DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
3. This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/12/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-3, 8-10, 14-15, 18, and 20 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 11-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai (EP-3159778) in view of Lim et al. (US 2019/0046078) and Einav et al. (US 2006/0293617).
Regarding claim 1, Sankai discloses wearable device (figs. 3-4) comprising:
a motor (fig. 3, drive units 120, 122, 124, and 126 are formed with a motor according to paragraph [0043]);
a motor driver circuit configured to control the motor (paragraph [0043] states that the control device provides a signal to control the drive torque, see fig. 5, driver which receives input from control device 26);
a communication circuit (fig. 5, communicating device 28) configured to receive first movement information of a first user from a server or an electronic device (fig. 1, motion reproducing apparatus 3 is a wearable motion assisting apparatus similar to data acquiring apparatus 1 which has controls in fig. 5 and structure shown in figs. 3-4 and receives body motion data according to [0023]);
a frame connected to the motor and worn on a body part of a second user (fig. 3, frame mechanism 118 which is shown to be worn on wearer P);
a sensor (fig. 3, biological signal sensors 138a, 138b, 140a, 140b, 142a, 142b, 144a, and 144b);
at least one processor (fig. 5, control device 26) comprising processing circuitry ([0039] states that the control device is used to calculate torque for output which requires some processing circuitry); and
memory (fig. 1, memory 2B) comprising one or more storage media storing instructions ([0011]-[0013] states that the data managing apparatus which includes the memory is configured to record and store body motion data until a request for the data is made),
wherein the instructions ([0011]-[0013], when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the wearable device to:
acquire second movement information (fig. 5, control device 26 receives body motion data) of the second user using the sensor (fig. 2, communicating device 18 sends body motion data to a data managing apparatus shown in fig. 1),
calculate a difference between the second movement information and the first movement information ([0039] states that control device 26 calculates an output torque based on sensed data and the received body motion data in which the difference is inherently found when using the same equation to calculate torque in both cases),
determine a torque intensity based on the difference ([0054] states that a force control output torque is a torque for making equal torque of the wearable device and the torque in the body motion data), and
control the motor driver circuit to output a torque corresponding to the torque intensity through the motor (fig. 5, control device 26 controls the driver to output a torque to recreate the motion in the body motion data, see [0054]),
wherein the controlling the motor driver circuit comprises
controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that assists a movement of the second user is output from the motor when the second movement information is less than the first movement information ([0054] states an angle control output torque and a force control output torque make the wearable device output a torque and joint angle to match the body motion data, therefore, if the user in the wearable device is not matching the body motion data the wearable device will compensate to recreate the body motion torque and angle).
Sankai further discloses accounting for a hip joint angle in a prosthetic limb embodiment (see fig. 7 and paragraph [0072]), thigh drive power units (fig. 3, 120 and 122), and angular sensors (fig. 2, 14 and fig. 5, 24) for detecting a knee joint angle, but does not expressly disclose that the movement information comprises a hip joint angle or resisting movement of the second user (see “Remarks” filed 06/12/2026).
However, Lim teaches of a walking assistance apparatus (fig. 1, 100) that assists walking by measuring a hip joint angle (fig. 3, sensor 110 measures a hip joint angle, see [0084]), calculating a difference between a right hip joint angle and a left hip joint angle, multiplying the difference by a gain, and using the resulting state variable ([0118]-[0119]) to generate a torque profile ([0007]) and assisting each leg dependent on the torque profile ([0163]). Where the gain can be set by the user via a user interface ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Sankai with the hip joint angle sensor and program as taught by Lim (Lim [0118]-[0119]) to more accurately recreate stored human motions (Sankai [0005]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first movement information comprises a hip-joint angle (Lim [0084]) of the first user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the body motion data is defined as first movement information of the first user) and the second movement information comprises the hip-joint angle of the second user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the joint angle is defined as the second movement information of the user currently wearing the device). The modified device of Sankai does not expressly disclose controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information.
However, Einav teaches of a rehabilitation apparatus that connects a tip (fig. 1, 108) to a joint on a person ([0378]) and a force field motion can be performed ([0383]) where a target trajectory (fig. 3A, 302) is followed by the patient, and when the trajectory is not followed, a corrective force is applied (fig. 3A, 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the corrective force program as taught by Einav to ensure the patient follows a correct trajectory (Einav [0383]).
