector (see current collector, [0038]); an electrode active material layer which is formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector (see negative electrode active material layer, [0038]) and includes an electrode active material (see silicon-based active material, [0038]); and a polymer coating (see coating layer, [0038]) which is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material and a surface of the electrode active material and a surface of the electrode active material layer ([0038]; note that as the polymer coating is formed atop the electrode active material layer which contains the electrode active material, it will necessarily also be formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material) and includes polyvinyl alcohol ([0040]). Min teaches ([0048]) that when a content of the polymer coating is 0.3 to 2 parts by weight based on a total 100 parts by weight of the electrode active material layer, the polymer coating can accept a change in volume of the electrode active material, thereby improving cycling characteristics.
Min is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of modified Kawakami such that the content of the polymer coating is 0.3 to 2 parts by weight based on a total 100 parts by weight of the electrode active material layer, as taught by Min, for the purpose of ensuring that the polymer coating can accept a change in volume of the electrode active material, thereby improving cycling characteristics.
Claims 7–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Choi (KR 2019/0085355 A; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the polymer coating further comprises a lithium salt.
Choi teaches an electrode (see negative electrode, [0019]) for a lithium secondary battery (see lithium secondary battery, [0019]) comprising: an electrode current collector (see current collector, [0019]); an electrode active material layer (see negative electrode active material layer, [0019]) which is formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector and includes an electrode active material (see Si-based negative electrode active material, [0019]); and a polymer coating (see ion conductive polymer, [0019]) which is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material and a portion of the surface of the electrode active material layer ([0019], FIG. 1; note that as the polymer coating is formed atop the electrode active material layer which contains the electrode active material, it will necessarily also be formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material). Choi further teaches wherein the polymer coating further comprises a lithium salt (see lithium salt, [0019]) which improves the ion conductivity of the polymer coating ([0026]).Choi is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of modified Kawakami such that the polymer coating further comprises a lithium salt, as taught by Choi, for the purpose of improving the ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above. Modified Kawakami further discloses (Choi [0030]) wherein the lithium salt includes at least one selected from the group consisting of LiPF6, LiBF4, LiAsF6, LiClO4, LiCF3SO3, LiN(SO2CF3)2, LiN(SO2C2F5)2, LiC(SO2CF3)3 (note that although Choi lists this compound as LiCH(SO2CF3)3, it can be understood that the “H” is likely a typo).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the content of the lithium salt is 0.5 to 30% by weight based on a total weight of the polymer coating.
Instead, modified Kawakami discloses that the content of the lithium salt is approximately 17 to 33% by weight based on a total weight of the polymer coating, by disclosing (Choi [0031]) that the mixing ratio of polymer to lithium salt in the coating may be 5:1 to 2:1 (as an example calculation: in the case that the mixing ratio of polymer to lithium salt is 5:1, the total weight of the polymer coating is considered to be 5 + 1 = 6, and therefore the polymer coating will have a content of lithium salt of 1/6 or approximately 17%). Choi teaches ([0031]) that when the content of lithium salt lies outside this range, the ion conductivity decreases and is not suitable.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I). It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the content of lithium salt with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in a polymer coating which has a suitable ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer coating has a lithium ion conductivity of 1 × 10−5 S/cm to 1.5 S/cm and an electronic conductivity of 1 × 10−5 S/cm or less. However, it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the instant polymer coating.
Applicant discloses (P13L22–P14L17) that lithium ion conductivity and electronic conductivity depend on: the content of the lithium salt based on the total weight of the polymer coating, and that a high lithium ion conductivity and low electronic conductivity can be achieved when the content of the lithium salt is 0.5 to 30 wt. % based on the total weight of the polymer coating. Applicant discloses (P13L22–P14L17) that a suitable high lithium ion conductivity lies with the range of 1 × 10−5 S/cm to 1.5 S/cm, while a suitable low electronic conductivity lies within the range of 1 × 10−5 S/cm or less.
In comparison, modified Kawakami discloses a polymer coating comprising a lithium salt, as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the content of the lithium salt is 0.5 to 30% by weight based on a total weight of the polymer coating.
Instead, modified Kawakami discloses that the content of the lithium salt is approximately 17 to 33% by weight based on a total weight of the polymer coating, by disclosing (Choi [0031]) that the mixing ratio of polymer to lithium salt in the coating may be 5:1 to 2:1 (as an example calculation: in the case that the mixing ratio of polymer to lithium salt is 5:1, the total weight of the polymer coating is considered to be 5 + 1 = 6, and therefore the polymer coating will have a content of lithium salt of 1/6 or approximately 17%). Choi teaches ([0031]) that when the content of lithium salt lies outside this range, the ion conductivity decreases and is not suitable.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I). It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the content of lithium salt with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in a polymer coating which has a suitable ion conductivity.
MPEP § 2112.01.I states that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.
It is submitted that the polymer coating of modified Kawakami is substantially identical to the polymer coating of the instant application, as set forth above, such that it would inherently possess the same properties, exhibit the same results, and thus satisfy the claimed limitation, i.e. have a lithium ion conductivity of 1 × 10−5 S/cm to 1.5 S/cm and an electronic conductivity of 1 × 10−5 S/cm or less.
Assuming, arguendo, that the property recited in the claimed limitation is not inherent, as there is no evidence on the record that any differences between the instantly claimed polymer coating and that of modified Kawakami are critical, and as the conditions of the prior art significantly overlap the relevant conditions disclosed in the instant specification, it is submitted that prior to the effective filing date, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the polymer coating of modified Kawakami and that of the instant application to be obvious variants of one another.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 5888666 A) in view of Sau et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol): Structural, optical and mechanical properties”; art already of record) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Tan et al. (CN 112687839 A; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kawakami discloses the electrode as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the polymer coating has a thickness of 1 nm to 1,000 nm.
Tan teaches an electrode (see pole piece, [n0011]) for a lithium secondary battery (see lithium ion battery, [n0011]) comprising: an electrode current collector (see current collector, [n0013]); an electrode active material layer (see active material layer, [n0013]) which is formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector ([n0013]) and includes an electrode active material ([n0023]); and a polymer coating ([n0013]) which is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material and at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material layer ([n0013]; note that as the polymer coating is formed atop the electrode active material layer which contains the electrode active material, it will necessarily also be formed on at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material) and includes polyvinyl alcohol (see second polymer, [n0013], which can be polyvinyl alcohol, [n0020]). Tan teaches ([n0021]) that the thickness of the polymer coating is preferably 0.5 µm to 2 µm (i.e. 500 nm to 2,000 nm), and that if the polymer coating is too thick, the electrode will become thicker and the energy density of the battery will be reduced, while if the polymer coating is too thin, the bonding performance will become weaker and the battery will not be hardened. Note that Tan is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of modified Kawakami such that the polymer coating has a thickness of 500 nm to 2,000 nm, as taught by Tan, for the purpose of ensuring that the polymer coating has a suitable thickness that does not reduce energy density of the battery and which also results in good bonding performance such that the battery hardens appropriately.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I). It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the thickness of the polymer coating with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in a polymer coating with a suitable thickness that does not reduce energy density of the battery and which also results in good bonding performance such that the battery hardens appropriately.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 13 May 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725