The further modified device of Sankai reads on controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor (Einav fig. 3A corrective force vector 310) when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information (Einav fig. 3B, shows that when a position is greater than a correct trajectory, a force is applied, where Sankai [0054] references stored data to make equal a joint angle).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on wherein the first movement information comprises a joint angle of the first user (Sankai [0020] states that the body motion data includes the joint angle of the user), wherein the second movement information comprises a joint angle of the second user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, see fig. 5), and wherein the first movement information of the first user is generated by sensing a movement of the first user in another wearable device worn by the first user located remotely (Sankai [0021] states that the body motion data is acquired and transmitted to the data managing apparatus, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on wherein the communication circuit (fig. 5, communicating device 28) is configured to transmit the second movement information of the second user to the electronic device ([0037] states that communicating device 28 is configured the same as communicating device 18 which is able to transmit movement information to an electronic device, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor (fig. 5, biological signal detector 23) configured to acquire at least one of acceleration information, angular velocity information, or posture information of the second user ([0020] states body motion data includes a biological signal which can include acceleration, angular speed, and the center of gravity of the body), wherein the communication circuit is configured to transmit the at least one of the acceleration information, the angular velocity information, or the posture information to the electronic device (fig. 5, communicating device 28 is configured the same as communicating device 18 according to [0037], meaning body motion data can be transmitted to the data managing apparatus 2).
Regarding claim 8, Sankai discloses a remote training system comprising:
a server (Sankai fig. 1, data managing apparatus 2);
a first wearable device configured to be worn on a first user (Sankai fig. 1, data acquiring apparatus 1 which is a wearable motion assisting apparatus according to [0007]); and
a second wearable device configured to be worn on a second user (Sankai fig. 1, motion reproducing apparatus which is another wearable apparatus according to [0008]),
wherein the first wearable device is further configured to:
acquire first movement information of the first user (Sankai [0007] states that the acquiring apparatus acquires biological signal, rotation, and force information), and
transmit the first movement information of the first user to the second wearable device through the server (Sankai fig. 1, body motion data, see [0007]-[0008], is sent from data acquiring apparatus 1 to the data managing apparatus 2 and finally to the motion reproducing apparatus 3), and
wherein the second wearable device is further configured to:
receive the first movement information of the first user through the server (Sankai fig. 5, device 20 receives body motion data from the data managing apparatus),
acquire second movement information of the second user (Sankai [0008] states that a second biological signal detect, angular sensor, and torque sensor are used),
calculate a difference between the first movement information of the first user and the second movement information of the second user (Sankai [0039] states that control device 26 calculates an output torque based on sensed data and the received body motion data in which the difference is inherently found when using the same equation to calculate torque in both cases),
determine a torque intensity based on the difference (Sankai [0039] states an output torque is calculated based on the joint angles), and
output a torque that assists the movement of the second user when the second movement information is less than the first movement information ([0054] states an angle control output torque and a force control output torque make the wearable device output a torque and joint angle to match the body motion data, therefore, if the user in the wearable device is not matching the body motion data the wearable device will compensate to recreate the body motion torque and angle).
Sankai further discloses accounting for a hip joint angle in a prosthetic limb embodiment (see fig. 7 and paragraph [0072]), thigh drive power units (fig. 3, 120 and 122), and angular sensors (fig. 2, 14 and fig. 5, 24) for detecting a knee joint angle, but does not expressly disclose that the movement information comprises a hip joint angle, the torque intensity is based on a set gain, or resisting movement of the second user (see “Remarks” filed 06/12/2026).
However, Lim teaches of a walking assistance apparatus (fig. 1, 100) that assists walking by measuring a hip joint angle (fig. 3, sensor 110 measures a hip joint angle, see [0084]), calculating a difference between a right hip joint angle and a left hip joint angle, multiplying the difference by a gain, and using the resulting state variable ([0118]-[0119]) to generate a torque profile ([0007]) and assisting each leg dependent on the torque profile ([0163]). Where the gain can be set by the user via a user interface ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Sankai with the hip joint angle sensor and program as taught by Lim (Lim [0118]-[0119]) to more accurately recreate stored human motions (Sankai [0005]) and allow the user to adjust the gain of the device (Lim [0103]) to provide more comfort.
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first movement information comprises a hip-joint angle (Lim [0084]) of the first user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the body motion data is defined as first movement information of the first user), the second movement information comprises the hip-joint angle of the second user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the joint angle is defined as the second movement information of the user currently wearing the device), and the torque intensity is based on a set gain (Lim [0118]-[0119]). The modified device of Sankai does not expressly disclose controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information.
However, Einav teaches of a rehabilitation apparatus that connects a tip (fig. 1, 108) to a joint on a person ([0378]) and a force field motion can be performed ([0383]) where a target trajectory (fig. 3A, 302) is followed by the patient, and when the trajectory is not followed, a corrective force is applied (fig. 3A, 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the corrective force program as taught by Einav to ensure the patient follows a correct trajectory (Einav [0383]).
The further modified device of Sankai reads on controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor (Einav fig. 3A corrective force vector 310) when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information (Einav fig. 3B, shows that when a position is greater than a correct trajectory, a force is applied, where Sankai [0054] references stored data to make equal a joint angle).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 8 and further reads on wherein the first movement information comprises a joint angle of the first user (Sankai [0020] states that the body motion data includes the joint angle of the user), wherein the second movement information comprises a joint angle of the second user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, see fig. 5), and wherein the first movement information of the first user is generated by sensing a movement of the first user in another wearable device worn by the first user located remotely (Sankai [0021] states that the body motion data is acquired and transmitted to the data managing apparatus, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the system of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 8 and further reads on wherein the second wearable device (fig. 1, motion reproducing apparatus 3) is connected to a first electronic device of the first user (fig. 1, data acquiring apparatus 1 includes fig. 2, communicating device 18 which are connected via data managing apparatus 2) to receive the first movement information of the first user from the first electronic device of the first user (fig. 1, motion reproducing apparatus 3 retrieves body motion data from communicating unit 2A), and wherein the second wearable device (fig. 5, 20) is connected to a second electronic device of the second user (fig. 5, the device 20 includes communicating device 28).
Regarding claim 15, receiving first movement information of a first user from a server or an electronic device (Sankai fig. 5, device 20 receives body motion data from the data managing apparatus),
acquiring second movement information of a second user (Sankai [0008] states that a second biological signal detect, angular sensor, and torque sensor are used),
calculating a difference between the first movement information and the second movement information (Sankai [0039] states that control device 26 calculates an output torque based on sensed data and the received body motion data in which the difference is inherently found when using the same equation to calculate torque in both cases),
determining a torque intensity based on the difference (Sankai [0039] states an output torque is calculated based on the joint angles), and
outputting a torque that assists the movement of the second user when the second movement information is less than the first movement information ([0054] states an angle control output torque and a force control output torque make the wearable device output a torque and joint angle to match the body motion data, therefore, if the user in the wearable device is not matching the body motion data the wearable device will compensate to recreate the body motion torque and angle).
Sankai further discloses accounting for a hip joint angle in a prosthetic limb embodiment (see fig. 7 and paragraph [0072]), thigh drive power units (fig. 3, 120 and 122), and angular sensors (fig. 2, 14 and fig. 5, 24) for detecting a knee joint angle, but does not expressly disclose that the movement information comprises a hip joint angle, the torque intensity is based on a set gain, or resisting movement of the second user (see “Remarks” filed 06/12/2026).
However, Lim teaches of a walking assistance apparatus (fig. 1, 100) that assists walking by measuring a hip joint angle (fig. 3, sensor 110 measures a hip joint angle, see [0084]), calculating a difference between a right hip joint angle and a left hip joint angle, multiplying the difference by a gain, and using the resulting state variable ([0118]-[0119]) to generate a torque profile ([0007]) and assisting each leg dependent on the torque profile ([0163]). Where the gain can be set by the user via a user interface ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Sankai with the hip joint angle sensor and program as taught by Lim (Lim [0118]-[0119]) to more accurately recreate stored human motions (Sankai [0005]) and allow the user to adjust the gain of the device (Lim [0103]) to provide more comfort.
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first movement information comprises a hip-joint angle (Lim [0084]) of the first user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the body motion data is defined as first movement information of the first user), the second movement information comprises the hip-joint angle of the second user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the joint angle is defined as the second movement information of the user currently wearing the device), and the torque intensity is based on a set gain (Lim [0118]-[0119]). The modified device of Sankai does not expressly disclose controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information.
However, Einav teaches of a rehabilitation apparatus that connects a tip (fig. 1, 108) to a joint on a person ([0378]) and a force field motion can be performed ([0383]) where a target trajectory (fig. 3A, 302) is followed by the patient, and when the trajectory is not followed, a corrective force is applied (fig. 3A, 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the corrective force program as taught by Einav to ensure the patient follows a correct trajectory (Einav [0383]).
The further modified device of Sankai reads on controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor (Einav fig. 3A corrective force vector 310) when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information (Einav fig. 3B, shows that when a position is greater than a correct trajectory, a force is applied, where Sankai [0054] references stored data to make equal a joint angle).
7. Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai in view of Lim and Einav, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dean (US 2007/0260394) and Contreras-Vidal et al. (US 2019/0328604).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Sankai reads on the device of claim 1, and further reads on a battery (Sankai fig. 3, batteries 132 and 134) which is used to provide the drive units with power (Sankai [0046]), but does not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the wearable device to: in response to a torque direction indicating an opposite direction of the movement of the second user, control a converter to draw power corresponding to the torque intensity from a battery, and turn on one or more switches, among a plurality of switches of the motor driver circuit and turn off remaining switches, among a plurality of switches, to control the motor to rotate in the torque direction to output the torque that resists the movement of the second user.
Regarding the use of switches to control the motor to rotate in a direction to resist movements of the second user, Dean teaches of the use of a drive motor that is controlled by a variable speed limiting circuit that includes relays which are electronic switches for reversing motor direction ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drive units of Sankai with variable speed limiting circuits as taught by Dean to slow revolutions and allow slight directional tuning (Dean [0080]) to improve precision of the drive units.
Regarding the use of a converter when drawing power from the battery, Contreras-Vidal et al. teaches of a boost converter and battery management circuit which allows the converter to create a regulated 48V line for the DC motors ([0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the batteries and drive units of Sankai with the converter and management circuit as taught by Contreras-Vidal to allow the use of various batteries, such as a 12V, to power a 48V DC motor (Contreras-Vidal [0124]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the instructions (Sankai [0054] states an angle, output torque are calculated to make equal the wearable apparatus with the body motion data), when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to the torque direction of the movement of the second user, control a converter to draw power corresponding to the torque intensity from a battery (Contreras-Vidal [0124] states converters can allow a 12V battery to be converted to a regulated 48V which are used by brushless DC motors), and turn on one or more switches, among a plurality of switches of the motor driver circuit and turn off remaining switches, among a plurality of switches (Dean [0080] states that relays can be used to switch rotational directions for forward and reverse states of a drive motor), to control the motor to rotate in the torque direction to output the torque that resists a movement of the second user (Einav [0383] states that a corrective force is applied to maintain the patient on the correct trajectory during rehabilitation).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Sankai reads on the device of claim 1, and further reads on a battery (Sankai fig. 3, batteries 132 and 134) which is used to provide the drive units with power (Sankai [0046]), but does not expressly disclose a converter or a plurality of switches to control the motor to rotate in a direction to resist movements of the second user.
Regarding the use of switches to control the motor to rotate in a direction to resist movements of the second user, Dean teaches of the use of a drive motor that is controlled by a variable speed limiting circuit that includes relays which are electronic switches for reversing motor direction ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drive units of Sankai with variable speed limiting circuits as taught by Dean to slow revolutions and allow slight directional tuning (Dean [0080]) to improve precision of the drive units.
Regarding the use of a converter when drawing power from the battery, Contreras-Vidal et al. teaches of a boost converter and battery management circuit which allows the converter to create a regulated 48V line for the DC motors ([0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the batteries and drive units of Sankai with the converter and management circuit as taught by Contreras-Vidal to allow the use of various batteries, such as a 12V, to power a 48V DC motor (Contreras-Vidal [0124]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the instructions (Sankai [0054] states an angle, output torque are calculated to make equal the wearable apparatus with the body motion data), when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to the torque direction of the movement of the second user, control a converter to draw power corresponding to the torque intensity from a battery (Contreras-Vidal [0124] states converters can allow a 12V battery to be converted to a regulated 48V which are used by brushless DC motors), and turn on one or more switches, among a plurality of switches of the motor driver circuit and turn off remaining switches, among a plurality of switches (Dean [0080] states that relays can be used to switch rotational directions for forward and reverse states of a drive motor), to control the motor to rotate in the torque direction to output the torque that assists a movement of the second user (Sankai [0054] states an angle, output torque are calculated to make equal the wearable apparatus with the body motion data, therefore if a user is providing force less than the body motion data, making the angles and forces equal would require assistance).
8. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai in view of Lim and Einav, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Joutras (US 2012/0142416).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on that the data acquiring apparatus can be a motion capture apparatus ([0079]), but does not expressly disclose the first movement information comprises image data, audio data, and movement information generated in another wearable device worn by the first user.
However, Joutras teaches of a simulated exercise system which provides non-tactile and tactile stimuli ([0028]) which comprises visual or sound stimuli that is synchronized to the movement data via a program within a microprocessor ([0029]) and are provided to the user with a viewing screen and headphones or speakers ([0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide the device of Sankai with visual and audio stimuli provided via a viewing screen and speaker and the program to synchronize the visual and audio stimuli to the motion data provided to the second user as taught by Joutras to coordinate the user which aids movements and prevents undesired movements during therapy or exercise (Joutras [0036]).
9. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai in view of Lim and Einav, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dean (US 2007/0260394) and Contreras-Vidal et al. (US 2019/0328604).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Sankai reads on the device of claim 8, and further reads on a battery (Sankai fig. 3, batteries 132 and 134) which is used to provide the drive units with power (Sankai [0046]), but does not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the wearable device to: in response to a torque direction indicating an opposite direction of the movement of the second user, control a converter to draw power corresponding to the torque intensity from a battery, and turn on one or more switches, among a plurality of switches of the motor driver circuit and turn off remaining switches, among a plurality of switches, to control the motor to rotate in the torque direction to output the torque that resists the movement of the second user.
Regarding the use of switches to control the motor to rotate in a direction to resist movements of the second user, Dean teaches of the use of a drive motor that is controlled by a variable speed limiting circuit that includes relays which are electronic switches for reversing motor direction ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drive units of Sankai with variable speed limiting circuits as taught by Dean to slow revolutions and allow slight directional tuning (Dean [0080]) to improve precision of the drive units.
Regarding the use of a converter when drawing power from the battery, Contreras-Vidal et al. teaches of a boost converter and battery management circuit which allows the converter to create a regulated 48V line for the DC motors ([0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the batteries and drive units of Sankai with the converter and management circuit as taught by Contreras-Vidal to allow the use of various batteries, such as a 12V, to power a 48V DC motor (Contreras-Vidal [0124]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the instructions (Sankai [0054] states an angle, output torque are calculated to make equal the wearable apparatus with the body motion data), when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to the torque direction of the movement of the second user, control a converter to draw power corresponding to the torque intensity from a battery (Contreras-Vidal [0124] states converters can allow a 12V battery to be converted to a regulated 48V which are used by brushless DC motors), and turn on one or more switches, among a plurality of switches of the motor driver circuit and turn off remaining switches, among a plurality of switches (Dean [0080] states that relays can be used to switch rotational directions for forward and reverse states of a drive motor), to control the motor to rotate in the torque direction to output the torque that resists a movement of the second user (Einav [0383] states that a corrective force is applied to maintain the patient on the correct trajectory during rehabilitation).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Sankai reads on the device of claim 8, and further reads on a battery (Sankai fig. 3, batteries 132 and 134) which is used to provide the drive units with power (Sankai [0046]), but does not expressly disclose a converter or a plurality of switches to control the motor to rotate in a direction to resist movements of the second user.
Regarding the use of switches to control the motor to rotate in a direction to resist movements of the second user, Dean teaches of the use of a drive motor that is controlled by a variable speed limiting circuit that includes relays which are electronic switches for reversing motor direction ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drive units of Sankai with variable speed limiting circuits as taught by Dean to slow revolutions and allow slight directional tuning (Dean [0080]) to improve precision of the drive units.
Regarding the use of a converter when drawing power from the battery, Contreras-Vidal et al. teaches of a boost converter and battery management circuit which allows the converter to create a regulated 48V line for the DC motors ([0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the batteries and drive units of Sankai with the converter and management circuit as taught by Contreras-Vidal to allow the use of various batteries, such as a 12V, to power a 48V DC motor (Contreras-Vidal [0124]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the instructions (Sankai [0054] states an angle, output torque are calculated to make equal the wearable apparatus with the body motion data), when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to the torque direction of the movement of the second user, control a converter to draw power corresponding to the torque intensity from a battery (Contreras-Vidal [0124] states converters can allow a 12V battery to be converted to a regulated 48V which are used by brushless DC motors), and turn on one or more switches, among a plurality of switches of the motor driver circuit and turn off remaining switches, among a plurality of switches (Dean [0080] states that relays can be used to switch rotational directions for forward and reverse states of a drive motor), to control the motor to rotate in the torque direction to output the torque that assists a movement of the second user (Sankai [0054] states an angle, output torque are calculated to make equal the wearable apparatus with the body motion data, therefore if a user is providing force less than the body motion data, making the angles and forces equal would require assistance).
10. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai in view of Lim and Einav, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Joutras and Daley et al. (US 2019/0021934).
Regarding claim 13, the modified system of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 12 and wherein the first electronic device of the first user (Sankai fig. 2, communicating device 18) is configured to transmit the first movement information of the first user to the server (Sankai fig. 2, communicating device 18 provides body motion data to data managing apparatus 2), and transmit the first movement information of the first user to the second wearable device (Sankai [0008] states that the second wearable device uses the body motion data to provide an assist force). Sankai does not expressly disclose the first movement information comprises image data, audio data, and movement information generated in another wearable device worn by the first user.
However, Daley teaches of a system for augmenting the motion of a person including an assistance apparatus (abstract) which can be used in telepresence-based training or therapy applications ([0040]) where the student mimics the instructor and the sensor readings are compared when assisting the student ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified system of Sankai with the program to allow mimicking of an instructor as taught by Daley to allow telepresence-based or long-distance training/therapy visits.
Regarding facilitating the telepresence visits, Lim teaches of a walking assistance system (fig. 20, 1900) with an electronic device (fig. 20, 1930) that can be a smartphone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified system of Sankai with a smartphone as taught by Lim to facilitate the telepresence-based visits (Daley [0040]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first electronic device of the first user is configured to transmit image data and audio data generated by capturing a movement of the first user (Lim [0196] the smartphone allows image and audio capturing for telepresence visits of Daley [0040], where Sankai fig. 2 shows the capturing of body motion data by a wearable motion assisting apparatus 10) to the server, and the movement information of the first user received from the first electronic device of the first user and transmit the image data, audio data, and movement information of the first user to the second electronic device of the second user (Daley [0040] the telepresence visits communicate the video and audio data Sankai [0008] states that the second wearable device provides the movement information), and wherein the second electronic device of the second user is configured to output the image data and the audio data received from the server (Lim [0196] the smartphone is able to transmit video and audio data).
The modified system of Sankai does not expressly disclose the video and audio data being temporally synced.
However, Joutras teaches of a simulated exercise system which provides non-tactile and tactile stimuli ([0028]) which comprises visual or sound stimuli that is synchronized to the movement data via a program within a microprocessor ([0029]) and are provided to the user with a viewing screen and headphones or speakers ([0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide the device of Sankai with visual and audio stimuli provided via a viewing screen and speaker and the program to synchronize the visual and audio stimuli to the motion data provided to the second user as taught by Joutras to coordinate the user which aids movements and prevents undesired movements during therapy or exercise (Joutras [0036]).
11. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai in view of Lim, Einav, and Joutras.
Regarding claim 14, the device of Sankai reads on a streaming-based training system (fig. 1, motion reproducing apparatus receives data from communicating unit 2A) comprising:
a server (Sankai fig. 1, data managing apparatus 2 functions as a server because it provides access to a centralized service in a network, see Sankai [0023]) configured to stream content comprising first movement information of a first user (Sankai fig. 5, body motion data) to an electronic device of a second user (Sankai fig. 5, wearable device 20 receives the body motion data); and
a wearable device connected to the electronic device (Sankai fig. 5, device 20), the wearable device is configured to:
receive the first movement information of the first user from the electronic device (Sankai fig. 5, device 20 includes communicating device 28 which receives body motion data from the data managing apparatus 2),
acquire second movement information of the second user (Sankai [0008] states that a second biological signal detect, angular sensor, and torque sensor are used),
calculate a difference between the second movement information and the first movement information (Sankai [0039] states an output torque is calculated based on a difference between the body motion data received and the body motion data measured),
determine a torque intensity based on the difference (Sankai [0039] inherently determines torque intensity based on the difference when compared the received and measured body motion data), and
output a torque that assists the movement of the second user when the second movement information is less than the first movement information.
Sankai further discloses accounting for a hip joint angle in a prosthetic limb embodiment (see fig. 7 and paragraph [0072]), thigh drive power units (fig. 3, 120 and 122), and angular sensors (fig. 2, 14 and fig. 5, 24) for detecting a knee joint angle, but does not expressly disclose that the server is configured to stream image and audio data related to an exercise, the movement information comprises a hip joint angle, the torque intensity is based on a set gain, or resisting movement of the second user (see “Remarks” filed 06/12/2026).
However, Lim teaches of a walking assistance apparatus (fig. 1, 100) that assists walking by measuring a hip joint angle (fig. 3, sensor 110 measures a hip joint angle, see [0084]), calculating a difference between a right hip joint angle and a left hip joint angle, multiplying the difference by a gain, and using the resulting state variable ([0118]-[0119]) to generate a torque profile ([0007]) and assisting each leg dependent on the torque profile ([0163]). Where the gain can be set by the user via a user interface ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Sankai with the hip joint angle sensor and program as taught by Lim (Lim [0118]-[0119]) to more accurately recreate stored human motions (Sankai [0005]) and allow the user to adjust the gain of the device (Lim [0103]) to provide more comfort.
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first movement information comprises a hip-joint angle (Lim [0084]) of the first user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the body motion data is defined as first movement information of the first user), the second movement information comprises the hip-joint angle of the second user (Sankai [0054] states that an angle control output torque makes equal a joint angle from the body motion data and a joint angle of the wearable device 20, where the joint angle is defined as the second movement information of the user currently wearing the device), and the torque intensity is based on a set gain (Lim [0118]-[0119]). The modified device of Sankai does not expressly disclose controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information.
However, Einav teaches of a rehabilitation apparatus that connects a tip (fig. 1, 108) to a joint on a person ([0378]) and a force field motion can be performed ([0383]) where a target trajectory (fig. 3A, 302) is followed by the patient, and when the trajectory is not followed, a corrective force is applied (fig. 3A, 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the corrective force program as taught by Einav to ensure the patient follows a correct trajectory (Einav [0383]).
The further modified device of Sankai reads on controlling the motor driver circuit such that a torque that resists a movement of the second user is output from the motor (Einav fig. 3A corrective force vector 310) when the second movement information is greater than the first movement information (Einav fig. 3B, shows that when a position is greater than a correct trajectory, a force is applied, where Sankai [0054] references stored data to make equal a joint angle).
Regarding the server being configured to stream image and audio data related to an exercise, Joutras teaches of a simulated exercise system which provides non-tactile and tactile stimuli ([0028]) which comprises visual or sound stimuli that is synchronized to the movement data via a program within a microprocessor ([0029]) and are provided to the user with a viewing screen and headphones or speakers ([0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide the device of Sankai with visual and audio stimuli provided via a viewing screen and speaker and the program to synchronize the visual and audio stimuli to the motion data provided to the second user as taught by Joutras to coordinate the user which aids movements and prevents undesired movements during therapy or exercise (Joutras [0036]).
The further modified device of Sankai reads on a server configured to stream content comprising image data and audio data related to an exercise (Joutras [0029] visual and sound stimuli synchronized to resistance data) of a first user to an electronic device of a second user (Sankai fig. 5, wearable device 20 receives the body motion data, and Joutras [0075] states that visual and audio data can be provided via a screen and speakers).
12. Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankai in view of Lim and Einav, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daley.
Regarding claim 16, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the communication circuit is further configured to receive the first movement information of the first user (Sankai fig. 5, communicating device 28 is shown receiving body motion data from data managing apparatus 2), but does not expressly disclose that the communication circuit is configured to receive video or audio information.
However, Daley teaches of a system for augmenting the motion of a person including an assistance apparatus (abstract) which can be used in telepresence-based training or therapy applications ([0040]) where the student mimics the instructor and the sensor readings are compared when assisting the student ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the program to allow mimicking of an instructor as taught by Daley to allow telepresence-based or long-distance training/therapy visits.
Regarding facilitating the telepresence visits, Lim teaches of a walking assistance system (fig. 20, 1900) with an electronic device (fig. 20, 1930) that can be a smartphone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with a smartphone as taught by Lim to facilitate the telepresence-based visits (Daley [0040]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the communication circuit being configured to receive video or audio information (Daley [0040] states the exercise/therapy visits are telepresence-based).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 16 and further reads on at least one of the video information and the audio information of the first user is associated with the first movement information of the first user (Daley [0040] states the student tries to mimic the instructor during the telepresence visit, meaning the transmitted data includes video and audio data to facilitate the telepresence visit).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 16 and further reads on the at least one processor is further configured to output the at least one of the video information and audio information of the first user (Daley [0040] states the instructor information is transmitted, and during a telepresence visit, includes the video and audio information to allow the student to mimic the motions) while the motor driver circuit outputs the torque corresponding to the torque intensity through the motor (Sankai [0054] states that the wearable device angle and torque is made equal to the received body motion data).
Regarding claim 19, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose that the first movement information is a real-time movement of the first user.
However, Daley teaches of a system for augmenting the motion of a person including an assistance apparatus (abstract) which can be used in telepresence-based training or therapy applications ([0040]) where the student mimics the instructor and the sensor readings are compared when assisting the student ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the program to allow mimicking of an instructor as taught by Daley to allow telepresence-based or long-distance training/therapy visits.
Regarding facilitating the telepresence visits, Lim teaches of a walking assistance system (fig. 20, 1900) with an electronic device (fig. 20, 1930) that can be a smartphone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with a smartphone as taught by Lim to facilitate the telepresence-based visits (Daley [0040]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first movement information is a real-time movement of the first user (Daley [0040] states the instructor is wearing the sensors during a telepresence-based training) and the second movement information is a real-time movement of the second user (Daley [0040] states that the student is mimicking the movements of the instructor during the telepresence-based visit).
Regarding claim 20, the modified device of Sankai reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the body motion data received is from a server (Sankai fig. 5), but does not expressly disclose that the first movement information is obtained as streaming content in real-time.
However, Daley teaches of a system for augmenting the motion of a person including an assistance apparatus (abstract) which can be used in telepresence-based training or therapy applications ([0040]) where the student mimics the instructor and the sensor readings are compared when assisting the student ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with the program to allow mimicking of an instructor as taught by Daley to allow telepresence-based or long-distance training/therapy visits.
Regarding facilitating the telepresence visits, Lim teaches of a walking assistance system (fig. 20, 1900) with an electronic device (fig. 20, 1930) that can be a smartphone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Sankai with a smartphone as taught by Lim to facilitate the telepresence-based visits (Daley [0040]).
The modified device of Sankai reads on the first movement information is obtained as streaming content in real-time (Daley [0040] states that the student mimics the instructor during a telepresence-based visit which inherently requires streaming content for the user to see the instructor movements).
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 on pages 12-16 with respect to claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-12, and 15 regarding Sankai not disclosing resisting in view of Sankai paragraph [0053] which recites “without feeling the weight of the wearable motion assisting apparatus” have been fully considered. The updated rejection of claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-12, and 15 reference Einav et al. (US 2006/0293617) regarding a rehabilitation device that provides a corrective force if a correct trajectory is not met, see the rejections to claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-12, and 15 above.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sapin et al. (US 2018/0271738) discloses a rehabilitation system that uses an equation to move along a reference trajectory at a reference speed based on a difference between a reference speed and the speed of the end-effector actuator. Sankai (US 2010/0121232) discloses motion-assist devices that communicate to each other. Konishi et al. (US 2011/0205067) discloses a walking assist device where the user follows a target pattern which are time-dependent joint angle changes.
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785